Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Epson Epson Perfection V500 Photo Scanner

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Epson Epson Perfection V500 Photo Scanner

Digitize and restore your old family photos with the Epson Perfection V500 LED Photo Scanner. With 6400 x 9600 dpi optical resolution, this desktop photo scanner delivers amazing clarity and detail. It uses LED technology, which results in faster scans and lesser power consumption. It takes no time to warm up, and you can scan multiple photos in just a few minutes. The Digital Ice Technology in this Epson Perfection V500 LED Photo Scanner removes dust and scratches from old slides, negatives, and film for excellent image restoration. Using the Easy Photo Fix, you can restore faded color photos with just a single touch. This flatbed photo scanner also includes Adobe Photoshop Elements, which enables you to edit your photos as you wish. Get this Digital Ice Technology Scanner and bring all your old memories back to life.
Average Customer Rating:
4.419 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(819 Reviews) 817
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
554
4 stars
160
3 stars
42
2 stars
20
1 star
43
Customer Recommendation90%738 out of 819reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
554
4 stars
160
3 stars
42
2 stars
20
1 star
43
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Epson Perfection V500 Photo Scanner

Love this product~

04/06/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I spent months researching and comparing scanners I wanted a really good one to scan all of my parents photos. This one is really nice and easy to use. It has many options and makes it work for what you need. one thing i love is that you can put a few pictures on the screen and it distiguishes the different photos and saves them as seperate files instead of all one scan. it saves so much time when you have thousands of pictures to scan. It appears to have good quality and I can zoom in to my scan images and they're not pixels. Anyways I enjoy this and have already done hundreds of photos and it works like a gem!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+31points
Review 2 for Epson Perfection V500 Photo Scanner

Dream Come True

02/08/2011
By ,
Kewanee, Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have waited years for a product like the "Epson Perfection V500 Photo Scanner" low cost with the best quaility possible, to save & copy family photos from the 60's / 70's. Most of the old photos have a orange/tan tint, but Scanning @600dpi and using the Adobe Photoshop software (FREE!) every picture came out as if it was from today.
AND Walmart Has the BEST price around
look at these photos
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
Review 3 for Epson Perfection V500 Photo Scanner

love it

07/10/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted family pictures from several very old b&w negatives. The Epson V500 was recommended to me. There is no instruction book. Almost sent it back until I read the Q&A on the website which explained what to do. Works great and easy to use. I would recommend this purchase to anyone even someone who knows little about scanners.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+12points
Review 4 for Epson Perfection V500 Photo Scanner

Best for the money

11/05/2008
By ,
Indy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a fast scanner, uses LED for light. It takes no time to warm up. You can also get an ADF from Epson. (Automatic document feeder). If you need to scan negatives; there are better scanners for more money. But if you need to scan photos; it is great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Review 5 for Epson Perfection V500 Photo Scanner

Great slide scanner

01/20/2010
By ,
Hope, AR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I tried the under $100.00 scanners and they were terrible. Finally saved for this one, which was a great buy. It can scan 4 slides in under 2 minutes and gives you total control of how you want to make the picture sharper. Takes some reading of instructions on some operations, but i have had no issues.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 6 for Epson Perfection V500 Photo Scanner

great scanner

03/21/2011
By ,
N.E. Pa.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed to salvage slides from the 50's into the 70,s that were not stored properly. I tried 3 different scanners with less than great results. This unit has done a great job of restoring the slides. It does take up to 10 minutes to restore 4 slides, but the results are worth it.
I downloaded the software for the unit off the Epson website and followed the special instructions for windows 7 and the scanner was up and running.
The only drawback to this scanner is the operating instructions are weak. You need to locate instructions on the Epson web site.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 7 for Epson Perfection V500 Photo Scanner

great buy

07/05/2010
By ,
North Richland Hills TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a good flatbed scanner with ability to scan slides as well. The Epson provided both with an added feature of ICE for slides. ICE is able to remove nearly all the specks found in older deteriorating slides withou significant modification of the original. I had been using a slide scanner and doing the cleanup by hand using a digital graphics program. This was a great buy. Terriffic product
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 8 for Epson Perfection V500 Photo Scanner

A Wonderful Bargain

01/04/2011
By ,
Wichita< ks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this scanner after reading many reviews from numerous sites. The low price was the reason for my purchase from Walmart. The scanner is being used to digitally restore my color slides taken in the 70's. I was in business within 15 minutes of opening the box. But, it is better to read the on-line instructions before beginning. I operate mostly in auto-mode and after some tweeking and experimentation of the settings....I settled on higher resolution JPEG files rather than the larger TIFF files which slow the scan process considerably.
Overall, this machine is a great value for the amateur like me. It meets my needs and I will continue my project with a smile on my face.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 9 for Epson Perfection V500 Photo Scanner
04/04/2012
By ,
west virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It does great, only problem you have to push too many things each time you scan. I liked the copier scanner I had before, once you pushed to scan, it would continue the same until you changed. But the quality of the scan is wonderful, especially for slides and negatives. I was super impressed with the slides and negatives, just wish it would take less controls to push so it would be faster. I got it for my pictures and receipes.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 10 for Epson Perfection V500 Photo Scanner

You get what you pay for.

05/22/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
While trying to figure out if I wanted to spend the big bucks for this scanner to scan slides, I put a bid on ebay for an hp3110. Well, I didn't think I would get the hp, as I only bid 30 dollars including shipping. But as fate would have it, within hours of ordering this V500 scanner, I won the hp3110. So, I tried both using MSPaint to examine the results.
If you want a true to real kodachrome experience, buy the V500.....The colors are real, and the shading is excellent. The hp does not give the range of color hues, and looks a bit fuzzy too. I used the autoscan feature on both scanners. I like the V500 software more than the hp's which requires verification of cropping. The V500 shows the exact same size of the slide being inserted in autoscan. The hp messes around with an autocrop feature. Anyone want an hp3110 at a real good price???
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 11 for Epson Perfection V500 Photo Scanner

Epson V500 Photo scanner

05/20/2010
By ,
Lakeland, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WOW!!!!!!!!! Can't get my wife away from the scanner. I did a lot of research before buying this product and we are very happy with it. Very simple to install and operate; instructions are clear and to the point. Super high resolution make 1963 slides and negatives look great when transferred to the pc, ready to print your pics. NICE
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 12 for Epson Perfection V500 Photo Scanner

Best yet!

08/04/2010
By ,
New Mexico
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have only had this scanner a few weeks, but I have been able to scan over 2000 slides in no time flat. It's easy to use, and a great machine. Would highly recommend to anyone looking for something to scan documents, slides, negatives.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Epson Perfection V500 Photo Scanner
05/19/2010
By ,
NEWNAN, GA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
THE SCANNER DID NOT COME WITH A MANUAL. NOT CONVIENT TO DOWN LOAD MANUAL
NOT AS EASY TO USE AS ADVERTISED.
AFTER A MONTH, STILL TRYING TO FIGURE OUT HOW IT WORKS
THE INSTRUCTIONS ON MONITOR TOO DARK, PRINT TOO SMALL, AND NOT EASY TO UNDERSTAND! I WISH THE LANGUAGE WERE SIMPLIFIED.
THIS PRODUCT IS NOT GERIATRIC FRENDLY!
FOR THE COST OF THIS PRODUCT, YOU WOULD EXPECT A MANUAL BE SUPPLIED!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-2points
Review 14 for Epson Perfection V500 Photo Scanner

Great buy, easy to set up

01/17/2013
By ,
Newberg, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had to down load latest driver from web site for a Mac 10.8.1 software, but over all great value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 15 for Epson Perfection V500 Photo Scanner

It does not scan negatives??

11/27/2012
By ,
daytona beach,fl
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this to scan negatives, imagine my surprise when I found out the software that came with it does not support negatives!!
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-2points
Review 16 for Epson Perfection V500 Photo Scanner

Stay Away

09/22/2008
By ,
Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Received this scanner and did a test scan. Color bars in various places rendering image useless. This scanner uses a new light technology. This may explain the problems.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-3points
Review 17 for Epson Perfection V500 Photo Scanner

Pretty Good

01/25/2010
By ,
Spanish Fork, UT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this to scan pictures and also to possible to some important negatives. It scans nice and fast under 1000, but as soon as you get over that it bogs down and freezes. A little disappointing, but I haven't tried it with firewire yet so I figure it will go much faster.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 18 for Epson Perfection V500 Photo Scanner

Nice Scanner

10/03/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this scanner for use in digitizing all my family photos (40 years worth). It exceeded expectations regarding ease of set-up and ease of use. It's ability to differentiate multiple photo's on the same scan significantly increased speed. Scan's are of excellent quality as well. Have not used the negative or slide features yet, but no reason to expect less at this point.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 19 for Epson Perfection V500 Photo Scanner

Great scanner for pictures and 35-mm for the price

04/12/2012
By ,
Enterprise, AL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Getting started required some digging into the on-line operator manual for photos, and even longer to understand the set-up for 35-mm slides. With the addition of the Photoshop element, old pictures turn out almost like the originals to e-mail and post to friends. The attached color picture is 35-mm slide and the black and white one a very old hard copy photograph.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 20 for Epson Perfection V500 Photo Scanner

Good product

05/17/2010
By ,
Eugene, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use this scanner frequently. It was a good price and quickly delivered; much quicker than advertised.
I needed a scanner that would work with my MacIntosh and possibly my PC but I haven't needed it to do so as yet.
The Scanner SW loaded up quickly and smoothly and I'm able to use the scanner for everything that I need.
I'm satisfied.
I would like an Automatic Document Feeder but Hey for the costs, I can do things manually.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 27 total reviews
1 2 Next