Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Dreambaby Dreambaby Chelsea Auto Close Security Gate with Extensions- White

Dreambaby Dreambaby Chelsea Auto Close Security Gate with Extensions- White

The Chelsea Auto Close Security Gate by Dreambaby provides a secure barrier for your curious little ones. Keep them safe and confined to areas of the house where they're out of harm's way with this sturdy gate. The Chelsea Gate is designed to fit a wide range of doorways, hallways, top or bottom of stairs, and other openings. This gate combo pack will fit openings from 28" to 39" using the two included extensions. The Chelsea model gate will conveniently open in both directions and swing closed automatically so you'll never need to worry about closing the gate behind you when your hands are full or you're in a hurry. The Chelsea Auto Close Security Gate is also ideal for keeping pets confined to specific areas of the house. Expand your Chelsea Swing Closed Gate up to 111" optional extensions which can be purchased separately.
Average Customer Rating:
4.68 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(234 Reviews) 211
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
177
4 stars
48
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation98%228 out of 233reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
27 Questions | 121 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
177
4 stars
48
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Dreambaby Chelsea Auto Close Security Gate with Extensions- White

Awful

06/03/2009
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this gate because I didnt want my son in my kitchen, I have another gate similar but this one was a bit cheaper. After about 6 months of use one side of the gate wouldnt latch closed. My son grabbed onto the gate and the gate swung open and he fell into the kitchen. NOT WHAT I WOULD CALL A GOOD QUALITY GATE FOR CHILDREN! The only good thing I would say about the gate is that it opens both ways. The other gate I have only opens one way but I have had it for over a year now and have had no probelms what so ever with it. The plasitc on this gate is very cheaply made, and the latches arent very good either. If your looking for a great baby gate you need to get the North States Auto Close Metal Gate. It only opens one way but its a great gate.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Dreambaby Chelsea Auto Close Security Gate with Extensions- White

Great gate!!!

06/07/2010
By ,
Upper Arlington, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this gate to sperate my 2 cats from my husband's cat. I did a lot of research on-line on baby and pet gates. This was by far the best one out there and at a great price. It is easy to open, opens both directions and closes automatically. It was very easy to install. There is a YouTube video on how to install the gate that was very helpful. Walmart had the best price on-line, the best return policy if needed - to a store so no return costs - and the best shipping price, I paid 97 cents and had the gate within 48 hours, several days before stated delivery.
:Walmart.com
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Dreambaby Chelsea Auto Close Security Gate with Extensions- White

Best pressure mount gate I could find

07/31/2012
By ,
NOVA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a pressure mount gate to go at the top of my stairs. This was the only one I found that fit that description. Although the mounting cups must be screwed in to the walls for added security, my husband says it will be easy to fix the walls. I plan to get another one for the bottom of the stairs and get a banister adapter for one side. I recommend this baby gate. We have an older child, and it's no problem for her to open it. As you can see from my pic, I only used one of the extensions. The gate comes with 2 extensions. I compared the price too, and Walmart had the best price. Go to ebates and get cash back for your purchase. At the time I ordered my gate, they were offering 3.5% back.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Dreambaby Chelsea Auto Close Security Gate with Extensions- White

Works for Dogs Too

04/11/2010
By ,
Tracy, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this gate to keep the dogs (big & small) from going upstairs during the day. Very easy to put together. Works perfectly. It's very sturdy. The gate closes by itself. The dogs can't open it. The only thing I don't like is the bar along the bottom has to be stepped over and since we had to put the gate on the first step of the stairs, it leaves little room for your foot. That's more an issue with our stairs setup, not the gate. Also, since our stair risers are open, the cats can get through there so we didn't need a pet gate.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Dreambaby Chelsea Auto Close Security Gate with Extensions- White

Perfect

10/03/2011
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this gate for the bottom of my stairs to stop our new dog from going upstairs. We also have two cats...one with claws that used to scratch the carpet. He can not jump over the gate which is a bonus since we just got new carpet. The other cat, without claws is more agile and can jump the gate...but we don't mind. This gate looks nice, high quality, and opens easy enough for going up and down the stairs. I would highly recommend this gate!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Dreambaby Chelsea Auto Close Security Gate with Extensions- White

Perfect Gate!

12/21/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed a swing close gate for the top of the stairs in a historic home and this gate is perfect! It even mounts securely at an angle from wall to banister spindles, and no damage from screws, as it is tension mounted. Nice clean white and attractive to see.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Dreambaby Chelsea Auto Close Security Gate with Extensions- White

Excellent

11/01/2014
By ,
WI 54113
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Dreambaby Chelsea Auto Close Security Gate with Extensions- White

Nice gate

07/15/2009
By ,
Bay Shore, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had originally purchased this gate from babiesrus online but when our house was broken into they had to kick the gate open because they werent smart enough to figure out how to open it. So I replaced the same gate from Walmart because it was cheaper and the site to store option. It is a great gate we keep it at the top of some stairs and like the option that it swings both ways and automatically locks. Definetly recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Dreambaby Chelsea Auto Close Security Gate with Extensions- White

Great Gate

08/02/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This gate works really well. It was fairly easy to install. This gate is great because it is not "extra tall" like all others avaliable at the stores. It fit perfectly under our banister. We used site to store shipping, which is so wonderful, and we received the gates sooner than expected. We would highly recommend this gate.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Dreambaby Chelsea Auto Close Security Gate with Extensions- White

Inaccurate specifications!

12/03/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The description states that this gate fits doorways up to 39". My doorway is 36" so this gate should fit, right? Nope. Not w/out an extension, which is not included. The instructions that came with the gate clearly state it fits doorways up to 32". Why does it state 39" on the website?!!? Now I have to take it back to the store and order another gate which will take another two weeks to get. I need a gate now. Very disappointing and annoying.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Dreambaby Chelsea Auto Close Security Gate with Extensions- White

Can not find a negative!

09/28/2014
By ,
Scranton Pa.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This gate was purchased for our 6 month old puppy.
It is easy to install, looks great, and works well.
As stated I find no fault with this product and recommend
it to all.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Dreambaby Chelsea Auto Close Security Gate with Extensions- White

Just what we needed

05/06/2009
By ,
Florence, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had been looking at these at Wal-Mart.com and other online retailers and decided to go ahead and splurge and take a chance and buy these. We have a small dog (and now a new baby too!) and have been using the cheap retractible gates for years now. I wanted some gates that would be more solid and able to swing open and closed, instead of stepping over. These gates are great! The initial setup is tricky to get just right but once they are adjusted perfectly, the adjuster cups can be taped or screwed to the door frames for a rock-solid install (I used the screws). For anyone with pets or small children, these gates are perfect to keep the doorways open (for good room-to-room airflow), while keeping the little ones at bay. Also, what the product description doesn't mention is that the gates can open in either direction and close shut automatically (they are spring-loaded). Everyone who has come over and seen them has been very impressed with them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Dreambaby Chelsea Auto Close Security Gate with Extensions- White

Excellent Purchase

01/27/2011
By ,
Middletown, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I purchased 2 of these gates for the top and bottom of the steps to keep our 1 year old safe. They were easy to assemble and install and they work great. They are a great price for a very sturdy product. The only downside to them is the bar across the bottom of the gate. It is slightly high but if you are careful it isn't a problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Dreambaby Chelsea Auto Close Security Gate with Extensions- White

Functional gate

02/04/2010
By ,
Indiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This seems to be a great baby-gate. My 16 month old has pulled and pulled on it with all his weight and it hasn't budged. The only thing I wish I knew before buying is that it closes automatically when you release the gate. Not as convenient for some of our uses, but I understand why it would be a good safety feature to have. Overall, it's a nice, functional gate.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Dreambaby Chelsea Auto Close Security Gate with Extensions- White

necessary help

05/10/2010
By ,
Berkeley, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second time we purchased this gate. We were so happy with it the first time when it broke due to high usage and owning it for a couple of years we sought out the same one. It keeps little ones safe, but is very easy for older ones and adults to use. It is easy to install and I love that it swings both ways -- very helpful! This is the first time I bought anything online from Walmart and I was very pleased with the experience!!! Cheap shipping and it arrived in just a couple of days.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Dreambaby Chelsea Auto Close Security Gate with Extensions- White

Great Gate! Wonderful Buy!

04/21/2009
By ,
Benson, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this particular gate for 2 reasons... to keep our new Maltese puppy in the kitchen area and keep our 22 mo. old daughter out! This gate is Great! It has really lived up to my expectations. On top of my two children, I also run an after school program out of my home and have 4 more children in my home each afternoon M-F. This gate is very easy for the older children to use but it still keeps the puppy in and my daughter out! She hangs on it, trys to climb on it and it still holds! It is a great product for the money! I am actually getting ready today to purchase 2 more of these exact gates because my lovely daughter has learned how to climb out of her play yard system in the living room and her crib in her bedroom and this is the only thing that can contain her in both rooms! So, THANK YOU DREAM BABY! Also, this is a great gate for high traffic areas with the gate that swings in either direction! Awesome!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Dreambaby Chelsea Auto Close Security Gate with Extensions- White

Easy to install and use.

08/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very handy. I use at the bottom of the stairs to keep my grandchild from climbing the stairs. Very easy to pass through.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Dreambaby Chelsea Auto Close Security Gate with Extensions- White

Good value for the money

07/16/2009
By ,
Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to install, fits our 36" opening without any additional extensions, LOVE it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Dreambaby Chelsea Auto Close Security Gate with Extensions- White

Very nice for the money

06/12/2010
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wasn't necessarily expecting a lot of this gate, based on the price. I thought I'd get a good, functional gate that would suit my needs, but not one that would look particularly nice. I'm very pleased, though, with how attractive it is, especially because it's in my kitchen/living room doorway where everyone who visits will see it. It was extremely easy and quick to install with pressure mounting - 5 minutes at the most. I also like that it's very easy to open because I go through that door a couple dozen times a day ... but, because it opens so easily, this may not be the ideal gate for people with toddlers, which means I'll need to figure out how to secure this better when the nephews visit. But this is great for everyday dog herding when the boys aren't around.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Dreambaby Chelsea Auto Close Security Gate with Extensions- White

Good purchase.

03/30/2014
By ,
New York
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Gate sets up easy, very sturdy and secure. Actually isn't unattractive, for a baby gate. Nice and tall.
Does it's job, a a little too well for my needs. I imagine the automatic shutting feature is the bee's knees when using it at top/ bottom of steps. But for use in a door at ground level it gets kind of annoying, if you're in and out a lot. Not really a product issue, more of an over sight on my part.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 212 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  11 Next