Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Better Homes and Gardens Better Homes and Gardens Rave 16-Piece Square Dinnerware Set, Red

Better Homes and Gardens Better Homes and Gardens Rave 16-Piece Square Dinnerware Set, Red

Elevate the art of everyday dining with the Better Homes and Gardens Rave Square 16-piece Dinnerware Set. This contemporary four-piece place setting has a striking, elegant square-shaped design in a bold crimson color that adds depth, dimension and distinction to any meal. The red square dinner wear set features flared rims, rounded corners and a rich, reactive glaze for a finished look that infuses even the simplest tablescapes with bold color and impeccable style. This red square dinnerware set includes four dinner plates, four dessert plates, four bowls and four mugs. The bowls and mugs have black interiors and the plates have black bases, for added contrast. The stoneware dinnerwear set is both microwave and dishwasher safe. The set is ideal for everyday use. It's also a tasteful and practical gift for housewarmings, bridal showers and special occasions.
Average Customer Rating:
4.647 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(266 Reviews) 227
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
211
4 stars
34
3 stars
8
2 stars
8
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation94%249 out of 266reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
28 Questions | 58 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
211
4 stars
34
3 stars
8
2 stars
8
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Better Homes and Gardens Rave 16-Piece Square Dinnerware Set, Red

Beautiful dishware, but STOP WITH THE STICKERS!!!

06/05/2012
By ,
TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Please, HomeTrends/Walmart... Stop putting those god-awful 'HANDMADE!' stickers on your dishes. They are difficult to remove and like another reviewer has already said, leaves sticky glue residue all over the dish... The sticker serves no purpose besides marketing, it doesn't even have the price tag. Cut it out or find another type of adhesive to use (like the white sticker with the price tag on the bottom of the dish - that one doesn't leave residue).
Otherwise, I love HomeTrends dishware. Pretty stuff.
(Attached a photo of the residue all over my brand new mug I just bought...)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Better Homes and Gardens Rave 16-Piece Square Dinnerware Set, Red

Gorgeous

09/21/2010
By ,
DFW, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The pics do not do this set justice. It's a much richer red. The dishes are sturdy, well-made and gorgeous. We'll probably order another set for dinner parties.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Better Homes and Gardens Rave 16-Piece Square Dinnerware Set, Red

Very happy with this purchase

05/30/2008
By ,
Sarasota, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All plates fit perfectly in our cabinets, do well in the microwave and dishwasher (we have a small .07 cu. ft. microwave and the largest of the plates won’t fit in there, but the smaller plates fit nicely). Dishes are heavy, but I certainly did not expect Czech china lightness and transparency for 40$. I’ve banged plates against each other, accidentally dropped them inside dishwasher and none of them chipped. The colour is great and goes nicely with our contemporary kitchen! It looked extremely bright on the picture and I was concerned it may look a little too obnoxious, but the actual colour is a little more subdued, which we like so much! My only gripe is the giant size of the largest of the plates. No human being should be able to eat nearly as much as the large plate can fit!! I actually use them as charger plates sometimes, as well as after-dinner fruit and cheese “platters” or to serve hors d'oeuvre.
Bowls are great looking and extremely versatile. Cups are great! Although they are square, their sides are a bit rounded so one does not have to sip from the corner. The inside is black so it’s a little hard to see how strong the tea is, but, again, not a big deal. All in all, we were extremely happy with the set’s appearance, quality, durability and price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Better Homes and Gardens Rave 16-Piece Square Dinnerware Set, Red

Nice stuff but hard to match

05/29/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought two sets of this last year and use it occasionally. I bought it for the color, but it's not my everyday dinnerware. It's similar in composition to another brand that has a terrible reputation for chipping and cracking, so my expectations weren't that high, but it has performed well for me. I've used it maybe two dozen times since I bought it.
Today I went to buy another set to have on hand, given its reputation for cracking and chipping. Once home, I found that it's a totally different color, a sort of dark reddish brown, not at all the tomato red shown on the box and sitting in my cupboard.
So I'm taking it back. I hope I can match the original red.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Better Homes and Gardens Rave 16-Piece Square Dinnerware Set, Red

Fabulous dishes

12/20/2008
By ,
Cave Creek, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love these dishes! The are beautiful, sturdy, well made and very affordable. And, red, my favorite.
I was suprised at the quality and its nice that there is an order sheet inside the box to order additional pieces.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+59points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Better Homes and Gardens Rave 16-Piece Square Dinnerware Set, Red

Rave

07/05/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love the look
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Better Homes and Gardens Rave 16-Piece Square Dinnerware Set, Red

nice product for the price

06/26/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love love my new dishes yes I would recommend this product to others
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Better Homes and Gardens Rave 16-Piece Square Dinnerware Set, Red

Outstanding Value

07/21/2009
By ,
Richmond, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow! We are very pleased with the quality and appearance of this set; we are using the lunch plates for our dinners since they are so large! We like it so much, we may be ordering a 2nd set for family dinners!
I just wish we could buy more serving pieces other that the large platter.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Marion, IA
Wonderful set
Posted 06/22/2011
We wanted a set of dishes that we could use in the microwave and found just that in these plates and bowls. Yes they get hot where the food is, but you can definitely handle the edges of the plates and rims of the bowls just fine. Love how they clean up in the dishwasher and LOVED the price.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Better Homes and Gardens Rave 16-Piece Square Dinnerware Set, Red

Pretty but poor quality

02/06/2010
By ,
Columbus, GA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My husband and I love the look of these dishes, but very quickly found out they easily chip and break.
Also, these dishes get very hot in the microwave, even if you only microwave for less than two minutes. Usually I start microwaving food in a glass dish before switching it to the red plates/bowls.
These look great but I do NOT recommend them.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Better Homes and Gardens Rave 16-Piece Square Dinnerware Set, Red

Why oh why were dishes ever round?????

08/23/2010
By ,
RC,SD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Though this product states not sold in stores, my local Walmart stocks it at $34 and I bought 3 sets. I absolutely adore them! All three sets stack and store so beautifully on one shelf in a large corner cabinet. My old round plates and bowls took up 2 full shelves in the same cabinet! I really don't know why dishes were ever round. They wash up very nicely, look great on my table and have ample sizing. We normally use the salad plates for meals however the very large dinner plates work very well for pasta dishes and entertaining. My everyday dishes have become really everyday, whether guests or just us. I've already purchased the 8 and 10 inch bowls as well as the large platter and am considering buying another set of dishes in case of breakage! Do not hesittate on this one! The color is true red and if you're a red lover like me you won't be disappointed!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Better Homes and Gardens Rave 16-Piece Square Dinnerware Set, Red

Works great!

05/25/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pretty color, good size, perfect amount of pieces, good price
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Better Homes and Gardens Rave 16-Piece Square Dinnerware Set, Red

Best of Both Worlds

04/09/2010
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a red dish set, yet needed something that would last through teeagers handling from microwave, to sink, to diswasher and these do the job!!
I have now owned this set for 8 months and couldn't be happier. They withstand a houseful of teens, and not one of them have a chip!! I bought 2 sets at once because sometimes it can take a while to load the dishwasher, and even with the banging around of kids putting stuff in the dishwasher these have stood up beautifully. The coffee cups are tapered a bit, and I can actually use it in my cars cup holder! Very nice for my ride to work in the morning...
The larger plates are huge, and work well for something like spaghetti because you would normally have to have a separate plate or napkin for your bread, but with this set, you can include the garlic bread on the same plate! Thanksgiving was great, everyone used just one plate, and didn't need to go back for seconds, they got it on one plate! And the bowls hold one can of Campbell's Chunky Soup perfectly!!
I would very highly recommend this set to anyone looking for something that has both durability and beauty.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Better Homes and Gardens Rave 16-Piece Square Dinnerware Set, Red

Great Product

07/21/2010
By ,
Las Vegas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Normally, I wouldn't take time to submit a review but I've had my dinnerware for over a year (when offered in the stores) & was ordering an add'l 4 pc setting & decided to send in my review. I love this set! This product is both beautiful & durable & can be used as both your everyday dinnerware in addition to feeling proud to serve your guests with them also. If you do a lot of entertaining, I'd advise you to pick up a few add'l serviing pieces in the black or red rave. Table looks great mixing the colors as the black edging shows on the rims of plates & interior of the bowls & cup (cups are mugs but probably are only 12 oz & not huge coffee mug, if that was what you were wanting but perfect size for me). I even used my dinnerware as my entertaining Christmas dishes in 2009 adding inexpensive (less than $2.00 ea.) large gold chargers to my table settings & also adding a few add'l Holiday pieces easily added in that brought everything together b/c of red, gold & black writing & Holiday pix on the few Christmas dishes I added as acccents. Much easier than putting my normal dishes away for a month to use my holiday dishes. 5 stars for from me all the way around. Okay, gonna go...need to finish ordering mine b4 you buy them all from me. = )
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Better Homes and Gardens Rave 16-Piece Square Dinnerware Set, Red

Love These Stylish Dishes

12/02/2008
By ,
Mt. Airy, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered these for Thanksgiving, I ordered two sets so that I could have 8 settings. They are absolutely beautiful. The large dinner plates are huge and hold a lot of food, you could actually use the smaller salad plates instead, they also held a large amount of food. I used the smaller plates for the kids at dinner, had plenty of dishes for 11. They are so stylish and contemporary, I got tons of compliments. I would recommend to anyone. The red it deep and dark and has some inflections to it, it gives it an earthenware look. I also put them through the dishwasher and although the large plates were a tight squeeze they fit nicely after raising the top shelf of the dishwasher. They still look shiny and brand new afterward.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Better Homes and Gardens Rave 16-Piece Square Dinnerware Set, Red

Pretty but not functional

02/08/2010
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought these a few months ago because of the color and shape. I have two plates that are now gone due to chipping in the dishwasher. Also, they get entirely too hot in the microwave. If you have the plate in for more than 30 seconds, they are too hot to remove without an oven mitt and take a good while to cool off. Food sticks to these. I have had to literally scrape off even scrambled eggs because the plate gets as hot as the food when it is placed on it. I do not recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Better Homes and Gardens Rave 16-Piece Square Dinnerware Set, Red

Sturdy, Beautiful, can be used as serving platters

08/31/2012
By ,
NY, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased these over a year ago and love them. They are great in the dishwasher and microwave. Still very pretty. And the bowls and plates are so large that I use them as serving platters. I also purchased the large serving bowl and rectangular platter, these are beautiful with fruit in them all year around. I'm ordering a second and third set for Thanksgiving this year. They are oversized, heavy and perfect for company. I use them everyday and they are all still in perfect condition.
p.s. I accidently ordered 2 of the Soho Gibson Square sets, they arrived chipped and were thin and delicate. Beware because they look so much alike on the computer screen but in person they are miles apart. I use these as knock around dishes. Send leftovers to friends using the Gibsons. Stick with the Hometrends for dinner parties and dishwashers.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Better Homes and Gardens Rave 16-Piece Square Dinnerware Set, Red

Excellent dinnerware

04/08/2014
By ,
Bozeman, MT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a 4 place setting on the Red Rave set. Loved it and wanted to get a complete set. The color is amazing, and the plates are solid, and have a heavy and nice feel to them. Wanted to add to it and replace the other set (different) that was incomplete. I now have a complete 12 setting and just love them. Excellent quality and they look awesome
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Better Homes and Gardens Rave 16-Piece Square Dinnerware Set, Red

To good to give up!

05/18/2012
By ,
Tampa, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVE these dishes. They have held out without a single break or scratch for over 9 months (you just have to double check to make sure that they are fine when they come out of the box - I had a few that came with pits and had to exchange them). I've been slowly collecting the accessories (platters and serving bowls), but the last time I went in to Wal-Mart to pick out my new addition, I found that the stores are clearing them out. It seems that like most popular items, it is no longer going to be sold. So, I'm buying everything I can get my hands on (even considering getting another set of dishes in case something falls to the floor or I have a huge family get-together.
My only real complaint about this set is that the lunch size dishes and dessert bowls (the smaller plates and bowls) are what I would consider a "normal size" dish. I would love for there to be smaller plates and bowls that match (I have had to settle with a bowl that is the same color red, but has no black).
I BEG Wal-Mart to keep this product in stores, and I BEG the manufacture to extend the line.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Better Homes and Gardens Rave 16-Piece Square Dinnerware Set, Red

Great for the money

01/14/2010
By ,
Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have my kitchen decorated in Coca Cola. I was wanting something that would match, and tie into the more contemporary side of my kitchen also. This set fit perfectly! They do look a little bubbly on the black side and the cups are not perfect on the lines but if you read it says each one is unique. I wish I would have gotten the sheet in mine to order additional peices. May be bc I bought them in the store. But overall I am very pleased with what I got for the money. They are plenty big, durable, and heavy. Just wish I could get more of them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Better Homes and Gardens Rave 16-Piece Square Dinnerware Set, Red

Not worth your money!!!!

06/06/2008
By ,
Little Falls, MN
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this set because my husband loved the color red. The red looks great but the Black on the inside of the cups, bowls and under the plates looks like they were spray painted on with spray paint!!! Not only that the first night we used them, we washed them in the dishwasher and they chips all over on the edges!!! Not worth it!!!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 228 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  12 Next