Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for North States North States - 3-in-1 Metal Superyard Portable Playard & Gate

North States North States - 3-in-1 Metal Superyard Portable Playard & Gate

Keep your child safe and secure in the 3-in-1 Metal Superyard by North States. The versatile, six-panel enclosure can act as a portable play yard, a gate or a barrier. As a play yard, it encloses up to 10 square feet and is 30 inches high. The 3-in-1 Metal Superyard is free-standing and sets up in seconds, it can be used inside on a variety of floor surfaces and won't slip or scratch. For added convenience, the 3-in-1 Metal Superyard can also be hardware mounted as an extra-wide barrier in your home or a gate, blocking off fireplaces, displays, etc. The one swinging walk-thru panel is built with a child-proof double-locking system allowing easy access. If you'd like to increase the overall diameter, a two-panel extension is available separately.
Average Customer Rating:
4.814 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(118 Reviews) 108
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
99
4 stars
17
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation98%116 out of 118reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
28 Questions | 98 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
99
4 stars
17
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for North States - 3-in-1 Metal Superyard Portable Playard & Gate

Excellent Product

07/16/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We actually bought TWO of these, and have permanently mounted them (as one of the options shown in the pictures). We have one that is using one gate panel and two wall panels, and it blocks off a large doorway, and the other panels are being used to keep the children away from our TV and entertainment center.
I was very pleased with the latch mechanisms on these doors. The push button to unlatch the door is fairly stiff, which means my husband and I can open it, but our 17 month old cannot. In addition, the door must be lifted slightly as the button is pressed. The button is situated in such a way that this can be done by one hand by an adult, but again, our 17 month old cannot do this. (He has figured out a LOT of other so-called "childproof gate" systems, but this one still baffles him).
The doors can either stand open or swing closed. The only complaint I have is that one of the doors doesn't close well anymore, but I think that is due to the fact that our floor in that area is not level, and so the door isn't level. It is fairly easily to close that door manually, though, so really a minor issue. I expect that if it was leveled, we would not have that issue any more.
The rest of the gate walls are pretty solid metal, and the assembly is easy and quick. I like being able to lock the panels in place after setting the angle. That makes the product very solid and prevents the kids from pushing it out of shape to be able to reach through and get things.
One note if you plan to mount these to the wall- there are two types of wall hardware, ("A" and "B") and normally you'd need to have an even number of panels to make the edges match the wallmount hardware. (One panel will have both "A" edges, while the next has both "B" edges.) So to end up with a length of panels that uses the correct wall mounts, you need to have an even number of panels. If you have an odd number of panels, you need the same hardware for both ends. We got around this by using the hardware from our second kit, (We used two "A" mounts on one gate, and two "B" mounts on the second) but I believe the company also sells extra mounting pieces (for $1.00) if you need them. (Sorry if that is a bit confusing to follow, but I can't think of a better way to explain).
My only wish is that this company would make a regular-width gate for normal doors with the same latch mechanism. If so, we'd buy several!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for North States - 3-in-1 Metal Superyard Portable Playard & Gate

Great to have it!!!!

03/19/2014
By ,
Atlanta GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Gate works as is suppose. We use to contain our 1 year old. We have attached it to the wall with screws. Husband did put all together very quick. We also got the extension. As our floor is not even/flat we put some foam tile under the gate to prevent our little one to bounce the whole gate. It works making it firm. The reason for 4 stars is that the part where the screws goes is made of plastic. So far we have been using this gate for a week and everything is ok. It does helps A LOT to have your baby secure so as right now we do recommend this product.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for North States - 3-in-1 Metal Superyard Portable Playard & Gate

North State - 3-in-1 Metal Superyard Portable Play

08/31/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This gate is wonderful! I formed it into an "L" shape and put it in the corner of our family room, creating a 32 sq. ft. rectangle. Then I bought a pack of those 2' x2' foam interlocking squares from Costco which also formed a 32 sq. ft. rectangle. (They were $18 cheaper than other places I found and were exactly the right amount needed.) When my son doesn't need to be locked in, I have the door bungee-corded open so he can go in and out freely. The play area is also great for containing toys so they don't end up all over the house. I do wish the gate was white instead of taupe and I also wish that the door could be moved to a different position when it's formed in the "L" shape, but other than that, I'm very pleased with the product.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for North States - 3-in-1 Metal Superyard Portable Playard & Gate

3 in 1 Metal Superyard is fantastic!!

12/02/2013
By ,
Collierville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We were looking for something to keep our granddaughter safe around the fireplace in our home. This is super sturdy, easy to move around when not in use, and so much more than we expected. We even bought the extender panel to add to the fence. Incredibly easy to put the two together!
Best buy in a long time! Don't hesitate to purchase this fence, you will not be disappointed!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for North States - 3-in-1 Metal Superyard Portable Playard & Gate

Just what we were looking for

03/11/2009
By ,
Idaho
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this superyard to block off our stairs. A regular gate wouldn't fit because it's an extra wide stairwell plus we have metal irons and alder posts we didn't want to drill in to. When we finally realized no gate would ever work we got creative with the superyard. It was supereasy to put together! It goes out and around the stairs. We secured it to the irons with zipties and put little felt pads on the yard so it wouldn't hurt the posts. At first we thought it was a little pricey but much sturdier and stronger than other playards we had looked at that were cheaper. Great Buy!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for North States - 3-in-1 Metal Superyard Portable Playard & Gate

Super helpful! Daughter loves it!

11/13/2009
By ,
robbinsville, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I looked for a long time trying to find a play yard for my Daughter that was well made, safe, and easy to set up. This was it! It's 10 times better than the plastic version. Much more sturdy! My Daughter learned how to pull herself up to standing in a few days! What's great is the bars are vertical, so she can't climb up on them. She loves to sit in it and play with all her toys. However the 10 ft version was much too small for us. We had to purchase the extensions to make it 19 sq ft. It takes up my living room, but now she has room to crawl and I don't have to chase her or worry. This item works excellent if you have a large space for a living area with no doors to put up a gate. super safe and very well made. We recommend this product 100%
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for North States - 3-in-1 Metal Superyard Portable Playard & Gate

Baby play yard

03/24/2014
By ,
USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very good buy for our babies!!! It's sturdy and heavy just what I was looking for!!! Thanks a lot
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for North States - 3-in-1 Metal Superyard Portable Playard & Gate

Great extra-wide indoor barrier

01/03/2014
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This gate extended 113" with a little curve ( it's longer than 113") to section off half of our LR into a dog area. We've attached it to the walls permanently with screws. It has kept our 2 well behaved 90-lb dogs in their area for the 2 weeks we've had it. They could jump over the 30" high barrier if they wanted to, so we still need to keep them in their closed kennels if we leave the house or if fireworks disturb them (that's the only time they tried to jiggle it), but it serves its purpose wonderfully. We get to spend time with our dogs without compromising our other daily LR activities.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for North States - 3-in-1 Metal Superyard Portable Playard & Gate

Safety at it's best.

10/25/2008
By ,
Pittsfield, Me
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We recently purchased a pellet stove and we wanted something to keep our grandson from it. I also run a daycare and didn't want anyone getting hurt from the stove.
I would highly recommend this to anyone for safety's sake. It is made of metal so it won't break down and it is sturdy once up. My husband had no troubles putting it up and we are considering buying another one for our fireplace as well.
Good bang for your buck..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for North States - 3-in-1 Metal Superyard Portable Playard & Gate

The fence seems very stout and well thought out.

11/09/2013
By ,
Bend, OR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought this to use around a fireplace insert. Our hearth is raised, so we plan to modify both end sections by notching them, so they will fit over the hearth. The fence is made for flat surfaces. We have looked it over carefully, and think it can be modified and still have smooth edges and be sturdy enough to keep toddlers away from danger. For the price, we think this is a great product. Every home that has a hot heat source should have one. We are grandparents, and will use it when the grandkids are visiting. If we prevent even one burn, or one head hitting the edge of the hearth, it is well worth the price.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for North States - 3-in-1 Metal Superyard Portable Playard & Gate

Nice and sturdy

01/25/2011
By ,
Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this gate. We have a wood burning stove with a stone hearth that is rather large. This gate fits perfectly around it and stands up very sturdy. We did not attach it to the wall, as the directions say you should, and our 9 month old uses the gates to stand and they do not move. She even shakes them and hangs with all of her weight and they do not tip over. We also have hard wood floors and they do not scratch the floor. Althought we felt this was a bit expensive, it is a great item to have for around a fireplace. The only thing that we wish was different was that the opening was a bit larger. For my husband to open the gate to put wood in the fireplace the gate is a bit small. We usually end up just reaching over the whole gate rather than opening the door. Overall wonderful.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for North States - 3-in-1 Metal Superyard Portable Playard & Gate

Better than the others & makes a great gate

11/02/2008
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We're using this as an enclosed area for my daughter until she's older -particularly to keep my active boys who are 6 and 8 from colliding with her and to keep out their tiny toys from her playspace. When she's walking, we will use it to gate off our kitchenette area. It is very sturdy and will likely travel with us to Grandma's house, too, in the minivan. I would like it better if it were white versus taupe, but is neutral and looks fine. The gate piece works very well. It beats the plastic one because it is far more sturdy when it comes to toddlers shaking/pulling and also your son/daughter will have a better view through bars versus a milk crate pattern. Way better than a pack n play, though I have one in my bedroom for her to hang out in while I fold laundry. Versatile - great quality! And the expansion piece is available as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for North States - 3-in-1 Metal Superyard Portable Playard & Gate

Quality Product

08/22/2013
By ,
Hastings, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this for my daycare to allow smaller children a safe place to play and yet allow them to see the other children and for me to have full view of them as well. As a provider of 23 years I have used many gates and play yards. This one is very worth the money. It is solid and you can configure it in a way that works for you. I purchased extra panels as I wanted to create a large space. The gate is outstanding. It opens easily and will remain open if you want it to. It also closes easily. A great quailty gate is always a plus as many are difficult to operate. Overall this is an outstanding product and worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for North States - 3-in-1 Metal Superyard Portable Playard & Gate

Excellent product

01/11/2011
By ,
Prescott, Ontario, Canada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This gate is excellent for securing your fireplace from little ones. It is 12 feet long, which allowed us to enclose the entire fireplace as well as our wood rack. It doesn't mount to the floor only the walls on both ends, which was great for us. Very easy to install as well since it came assembled in the box. Just unfold and bolt to wall.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for North States - 3-in-1 Metal Superyard Portable Playard & Gate

Exceeded my expectations

10/29/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I bought this, I was very nervous about how sturdy it was going to be but I was pleasantly surprised. For anyone debating on the plastic version to save money, don't do it, the upgrade is worth it! It can be configured in many ways and also divided and used in different areas of the house. Very versatile... No complaints so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for North States - 3-in-1 Metal Superyard Portable Playard & Gate

Love it, can't say enough about it!!!

03/08/2013
By ,
Mariposa, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love that this baby gate is stylish, heavy duty, and customizable. I appreciate being able to add or take away sections of the gate to fit certain areas. This is a gate is not made to be moved around all day because it is heavier. I like that because my child can't pull it down. Also securing it to the wall is so easy. I like that my two year old has not figured out the door. You hold down a button and kinda lift up and away. Another thing is that when its in a circle it doesn't give a crawling baby much space. This baby gate is such a great product that in surprised that Walmart only charges $100 bucks. Totally worth it if you do the research, sometimes eBay will have one cheaper but after shipping it may be better to use Walmart site to store for the free shipping.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for North States - 3-in-1 Metal Superyard Portable Playard & Gate

Great gate for small spaces too!

06/07/2009
By ,
Lake Orion, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We live in a small condo. We wanted to put up a play yard, but didn't want something that would take up a lot of space in the middle of the living room. This gate is excellent if you want to install it against a wall and want something that will be durable. Our son is 10 months old and even our 3 year old neighbor plays in it and there is enough room for both of them and I don't have to worry about them breaking it. We use it as a play area for when we are doing laundry, or taking a shower... our son loves it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for North States - 3-in-1 Metal Superyard Portable Playard & Gate

A little pricey but is a GREAT product

06/28/2011
By ,
Louisville, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love it. I have twins so I bought 2 gates to provide them with a larger play area without feeling "caged in". My boys have a ball rolling around and playing in it without being restricted to something the size of a pack and play. The gate is very sturdy and excellent quality. You can tell it's not a cheaply made product. I feel I will get longer use out of it because of it's sturdiness. As much as I thought the price was a bit steep, I am glad I bought it and would recommend this product to other mothers.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for North States - 3-in-1 Metal Superyard Portable Playard & Gate

Recommend

08/29/2013
By ,
Cbus, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did a lot of research before purchasing this gate. I knew that the plastic one would not do. I was going crazy figuring out how to keep him safe when our whole downstairs is open. We are using the gate as a block for a wide (62" hallway) now and I have just baby proofed the family room and kitchen so he has freedom in those areas. I like that you can move it around to wherever needed and that it is not a permanent attachment, very flexible and shuts down easily if you need to put it away. I would not use it placed in the circle because it is much too small (for a baby) even with the extension pieces I think. I like that you can take the sections off and use what you need. I also like the gate because it is too hard for me and my 6 year old to step over. We are using a 4 section piece as a hallway block. My grandson who is 11 mo.'s old and walking is able to push it and move it around with only the 4 sections. We have found a way to slide the end piece behind a sofa or table to make it more secure. It also helps to bend the sections some instead of creating a straight line. I'm not sure how it will hold up as he gets older but we might try adding more pieces later to make it heavier.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for North States - 3-in-1 Metal Superyard Portable Playard & Gate

Chihuahua

06/24/2009
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this because my chihuahua had knee surgery and we had to keep him from running and also jumping on furniture. He is a very active guy!!This has worked very well. I used it as both a play pen and a room gate. It worked well as both. Also, no horizontal bars for him to get his legs stuck on or jump on with his bad knee. The door is a little tricky to use, but not difficult. I recomend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 109 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next