Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Yard-Man MTD Yard-Man 46" Cutting Deck Riding Lawn Mower

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Yard-Man MTD Yard-Man 46" Cutting Deck Riding Lawn Mower

Average Customer Rating:
4.214 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation79%11 out of 14reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for MTD Yard-Man 46" Cutting Deck Riding Lawn Mower

Power and Value

06/30/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This lawn tractor has good power. I was able to mow through my thick grass (over my septic drain field) that had not been cut for six weeks and was 2 feet high without getting clogged. I could hear the engine strain a bit, but it just powered through without slowing down.
My one dislike is that you cannot reverse without turning off the blades, but I guess this is a safety feature on a lot of mowers these days.
Overall, a good, strong mower that is a good value at this price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+41points
Review 2 for MTD Yard-Man 46" Cutting Deck Riding Lawn Mower

must have got a lemon

06/06/2009
By ,
richland ms
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
maybe i bought a lemon, but it has never did me good. i bought it because i wanted a bigger deck. this would be my third summer to use it and i have replaced 2 spindles, the belts and blades twice battery twice and had it in the shop while under warranty because the belts kept jumping off. at the end of last summer a bushing went bad and the steering didn't work. i fixed that and the second time to cut this summer i finished cutting and it has not cranked since. unless mine was just a freak occurence i do not recommend this mower!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+16points
Review 3 for MTD Yard-Man 46" Cutting Deck Riding Lawn Mower

Started out as a good mower...

11/07/2008
By ,
Aberdee, Mississippi
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
But after 8 - 9 months it has suddenly developed three leaks. The engine leaks oil, the rear axle leaks and it appears that a seal has burst on one of the front wheels(it's leaking grease). I'm taking it back this weekend to see what can be done about it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Review 4 for MTD Yard-Man 46" Cutting Deck Riding Lawn Mower

Great Value

02/15/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very pleased with the price and performance of this item.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+11points
Review 5 for MTD Yard-Man 46" Cutting Deck Riding Lawn Mower
07/19/2009
By ,
Topeka ,KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had the mower for about two years now.I mow 3 acers every week. I like the way it handles and it has good power. There are a few thing that I do not like when changing the oil the oil filter is hard to get off you need to take the steering off to make it easy. Also the tow hitch need to be stronger plus it tell you not to pull a small disk or heavy trailers. In all it is a good riding mower
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Review 6 for MTD Yard-Man 46" Cutting Deck Riding Lawn Mower

Costly Repairs

07/11/2009
By ,
MD
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased the mower 3-4 years ago and have had it serviced every year. The very 1st year is when it started. It has a constant problem with throwing the deck belt which strikes the belt guard or other parts underneath slicing the belt to pieces which means a trip back to the shop to have the belt replaced. Apparently there must be a major defect in the design that allows the belts to come off. I would definitely NOT buy another Yardman tractor under any condition.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Review 7 for MTD Yard-Man 46" Cutting Deck Riding Lawn Mower

Love it so far

09/26/2009
By ,
LaFayette, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have a few acres to mow and bought the Yard Man as a backup mower to my Cub Cadet 50" which has a 27hp motor. Cub Cadet was in for servicing so the grass was really thick and tall when I first used the Yard Man 46" for the first time. It is twice as fast and it still had plenty of power to mow the thick grass. I mowed the lawn in around 2/3rds the time it takes with my Cub Cadet. Doesn't have a reverse while blades are on, but for the price that is acceptable. Gas tank is small. Turning radius is better than my Cadet. Only used once (last night) but so far I really like it! Prefer it over my Cub Cadet for about 1/2 the price!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 8 for MTD Yard-Man 46" Cutting Deck Riding Lawn Mower

a wonderful product

06/27/2009
By ,
Bradley S C
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had mine over 6 months and I mow a couple of acres of grass nothing has gone wrong this mower does a fantastic job i know i have two it makes my troybuilt look bad. it starts right up and I would highly recommend this tractor to anyone for what I paid for it it has been worth it thanks Wal-mart!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 9 for MTD Yard-Man 46" Cutting Deck Riding Lawn Mower

great mower

06/08/2009
By ,
duvall, wa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am totally happy with this mower. It runs well and has performed great. our grass was very high when we first got it and it cut through it without any difficulty. Plus it has a cup holder! how can you beat that?
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 10 for MTD Yard-Man 46" Cutting Deck Riding Lawn Mower

What a deal!

09/15/2009
By ,
Manassas, Va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I could have paid hundreds more for a mower that would not have out-performed this one. It handles a two acre yard nicely; is very maneuverable and has a short turning radius for getting into and out of tight spaces. The transmission shifts easily and smoothly. I've replaced the blades, but that was because I mowed through a very rocky area. My Bad! For price and quality, I believe it beats a comparable sized model of that 'other' yellow and green mower hands down.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 11 for MTD Yard-Man 46" Cutting Deck Riding Lawn Mower

Liked mower

07/01/2009
By ,
Westfield, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I liked the mower..however the 2 men who delivered it did not uncrate it at all...leaving me to try to uncrate it which I could not so had to seek help to uncrate it....which was quite hard....when it was delivered the man had my husband sign a paper which asked if it was uncrated by the delivery people and he checked no....but they still would not uncrate it....after paying so much for delivery...was disappointed in this...but did like the mower
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 12 for MTD Yard-Man 46" Cutting Deck Riding Lawn Mower

Big Backyard

12/21/2008
By ,
Utica, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our backyard is so huge that we are to lazy to walk we need a riding mower and this on works so perfect.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 13 for MTD Yard-Man 46" Cutting Deck Riding Lawn Mower

Very Nice Rider

05/11/2009
By ,
Patricksburg
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very confortable and well handle rider. I have enjoyed it greatly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 14 for MTD Yard-Man 46" Cutting Deck Riding Lawn Mower

very good

06/07/2008
By ,
wichita falls tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
needs a larger gas tank
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
0points