Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Schwinn 700c Men's Schwinn Avenue Hybrid Bike

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Schwinn 700c Men's Schwinn Avenue Hybrid Bike

Designed for a comfortable ride, the men's Schwinn Avenue hybrid bike is perfect for commuting on city streets. The Schwinn men's hybrid bike has an aluminum hybrid frame with a front suspension fork, Shimano EZ Fire 21-speed shifters and alloy linear brakes. The bike meets or exceeds all CPSC regulations. Please note: If you select Site to Store delivery, your Schwinn men's hybrid bike(s) will not be assembled upon pickup.
Average Customer Rating:
4.388 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(188 Reviews) 165
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
105
4 stars
66
3 stars
6
2 stars
7
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation93%174 out of 188reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
105
4 stars
66
3 stars
6
2 stars
7
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for 700c Men's Schwinn Avenue Hybrid Bike

Super Bike!

05/10/2008
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I worked for a big bicycle company for two and a half years, from technician to sales. So I feel I know a lot about bikes. I had sold my mountain bike and needed a replacement for this season. I didn't have the money to buy a bike from a bike shop, so I went looking in the dreaded department stores...
After an exhaustive search, this Schwinn Avenue is the gem that I found. The frame is 17" which is exactly what I require. The welds on this bike are fantastic. It exudes bike-shop-bike quality. The paired-spoke wheels are solid as is the front suspension fork. Upon getting it home I took it apart and replaced the rear derailleur, stem, grips, cranks, and saddle. The only other upgrade that I plan on is to replace the bottom bracket with a shimano sealed cartridge version.
With just a few simple upgrades this bike rivals any hybrid you could buy from a bike shop. I went with hybrid because it's a good all-around bike. Nice upright riding position. I can still do mild off-road trails, and keep up with the fixies and roadies. This solid bike is a keeper for sure and I'm confident will last a life-time.
PROS:
1" steerer tube (not a quill stem)
excellent frame
decent wheelset
CONS:
no replacable derailleur hanger
freewheel instead of cassette
I highly recommend this bike, it's ready to go right away, but you can lighten it up if you replace the adjustable stem and saddle.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+23points
Review 2 for 700c Men's Schwinn Avenue Hybrid Bike

Awesome value

05/25/2010
By ,
Tempe, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Occasionally you can find a big-box retail bike which rivals those at a local bike shop for twice the price. The Avenue is one of them! This is an awesome bike for the price.
.
Well-built, stylish, and has quality components. With its aluminum frame, it weighs 31 pounds assembled. A sign of high-quality, almost all the logos and printing on the bike feel like they are painted on. No obvious sticker edges. (The Suntour fork has an obvious sticker edge).
.
Perhaps the heaviest component is the front Suntour fork. If you intend to ride primarily on pavement, you can easily replace this with a rigid fork and shave at least 5 pounds from the weight.
.
This bike is a bit on the large side. I'm 6'-0" with a 33" inseam. It fits me nicely with the seatpost 3/4 of the way up, and the seat rail adjusted all the way back. A friend is about 5'-6" and it seemed a bit too big for him even though he could stand over the top-tube. (Look through my "answers" for all the detailed measurements.).
.
There are a few differences in the Walmart product photo. 1) The seat does not have the silver reflective fabric on the back. It is all black, with a small red reflector built into the base of the seat (in addition to the clip-on on the seat post). 2) The rear derailer jockey wheel is not red, it's black. 3) the threadless "Aheadset" has 3/8" vertical adjustment using two 3/16" spacers. The product photo shows something closer to 1" worth of spacers below the stem. 4) The front chain ring is black, not silver.
.
The bike does not come with assembly instructions. Just a very generic manual used by Pacific Bicycles (holding company of Schwinn and other brands). One of the biggest complaints about big-box retail bikes is the quality of assembly. For that reason, I suggest learning as much as you can about assembly/maintenance (google for "bicycle tutorials"). Or, pay a local bike shop to assemble it for you. Additionally, assembly from the factory may not be correct. My axles were overtightened (felt crunchy/grumbly). And, the bottom bracket (where the crank passes through the frame) had metal shavings mixed in the grease. It's a good investment to study tutorials learning how to regrease/adjust those (and the headset), and do it on the out-of-the-box bike.
.
The wheels have some sharp edges inside. It's wise to use some fine sandpaper or a polishing stone to take the edge off the seam inside the wheel. Maybe the spoke holes too. These things can chaff your tube. While you're at it, replace the rubber rim strip with Velox narrow (10mm) rim tape.
.
The frame has the standard bolt holes on the seat post and down tube for a water cage, air pump, etc. But, it does not have bolt holes near the seat post for a rear rack. That's not a show stopper. Even smaller-sized expensive bikes at the local bike shop don't have those holes. Rubber-coated cable clamps are commonly used to clamp onto the seatstay tubes and bolt the rack to the clamp. (Racks that clamp onto the seat post are also very popular these days.). Talk to your local bike shop about this.
.
The wheel is odd. It has a 1" (25mm) depth, making it difficult to find a replacement Schrader-valve tube (normally 1-1/4," 32mm long). The tube which comes with the bike has a 1-3/4" (44mm) valve. (Look for my "answers" where I discuss this topic, and various workarounds.).
.
Another oddity is the wheel's spoke configuration. It's more of an aerodynamic racing wheel, with significant gaps between spokes. If I weighed 250+ lbs, I'm not sure I'd trust this wheel. Also, because of those spokeless gaps, the wheels come with very large and heavy spoke reflectors. These DO cause a significant imbalance. If you go down a hill at 40mph, it's not a pleasant feeling. I recommend replacing these reflectors with something like "spoke blazers." Lightweight plastic tubes with 3M reflective tape which slip over your spokes. (Or, make your own with a drinking straw and some 3M tape.). They provide full 360-degree reflectivity. (They don't depend on headlights hitting them at precise angles.). More importantly: they won't create the imbalance of the factory reflectors.
.
I removed the large stickers from my wheels. That was hard to do. Required turpentine to soften the sticker. Kerosene to soften and remove the adhesive. Rubbing alcohol to degrease the remaining slop. (All this was done with all rubber removed. None of those things are good for rubber.).
.
Because other customers have posted full-view photos, I will post two closeups. Note that the seat post is extended about 3/4 to the max length. And, the seat rail is adjusted back all the way.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+34points
Review 3 for 700c Men's Schwinn Avenue Hybrid Bike

Great bike and great value

01/03/2009
By ,
Palm Harbor, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bike is definitely the best bang for your buck. I do recommend that you read about 700c bikes before you purchase though. I also that if you are a young man such as myself that you look into a manlier looking bike seat and maybe handle bars if you are too insecure. Other than that I think it is a great quality product for the price. I love the trigger shifters once I got used to them and the gears work excellent after a little bit of reading the manual and adjusting them. As for the pedals, I think they are great quality and them being sheared off of other people's bikes is most likely due to them not being screwed in all the way. If you are at least half witted and can read the manual you shouldn't have a problem with this bike. Remember that this is a hybrid bike built to be used as a compromise between street and trail use. The rim is 28 inches tall like a road bike and the tires are 38mm wide which is about in between a road bike's and mountain bike's tires. I bought 40mm wide tires with a smooth center and knobs on the outside for trailing. Overall I would recommend this bike because it is cheap and cheap to modify to your liking.
The seat on the bike is one that I bought and the other picture shows the stock one. I haven't put my new tires on yet so these tires are what the Avenue comes with.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 4 for 700c Men's Schwinn Avenue Hybrid Bike

Schwinn 700C Hybrid.

02/03/2010
By ,
Southern Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this Schwinn bike to go along with my Road Racing bike and I really like it. I have not had any problems at all after 1000+ miles. The gears, wheels, brakes and everything else was perfect right out of the gate. This bike is lightweight ( weighs in at around 24 pounds I would say) and is very easy to ride. I'm used to biking long distance, and I can maintain 14 - 17 miles an hour easy on this.
This bike looks sharp also, with the glossy black finish and the nice lightweight rims. The rims may be a little weak ( because not as many spokes ) but if you try not to get to rough with it they will be ok. When I'm not road biking, I take this bike for short 10 mile rides around the paved path that circles the lake we have here.
Like everything else, I did add some stuff to it only as a personal thing. I replaced the pedals with ones that have toe straps. I added a bike computer, and I installed a little rack over the back wheel. I also changed the grips on the handelbars, not because they needed to, but just a personal feel that I like. I adjusted the brakes to get the feel that I'm used to, but they were good out of the box.
I've worked on bikes for years, and this is easy to put together. If your comfortable with tools, then you will have no problems at all. If you have to adjust gears, you may want a bike shop to do it, or get yourself a Bike maintenance book but it's not hard at all.
Bottom line, this is a very nice all around bike. For a bike in this price range, you really can't go wrong. It's made well, the shifters and brakes are above quality ( I,ve seen a lot of bad stuff being a bike tech ) and everything on this bike is good. It rides smooth and fast. If you looking for a nice hybrid at a good price, this is it. Well done.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+33points
Review 5 for 700c Men's Schwinn Avenue Hybrid Bike

Worth So Much More

05/15/2010
By ,
Kansas City
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Schwinn Avenue is a quality hybrid bike that's worth far more than the $200 I paid for it. It was delivered partially assembled; a friend and I carefully attached the handlebars, front wheel, pedals, and seat in less than an hour, including some find tuning we did.
The bike rides great as a commuter bike. I would have paid more to get this great combination of shifters, wheels, seat, etc. I couldn't be more pleased!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 6 for 700c Men's Schwinn Avenue Hybrid Bike

700c Schwinn Avenue Hybrid

12/06/2010
By ,
Jupiter, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ordering and delivery: I received my bike sooner than had been projected at the time of my order. Picking the bike up at the store was quick and easy. The person at the counter was very helpful and a pleasure to deal with. I was apprehensive when I placed the order and had it delivered to the store. There was no problems what so ever. The next purchase I make on line will be delivered to the store as well.
The Bike: I read the reviews here and did a little bit of dismantling and reassembly as recommended in another's review. My main concern with the bike is the unique tubes. Another reviewer posted which tubes to get and how to get them. I am 6'-1" and the bike fits me fine. I have put approximately 70 miles on the bike in just shy of a month. I ride for exercise and relaxation. My riding has been divided between pavement, packed shell rock trails, grass and sand trails and open fields with no trails. I love this bike! Front shocks are new to me, they buffer me just enough when I'm off pavement. The trigger shifters are also new to me, and I can't believe I was so happy with the grip shifters on my last bike. In this bike I definitely found what I was looking for, an inexpensive hybrid, with 700c rims and trigger shifters.
If you are considering this bike I would suggest reading all of the reviews. It was easy for me to sift through the ones that addressed valid concerns and which issues were due to operator error. After that, the decision is yours. Personally, I would buy this bike again without any hesitation. I have no complaints with the bikes quality and the site-to-store experience way surpassed what I was expecting.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Review 7 for 700c Men's Schwinn Avenue Hybrid Bike

Perfect fit for me.

12/21/2010
By ,
Danville, Il
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bike was everything I was looking for. 700c wheels are great for road/sidewalk riding, which was what I do mostly now. I have attached a Schwinn carriage to the back for my son to enjoy. I have no problem on hills with these 21 speeds, though I have extra weight (and a wind chute) behind me. My son and I have gotten a lot of relaxing rides out of this and I would recommend this bike everyday if your a road rider.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 8 for 700c Men's Schwinn Avenue Hybrid Bike

Great everyday bike or for long rides.

01/15/2009
By ,
Baton Rouge, LA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had this bike for over 6 months now and I have put between 200-300 miles on it. I like this bike because it has the sturdy feel of a mountain bike, but it keeps a pace of about 15-17 mph pretty easily. I weigh over 200lbs, and the bike feels very stable to me. I use this bike everyday to get around campus at school, but I also take it on 8 mile rides every other day. The large seat is great for longer rides over an hour. However, the only complaints I have are with the gear shifting and the fact I have to tighten the handle bars about once a month. The shifting is smooth and nearly seamless with the back 1-7 gears, but you have to really hold down the lever for the gears to shift from 2-3 on the middle three gears. This problem is a minor nuisance, and other than that I really love this bike. In fact, my cousin went out a few months later and bought one of his own.
Pros: Comfortable, sturdy, fast
Cons: Problems shifting middle 3 gears, back end tends to slide around during hard breaks
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+112points
Review 9 for 700c Men's Schwinn Avenue Hybrid Bike

Excellent bike for general use

07/29/2009
By ,
Suffolk, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted an affordable bike, if you call $250 affordable, so I chose the Schwinn Avenue 700c Hybrid. I am 54 and wanted to ride on everything from paved roads to hard packed paths.
The bike took less than 20 minutes to assemble and ride. Not only did it look nice, it also rode nice. The shifters worked perfectly and needed no adjustments. Fortunately I had a compressor to inflate the tires but would have had a big problem if not.
The first day impressed me so much I couldn't wait till the next morning. I felt like a young kid who just got a new bike for Christmas. A bike shop salesperson told me it was important to get a high quality bike so riding would be easy. It takes very little work to have this bicycle glide at a comfortable speed. The second day I casually rode at least 10 miles before returning home to get ready for work. I plan to double that distance tomorrow morning.
Overall I love this bike, highly recommend it and will probably buy one for my wife.
Tim
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+62points
Review 10 for 700c Men's Schwinn Avenue Hybrid Bike

Great Value

11/20/2010
By ,
Sebring, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can't say enough about this bike so I won't! I'll just say I can't find a thing wrong with it. The seat was a little hard, but I replaced it with a memory foam one and now it's just perfect! I love it, and I'm not easily impressed!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for 700c Men's Schwinn Avenue Hybrid Bike

THE bike

04/07/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The reviews I read were helpful & thought I'd add one more. After researching for about a month, bought this bike & after the first 100 miles, I'm very pleased. Unlike most, I bought it pre-assembled, right off the rack (looked untouched). After about 3 rides of 'dialing in' the fine adjustments, this bike has proven itself. Note: I ride exclusively on paved bike trails. For rougher terrain, I'd look at something else. I'm 200#s & just under 6 ft. Haven't had any flats or issues on my 10 mile rides 2-3 x a week. I had a friend who's an avid biker show me how to adjust the seat so it'd fit me best. It's about maxed out in seat height, so if you're over 6 ft, I'd check for fit. He said the only thing you need to do to 'hang with the big guys' on the trail is take the kick stand off!
I also changed out the wide saddle for a more standard seat (also from Wal-Mart made by Zefal).
Based on my research, a comparable bike from a bike shop would range from $350 to $600. So I'd rate this bike a great deal. Very pleased & looking forward to the next 100 miles.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Review 12 for 700c Men's Schwinn Avenue Hybrid Bike

FANTASTIC BIKE!!

06/20/2010
By ,
New Smyrna Beach, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this bike. I have had it almost a month. It is smooth rolling The gears shift smoothly. Walmart did a great job assembling it. After a couple weeks I took it to my local bike shop to have the cables tightened up and the wheels to be trued, a normal proceedure with a new bike. When i pucked it up the next day the mechanic said the wheels were oerfectly true. Ha said he was very impressed with the bike. I use it exclusively on paved roads and a few hard packed dirt paths. I work 4 days a week. on my work days i do about 15 miles in an hour, then use uit to commute to work. 4 miles. On my 3 days off i do about 30 miles in a couple of hours. I did replace the saddle with a Schwinn No Pressure Seat and have no soreness or chafing after any of my rides. It is an absolute joy to ride My mechanic said not to tell his boss but this bike is as good as a $400-$500 bike that he sells! I am sure anyone who wants to ride any distance on hard surfaces will love this bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 13 for 700c Men's Schwinn Avenue Hybrid Bike

Wow - pleasantly surprised

08/11/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm only taking the time to review this because it's such a great deal on a nice bike. All my other bikes have been purchased at a LBS here, of which there are many fine shops. If you are truly looking high end then there are some differences of course, otherwise, this bike is every bit as good and then some as the 500+ dollar bikes by Trek and others. I looked at a lot of bikes and honestly this bike was better set up (after I assembled it myself) than several I tested at a couple of popular shops. It basically came down to buying another Trek for more than twice the price from the best shop in town or this. The brakes needed a slight adjustment which is normal, and the gearing as well but was really pretty darn close right out of the box. Overall, this bike is a tremendous value for anyone considering a hybrid in today's bike market. I spent some time talking with the guys who assemble the bikes at the walmart where I purchased, and I was fine with their knowledge and assembly quality but still chose to buy a box and finish it up which was quite simple for anyone with the right tools and a little skill, but at least at the walmart I went to, the bike would have been assembled just fine. You would still need to make some slight adjustments to get everything just right but that's easy enough and easy enough to get assistance with if you need it. If you are afraid to buy a bike here for fear of getting junk, at least with this one I can assure you that's not a problem. Go for it and enjoy the ride.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
+75points
Review 14 for 700c Men's Schwinn Avenue Hybrid Bike

Great bike Great Ride Great Price

06/10/2008
By ,
Queen Creek, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As an Older guy, I was just looking around for a bike to ride occasionally for some exercise and to have some fun without having to spend an arm and a leg. I Looked at a lot of bikes and found this one. Bought it, took it home, gave it a good thorough going over.
First Ride was a very impressive ride. Everything was smooth and fast. Seat was a bit hard. (You just get used to it ...grin) This is a sturdy well built bike.
Although I bought this bike just to ride occasionally, I have ridden it everyday for at least an hour or two since I purchased it. I feel like a kid again. I highly recommend this bike.
Happy Old guy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+37points
Review 15 for 700c Men's Schwinn Avenue Hybrid Bike

Replacing tire and tube a problem

02/10/2009
By ,
Owensboro, KY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have had this bicycle for over a year and a half. I do not like it for walmart, k-mart, or target do not have the tires or tubes to replace them when they wear out. And a few of my spokes have broken.
700c bicycle is not a 26 tube and tire bycycle. My next bicycle will not be 700c Men's Schwinn Avenue Hybrid Bike because department stores do not support replacing its tires and tubes. This bicycle has a wide horizonal rim making requiring a tube with a longer than average tube stem. And the tires have a problem because of the rim too. I like the old lever gear changer for they did not wear out as fast as the handle like gear changer this bike has something like it with a click but now it looks like it is wore out too. I can only change two of the three of the front gears. The cable looked like it cut into one of the plastic round parts of this changer causes the problem. I use biycles and public transportation this bicycle needs better parts.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 16 for 700c Men's Schwinn Avenue Hybrid Bike

Love this bike!

10/01/2009
By ,
AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I checked out this bike in the store before purchasing it online, and had it shipped site-to-store as it was $40 cheaper than purchasing the same bike in-store....
No problem with assembly once I ditched the instructions (unnecessarily complicated). There's not much to assemble - insert seat and post assy into frame, attach pedals, insert handlebars to frame, attach front wheel to fork (seated and looking down, make sure the wheel release lever is on the left side of the fork), and you're ready to ride. After assembling it myself I am sure Schwinn could've simplied the instructions as there's not much to it. That's the only negative I have.
I've owned it for two months and ride 3 - 4 nights/week, 12 - 15 miles/ride. All my riding is on pavement. I am enjoying it much more than I expected.
I highly recommend this bike for the budget-minded (like me!) looking for a "city" bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 17 for 700c Men's Schwinn Avenue Hybrid Bike

Outstanding Starter Bike

03/01/2009
By ,
Arlington, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this bike earlier this year to join a group of friends who are bicycling enthusiasts. I needed a good starter bike that was affordable, good quality and could keep up with the others who ride more expensive brands bought at bicycle shops. I compared this bike to the other brands and was incredibly surprised by the quality of this bike for the price. My friends were also impressed by the quality of the bike.
I've ridden for several months now with my friends on weekends that include trails 30-40 miles each way. I am so pleased with the way the bike rides and the gears shift.
Installing the bike was a breeze too. I was thinking it might be a little intimidating, but all you have to do is install the front wheel, seat and handlebar. The brakes required some adjustment but that was it. No derailleur adjustment at all.
Since purchasing the bike, I've added a Schwinn rear luggage rack, water bottle and rack, seat mounted tool bag and gel pad. The seat can be pretty brutal on long rides, so the gel pad helps a lot.
Super starter bike for a super price and great quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Review 18 for 700c Men's Schwinn Avenue Hybrid Bike

Great Bike

09/11/2010
By ,
Cumming, Ga
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This bike is awesome, easy to ride. First I bought a Mongoose XR75 mountain bike. I got tired very quickly. I returned the bike and ordered this Schwinn Avenue on Walmart.com. I am just starting to ride again and I am finding it fairly easy to ride this bike. I am 59 years old and I haven't ridden a bike in quite some time. The only complaint I have is the seat is killing my backside, and the handlebars can't be raised. They can be tilted up but really not enough. I am only 5'9" and I have to lean forward to hold the handlebars which after a while hurts my wrists. I Bought this bike on walmart.com because it was $45.00 cheaper than in the store. Don't try shopping for a better price because the name Avenue is put on this bike for only Walmart. There are Schwinns exactly the same in other stores but they have different names. All in all I love this bike but I will be in search for a more comfortable seat.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 19 for 700c Men's Schwinn Avenue Hybrid Bike

Great Bike

09/21/2010
By ,
Dallas,Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a comfortable bike that I could cover some ground with. This bike has a smooth ride with a comfortable seat and a great suspention.
Gears change smoothly and brakes are responsive.
I ride only paved roads and I am very pleased with this bike. The only thing I am going to change are the hand grips.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 20 for 700c Men's Schwinn Avenue Hybrid Bike

Pretty good value

05/05/2011
By ,
UK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm from the UK and wanted a fairly decent bike for pottering around and for exercise whilst on visits to Florida. For the money, there's plenty of bike, so I'm more than happy with that.
I do however think that Walmart should publish the bike sizes (i.e. frame sizes). I'm nearly 6ft and had real problems finding a bike online that would suit me. I read other reviews to get feedback on the size and hence chose this bike as it worked for other taller people.
So, for pottering around the size is fine, but for longer cycle rides (45mins +), especially on the flat (i.e. in Florida) and riding on one position for a long time, I find it a little small for me. I'm going to look for a longer seat post, and if I find a suitable one, I'll be very happy. That said, its not designed as a proper road bike and is excellent for shorter rides around town.
The site to store service was excellent.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
1-20 of 166 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next