Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mongoose 26" Men's Mongoose Blackcomb Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Mongoose 26" Men's Mongoose Blackcomb Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

Have an extreme mountain riding experience in any terrain with the Men's Mongoose 26" Blackcomb Mountain Bike. This adult mountain bike comes with a four bar vertical spring aluminum dual suspension frame to create a modern style. Also, the added RST suspension fork make this bike as tough as they come. The dual-suspension mountain bike is equipped with Promax front and rear disc brakes that stop on a dime. The 24-speed Shimano gearing with EZ fire shifters provide easy gear shifting with less effort. The alloy rims and alloy forged 3-piece crank set adds durability and toughness to the bike while minimizing weight. Tackle the roughest terrain with this fully-loaded men's Mongoose mountain bike.
Average Customer Rating:
4.351 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(94 Reviews) 84
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
56
4 stars
25
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation89%84 out of 94reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
56
4 stars
25
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for 26" Men's Mongoose Blackcomb Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

Decent bike for price

08/17/2009
By ,
Woodhaven, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall this bike was a great starter bike for the price despite all the negative reviews. If you're not looking for a bike to REALLY use off-road and don't want to spend the $$ for a high end bike then give this one serious thought. Besides having to tune the front deraileur, then only negative comments I have is the seat (not real comfortable) and pedals (cheap). With those 2 upgrades the bike feels totally different and I could go on a 25 mile ride no problem. The weight is fine, but then again I wouldn't know what a $2000 bike felt like anyway to compare.
The front rim did come bent and I only noticed it after I had assembled the entire bike and gave it a test ride. A quick call to Pacific Cycle and they corrected the problem by sending me a new rim (haven't receive it as of yet but it's only been a week, and backordered to boot).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 22 for 26" Men's Mongoose Blackcomb Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike
08/18/2009
By ,
pa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i bought this bike 7 months ago and i now have over 500 miles on the bike and the only problems with it has been the rear brake aside from fixing it i love the bike and get commented all the time on how nice it is and then everyone asks where i got it people cant believe the price. the only thing i want to change on it is a taller set of handlebars as it gets alittle tiring during a long ride on the road i am also going to replace the tires with a better set as soon as i finish wearing out the rear tire
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 23 for 26" Men's Mongoose Blackcomb Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

Nice Bike

08/16/2010
By ,
Salem, OR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Blackcomb was easy to assemble and required no adjustments other than the seat height to begin riding. The suspension is great, just right for my 185 lbs. I put 50 psi in the tires and they feel good. I ride for exercise and to places that motorized vehicle are not allowed. It has been a great addition to my equipment list.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 24 for 26" Men's Mongoose Blackcomb Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

Great Bike

07/03/2008
By ,
NH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great bike, rides nice. I read good reviews from various sites and I wasn't disappointed. The bike shop I took it to for assembly and tuning, also said is was a nice bike for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 25 for 26" Men's Mongoose Blackcomb Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

Overall --- I love it

03/09/2009
By ,
Gainesville, Tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this bicycle off the clearance rack for $165 as apposed to the list price of $329. A GREAT deal!! Now owning the bike and having rode it would still suggest the product to anyone for the full price.
My wife bought a woman's 26" Comfort/Cruiser style bicycle. We have logged @20miles on our new bicycles so far and are looking forward to logging many more. Just this morning we went for a 4 mile ride at a rather rapid pace to start our new exercise regiment. It felt great.
The Mongoose Blackcomb suits my style. The assembly of the bike was almost flawless and my wife's bike was flawless. I would suggest that anyone that does not have experience working on bikes start with a simpler model. Adjusting the front derail er was the only adjustment that I had to make to access all of the gears available. I was overly impressed seeing as how I expected to have to make many adjustments to both bikes.
I do have one small problem with the bike that most won't experience. I'm 6'2", 240lbs and have discovered that I can not raise the seat up to the optimal height to get a FULL leg extension. The seat only allows so much rise before deeming unsafe. A friend of mine who is the average 6' 190lbs rode the bike with a full leg extension (which made me envious).
I have had back problems for many years and was worried that the forward style riding would cause me problems but have discovered that it feels quite comfortable. The seat was a lot more comfortable than I expected being a skinny Sport style seat and I was surprised to have not had a great pain in the rear. lol. I recently was surprised when my wife brought home a Bell Gel seat cover home for me and would HIGHLY recommend it for those of us of the larger persuasion. (also available at Wal-Mart in the accessories area) Other things that I have added to the bicycle are front and rear lights and a wedge bag for under the seat which also carries my bicycle multi tool and emergency repair kit and a small pump which attaches to the bike very easily. (also all available at Wal-Mart)
The dual shock (front and rear) makes for a smooth ride. I have put the bike through many obstacles and been quite pleased with the bikes ability to withstand the abuse that it was designed to. The gears are very simple to operate and with little to no adjustment and will provide a proper gear change every time even after bumps. The disc brakes on the bike are a blessing. They provide instant stopping power when it is needed (and trust me, you'll need it) The 28 gears provides for a wide range of capability in elevations and terrains. When in the high gear I have been able to reach speeds of @ 25mph with little problem (faster speed could be reached on a long straight away with a little more push from the operator)
Suggestions;
Purchasing chain oil.
Purchasing a Gel seat cover.
Pros;
The overall construction and operation of this bike are simple and easy to operate and maintain.
Most everything you would expect out of a mid range expense mountain bike and more.
Dual suspension makes for a smooth ride.
Cons;
If you are taller than 6'1" you will not be able to get a full leg extension and keep the seat at the manufactures safe height.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+106points
Review 26 for 26" Men's Mongoose Blackcomb Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

Great bike for the price

10/30/2010
By ,
Oklahoma
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this bike on April 24th 2010. I now have 848 miles on it, I have had a few issues with the gear adjustment but overall for the price it is the best bike around. I have road mine all over the state in oklahoma and have taken it to colorado and kansas and have not yet even had a flat. The tires are great and the frame is unbreakable. I say this is a great beginner bike. Also a great bike for intermediate rider.....I will say this though I rode it back in August 90 miles in 6 hrs and after 90 miles it would be nice if it was not so heavy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 27 for 26" Men's Mongoose Blackcomb Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

Great Bike at the price

09/16/2008
By ,
Miami, Fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For the price this bike is awesome. No problems so far and assembly was simple.
Haven't taken it on any trails yet, but on the road it's been very comfortable and seems very sturdy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 28 for 26" Men's Mongoose Blackcomb Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

Well worth the Money

09/28/2008
By ,
Southern Cali
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Got the "blackcomb" two weeks ago...Bought it already put together, took it home, only to find the front wheel was badly bent. I assume from the rack at wal-mart, so make sure you check that out! Drove back got a new bike. No problems. I ride about 50 miles a week...Use it everyday. Was going to buy a cheaper bike, but decided to upgrade. Glad I did. This Bike has done all I need, good gear ratio, easy shift, shifts well. Love the disc brakes, they do need to be adjusted after you buy the bike (just by turning a dial). There is no info on how to adjust the shocks or how to service the brakes in the owner manual. Pretty easy to figure out, but would have nice to of had something to go on.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 29 for 26" Men's Mongoose Blackcomb Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

nice bike

10/02/2008
By ,
Lebanon, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So far it is a very nice bike. The forward derailer needs to be adjusted. Other than that, I put it together and rode.
Gears are agreeable. Went up some steep (paved) hills and didn't need low!
Haven't had it off road....yet. I'll try to ammend the review then, if needed.
I'm no serious rider. just getting back in shape after a few years away. This seems like the bike for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 30 for 26" Men's Mongoose Blackcomb Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

Good bike, but...

10/01/2008
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought the Blackcomb a few months ago and have ridden it about 3 times a week. It is a very sturdy bike and its suspension is very good. The also brakes work very well. My biggest complaint is that the gears have given me some grinding problems and haven't been that smooth (esp. the higher gears). I didn't assemble the gears or shifters, so I'm not sure why they'd be giving me trouble but they have. I need to take it to a bike shop to see what the deal is. Otherwise, the bike is sturdy and is a good value.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 31 for 26" Men's Mongoose Blackcomb Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

Whatever you do: DON'T OVERDO IT!

03/24/2008
By ,
Plainview, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have owned this bike for about a year. The main issue that I have with it was that it gave me only about 3000 miles, all of which I put into it over about 9 months time. After this time, the hub that the pedals ride on, started to ease out of the socket, and since then, the ride quality has not been the same. This could mainly be, again, due to the fact that I put 3000 miles on it, riding it every day, subjecting it to the kind of beating that any mountain biker would subject their rig to.
If you buy this bike, go easy on it. Don't act in a professional manner, and expect it to hold up like a pro-quality bike forever. It may hold up for about a month or so, but do it more often than that, and you'll kill it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 32 for 26" Men's Mongoose Blackcomb Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

Great Bike for the price.

06/06/2011
By ,
Kokomo, In
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I did site to store shipping. When the bike arrived I went up to sign for it and they assembled it free of charge. The bike was what i expected and more! The only thing i had to do is adjust the disc brakes more to my liking. I highly recommend this bike for beginners and novice riders, be it on road or mild off road riders.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 33 for 26" Men's Mongoose Blackcomb Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

Affordable 21st century design.

02/05/2009
By ,
Indianapolis, In.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I wasn't shopping for a bike when I saw it, but for a week I couldn't get it off my mind, so I bought one because I liked the way it looked. I knew it was a lot of bike for that price,[ compare for your self at a bike shop]. I've had it about 2 years and its still in A-1 shape. I don't think its a great choice for kids, because of its technical design, this bike requires a bit more maintenance than conventional bikes, and it is a little heavy, the tires are for dirt, not pavement. It has a lower center of gravity,so it handles great. I really like it , and so will you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 34 for 26" Men's Mongoose Blackcomb Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

Great bicycle, but it does have issues

07/09/2011
By ,
Lockport, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mine came in Bright Red Metallic and it looks beautiful.
The first thing that I did was buy a more comfortable seat. Walmart had one made by Bell that has 5 flashing LED's on it for visibility. It has an ON/OFF switch plus auto-off after about 5 minutes of no movement to save batteries.
The second thing that I bought was a Hot Wheels Fast Lane Digital Speedometer made by Bell. It has four functions, two of which are visible at one time. They are Speed, Odometer, Distance(Trip Odometer that is re-settable), and Elapsed Time. It was marked down to just below $10 and I am glad that I bought it. It is nice to know how far I ride every day and also how fast I am going. It was very easy to install, the only thing that I recommend is that you do your own wheel run out so you get an accurate speed and mileage reading. The sizes in the instructions are a bit vague.
The bicycle was completely assembled, but did need adjustments to ride it. Both the front and rear wheel bearings were set way to tight and that caused the bicycle to come to a stop quite quickly as soon as you stopped pedaling. Also both the front and rear deraileur's were not adjusted correctly. All of the cables needed to be adjusted also.
I ride the bicycle just about every day for between five and ten miles and with all of the adjustments made it is a pleasure to ride and I have well over 100 miles on it so far.
The suspension works great and does an adequate job of keeping the bumps to a minimum(I do not ride mine in a traditional Mountain Bike environment. I use it mostly on the street and on local bicycle paths). And with all of the adjustments made most every thing works OK.
The disc brakes work very well, but once I made a long descent the rear brakes developed a squeaky/squealing noise that is now present any time you use the brakes quite a bit. Another annoyance with the brakes is that I cannot get the rear caliper to center on the rotor properly and one pad is always rubbing on the rotor slightly causing a slight drag.
I am also noticing that the spokes are not as taught as I would think they should be and will probably need some attention very soon before it develops wheel wobble.
After about ten miles one of the chain links separated and I was worried that if one link separated so soon it might happen to another one so I chose to install a new chain.
Even though there were a number of problems, they were all relatively minor annoyances rather than major issues. I only paid $150 for mine at an after christmas special so I have no real major complaints overall, especially when taking the price into account.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 35 for 26" Men's Mongoose Blackcomb Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

Mongoose bike

06/06/2008
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tough bike. Smooth shifting. Good brakes. Seat is not the most comfortable but not bad.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 36 for 26" Men's Mongoose Blackcomb Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

Amazing a must buy

08/09/2008
By ,
tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bike is awesome the only problems i had was that the chain stretched so i had to adjust shifter and not very equipped to handle accessories
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 37 for 26" Men's Mongoose Blackcomb Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

Perfect Family Fit

01/04/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We were needing a bike for Dad for neighborhood riding and this fit the bill. In fact, the bike seems ready for a lot more, but city living may not be testing it any time soon. Easy to assembly (handle bars, petals, seat, front wheel) Minimal adjustment for brakes. Very happy after 2 weeks with the Blackcomb Bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 38 for 26" Men's Mongoose Blackcomb Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

Great bike

06/21/2009
By ,
Millersville, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The ship to site was much slower than I anticipated. took five days to get from Deleware to Lancaster PA. ? The folks at the store where on their game and I was out in 10 minutes. Took me about an hour to do the final assembly out of the box and check all the factory assembled stuff. After that I was off and riding. A solid bike. Every part worked just like I wanted. Hats off to Mongoose, this is a great value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Review 39 for 26" Men's Mongoose Blackcomb Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

Diamond in the rough...

08/14/2009
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mine is an 07 silver model and I paid $229 for it. This bike is a "find". It compares to high end Specialized, Trek, or Cannondale dual suspension mtbs costing much more.
Mine came with WTB Speed V saddle, WTB Velociraptor tires, Shimano 8 speed rapid fire shifters, ProMax disc brakes. Shimano Aliveo in the rear would put this bike in the "high lower end" of other brands. This stuff is solid and will last for years if cared for properly.
The look of the bike is something else...cool and technical looking. A comparable "high name" bike would cost close to $1,000 if not more.
I have upgraded the stem to a shorter, more elevated size to lessen my reach. I have put on Speedplay Frog clipless pedals alternating with BMX platforms for times when I ride in sandals and sneakers.
I'm a 29 inseam and I can straddle the top tube comfortably, which is great for a 5'4" person.
This bike is great for all around riding in areas of rough terrain like dirt, gravel, chipseal, etc. I did not get it to use on techical cross country or to jump off of ledges, etc. So I cannot speak to it's capabilities to do this type of riding.
It just rides like a charm on rough country roads, however, and that is why I bought it.
The newer Blackcomb's are red now, but the components are about the same quality. I love the silver color, however.
It's just a nice bike for the price and I feel "sneaky" everytime I think of the money I saved over getting similar at an LBS.
I think many people will over look this bike and not give it a second glance, but they will have missed a "diamond in the rough".
Final word, it has nice enough components to use to upgrade to a hard tail frame of higher quality if the mood strikes.
Either way, it's well worth the money and I'm glad I somehow got mine!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 40 for 26" Men's Mongoose Blackcomb Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

Very dependable and duriable bike

04/18/2008
By ,
Charleston, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like how it handles the terrain and, it holds up to alot of things I've recently put it through and, I'm very impressed
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
21-40 of 85 total reviews