Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for MTD Yard Machines 38" Cutting Deck Riding Lawn Mower

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

MTD Yard Machines 38" Cutting Deck Riding Lawn Mower

Average Customer Rating:
4.235 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation88%15 out of 17reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for MTD Yard Machines 38" Cutting Deck Riding Lawn Mower

Bad Mower

06/26/2008
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This mower is terrible I always have to jump start my mower for two days before it will start. and the manufactor wont replace the mower or allow a full refund or exchange. what a waste of $900.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Review 2 for MTD Yard Machines 38" Cutting Deck Riding Lawn Mower

stress equipment

03/23/2008
By ,
summerville sc
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
every time i go to crank my mower i have to jump my battery
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
-7points
Review 3 for MTD Yard Machines 38" Cutting Deck Riding Lawn Mower

YOU Decide

10/01/2008
By ,
Florida Gulf Coast
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Let me start out by saying that I've never owned any other ride-on before this one, and that I can be hard on machines. I've owned this for 6 years. Here in Florida, I mow about 45 times a year, my lot is close to 1/2 acre. This is a cheap machine, and I have put it through the ringer. It started to fall apart last year. Tie rods, tires, steering shaft, blade height bracket, and also general maintenace items like belts. It's difficult to work on, but maybe all ride-ons are. That said, I probably got my moneys worth out of it. I probably mow close to twice as much as other owners do. Grass grows like crazy here. I thought some things like the steering, front end, and safety interlocks look like pretty cheesy assemblies. But as I said, I've never owned a ride on before now, so have nothing to compare it to. The Briggs and Stratton engine has no trouble pulling my 250 lb frame around in the intense Florida heat.
Anyway, you decide. Just remember that this is not a heavy duty machine. If you buy this machine, I would recommend you don't push it to the limit, and make sure you do your maintenance, it should do well for you. If you are a Hank Hill type, it will probably last you forever. I see a couple of reviewers had bad luck with the battery. My original lasted at least 2 years, maybe 3. I got a replacement at home depot pretty cheap, and it's still fine. I'm replacing this mower with a more heavy duty machine. I've only had real trouble with it in the last year, and as you can see, it got a lot of use before it started. By the way, one good point is that many parts can be had at Lowes, and ALL parts can be found easily, and reasonably priced on-line.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 4 for MTD Yard Machines 38" Cutting Deck Riding Lawn Mower

Great value, good mower

02/08/2009
By ,
Ottumwa, IA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had never had a rider before, but knew it was time. Was a little overwhelmed by the prices and all the fancy mowers out there , so decided on this mower 10 years ago.
I paid about the same price it is today and it has only needed maintenance and upkeep. For the price, I can live with lifting the blade up and backing up. Mine is now having problems and I probably need some major repairs. At this price, I will probably just buy a new one vs. fixing it and spending a lot of money.
This has been a great mower and easy to operate too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 5 for MTD Yard Machines 38" Cutting Deck Riding Lawn Mower

What I expected

04/22/2008
By ,
Mt. Zion, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Decided to get a riding mower as my back has been hurting more and more lately. Didn't need anything huge or fancy and this seemed to fit my bill. Mowed with it once so far and am very impressed. Runs good and starts very easy. I do not care for the reverse safety that shuts the mower off if the blades are on and you shift to reverse but I will live with it. That is why it did not get all 5 stars. The seat shut off safety I understand but do not like having to turn blades off to back up. Otherwise my son loves the red. Not a bad mower for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Review 6 for MTD Yard Machines 38" Cutting Deck Riding Lawn Mower

this thing is fast!!!

06/07/2008
By ,
goldsboro,nc
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
nice mower for the money cuts real nice and really moves and is nice on slopes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 7 for MTD Yard Machines 38" Cutting Deck Riding Lawn Mower

Hard To Beat

08/01/2008
By ,
Warsaw , NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you need a riding mower for a very reasonable price.This is going to be hard to beat. It replaced a 22 HP mower and does a fine job , plus tighter turning and less gas usage. I mow 3.5 acre's weekly
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 8 for MTD Yard Machines 38" Cutting Deck Riding Lawn Mower

great product

07/24/2008
By ,
White House, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have never owned a riding lawn mower before. But went with this one and have had it for 2 years. It has been a great mower. It starts right up everytime. Haven't any trouble out of it. I think it is great for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 9 for MTD Yard Machines 38" Cutting Deck Riding Lawn Mower

HUSBAND LOVE IT

03/28/2009
By ,
michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i bought this for my husband in the middle of last summer an he loves it. He had a push mower before
an we bought a house with a big back yard so he needed something easier for him to use. He has had no problems with it so far an is very happy with it. When hes happy so am i. great price to
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 10 for MTD Yard Machines 38" Cutting Deck Riding Lawn Mower

11 years and still going

04/26/2009
By ,
Northern Kentucky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought the older model 11 years ago this spring. We have 3/4 of an acre and it has served us well. This year the tires finally dry rotted and were replaced at our local Walmart. I think over the years we may have replaced the battery once but otherwise has been a jewel. It's mowed our yard and the neighbors not to mention various other family members yards (like when their $3000 cub cadet started breaking down 2 months after purchase). It has lasted through a slam into the swingset that took three ppl to get it out and the resent inexperience of my 12 year old. It's home is under a lean to on the side of a shed, has never been "put up" away from the weather and just cranks in the spring.
If you change the spark plug and the oil every year, you should be good to go.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 11 for MTD Yard Machines 38" Cutting Deck Riding Lawn Mower

excellent

09/20/2008
By ,
olive hill, ky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is a excellent mower good price used once a week since april no trouble would buy same brand again
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 12 for MTD Yard Machines 38" Cutting Deck Riding Lawn Mower

nice machine

05/22/2008
By ,
saddle brook n.j.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tractor is an fantastic value for the money.Starts right up with first hit of the key.Very quiet compared to what this replaced (craftsman 12 horse 38 inch about 20 years old)My grass takes about an hour to cut with this machine ; I filled up the tank and have cut my grass twice and still have about a quarter tank of gas left.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 13 for MTD Yard Machines 38" Cutting Deck Riding Lawn Mower
08/25/2008
By ,
Springtown, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An excellent machine for the price. Does very well with a yard between 1.5 and 2 acres which took me less then 3 hours to cut. Don't care fore the safety factor when you put it in reverse. Will shut off and have to restart. But I can deal with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 14 for MTD Yard Machines 38" Cutting Deck Riding Lawn Mower

Yard Machines Riding Mower

05/08/2008
By ,
Nashua, NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this to help mow and maintain my 1.8 acres of landscaped yard. An excellent choice with the electric start. Dual Rear Baggers were added later for easier maintainance as well as a canopy for the top on very hot days, and a yard cart for pulling rocks, debris, or plants or trees. .. Easy to backup and manuver in tight places.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 15 for MTD Yard Machines 38" Cutting Deck Riding Lawn Mower

luv this mower

05/08/2008
By ,
Pennellville, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a larger riding mower that after years it finally went. I thought this mower would be okay but was surprised when it was just as good as the big, expensive one. The price was a nice plus. My husband likes the easy set up for oil changes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for MTD Yard Machines 38" Cutting Deck Riding Lawn Mower
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5