Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Dreambaby Dreambaby Chelsea Extra Wide Auto Close Security Gate with Extensions- White

Dreambaby Dreambaby Chelsea Extra Wide Auto Close Security Gate with Extensions- White

The Chelsea Extra Wide Auto Close Security Gate by Dreambaby provides a secure barrier for your curious little ones. Keep them safe and confined to areas of the house where they're out of harm's way with this sturdy, extra wide gate. The Chelsea Extra Wide Auto Close Gate is designed to fit a wide range of doorways, hallways, top or bottom of stairs, and other openings. This gate combo pack will fit openings from 38" to 53" using the two included extensions. The Chelsea model gate will conveniently open in both directions and swing closed automatically so you'll never need to worry about closing the gate behind you when your hands are full or you're in a hurry. The Chelsea Extra Wide Auto Close Gate is also ideal for keeping pets confined to specific areas of the house. Expand your Chelsea Extra Wide Auto Close Gate up to 121" with optional extensions which can be purchased separately.
Average Customer Rating:
4.684 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(193 Reviews) 175
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
153
4 stars
30
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation96%185 out of 193reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
35 Questions | 78 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
153
4 stars
30
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Dreambaby Chelsea Extra Wide Auto Close Security Gate with Extensions- White

Simply FABULOUS

11/10/2012
By ,
West Lafayette, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I shopped around for quite a while to find gates that would expand over our wide doorways/hallways and these work like a charm. We have 2 small dogs and we can now keep them confined. I was worried about the width between the spindles, it's 2 1/4" so they can't get through. Installation was a snap and didn't require hardware on the wall and the swing door is just fantastic. The gates are pricey, that's why I only gave the Value 4 stars. We've had them installed for a month now and have had no problems with them.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Dreambaby Chelsea Extra Wide Auto Close Security Gate with Extensions- White

Serves its purpose well

12/14/2009
By ,
God's Country, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have a wide staircase and needed to find a sturdy gate that was would fit. We also needed the tension aspect as opposed to having to put screws into the staircase. The gate works well, swings either way and was easy to assemble. ( I assume it was easy.....my brother put it together while I was making Thanksgiving dinner!) He didn't complain.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Dreambaby Chelsea Extra Wide Auto Close Security Gate with Extensions- White

They work well

12/14/2009
By ,
Atlanta, Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am an extremely picky individual, but I can tell you with all honesty that this gate is absolutely fantastic. They’re not the most stylish gate if that’s what you’re looking for, but they’re not ugly either. They are sold and with the combination of extensions between the extra wide gate and regulator gate, they fit any opening from 27” up to ?” depending on how many extensions you have. We had 4 left over. They open in both directions and automatically close and latch. We bought 4 regular size and 1 extra wide for a 50”opening. Installation was easy. I would say the only down fall that I have experience with them so far, theres not a way to lock them open, if you needed to, for example, when carrying in groceries or something like that. What I did is I went to Harbor Freight and bought a container of small 10” stretch cords and hooked them on the gate to keep it open when needed and you can leave them on the gate hooked to the outside where the baby can’t get to them.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Dreambaby Chelsea Extra Wide Auto Close Security Gate with Extensions- White

Well-Made Product

07/29/2012
By ,
Greenville, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We needed a gate for the top of our stairway to protect our infant granddaughter when visiting. The problem is that the opening is wider than standard (43" at top and 41" at bottom). We initially tried the Regalo wide gate, but it was light and a bit rickety. I was able to jam a rubber door stop in the bottom to solidify it, but it was still a bit worrisome -- the instructions even advise against use at the top of stairs.
We then turned to the Dream Baby product. While twice the price, it is a much heavier and more stable product. We are using a pressure mount, but it is very firm and stable. The only drawback is the automatically-shutting gate, particularly since we need it open most of the time. However, I took a white wire clothes hanger, broke a piece off, and bent each end back -- this can easily be used to hold the gate open. (The manufacturer could easily include a similar item for a few pennies and should do so).
All in all, we are very happy with the product thus far.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Dreambaby Chelsea Extra Wide Auto Close Security Gate with Extensions- White

quality product

09/15/2014
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The gate was super quick and easy to install. It's a strong and quality gate to keep my toddler and dogs safe.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Dreambaby Chelsea Extra Wide Auto Close Security Gate with Extensions- White

Various extensions included was a plus.

06/21/2012
By ,
Delta, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall I am happy with this gate. Our hallway is 48" and the gate fits with 2 of the 3 extensions that are included. One thing that wasn't really specified in the description was whether or not there would be hardware to install or things to screw in to your walls. I thought since it said pressure mounted that there would be no hardware to install, but there are these small mounting cups you are supposed to screw to your wall or stairway first. We haven't put them up because we didn't want to screw into our walls. The fit is okay without, we thought it was secure, but the baby can bump the bottom of the gate and it gets cockeyed! The top doesn't budge. We have baseboard trim that I guess is slippery compared to the textured wall above, so I see why it slips. I just seems a shame to have to screw in to our trim... Not sure what we are going to do about this problem. I love that the gate swings both ways and closes automatically.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Dreambaby Chelsea Extra Wide Auto Close Security Gate with Extensions- White

Security gate with extensions easy to install

09/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love the product. Easy to install. Looks great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Dreambaby Chelsea Extra Wide Auto Close Security Gate with Extensions- White

great product

09/04/2010
By ,
Greenville, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My specific problem in choosing a safe and suitable gate was to find a gate that would work between wrought iron railings for an indoor staircase. The end posts on the railing are typical 1" square pieces and I wasn't sure the tension pieces would fit well enough to stay in place, or that the posts could withstand the tension. I found no reviews for any gates that mentioned working with wrought iron on both sides, one side virtually free-standing, but this sounded like it might work. I really does beautifully! Plus, the white gate looks very nice with my already-white railings. Very pleased!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Dreambaby Chelsea Extra Wide Auto Close Security Gate with Extensions- White

Love DreamBaby gates!

01/10/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second DreamBaby gate I have purchased. We have the extra tall gate for my daughter's room to keep the cats out. We purchased this gate for the opening to the family room to keep my daughter contained and safe from the kitchen, etc. As a pressure mount, this gate takes literally 2 minutes to set up and is very secure. My daughter is 14 months old and she hangs on it and shakes it, and it doesn't budge. You have to follow the directions, the gate will looked crooked at first, but as you twist each side it will level itself and closes perfectly every time. I love that it swings both ways and closes by itself. I never have to worry if the gate is shut because I can hear it click into place. I would highly recommend this gate to anyone!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Dreambaby Chelsea Extra Wide Auto Close Security Gate with Extensions- White

Weak walmart description

08/09/2014
By ,
Sacramento, ca
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It could be a good gate but one part I don't care for is once you use the mounts on the sides which screw towards the wall to make the gate tight. You actually have to tighten the gate very tight so the gate actually bends so the door is aligned correctly. When use against a banister (hand rail) it will start to bent the banister out. That's my main complaint.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Dreambaby Chelsea Extra Wide Auto Close Security Gate with Extensions- White

Great Gate for Puppies and Toddlers

09/07/2009
By ,
El Paso, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought 2 of these to assist in housebreaking our new puppy, and for containing our 7 month old daughter who is very close to crawling.
We also have a three year old and a five year old, who need to be able to move about the house freely (they each figured out how to use them in about 30 seconds).
My wife also made it clear that the gates must look asthetically pleasing in the house (and she has impeccable taste).
These gates satisfied all of the requirements mentioned above, and everyone is happy with them. Frankly, I was slightly nervous about ordering a product that was only available online, and that I could not go and actually see in a store, but I bit the bullet and ordered it anyway. I was not disappointed at all, and the product works as advertised (no "surprises").
The only issue we had was in placing the gates in a part of the wall that was not entirely stable, which produced a nail pop, so we moved it. Since it is pressure mounted, it might be a good idea to use a stud-finder and try to mount the gate right on a stud, just to be sure. All in all it is very sturdy, and we like the product. Thank you!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Dreambaby Chelsea Extra Wide Auto Close Security Gate with Extensions- White

Love, love, love this gate!

01/27/2009
By ,
MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My sister bought this gate for me for Christmas 2007. At the time my daughter was 6 months old and barely crawling. Now she is 19 months old and is all over the place. I have a very large opening at the top of the stairs (the living room, dining room, and kitchen are all on the second floor), and this gate was the perfect fit! Easy to install, stylish, and very easy to use! I since lost the baby gate in our house fire at the end of September. We will be moving back into our house this week, so I ordered the same baby gate from Walmart, at a much better price then Target (my sister paid about $40 more when she ordered it from Target). My only complaint is that the gate just arrived and it was broken. The switch to open the gate had broken off. I have now ordered a 3rd one, and am hoping it will be in perfect shape when it arrives. All in all, order this gate from Walmart and you will have a beautiful, SAFE baby gate!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Dreambaby Chelsea Extra Wide Auto Close Security Gate with Extensions- White

Effective and easy to install

06/28/2010
By ,
Arkansas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We got this gate to span a five-feet entryway between our livingroom and kitchen. Based on reading reviews and the Q&As on this website, I thought it came with the proper pieces to cover that distance. It did not. I had to spend an extra $50 ordering extension pieces from Target.com (because Wal-Mart doesn't sell them). Once those came in, though, the gate was easy to put up and effectively keeps my very mobile 8-month-old where I want her. It is secure for her to pull up on and is pretty easy to open and close with one hand.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Dreambaby Chelsea Extra Wide Auto Close Security Gate with Extensions- White

Overall a Good Buy

04/02/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like the gate pretty well. We wanted one with a foot pedal, but couldn't get it wide enough to fit above the stairs (at least in our price range). This gate was a good price for a wide fit gate and it was really easy to setup. It opens by using your thumb to pull back on a plastic slider and pulling up on the gate, which is fairly easy to do. My only complaint is that it was a bit of a chore to try to get the gate lined up just right so that when it swings shut it fully latches. There's a plastic piece for the latch that doesn't get fully inserted into the latch hole unless you gently push down on the gate once closed. I worked on getting it just right for several minutes and finally settled on just visually making sure it latches fully whenever we use it. Otherwise, it seems pretty sturdy and meets our needs. However, unless you have a very wide opening, my previous experience would suggest you get a gate with a foot pedal for ease of use.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Dreambaby Chelsea Extra Wide Auto Close Security Gate with Extensions- White

Be Careful

11/27/2009
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The thing you need to know about this gate is that is not adjustable to fit any size doorway. It comes with extra side panels to make it wider but it will only adjust an inch or so on either side so is limited. And the adjusting has to be done while you're holding it up in the opening. It also is designed so you need to tighten it repeatedly before the latch post will meet the opening so the gate will catch. It seems heavy duty and looks nice. The opening gate is handy. But I think it could have been designed better. I'm using it without the wall cups which I didn't want to leave screwed into my wall due to appearance. And I want to use the gate in different places.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Dreambaby Chelsea Extra Wide Auto Close Security Gate with Extensions- White

Godsend to those caring for toddler children

10/17/2013
By ,
Valparaiso, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This gate system is really a great tool for closing off areas from babies and toddlers. It provides the barrier for the children, possibly some pets, but not cats, and it allows the adults to use the latched gate to move back and forth with relative ease. You have to get accustomed to how the gate works, pushing the latch release, pulling up slightly on the gate, then swinging it open. It is nicely hinged and swings open easily once unlatched. We needed two of the 17.5" extensions to close our nearly 75 inch opening, but it worked like a charm. Be sure to get a good measurement on your opening and do some calculating to be certain you get the proper combination of extensions. Also be sure to read everything. At first it will appear as the gate is bent, but it tells you why that is the case and explains what will happen when it is installed properly. The pressure mounting hardware is 100% awesome. No drillling, no hammering, no tools, no damaging walls. And if you get it installed properly, it is quite sturdy. Totally worth the money when compared to the craziness and chaos we had in trying to use other furniture and things to make a blockade.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Dreambaby Chelsea Extra Wide Auto Close Security Gate with Extensions- White
04/19/2008
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have searched for months for a good gate for between my kitchen and living room. The space is wide so my choices were limited. After trying a retractable gate that ripped huge chunks of drywall out of my wall, I opted for a pressure mounted gate. I read the reviews and chose this one with high hopes. I installed it last night and, so far, am very pleased. It was simple to assemble and installation was a breeze. It fits VERY tight and there is no way it is going anywhere. The release on the gate will take some getting used to and it is spring loaded so it closes on its own which is nice, but will be a pain when the baby is in bed and I still have to open the door every time I want to walk into the kitchen, but other than that, I'm very happy.
Just a note, if you have quarter round, this gate will not work. It must sit flat on the floor and the pressure mounts are too low to install over the quarter round.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Dreambaby Chelsea Extra Wide Auto Close Security Gate with Extensions- White

Great baby gate

04/10/2014
By ,
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was our 3rd try at finding a gate to fit the opening between our dining room and living room. Thankfully this one did the trick! All of the other gates we tried were either a bit too long with the extensions or fell a bit short, the opening is a bit odd on size. The Dreambaby gate fit the bill. It fits nice and snug without any movement so I don't have to worry about our grandson getting out of the living room or our dogs darting in either. The gate opens quite easily and closes behind us. I also love that the walk thru gate opens either way. The only thing I would add to this gate is about 6 more inches in height. Other than that it's a great fit for our needs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Dreambaby Chelsea Extra Wide Auto Close Security Gate with Extensions- White

Very Convenient, but Latch could be Beefier

05/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This gate swings both ways, and that makes it much easier to use. It also locks automatically when it swings closed. The gate is well made and very sturdy, and the finish appears to be powder coated. The actual latching mechanism; however, is plastic, and this could be an issue after extended use.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Dreambaby Chelsea Extra Wide Auto Close Security Gate with Extensions- White

Great gate!!!

09/17/2012
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my second gate, the first one I got was a screw-mounted type because I thought thats what we needed for top of the stairs. Recently we painted and fixed the walls and I didn't want to make new holes in the wall. This gate works perfectly in my 46" opening, very sturdy and easy to operate! The $0.97 shipping was super fast, I placed my order late Thursday afternoon and got the package Saturday morning, and it took only about 10 minutes to install!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 176 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next