Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mongoose 26" Men's Mongoose Blackcomb Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Mongoose 26" Men's Mongoose Blackcomb Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

Have an extreme mountain riding experience in any terrain with the Men's Mongoose 26" Blackcomb Mountain Bike. This adult mountain bike comes with a four bar vertical spring aluminum dual suspension frame to create a modern style. Also, the added RST suspension fork make this bike as tough as they come. The dual-suspension mountain bike is equipped with Promax front and rear disc brakes that stop on a dime. The 24-speed Shimano gearing with EZ fire shifters provide easy gear shifting with less effort. The alloy rims and alloy forged 3-piece crank set adds durability and toughness to the bike while minimizing weight. Tackle the roughest terrain with this fully-loaded men's Mongoose mountain bike.
Average Customer Rating:
4.351 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(94 Reviews) 84
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
56
4 stars
25
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation89%84 out of 94reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
56
4 stars
25
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for 26" Men's Mongoose Blackcomb Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

Great Bike

07/03/2008
By ,
NH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great bike, rides nice. I read good reviews from various sites and I wasn't disappointed. The bike shop I took it to for assembly and tuning, also said is was a nice bike for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 22 for 26" Men's Mongoose Blackcomb Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

Good Value

08/19/2009
By ,
DeWitt,NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was looking for a MTB w/ dual suspension that didn't break the bank. The Blackcomb fit the bill. Well made and looks sharp. Smooth gear shift. The disc breaks rubbed a bit before they were broken in. A little on the heavy side,but not horrible. Bought through Wal-Mart.com and it was shipped to my local store. Free assembly in 1 day and had no problems. I ride mostly on dirt trails and urban/suburban streets and it performs well.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 23 for 26" Men's Mongoose Blackcomb Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike
08/18/2009
By ,
pa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i bought this bike 7 months ago and i now have over 500 miles on the bike and the only problems with it has been the rear brake aside from fixing it i love the bike and get commented all the time on how nice it is and then everyone asks where i got it people cant believe the price. the only thing i want to change on it is a taller set of handlebars as it gets alittle tiring during a long ride on the road i am also going to replace the tires with a better set as soon as i finish wearing out the rear tire
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 24 for 26" Men's Mongoose Blackcomb Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

Decent bike for price

08/17/2009
By ,
Woodhaven, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall this bike was a great starter bike for the price despite all the negative reviews. If you're not looking for a bike to REALLY use off-road and don't want to spend the $$ for a high end bike then give this one serious thought. Besides having to tune the front deraileur, then only negative comments I have is the seat (not real comfortable) and pedals (cheap). With those 2 upgrades the bike feels totally different and I could go on a 25 mile ride no problem. The weight is fine, but then again I wouldn't know what a $2000 bike felt like anyway to compare.
The front rim did come bent and I only noticed it after I had assembled the entire bike and gave it a test ride. A quick call to Pacific Cycle and they corrected the problem by sending me a new rim (haven't receive it as of yet but it's only been a week, and backordered to boot).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 25 for 26" Men's Mongoose Blackcomb Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

Great bicycle, but it does have issues

07/09/2011
By ,
Lockport, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mine came in Bright Red Metallic and it looks beautiful.
The first thing that I did was buy a more comfortable seat. Walmart had one made by Bell that has 5 flashing LED's on it for visibility. It has an ON/OFF switch plus auto-off after about 5 minutes of no movement to save batteries.
The second thing that I bought was a Hot Wheels Fast Lane Digital Speedometer made by Bell. It has four functions, two of which are visible at one time. They are Speed, Odometer, Distance(Trip Odometer that is re-settable), and Elapsed Time. It was marked down to just below $10 and I am glad that I bought it. It is nice to know how far I ride every day and also how fast I am going. It was very easy to install, the only thing that I recommend is that you do your own wheel run out so you get an accurate speed and mileage reading. The sizes in the instructions are a bit vague.
The bicycle was completely assembled, but did need adjustments to ride it. Both the front and rear wheel bearings were set way to tight and that caused the bicycle to come to a stop quite quickly as soon as you stopped pedaling. Also both the front and rear deraileur's were not adjusted correctly. All of the cables needed to be adjusted also.
I ride the bicycle just about every day for between five and ten miles and with all of the adjustments made it is a pleasure to ride and I have well over 100 miles on it so far.
The suspension works great and does an adequate job of keeping the bumps to a minimum(I do not ride mine in a traditional Mountain Bike environment. I use it mostly on the street and on local bicycle paths). And with all of the adjustments made most every thing works OK.
The disc brakes work very well, but once I made a long descent the rear brakes developed a squeaky/squealing noise that is now present any time you use the brakes quite a bit. Another annoyance with the brakes is that I cannot get the rear caliper to center on the rotor properly and one pad is always rubbing on the rotor slightly causing a slight drag.
I am also noticing that the spokes are not as taught as I would think they should be and will probably need some attention very soon before it develops wheel wobble.
After about ten miles one of the chain links separated and I was worried that if one link separated so soon it might happen to another one so I chose to install a new chain.
Even though there were a number of problems, they were all relatively minor annoyances rather than major issues. I only paid $150 for mine at an after christmas special so I have no real major complaints overall, especially when taking the price into account.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 26 for 26" Men's Mongoose Blackcomb Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

Whatever you do: DON'T OVERDO IT!

03/24/2008
By ,
Plainview, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have owned this bike for about a year. The main issue that I have with it was that it gave me only about 3000 miles, all of which I put into it over about 9 months time. After this time, the hub that the pedals ride on, started to ease out of the socket, and since then, the ride quality has not been the same. This could mainly be, again, due to the fact that I put 3000 miles on it, riding it every day, subjecting it to the kind of beating that any mountain biker would subject their rig to.
If you buy this bike, go easy on it. Don't act in a professional manner, and expect it to hold up like a pro-quality bike forever. It may hold up for about a month or so, but do it more often than that, and you'll kill it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 27 for 26" Men's Mongoose Blackcomb Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

Affordable 21st century design.

02/05/2009
By ,
Indianapolis, In.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I wasn't shopping for a bike when I saw it, but for a week I couldn't get it off my mind, so I bought one because I liked the way it looked. I knew it was a lot of bike for that price,[ compare for your self at a bike shop]. I've had it about 2 years and its still in A-1 shape. I don't think its a great choice for kids, because of its technical design, this bike requires a bit more maintenance than conventional bikes, and it is a little heavy, the tires are for dirt, not pavement. It has a lower center of gravity,so it handles great. I really like it , and so will you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 28 for 26" Men's Mongoose Blackcomb Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

A Great Entry-Level MTB

01/08/2009
By ,
Denver, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had this bike for about 1yr and half now and she has performed like a champ. I have taken her on every trail up in Colorado from beginner to advance and she rides very well. The bike comes with everything on an expensive bike for a walmart price. The bike frame is still on the heavy side even though it says aluminum. Because of the weight, you will be working a little harder than the folks with the $1k+ bikes. She is by far not anywhere close to a $1k bike but can go anywhere they can go. I have with her. Since then, I have upgraded wheels to Mavic crossride, peddles, cogs, derailleur and shifter to 9 speed with top of line sram parts.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 29 for 26" Men's Mongoose Blackcomb Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

Great Bike at the price

09/16/2008
By ,
Miami, Fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For the price this bike is awesome. No problems so far and assembly was simple.
Haven't taken it on any trails yet, but on the road it's been very comfortable and seems very sturdy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 30 for 26" Men's Mongoose Blackcomb Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

Really Good Mountain Bike

04/13/2009
By ,
Highland, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought the Mongoose Black Comb 6 months ago. What attracted me to the bike was the frame its really crazy looking, its very sporty, and high tech looking. I get compliments about the bike every where I go all the time by people. They tell me how nice, + Hot the bike is. Its a great bike it drive nice, shifts are smooth, the disc brakes are great, easy to replace the pads, + they also stop on a dime even in the rain. The front shocks are nice hits bumps pretty good,+ doesnt bottom out ever know matter how big the bump with the 75mm of travel which is a decent amount of travel. The rear shock is adjustable to suit your comfort zone. I love it especially the way I have mine set up when hitting bumps it doesnt hurt it cushions really good. It actually bounces on the bumps if set right. It doesnt bottom out. I noticed that the rear tire wears out before the front tire does. I still have the original front tire for 6 months now, and its still like new. And the other thing I had to replace was the chain. I also had to adjust the front + rear derailures. I only ride it on the rode, and some little trails. It rides really good, with no resistance on the rode even with the knobby tires it has on it. Its easy to clean. Maintnence is easy if your mechanically inclined you can do the brakes,+ cables, tires, tubes, chain, shifters, + shifter cables, hand grips, lubing cables, lubing the chain etc. I suggest who ever is thinking of buying this bike do it. Its a great bike for the price.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 31 for 26" Men's Mongoose Blackcomb Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike
12/03/2009
By ,
Eastern Oregon
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We purchased this for our 14 year old son. Shipped site to store. Very easy to put together. Good, solid, sturdy bike for a 14 year old boy. Rides smoothly and the double disc brakes are exactly what he was after. Would recommend strongly.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 32 for 26" Men's Mongoose Blackcomb Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

Great bike for the price

10/30/2010
By ,
Oklahoma
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this bike on April 24th 2010. I now have 848 miles on it, I have had a few issues with the gear adjustment but overall for the price it is the best bike around. I have road mine all over the state in oklahoma and have taken it to colorado and kansas and have not yet even had a flat. The tires are great and the frame is unbreakable. I say this is a great beginner bike. Also a great bike for intermediate rider.....I will say this though I rode it back in August 90 miles in 6 hrs and after 90 miles it would be nice if it was not so heavy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 33 for 26" Men's Mongoose Blackcomb Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

Great Bike for the price.

06/06/2011
By ,
Kokomo, In
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I did site to store shipping. When the bike arrived I went up to sign for it and they assembled it free of charge. The bike was what i expected and more! The only thing i had to do is adjust the disc brakes more to my liking. I highly recommend this bike for beginners and novice riders, be it on road or mild off road riders.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 34 for 26" Men's Mongoose Blackcomb Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

Great bike

06/15/2009
By ,
Salt Lake City, UT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great full suspension bike except for a few minor things. I suggest that you get a tune up done on it before riding. I was having trouble with gears hard shifting, brakes sluggish and wheels needed to be trued. Took it to a local bike shop and all problems were fixed and now I have a great ride! Also, you might want to replace the foot pedals and maybe invest in a bashguard and some cover for the rear shock absorber. It looks like its very heavy bike but its lighter than it looks.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 35 for 26" Men's Mongoose Blackcomb Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

Awesome

04/22/2009
By ,
Bryant, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've only had this bike a few days. After all the researching on bikes I found this to be the one. I got it instore for 225, so glad I went to the store instead of online. So far the bike works great just a little adjustment to the brakes, which was super easy. This is an awesome looking bike. Some say its heavy, but its not that bad I dont plan on spending a few grand on a lighter model. If you are thinking about this bike, quit thinking and go get it and have fun.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 36 for 26" Men's Mongoose Blackcomb Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike
06/10/2011
By ,
Las Cruces, NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My first bike in many years. Seem's very comfortable and an excellent price. Also bought extended warranty.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-3points
Review 37 for 26" Men's Mongoose Blackcomb Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

Very dependable and duriable bike

04/18/2008
By ,
Charleston, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like how it handles the terrain and, it holds up to alot of things I've recently put it through and, I'm very impressed
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 38 for 26" Men's Mongoose Blackcomb Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

Amazing a must buy

08/09/2008
By ,
tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bike is awesome the only problems i had was that the chain stretched so i had to adjust shifter and not very equipped to handle accessories
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 39 for 26" Men's Mongoose Blackcomb Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

Mongoose Blackcomb

06/24/2008
By ,
Cohoes, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got the bike and didnt even know about the disk brakes or the type of gear shifters it had and i like them a lot. It was easy to assemble. I really like the bikes shocks.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 40 for 26" Men's Mongoose Blackcomb Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

Can't beat it for the bucks!

12/29/2008
By ,
Casa Grande, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife wanted a bike that handled some of the washboard country dirt roads around here. Her kidneys were taking a beating, so GOOD dual suspension was a must. We checked a bike shop and she test rode a $500 model with disk brakes. She loved it, but not the price. So as Christmas approached, I started my research.
A Costco Schwinn at $300 looked good, but still I searched. Then I came across the Blackcomb at walmart.com! Cantilever rear suspension? That was a new one to me... hadda check THAT out! So, did the site-to-store thing for free shipping, and $230 and 6 days later I had it. I tackled the assembly myself, which was simple, until.... roadblock! The front forks would not straddle the front wheel axle nuts... was I doing something wrong, I thought? Called the included toll free# for Pacific Bicycle... very helpful people! Gave me some tips and even offered to overnight me a new fork if needed. Luckily, I'm 6'4" and lift weights, so I was able to stand on one fork leg and pull the other apart a bit, since it apparently got tweaked in shipping. It worked! The rest was easy, so I called back to let them know. Again they acted concerned and offered to ship a new fork! Since nothing looked bent and a test ride showed no problems, I declined. Applied a big red bow, and SURPRISE, she loved it.
I'd cleaned the disc brake rotors with rubbing alcohol as advised, and they work GREAT! My wife skidded the first few times... not used to that kind of braking power! Then she tested it on a real corduroy road nearby... and said it rode like a cadillac! She loves this bike! She's only 5'4", but stands over it fine. Even with the seat up to the max, it is way too small for my 36" inseam though. Probably only good for up to 6 footers I think.
The "I" beam frame looks very sturdy, but weight is still decent.
Anyway, we'd buy it again for the great features, performance, and price. A week later Walmart's website said it was $30 higher, and now out of stock!
Whew... glad I got mine!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
21-40 of 85 total reviews