Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Vizio VIZIO 42" Class Plasma HDTV with Built-in Tuner, VP422HDTV10A

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Vizio VIZIO 42" Class Plasma HDTV with Built-in Tuner, VP422HDTV10A

ENERGY STAR ® Products that are ENERGY STAR-qualified prevent greenhouse gas emissions by meeting strict energy efficiency guidelines set by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency and the U.S. Department of Energy. The ENERGY STAR name and marks are registered marks owned by the U.S. government, as part of their energy efficiency and environmental activities.
Average Customer Rating:
4.326 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(356 Reviews) 293
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
237
4 stars
68
3 stars
9
2 stars
14
1 star
28
Customer Recommendation86%306 out of 356reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
237
4 stars
68
3 stars
9
2 stars
14
1 star
28
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for VIZIO 42" Class Plasma HDTV with Built-in Tuner, VP422HDTV10A

I love It!!!

01/30/2009
By ,
South Bend,IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Its nice for the price. Better than the name brands!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 2 for VIZIO 42" Class Plasma HDTV with Built-in Tuner, VP422HDTV10A

Great value-great looks!

08/25/2008
By ,
Shreveport, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to go with a glossy black tv stand that Target had on sale, and it matches perfectly. I am stunned by the picture quality-I watched Cars, Dances with Wolves, Braveheart, Van Helsing, and Corpse Bride over the weekend just to compare the video quality of film vs. computer animation. I was blown-away even before heading back up to the store to buy the HDMI cable. Once that was hooked up and the little screen pops up saying 1080i HD, I was hooked. This tv is amazing-the price was right, the size is perfect and one thing I must comment on is the owner's manual. One of my pet peeves are manuals where you have to pick your language-this one only had English in it so thank you for that, Vizio. It is also one of the best written, most organized and illustrated manuals I've seen. It has full color screenshots of the menus and made setting everything up a breeze. So to sum up: this tv is a winner all around. Great quality for the price, great looks, great picture. Sound is not great, but most of us are running sound thru a home theater system so that's not a biggie. Overall I am very pleased so far and would recommend this to anyone.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 3 for VIZIO 42" Class Plasma HDTV with Built-in Tuner, VP422HDTV10A

This TV Brand VIZO is a piece of Garbage

11/15/2008
By ,
Florence, KY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This TV is a piece of Gargage. It died after 3 months after the 1 year after warranty. This TV was manufactured in May 07 and I purchased it from Sam's Club August 07 and it is November 08 and the TV is DEAD. It slowly began to lose the picture sporadically and then it lost the picture all together but still had sound. If you plan to purchase a TV where you have to repair it after 1 year then go ahead and buy this product. Not only did I pay 951.00 for this TV I must now pay for the repairs. Their customer service department can only repeat over and over that it is my tough luck because I did not purchase the extended warranty. I have a Samsun, Polaroid, and a Sanyo TV that I have had for at least 5 years and have not had one issue with them. I will never purchase a VIZO again.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 4 for VIZIO 42" Class Plasma HDTV with Built-in Tuner, VP422HDTV10A

Beautiful Plasma!!!

03/05/2009
By ,
East Hartford, CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Man where do i begin??? This T.V is awsome and I have to say that first of all this T.V is beautiful and looks great on the T.V stand that i Have it on looks likes its wall mounted. The boreder of the T.V is a shiny black and the speakers sounds great and flows well with the rest of the T.V. 3 HDMI ports makes it great to connect more than one thing. I have my PS3, my 360 and my home theater system connected with out having to swtich so many wires. The picture looks great if is in HD, If you do not have HD programing avalible then the picture will look fuzzy. All around the T.V is a great buy and i highly recommend this T.V as a starter T.V!!! VIZIO IS A GREAT COMPANY!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 5 for VIZIO 42" Class Plasma HDTV with Built-in Tuner, VP422HDTV10A

Pice good Deal bad

08/11/2009
By ,
harriman tn
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this tv in feb 09 had it for six month very good picture and worked great with blueray and ps3. loved it Key word is LOVED past tence. turned it on worked for about 5 min the screen went black and sound started buzzing. found crack in left lower corner. never been hit just worked on min then just crack while watchin a movie. called vizio they said i should get a new tv in as soon as 15 day to one month so yay no tv for a while.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 6 for VIZIO 42" Class Plasma HDTV with Built-in Tuner, VP422HDTV10A

Great TV

01/07/2009
By ,
Tennessee
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had this TV for about a week now. I love it. The picture is super clear, sound is good. Setup was super easy.
Only issue is I need a component cable for my Wii in order to have it and our DVD player hooked up...only one yellow port. No biggie since I don't watch too much on the DVD player right now anyways.
My mom got the 37" and is enjoying hers too!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 7 for VIZIO 42" Class Plasma HDTV with Built-in Tuner, VP422HDTV10A

Great Product

02/16/2009
By ,
Ava, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We puhchased our TV 10/21/08, as of today we have not had a problem of any kind. It has great color and sound. For the price, I don't think you can beat it. when friends see it and I tell them how much I paid for it, they can't beleive it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for VIZIO 42" Class Plasma HDTV with Built-in Tuner, VP422HDTV10A

I love the new tv!

09/16/2008
By ,
Laramie, WY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The picture is extremely clear. I am very impressed with Vizio! It has an amazing wide viewing angle, and it looks very sleek mounted on my wall.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for VIZIO 42" Class Plasma HDTV with Built-in Tuner, VP422HDTV10A

VERY GOOD PRODUCT

08/18/2008
By ,
St. Marys, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
8/18/08
My wife and I purchased this product on August 11.
I find the product to be of excellent quality.
Some reviews claimed the black comes out a bit grey, not true. I read a number of reviews on other websites before buying.
Our previous TV was some 25 years old, excellent picture, but we felt the color was going out.
Sound is fantastic. Picture is excellent.
My wife looked at the LCD and claimed the picture was not as sharp as the plasma.
Be sure to use RCA jacks when setting it up for truer stereo.
42 inch screen is a bit large so be sure you have sufficient space for this TV.
Overall, the quality is excellent, the picture fantastic, and the features are very good.
We did consider the 42 " Samsung, but it costs some $110 more.
I also realize that Vizio has not been around all that long but we were willing to take that chance.
I would recommend this product to anyone looking for a good TV at a very low price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 10 for VIZIO 42" Class Plasma HDTV with Built-in Tuner, VP422HDTV10A
05/26/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We actually just bought this t.v. for my mom who stays at home alot and decided to buy a new t.v. We shopped around alot and just happened to see this t.v. in the store and were very surprised by the price. The picture is wonderful. We actually played a 20 year old Disney VHS movie and I was very surprised at how great it looked. We just bought one of the HDTV antennas to get over the air channels and for the stations that are already broadcasting Digital the picture is amazing. I am curious to see if it lasts because this is a fairly new name brand, but they seem to be getting fairly good review. I would definetly recommend this t.v. for the price. The only thing I would say could be better is the sound, but most people already have surround sound anyway.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+30points
Review 11 for VIZIO 42" Class Plasma HDTV with Built-in Tuner, VP422HDTV10A

Looks great!

06/15/2008
By ,
Hammond, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just bought this and so far it's working fine. We bought it at the store and compared to more well known brand names... this plasma's picture looked far better. We do not have a large living room and it does get warm, so better to have space around it. We plugged the Xbox 360 into it and it looks amazing! We had never seen COD4 look so real. The Wii looks pretty good too, better than our old tv for sure. The sound when playing music isn't the best but I think it can be adjusted.
I really hope it lasts for many years. It was worth the purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+26points
Review 12 for VIZIO 42" Class Plasma HDTV with Built-in Tuner, VP422HDTV10A

Awesome Product

11/15/2008
By ,
Nebraska
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've wanted a flat screen television for a long time and my old magnavox's picture was going out, I decided to read the reviews about Vizio. It's price for a 42" plasma is a great one and it exceeds all of my expectations, I don't have HD and it looks great!! I brought it home and unpackaged it, then all i did was plug the a/v wires into the back and it downloaded everything else. What I like the most about it is that it's so easy to set up and it's perfect. I've read reviews about plasma's vs. LCD's and since my lighting in my house is darker it's suggested that a person should get a plasma, which was a gread idea. I hope it lasts for a long time.
Joel
Computer Student
Nebraska
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 13 for VIZIO 42" Class Plasma HDTV with Built-in Tuner, VP422HDTV10A

READ THIS BEFORE YOU BUY TV!!!!

11/30/2008
By ,
Nashville, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was very excited to get this tv from my local walmart and got it for a very reasonable price the day after Thanksgiving. I purchased the tv and got it home. Tv without HDTV cable is somewhat acceptable, with HD it looks great, there I was not dissapointed there. HERE IS THE ISSUE. I hooked it up to the dvd player and for the first hour it looks good, then lines start coming through the screen (TWO BIG ONES going upward). I thought this much be my connections, so i got new ones. A new vcr and etc! Finally It didnt' change things so I took the TV back and exchanged it for another one. I GET THE second tv home and it does the same thing!!!!!!!! IF YOU DO BUY THIS TV, when you hook it up-try putting in 2 dvds and watching them clearly for 4 hours....it's like after so long it just goes out and looks horrible. I don't want a time limit on it....it's awful and THIS IS THE 2ND TV BEING RETURNED IN A 2 DAY PERIOD. DONT BUY IT IF YOU LIKE WATCHING DVDS! i WILL GET BACK ON HERE LATER AND UPLOAD THE PHOTO OF THE LINE!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for VIZIO 42" Class Plasma HDTV with Built-in Tuner, VP422HDTV10A

Vizio 42" Class Plasma HDTV with Built-in Tuner

06/23/2008
By ,
Jackson, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bang for your buck. Picture, sound, and ease of use are all very good. Took a chance with an "off brand" and was pleasantly surprised!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Review 15 for VIZIO 42" Class Plasma HDTV with Built-in Tuner, VP422HDTV10A

Stunning

09/05/2008
By ,
San Marcos, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an absolutely amazing TV. I have my digital cable and my PS3 hooked up through the HDMI and they both look amazing, and I still have one HDMI input to spare. The picture is jaw dropping. The blacks are very dark and the whites extremely bright. The colors are spot-on. My friends have spent more than $1,600 on Samsungs and Sonys that are the same size and this TV is on par and even exceeds them in some respects. It has made me go back and replay games that I had already beaten. BluRay movies look awesome. It also improves your non HD channels. The only complaint that I have is that the set runs pretty hot. This is a plasma and that is to be expected. You will not be able to find another TV that is this size with these specifications for a lower price. If you think that Vizio is not a strong brand just look at the numbers. Vizio, Sony, and Samsung have been rotating as 123 in the TV markets for the past 2 years, with Vizio leading many of the financial quarters. Get off the fence and come enjoy True High Definition.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for VIZIO 42" Class Plasma HDTV with Built-in Tuner, VP422HDTV10A

Great Value after some tweaking

04/29/2009
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm extremely satisfied with this plasma TV. LCD just doesn't compare. It's being used as the TV in the master bedroom, and it's a great value.
It did need some major adjustments with the picture (color, brightness, contrast, etc) as it was set on absolute torch mode out of the box with really off coloring. After the adjustments, it looks fantastic (pretty close in quality to my Panasonic Plasma).
The sound quality is pretty much as expected from the on board speakers. If you're after a theater experience, you'll need some sort of external speakers. It works fine for the casual TV viewing experience.
It's a little light on features, which is to be expected from this "value" type of TV, but there's nothing missing I'd consider to be a must have.
Overall, I'd say it's a great value for its price and makes an outstanding TV for a bedroom, small living room, or other less critical spot for regular TV viewing. If you're after a true Home Theater experience, I'd suggest going bigger with at least a 50" and stepping up to 1080p.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for VIZIO 42" Class Plasma HDTV with Built-in Tuner, VP422HDTV10A

awesome!

07/10/2008
By ,
boise, id
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just got this last week, hooked up my xbox 360 and it has been hard to pull myself away. Amazing picture and for under $750 an even more amazing buy! I am a loyalist for vizio tv's and this one absolutely lived up to my high standards.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 18 for VIZIO 42" Class Plasma HDTV with Built-in Tuner, VP422HDTV10A

Don't buy!

06/13/2009
By ,
Syracuse, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This TV was a horrid purchase. The color is terrible. When we called tech help to see if it was just a problem with adjusting the balance, they said "colors look different to everyone, it is probably just you." My response "What color is Sponge Bob? Because on this TV 5 adults and 4 children all agree he is green and the grass is blue." They did offer to send us a part if we would email them pictures of the problem.. They had no answer when asked who would install the part so the warranty would not be violated. I returned the TV as fast as I could and spent the extra $200 to get a model that actually has the capability of a YELLOW Sponge Bob AND green grass at the same time! (Also; the TV was never tipped, tilted, or placed on its side by us... what happened while still at the store I do not know. I will add that of the 5 adults who tried to fix the color 3 are technicians that adjust TV and monitor colors for a living.)
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
-1point
Review 19 for VIZIO 42" Class Plasma HDTV with Built-in Tuner, VP422HDTV10A

Great TV, Awesome picture

02/19/2009
By ,
Mid Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If your reading a review someone wrote just recently saying that "dead tv's" are a problem with this brand/model, don't belive it. We have owned this tv for 8 months now, and have had no problems at all. The fact that he recommends buying the Sony brand, frankly makes me think he has his own motives, as Sony has been looking to buy Vizio for the last year, and Vizio isn't budging. Another little known fact, Vizio is the #1 seller of LCD tvs, largely thanks to their relationship with Walmart.
This tv has a beautiful, clear and impressive picture. It shows motion images flawlessly, and has an incredible black light balance, giving you true high quality plasma definition. Keep in mind, this is a plasma tv, and as with all plasma screens, tv or otherwise, you have to manage the burn -in effects; don't leave a dvd menu screen on repeating itself, don't leave any bright images, white, orange, yellow on screen continuously for hours, and so on - common sense things for anyone who has used plasma screens in the past, and a heads up for those who haven't. Even if this happens, it has a built in screen cleaner to remove burn ins, and you can help yourself even more by buying a full screen dvd to play for 35 - 60 minutes when you notice any burn issues. This will clear up the burn ins, and give you a lifetime of high def plasma tv enjoyment.
For the money, this tv can't be beat. Another recommendation, buy the Vizio 3ft or 6 ft HDMI cables for around $27 or $35 respectively. They are heavy duty (weight and guage), and work great with this tv. Ultimately, the choice is yours, but I can tell you that this tv has done everything we have asked of it and more.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 20 for VIZIO 42" Class Plasma HDTV with Built-in Tuner, VP422HDTV10A

Great Picture

11/28/2008
By ,
Dallas, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The picture is great. I have a friend who has the 1080 Visio plasma and even he was inpressed with the picture quality of this 720 tv. The contrast ratio of 30000:1 on this 720 was far better than his 1080. Hard to tell them apart, except for price. The Blue Ray movies played on this unit are amazing. We do have Dishnetwork HD reception, which makes a huge difference for the clarity and sharpness. HD reception is a must no matter who your provider is. We have tried Xbox, Playstation and Wii on it and it is as clear as anything I have seen. The sound is just so so but as good as any standard tv speakers I have heard before, already installing surround sound. The LCD we have in the bedroom isn't near as sharp as the plasma. If I buy ever again, it will be plasma. In a nutshell, great price, great picture, easy to hookup, great value. Not a lot of features but can't think of any that I miss right now.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 294 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  15 Next