Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Dreambaby Dreambaby Chelsea Xtra Wide Swing Close Gate Combo Pack- White

Dreambaby Dreambaby Chelsea Xtra Wide Swing Close Gate Combo Pack- White

This Dreambaby Pressure Mount Hallway Gate will keep your little one safe from falling down stairs or getting away from safe areas. The baby safety gate has been certified by JPMA to be baby ready. The doorway baby gate is an important product that will definitely come in handy in any household having a toddler. The extra wide baby gate is suitable for almost all door sizes and fits doors from 38 inches to 53 inches. It features a rounded gate top that gives it a charming look, allowing it to blend in with your home decor. Easy one hand operation for adults makes this doorway baby gate a practical solution to your childs safety problems. The gate will swing both ways and the closes automatically, allowing easy access for parents. Make your house safer for your baby by bringing home this baby safety gate.
Average Customer Rating:
4.688 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(189 Reviews) 171
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
150
4 stars
30
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation96%182 out of 189reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
34 Questions | 77 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
150
4 stars
30
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Dreambaby Chelsea Xtra Wide Swing Close Gate Combo Pack- White

Simply FABULOUS

11/10/2012
By ,
West Lafayette, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I shopped around for quite a while to find gates that would expand over our wide doorways/hallways and these work like a charm. We have 2 small dogs and we can now keep them confined. I was worried about the width between the spindles, it's 2 1/4" so they can't get through. Installation was a snap and didn't require hardware on the wall and the swing door is just fantastic. The gates are pricey, that's why I only gave the Value 4 stars. We've had them installed for a month now and have had no problems with them.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Dreambaby Chelsea Xtra Wide Swing Close Gate Combo Pack- White

Serves its purpose well

12/14/2009
By ,
God's Country, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have a wide staircase and needed to find a sturdy gate that was would fit. We also needed the tension aspect as opposed to having to put screws into the staircase. The gate works well, swings either way and was easy to assemble. ( I assume it was easy.....my brother put it together while I was making Thanksgiving dinner!) He didn't complain.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Dreambaby Chelsea Xtra Wide Swing Close Gate Combo Pack- White

They work well

12/14/2009
By ,
Atlanta, Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am an extremely picky individual, but I can tell you with all honesty that this gate is absolutely fantastic. They’re not the most stylish gate if that’s what you’re looking for, but they’re not ugly either. They are sold and with the combination of extensions between the extra wide gate and regulator gate, they fit any opening from 27” up to ?” depending on how many extensions you have. We had 4 left over. They open in both directions and automatically close and latch. We bought 4 regular size and 1 extra wide for a 50”opening. Installation was easy. I would say the only down fall that I have experience with them so far, theres not a way to lock them open, if you needed to, for example, when carrying in groceries or something like that. What I did is I went to Harbor Freight and bought a container of small 10” stretch cords and hooked them on the gate to keep it open when needed and you can leave them on the gate hooked to the outside where the baby can’t get to them.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Dreambaby Chelsea Xtra Wide Swing Close Gate Combo Pack- White

Well-Made Product

07/29/2012
By ,
Greenville, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We needed a gate for the top of our stairway to protect our infant granddaughter when visiting. The problem is that the opening is wider than standard (43" at top and 41" at bottom). We initially tried the Regalo wide gate, but it was light and a bit rickety. I was able to jam a rubber door stop in the bottom to solidify it, but it was still a bit worrisome -- the instructions even advise against use at the top of stairs.
We then turned to the Dream Baby product. While twice the price, it is a much heavier and more stable product. We are using a pressure mount, but it is very firm and stable. The only drawback is the automatically-shutting gate, particularly since we need it open most of the time. However, I took a white wire clothes hanger, broke a piece off, and bent each end back -- this can easily be used to hold the gate open. (The manufacturer could easily include a similar item for a few pennies and should do so).
All in all, we are very happy with the product thus far.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Dreambaby Chelsea Xtra Wide Swing Close Gate Combo Pack- White

Great baby gate

04/10/2014
By ,
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was our 3rd try at finding a gate to fit the opening between our dining room and living room. Thankfully this one did the trick! All of the other gates we tried were either a bit too long with the extensions or fell a bit short, the opening is a bit odd on size. The Dreambaby gate fit the bill. It fits nice and snug without any movement so I don't have to worry about our grandson getting out of the living room or our dogs darting in either. The gate opens quite easily and closes behind us. I also love that the walk thru gate opens either way. The only thing I would add to this gate is about 6 more inches in height. Other than that it's a great fit for our needs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Dreambaby Chelsea Xtra Wide Swing Close Gate Combo Pack- White

Various extensions included was a plus.

06/21/2012
By ,
Delta, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall I am happy with this gate. Our hallway is 48" and the gate fits with 2 of the 3 extensions that are included. One thing that wasn't really specified in the description was whether or not there would be hardware to install or things to screw in to your walls. I thought since it said pressure mounted that there would be no hardware to install, but there are these small mounting cups you are supposed to screw to your wall or stairway first. We haven't put them up because we didn't want to screw into our walls. The fit is okay without, we thought it was secure, but the baby can bump the bottom of the gate and it gets cockeyed! The top doesn't budge. We have baseboard trim that I guess is slippery compared to the textured wall above, so I see why it slips. I just seems a shame to have to screw in to our trim... Not sure what we are going to do about this problem. I love that the gate swings both ways and closes automatically.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Dreambaby Chelsea Xtra Wide Swing Close Gate Combo Pack- White

4 dachsunds jailed

04/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Keeps my 4 dogs confined in kitchen when I'm not home. Like the product so much I'm ordering another for my hallway...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Dreambaby Chelsea Xtra Wide Swing Close Gate Combo Pack- White

Great product

03/30/2014
By ,
Fairfax va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I looked everywhere for the right gate. This one is sturdy, looks great. Easy to install. You can stick/ screw the wall mounts. Holds well
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Dreambaby Chelsea Xtra Wide Swing Close Gate Combo Pack- White

great product

09/04/2010
By ,
Greenville, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My specific problem in choosing a safe and suitable gate was to find a gate that would work between wrought iron railings for an indoor staircase. The end posts on the railing are typical 1" square pieces and I wasn't sure the tension pieces would fit well enough to stay in place, or that the posts could withstand the tension. I found no reviews for any gates that mentioned working with wrought iron on both sides, one side virtually free-standing, but this sounded like it might work. I really does beautifully! Plus, the white gate looks very nice with my already-white railings. Very pleased!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Dreambaby Chelsea Xtra Wide Swing Close Gate Combo Pack- White

Gate works great once it is tightened and adjusted

03/20/2014
By ,
Tennessee
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this gate to put at the top of stairs. I wanted something that didn't have to be drilled into the walls. This works great but took a good while to get it adjusted properly. The video makes it look much easier than it was. We ended up not having to use the extensions. It was just hard to get it adjusted correctly so that the gate would actually come together and close properly.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Dreambaby Chelsea Xtra Wide Swing Close Gate Combo Pack- White

Love DreamBaby gates!

01/10/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second DreamBaby gate I have purchased. We have the extra tall gate for my daughter's room to keep the cats out. We purchased this gate for the opening to the family room to keep my daughter contained and safe from the kitchen, etc. As a pressure mount, this gate takes literally 2 minutes to set up and is very secure. My daughter is 14 months old and she hangs on it and shakes it, and it doesn't budge. You have to follow the directions, the gate will looked crooked at first, but as you twist each side it will level itself and closes perfectly every time. I love that it swings both ways and closes by itself. I never have to worry if the gate is shut because I can hear it click into place. I would highly recommend this gate to anyone!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Dreambaby Chelsea Xtra Wide Swing Close Gate Combo Pack- White

Best Gate for any area wide or small!!!!

03/13/2014
By ,
Southgate, Ky 41071
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this gate for a puppy that we don't want messing up our carpet. This is absolutely the best gate out there. Was easy for my 10, 6 and 4 year old to open and close. If you are looking for a baby/pet safety gate get this one. It looks better than all the other gates out there and is very sturdy and functional with the walk through easy to open swing both ways door!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Dreambaby Chelsea Xtra Wide Swing Close Gate Combo Pack- White

Solid gate - great for wide doorways

03/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this gate for a wide doorway, it comes with extensions rather than having to buy them separately so that was the main reason I selected this to begin with. It arrived quickly and was very easy to install. It's sturdy, my dog bumps it and it doesn't move at all. I will not be concerned when our baby starts walking and pushing against it. I recommend this gate for quality and price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Dreambaby Chelsea Xtra Wide Swing Close Gate Combo Pack- White

Great Extra Wide Baby Gate

03/13/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great baby gate for the money! We needed an extra wide gate and this one was easy to setup and arrived extremely fast! We had to tighten it a little more than you would think for it to line up, but now that its up its great!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Dreambaby Chelsea Xtra Wide Swing Close Gate Combo Pack- White

Great gate for wide spaces!

02/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fits our 43" hallway perfectly. It's tall but not too tall - I'm 5'5" and can step over it. Glad we picked this one. It's a great deal for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Dreambaby Chelsea Xtra Wide Swing Close Gate Combo Pack- White

Great Gate for Puppies and Toddlers

09/07/2009
By ,
El Paso, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought 2 of these to assist in housebreaking our new puppy, and for containing our 7 month old daughter who is very close to crawling.
We also have a three year old and a five year old, who need to be able to move about the house freely (they each figured out how to use them in about 30 seconds).
My wife also made it clear that the gates must look asthetically pleasing in the house (and she has impeccable taste).
These gates satisfied all of the requirements mentioned above, and everyone is happy with them. Frankly, I was slightly nervous about ordering a product that was only available online, and that I could not go and actually see in a store, but I bit the bullet and ordered it anyway. I was not disappointed at all, and the product works as advertised (no "surprises").
The only issue we had was in placing the gates in a part of the wall that was not entirely stable, which produced a nail pop, so we moved it. Since it is pressure mounted, it might be a good idea to use a stud-finder and try to mount the gate right on a stud, just to be sure. All in all it is very sturdy, and we like the product. Thank you!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Dreambaby Chelsea Xtra Wide Swing Close Gate Combo Pack- White

Godsend to those caring for toddler children

10/17/2013
By ,
Valparaiso, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This gate system is really a great tool for closing off areas from babies and toddlers. It provides the barrier for the children, possibly some pets, but not cats, and it allows the adults to use the latched gate to move back and forth with relative ease. You have to get accustomed to how the gate works, pushing the latch release, pulling up slightly on the gate, then swinging it open. It is nicely hinged and swings open easily once unlatched. We needed two of the 17.5" extensions to close our nearly 75 inch opening, but it worked like a charm. Be sure to get a good measurement on your opening and do some calculating to be certain you get the proper combination of extensions. Also be sure to read everything. At first it will appear as the gate is bent, but it tells you why that is the case and explains what will happen when it is installed properly. The pressure mounting hardware is 100% awesome. No drillling, no hammering, no tools, no damaging walls. And if you get it installed properly, it is quite sturdy. Totally worth the money when compared to the craziness and chaos we had in trying to use other furniture and things to make a blockade.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Dreambaby Chelsea Xtra Wide Swing Close Gate Combo Pack- White

Not a versatile product

03/06/2014
By ,
Traverse City, MI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
While the product description said this gate fits a range of openings, it does not. Our doorway was too narrow to use the smallest extension and too wide to use it without. Had to return it--VERY disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Dreambaby Chelsea Xtra Wide Swing Close Gate Combo Pack- White

If get a different gate

03/04/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not what we needed at all. Took a chunk out of our wall during the install.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Dreambaby Chelsea Xtra Wide Swing Close Gate Combo Pack- White

Love, love, love this gate!

01/27/2009
By ,
MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My sister bought this gate for me for Christmas 2007. At the time my daughter was 6 months old and barely crawling. Now she is 19 months old and is all over the place. I have a very large opening at the top of the stairs (the living room, dining room, and kitchen are all on the second floor), and this gate was the perfect fit! Easy to install, stylish, and very easy to use! I since lost the baby gate in our house fire at the end of September. We will be moving back into our house this week, so I ordered the same baby gate from Walmart, at a much better price then Target (my sister paid about $40 more when she ordered it from Target). My only complaint is that the gate just arrived and it was broken. The switch to open the gate had broken off. I have now ordered a 3rd one, and am hoping it will be in perfect shape when it arrives. All in all, order this gate from Walmart and you will have a beautiful, SAFE baby gate!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 172 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next