Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mongoose 26" Men's Mongoose Blackcomb Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Mongoose 26" Men's Mongoose Blackcomb Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

Have an extreme mountain riding experience in any terrain with the Men's Mongoose 26" Blackcomb Mountain Bike. This adult mountain bike comes with a four bar vertical spring aluminum dual suspension frame to create a modern style. Also, the added RST suspension fork make this bike as tough as they come. The dual-suspension mountain bike is equipped with Promax front and rear disc brakes that stop on a dime. The 24-speed Shimano gearing with EZ fire shifters provide easy gear shifting with less effort. The alloy rims and alloy forged 3-piece crank set adds durability and toughness to the bike while minimizing weight. Tackle the roughest terrain with this fully-loaded men's Mongoose mountain bike.
Average Customer Rating:
4.351 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(94 Reviews) 84
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
56
4 stars
25
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation89%84 out of 94reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
56
4 stars
25
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for 26" Men's Mongoose Blackcomb Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

so far so good

06/24/2009
By ,
vermilion ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this bike with some apprehension, I have a very nice custom Klein mtn bike with top of the line componetry, a very lightweight agile mtn bike . Really wanted to try a suspension bike without breaking the bank and this seems like a solid choice so far. It is very fun to tear through obstacles with a suspension bike like this one. ride is somewhat inneficient and clucky though because of this bikes considerable weight and low end componetry. Brakes seem on par with high end cantilever brakes on my Klein.... but this way better than spending 2 to 3grand for a top of the line suspension bike. Just hope this thing doesnt fall apart, I don't have much faith in the durability of a low end bike like this ,I hope im not dissapointed
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 22 for 26" Men's Mongoose Blackcomb Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

Great Bike for the price.

06/06/2011
By ,
Kokomo, In
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I did site to store shipping. When the bike arrived I went up to sign for it and they assembled it free of charge. The bike was what i expected and more! The only thing i had to do is adjust the disc brakes more to my liking. I highly recommend this bike for beginners and novice riders, be it on road or mild off road riders.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 23 for 26" Men's Mongoose Blackcomb Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

Affordable 21st century design.

02/05/2009
By ,
Indianapolis, In.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I wasn't shopping for a bike when I saw it, but for a week I couldn't get it off my mind, so I bought one because I liked the way it looked. I knew it was a lot of bike for that price,[ compare for your self at a bike shop]. I've had it about 2 years and its still in A-1 shape. I don't think its a great choice for kids, because of its technical design, this bike requires a bit more maintenance than conventional bikes, and it is a little heavy, the tires are for dirt, not pavement. It has a lower center of gravity,so it handles great. I really like it , and so will you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 24 for 26" Men's Mongoose Blackcomb Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

Great bike

06/15/2009
By ,
Salt Lake City, UT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great full suspension bike except for a few minor things. I suggest that you get a tune up done on it before riding. I was having trouble with gears hard shifting, brakes sluggish and wheels needed to be trued. Took it to a local bike shop and all problems were fixed and now I have a great ride! Also, you might want to replace the foot pedals and maybe invest in a bashguard and some cover for the rear shock absorber. It looks like its very heavy bike but its lighter than it looks.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 25 for 26" Men's Mongoose Blackcomb Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike
12/03/2009
By ,
Eastern Oregon
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We purchased this for our 14 year old son. Shipped site to store. Very easy to put together. Good, solid, sturdy bike for a 14 year old boy. Rides smoothly and the double disc brakes are exactly what he was after. Would recommend strongly.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 26 for 26" Men's Mongoose Blackcomb Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

Well worth the Money

09/28/2008
By ,
Southern Cali
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Got the "blackcomb" two weeks ago...Bought it already put together, took it home, only to find the front wheel was badly bent. I assume from the rack at wal-mart, so make sure you check that out! Drove back got a new bike. No problems. I ride about 50 miles a week...Use it everyday. Was going to buy a cheaper bike, but decided to upgrade. Glad I did. This Bike has done all I need, good gear ratio, easy shift, shifts well. Love the disc brakes, they do need to be adjusted after you buy the bike (just by turning a dial). There is no info on how to adjust the shocks or how to service the brakes in the owner manual. Pretty easy to figure out, but would have nice to of had something to go on.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 27 for 26" Men's Mongoose Blackcomb Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

A Great Entry-Level MTB

01/08/2009
By ,
Denver, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had this bike for about 1yr and half now and she has performed like a champ. I have taken her on every trail up in Colorado from beginner to advance and she rides very well. The bike comes with everything on an expensive bike for a walmart price. The bike frame is still on the heavy side even though it says aluminum. Because of the weight, you will be working a little harder than the folks with the $1k+ bikes. She is by far not anywhere close to a $1k bike but can go anywhere they can go. I have with her. Since then, I have upgraded wheels to Mavic crossride, peddles, cogs, derailleur and shifter to 9 speed with top of line sram parts.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 28 for 26" Men's Mongoose Blackcomb Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

Whatever you do: DON'T OVERDO IT!

03/24/2008
By ,
Plainview, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have owned this bike for about a year. The main issue that I have with it was that it gave me only about 3000 miles, all of which I put into it over about 9 months time. After this time, the hub that the pedals ride on, started to ease out of the socket, and since then, the ride quality has not been the same. This could mainly be, again, due to the fact that I put 3000 miles on it, riding it every day, subjecting it to the kind of beating that any mountain biker would subject their rig to.
If you buy this bike, go easy on it. Don't act in a professional manner, and expect it to hold up like a pro-quality bike forever. It may hold up for about a month or so, but do it more often than that, and you'll kill it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 29 for 26" Men's Mongoose Blackcomb Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

Great but had some trouble

06/18/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this bike a few months ago and it was great! After about two weeks a new bicycle came out of mongoose that was a little bit cheaper for the same for the same amount of things that my bike came with. I thought that mabey I could get some money out of the deal but then decided not too. About a week later I viewed a picture of this bike from a week before and I compared it to my bike. this new bike has a much better frame with more support for the same weight as my bike. It would be like I'm getting a much better bike and I'm getting money out of it too. So that settled it I got the new one and returned mine and the new one was ten times better. If your interested, the bike is called the Mongoose Snare. Thanks for reading!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 30 for 26" Men's Mongoose Blackcomb Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

Really Good Mountain Bike

04/13/2009
By ,
Highland, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought the Mongoose Black Comb 6 months ago. What attracted me to the bike was the frame its really crazy looking, its very sporty, and high tech looking. I get compliments about the bike every where I go all the time by people. They tell me how nice, + Hot the bike is. Its a great bike it drive nice, shifts are smooth, the disc brakes are great, easy to replace the pads, + they also stop on a dime even in the rain. The front shocks are nice hits bumps pretty good,+ doesnt bottom out ever know matter how big the bump with the 75mm of travel which is a decent amount of travel. The rear shock is adjustable to suit your comfort zone. I love it especially the way I have mine set up when hitting bumps it doesnt hurt it cushions really good. It actually bounces on the bumps if set right. It doesnt bottom out. I noticed that the rear tire wears out before the front tire does. I still have the original front tire for 6 months now, and its still like new. And the other thing I had to replace was the chain. I also had to adjust the front + rear derailures. I only ride it on the rode, and some little trails. It rides really good, with no resistance on the rode even with the knobby tires it has on it. Its easy to clean. Maintnence is easy if your mechanically inclined you can do the brakes,+ cables, tires, tubes, chain, shifters, + shifter cables, hand grips, lubing cables, lubing the chain etc. I suggest who ever is thinking of buying this bike do it. Its a great bike for the price.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 31 for 26" Men's Mongoose Blackcomb Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

Great bicycle, but it does have issues

07/09/2011
By ,
Lockport, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mine came in Bright Red Metallic and it looks beautiful.
The first thing that I did was buy a more comfortable seat. Walmart had one made by Bell that has 5 flashing LED's on it for visibility. It has an ON/OFF switch plus auto-off after about 5 minutes of no movement to save batteries.
The second thing that I bought was a Hot Wheels Fast Lane Digital Speedometer made by Bell. It has four functions, two of which are visible at one time. They are Speed, Odometer, Distance(Trip Odometer that is re-settable), and Elapsed Time. It was marked down to just below $10 and I am glad that I bought it. It is nice to know how far I ride every day and also how fast I am going. It was very easy to install, the only thing that I recommend is that you do your own wheel run out so you get an accurate speed and mileage reading. The sizes in the instructions are a bit vague.
The bicycle was completely assembled, but did need adjustments to ride it. Both the front and rear wheel bearings were set way to tight and that caused the bicycle to come to a stop quite quickly as soon as you stopped pedaling. Also both the front and rear deraileur's were not adjusted correctly. All of the cables needed to be adjusted also.
I ride the bicycle just about every day for between five and ten miles and with all of the adjustments made it is a pleasure to ride and I have well over 100 miles on it so far.
The suspension works great and does an adequate job of keeping the bumps to a minimum(I do not ride mine in a traditional Mountain Bike environment. I use it mostly on the street and on local bicycle paths). And with all of the adjustments made most every thing works OK.
The disc brakes work very well, but once I made a long descent the rear brakes developed a squeaky/squealing noise that is now present any time you use the brakes quite a bit. Another annoyance with the brakes is that I cannot get the rear caliper to center on the rotor properly and one pad is always rubbing on the rotor slightly causing a slight drag.
I am also noticing that the spokes are not as taught as I would think they should be and will probably need some attention very soon before it develops wheel wobble.
After about ten miles one of the chain links separated and I was worried that if one link separated so soon it might happen to another one so I chose to install a new chain.
Even though there were a number of problems, they were all relatively minor annoyances rather than major issues. I only paid $150 for mine at an after christmas special so I have no real major complaints overall, especially when taking the price into account.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 32 for 26" Men's Mongoose Blackcomb Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

Great Bike at the price

09/16/2008
By ,
Miami, Fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For the price this bike is awesome. No problems so far and assembly was simple.
Haven't taken it on any trails yet, but on the road it's been very comfortable and seems very sturdy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 33 for 26" Men's Mongoose Blackcomb Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

Decent bike for price

08/17/2009
By ,
Woodhaven, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall this bike was a great starter bike for the price despite all the negative reviews. If you're not looking for a bike to REALLY use off-road and don't want to spend the $$ for a high end bike then give this one serious thought. Besides having to tune the front deraileur, then only negative comments I have is the seat (not real comfortable) and pedals (cheap). With those 2 upgrades the bike feels totally different and I could go on a 25 mile ride no problem. The weight is fine, but then again I wouldn't know what a $2000 bike felt like anyway to compare.
The front rim did come bent and I only noticed it after I had assembled the entire bike and gave it a test ride. A quick call to Pacific Cycle and they corrected the problem by sending me a new rim (haven't receive it as of yet but it's only been a week, and backordered to boot).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 34 for 26" Men's Mongoose Blackcomb Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

Nice Bike

08/16/2010
By ,
Salem, OR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Blackcomb was easy to assemble and required no adjustments other than the seat height to begin riding. The suspension is great, just right for my 185 lbs. I put 50 psi in the tires and they feel good. I ride for exercise and to places that motorized vehicle are not allowed. It has been a great addition to my equipment list.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 35 for 26" Men's Mongoose Blackcomb Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

Mongoose bike

06/06/2008
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tough bike. Smooth shifting. Good brakes. Seat is not the most comfortable but not bad.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 36 for 26" Men's Mongoose Blackcomb Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

Perfect Family Fit

01/04/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We were needing a bike for Dad for neighborhood riding and this fit the bill. In fact, the bike seems ready for a lot more, but city living may not be testing it any time soon. Easy to assembly (handle bars, petals, seat, front wheel) Minimal adjustment for brakes. Very happy after 2 weeks with the Blackcomb Bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 37 for 26" Men's Mongoose Blackcomb Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

Great bike

06/21/2009
By ,
Millersville, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The ship to site was much slower than I anticipated. took five days to get from Deleware to Lancaster PA. ? The folks at the store where on their game and I was out in 10 minutes. Took me about an hour to do the final assembly out of the box and check all the factory assembled stuff. After that I was off and riding. A solid bike. Every part worked just like I wanted. Hats off to Mongoose, this is a great value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Review 38 for 26" Men's Mongoose Blackcomb Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike
08/30/2010
By ,
south florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
with about 2500 miles on both bikes, one newer and one older, nothing has broke, my wife and I love these bikes. We are very ruff on ours, jumps, speed, water, mud, beach, hard trails, it doesnt matter, for the most part we make our own trails. It can play hard and ride soft, adjusting the shocks of course. If you buy one go through it, read about it, they are simple to adjust and work on if you take the time. Helps to have a little tool kit for adjustments if need be. Awesome bikes!
maybe this will help, maybe not,
we've had expensive mountain bikes and these have done just as good. It does not matter what bike you buy - you have to take care of it, tune it, and maintance it whether it be expensive or not, we saved about 60 dollars buying this newer one instead of replacing a failed assb thing on our last high dollar mountain bike. on top of that we saved about 3200 buying these instead of buying what we had before and have had more fun. we were getting tired of always taking our other bikes to the shop to have them worked on and who knows when we got them back most of the time, and paying almost every time, now after the savings and learning these bikes, there is really nothing bad about them at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Review 39 for 26" Men's Mongoose Blackcomb Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike
06/10/2011
By ,
Las Cruces, NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My first bike in many years. Seem's very comfortable and an excellent price. Also bought extended warranty.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-3points
Review 40 for 26" Men's Mongoose Blackcomb Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

AMAZING BICYCLE

07/14/2010
By ,
Springville, UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Mongoose Blackcomb is such an amazing bike; I bought this bike for the stated price on June 28, 2010. This bike fits my needs fairly well, however after going 200+ miles on it; I have figured out that a road bike would be better for me. With this bike I go on about a 20 mile bike ride every morning. This bike is very sturdy. When I first got the bike I was scared by all of the horrible reviews. At first the bike was in kind of bad shape, but that was all fixed with some maintenance and some adjusting, and now the bike runs quite smooth. With this bike I have figured that it would be quite good on the open mountain, however I have never really tried it, and I mainly just ride on the road. However if you’re planning on doing some heavy mountain biking I wouldn’t count on this bike, because it’s a whopping 46 pounds…it’s very sturdy though. The full suspension is pretty amazing it makes it very bouncy. Now for the seat… I was really worried about all the bad reviews on how the seat was horribly uncomfortable, but the seat was a major upgrade compared to the one I had on my previous bike, and is actually quite comfy. This bike is very nice; however I kind of regret it just because it’s not that good for what I’m using it for. Once again I only ride on the road, and I realize now that a road bike would have better suited my needs. I come to this conclusion because when I am on the biking trail these guys on road bikes always pass me up. Overall the Mongoose Blackcomb is an amazing bike and I’m sure I won’t upgrade to a road bike for a while, so this bike will surely provide me with hundreds of good bike ride to come.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+25points
21-40 of 85 total reviews