Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Canon Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM Telephoto Zoom Lens (0345B002)

Canon Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM Telephoto Zoom Lens (0345B002)

The Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM Telephoto Zoom Lens (0345B002) is designed to meet the demands of professional photographers and discerning enthusiasts. This high-performance lens is engineered with Image Stabilizer Technology that provides up to three stops of shake correction. The handy Mode 2 option stabilizes images while panning with a subject that's in motion. Lock the zoom ring at the 70mm position to make the lens ultra compact while carrying it. This image stabilizer lens is an ideal choice for sports photography, spot news, wildlife documentaries and much more. It's currently only available through this bundle . Purchase the Canon EF 70-300mm lens with the 50D and save.
Average Customer Rating:
4.488 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(84 Reviews) 79
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
55
4 stars
21
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation89%74 out of 83reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 23 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
55
4 stars
21
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM Telephoto Zoom Lens (0345B002)

Good Lens

10/16/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does a great job when taking pictures of football at night.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM Telephoto Zoom Lens (0345B002)

Impressive

08/28/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it in every respect. Pictures have amazing clarity. Love it.
Still have a lot to learn first though.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM Telephoto Zoom Lens (0345B002)

Great Lens

05/10/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had this lens but a friends child pulled it from my bag and it was broken. This order was to replace the broken one. I ordered site to store and the lens was here VERY quickly.
I just wish WalMart carried more Canon mount lenses!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM Telephoto Zoom Lens (0345B002)

Good consumer lens

01/01/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you're going to purchase one of canon's 70-300 lenses this is the one to get. The EF-70-300 DO is ridiculously overpriced, the 75-300 is junk, and then regular 70-300 is too slow.
This lens solves the problems posed by the others. It's price is good, the optics reasonable, with decent build quality and it has Image Stabilization for the problems with the speed of the lens.
The 70-300 range is enormous, especially on the crop sensors cameras giving you an effective range of 112-480. Nearly 500mm! You have to spend some serious money to get any of the other canon lenses at that range.
However, the image quality could be better. The colors just don't *pop*. The lense is fine, I just think that for the same money, one can get the Canon 70-200 L, a professional class lens (albeit the cheapest one). Same price, not as much range and no IS, but the quality of the images will blow you away.
In Summation: Good lens, only downside is that it is not an L class lens.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
+50points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM Telephoto Zoom Lens (0345B002)

Quite happy with the lens

07/25/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After debating between this and the 70-200 L series I decided to purchase this lens. I have been pleasantly surprised by the results. I also own the 17-85 and the 50mm 1.8 lenses and I have found that I have gotten the "most pleasing" results from this lens. The pictures have been very sharp from my 20D - even in the 200mm - 300mm range. I've also been happy with the quality of the bokeh.
The primary drawback I see is that the AF tends to hunt a fair amount when confronted with low contrast images. That being said, I used it for some flying bird shooting at the wildlife refuge and was surprised to see how many of the shots were in sharp focus. However, it was a little bit of all or nothing. Several shots were also wildly out of focus. Since the lens is fairly slow to focus, you never know what you're gonna get with such a fast moving object against the distant sky.
I had much more consistent results when shooting soccer, softball and football in the park. The AF speed did not present an issue for any of these activities and the results were excellent.
I wish the lens were a little less expensive but I the prints I have gotten from my 13 X 19 printer have been worth the extra money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM Telephoto Zoom Lens (0345B002)

A Powerful, Versatile Lens for Consumer Grade Digi

08/13/2010
By ,
NC, USA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I own several lenses for my Canon Digital Rebel XSi, T2i, Canon EOS 7D, and this is honestly not my favorite one. However, I can't fault the overall performance of this piece, and I would recommend it being aware of its limitations.
PROS
- Excellent build construction. The case is metal and appears quite solid even when extended.
- 300mm at a reasonable cost. Combine that with the 1.6 magnification of the common half-frame sensors found in many digital cameras, and that equates to some serious zoom.
- Fairly short focal length: this is definitely a telephoto, but if you want to take portraits with it, you can get within 5' or so of the subject, even at more than 70mm.
- Image Stablization: invaluable. I rarely get a blurry shot; recently I compared this lens with and without a tripod and could not notice a difference. Of course, low shutter speeds will greatly impact this feature, but it is still a must.
CONS
- I'm not impressed with the clarity of most pictures. The AF is quick and reliable, but it often feels like something is "missing". Pictures are not out of focus but sometimes feel excessively "soft".
- Weight: if you are going to walk around a park or nature trail all day, figure a creative way to carry this thing. Not a "con" per se, but definitely a consideration.
- Color just feels lackluster sometimes.
I think this is a decent lens which requires careful attention to lighting and camera settings to take a truly good picture; it's less forgiving than the other lenses I use (mainly a Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II & Canon EF 28-135mm f/3.5-4.6).
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM Telephoto Zoom Lens (0345B002)

Decent up to 200mm

10/05/2009
By ,
Nashville, TN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a decent lens, there isn't anything too special about it. It does have IS (Image Stabilization) which is supposed to allow 4 addition stops of shake-free shooting, but I often find many shots come out soft. It must be noted that this lens beyond 200mm is noticably soft. I find it very difficult to get a sharp shot from this lens. For less than $100 more you can
get the Canon EF 70-200mm F/4 L which is much higher in quality
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM Telephoto Zoom Lens (0345B002)

Great lens

06/03/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This lens is great. The image is clear the focus is quick and quite. The controls are easy. My wife and I have taken about 200 pictures of new born pilated woodpeckers in the nest hole from a safe distance.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM Telephoto Zoom Lens (0345B002)

Great Lens

12/31/2008
By ,
Laramie, WY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best lens I have ever owned hands down. Still recommend shooting with a tripod for long zoom.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM Telephoto Zoom Lens (0345B002)

All-Purpose Lens

12/08/2008
By ,
New Bern, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received my lens before Thanksgiving; I used this lens the whole time during the family get together. Outstanding all-purpose lens.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM Telephoto Zoom Lens (0345B002)

Good value for the price

06/15/2010
By ,
San francisco, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
been using it now for about 2 months and the only complain i have is the plasticky feel on the zoom extender, weight is fine. Got some great pics @ 150mm softer pics above 150mm. will keep this lens. Now off to getting a shorter range lens.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM Telephoto Zoom Lens (0345B002)
03/23/2010
By ,
Acworth, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Heavier than I expected, but takes good photos. Works great for my daughters soccer game, but not as well for focusing on closer items (i.e. flowers); however the issue could be the photographer not the lens!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM Telephoto Zoom Lens (0345B002)

All the features

07/05/2009
By ,
Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This lens has all the features I wanted - two stages of Image Stabilization and Auto Focus using ultra sonice technology in a Canon lens - always lives up to the Canon name.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM Telephoto Zoom Lens (0345B002)

Some Lenses are Better Than Others

05/02/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I tested two copies of this lens. The two lenses couldn’t have been much more different.
When I compared them to my low-end Canon 75-300mm lens, the first copy of the 70-300mm was less sharp (except for the range from 190 to 220mm). At 300mm, the first copy of the 70-300mm was MUCH less sharp than the 75-300mm (which is saying a lot, since my 75-300mm is extremely “soft” at 300mm).
However, the sharpness of the second copy of the 70-300mm lens was approximately equal to the 75-300mm lens from 75 to 135mm, and definitely sharper than the 75-300mm above 135mm. The second copy of the 70-300mm was MUCH sharper than the 75-300mm in the 200 to 300mm range.
Other observations I’ve made about the 70-300mm is that it has very little chromatic aberration, barrel distortion, or pin-cushion distortion.
I read that that image stabilization feature of this lens would not cause a problem while using a tripod. That is not true. At 300mm about 1/4 of your pictures will be less sharp if you turn on the image stabilization while using a tripod. You can prove this for yourself: Place the camera on a tripod and turn on mirror lock up while using a 2-second delay (this will take camera shake out of the equation). Focus the camera carefully then turn off autofocus (this will take focusing out of the equation). Then take a dozen or so pictures of a consistently illuminated detailed, high-contrast object with and without the image stabilization turned on. In addition to making some of the images less sharp, the pictures taken using image stabilization will “move” from frame to frame. I don’t want to imply that the image stabilization on this lens is bad. As a matter of fact it’s one of the lens’ best features. But it’s best to only use it when you are hand-holding the camera.
Whereas the one copy of this lens was completely unacceptable, I’m very pleased with the lens I purchased through Walmart, and would buy it again if I needed a lens that covers that range.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM Telephoto Zoom Lens (0345B002)

Excellent product

01/10/2011
By ,
Burleson, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent pro-amature lens. Not professional, but excellent for daily action and adventure. Great suprise for the spouse who didn't know wal-mart sold these lens.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM Telephoto Zoom Lens (0345B002)

PERFECT CHOICE

06/09/2009
By ,
HIGH RIDGE, MISSOURI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WE PURCHASED THIS ITEM BEFORE WE WENT TO COLORADO. THIS LENS WAS THE PERFECT CHOICE FOR CAPTURING THE CLOSE-UPS THAT WE WANTED IN OUR PICTURES.
THANKS CANON.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM Telephoto Zoom Lens (0345B002)

Canon telephoto lens

06/23/2009
By ,
Lakeland, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a super lens for the canon 50D. Very good optics and takes a clear awesome picture. Comes with pic stabliser and AF.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM Telephoto Zoom Lens (0345B002)

telephoto

03/01/2010
By ,
Chula Vista , Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easily attached to camera easy to use just point and shoot
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM Telephoto Zoom Lens (0345B002)

A Great Lens

07/26/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product. Definitely recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM Telephoto Zoom Lens (0345B002)

Easy to operate telephoto zoom lens

06/28/2010
By ,
Marble Falls, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Since I just received the Canon EF 70-300mm IS Ultrasonic Telephoto Zoom Lens, I am just learning how to operate it. From what I have so far experienced, it produces clear bright images. I am looking forward to using it for sporting and theatrical events.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 23 total reviews
1 2 Next