Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Pacific Cycle 700c Men's Mongoose Paver Commuter Bike

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Pacific Cycle 700c Men's Mongoose Paver Commuter Bike

Get a refreshing bike ride with the Mongoose R4874WM Men's Bike. Featuring the aluminum lightweight frame, this bike offers an every day riding appeal. This Mongoose Paver 700C Men's Bike features the SRAM Grip Shift twist shifter offers fast and easy gear changes. Equipped with the 7 speeds with Shimano TX-31 rear derailleur, this men's lightweight bike is geared well to take on any incline or decline. It comes with allow linear pull brakes that offers precise stopping and durability.
Average Customer Rating:
3.5 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(124 Reviews) 121
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
35
4 stars
43
3 stars
14
2 stars
13
1 star
19
Customer Recommendation70%87 out of 124reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
35
4 stars
43
3 stars
14
2 stars
13
1 star
19
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for 700c Men's Mongoose Paver Commuter Bike

Great Buy !!

03/15/2010
By ,
Raleigh NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would recommend this bike to anyone, for a 120.00
dollars, nice Aluminum frame, Shimano shifting
system, 28 x 1.175 ties, bike rack and water bottle
cage included, rims run true, needed lots of adjusting
from the store, nothing worked correctly, but after an hour or so of adjusting, the bike is well worth the money.... xoxoxxoLive
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+16points
Review 2 for 700c Men's Mongoose Paver Commuter Bike

Tires bigger than rims

05/09/2009
By ,
Florida
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The tire popped off the rim within 30 min when inflated to the max rating of 60psi. The added air pressure reduces the rolling resistance enabling less effort to ride longer. Walmart is replacing the tire and tube but about 40psi is all the mismatched tire/rims can handle. The reason is because the rim diameter is to small for the tire diameter. The rims are also warped and rub against the brakes further creating drag and more effort.
The plus side of this review is that the shifter works great after a few adjustments. The seat height can be adjusted for many different rider sizes.
With the bike computer info I see the top speed is around 17 which is OK for the riders who normally use this bike.
You get what you pay for.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 3 for 700c Men's Mongoose Paver Commuter Bike

great starter bike

04/15/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
bought this bike for a couple of reasons, to get in shape and to spend time with my family. living in kentucky i have a lot of hills around me to ride up and down and this bike has done very well on them pulling an instep trailer with my 2 year old in it. i have 2 of them so me and my wife can switch and each can pull the trailer and this bike does it great, the gearing is great and not complicated like a 21 speed. good for anyone wanting a cheap bike and i havent had the same problems with the innertubes that other people have
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 4 for 700c Men's Mongoose Paver Commuter Bike

Great Cruising Bike

05/05/2008
By ,
Chicago, Il
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've wanted to buy a bike for years now and get back into shape. My wife bought me a bike (not this bike) for our anniversary this year, and it needed to go back to the store, rear tire had some issues. Once I got to the store, I saw this cruiser and had to have it. It's durable, I'm a big guy, and I needed to make sure that this frame would support my frame, and it does. The 7-speed system is great and easy to use, and over all the bike it great. I did replace the seat however, again I'm a big guy and that little ole seat wasn't fitting my big ole seat, but an extra $20 for comfort is worth it.
Good Bike, Good Price, Quality Unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+83points
Review 5 for 700c Men's Mongoose Paver Commuter Bike

Excellent Product

06/08/2008
By ,
Norman OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I saw this bike at the local walmart and was impressed with the "European" look of it. It is a tall bike, aluminum frame, fairly lite, nice wide handle bars, rear rack, 7 speed Shimano rear derailers with twist shifting, llinerar hand brakes that work well, and nice large wheels with substantial tires, 700 45c (28 x 1.75). There is no suspension but the large wheels and 1.75" tires help compensate. Not a bad ride. The bike rolls very freely, no drag. It shifts smoothly altought the twist shifter feels a little stiff but will probably lossen with use. I mainly use speeds 1 through 4. Living here in Norman OK its flat but the 20-30 mph head winds can be as challenging as hills, but the bike handles the winds well. I looked on the Walmart web site to see any other reviews and it was rated an average of 4 plus stars. I bought it and rode it home about 4 miles. The tires were low, 35 lb so I pumped them to 60 lb and what a difference. Tires are rated at 50-75 lb pressure. Shifting is smooth and the tires run true, no wooble. I have a Hybrid costing 4 times this bike and although there is a difference I don't think it is that great for just getting around town. I bought this for that purpose and I do lock it up when parked but, if it should get taken 125 dollars loss is better then 500 dollar loss. I did replace the seat with a better one that has a large red LED flasher built into the seat, added an air pump, bottle, mirror and rear seat bag all purchased from Walmart. The seat that comes with the bike is fine but a little more cushening always helps.
If you took it to a bike shop for a tune up it would be even better but out of the box it is just fine.
I might add black fenders and Panniers which would really give it the "European" look.
Over all I am extremely pleased with the bike and would recommend it. For around town I enjoy this bike more then my other more expensive one. I am 5' 9" and 210 and it carries me well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+44points
Review 6 for 700c Men's Mongoose Paver Commuter Bike

You need these tools

09/02/2009
By ,
Ann Arbor, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have owned this bike for a few hours only, but it seems very promising. I needed to buy a few tools in order to assemble and adjust it:
* a 6 mm metric Allen wrench
* a 15 mm wrench (open or box)
* a #2 spoke wrench.
The first two can be bought in any hardware store, the spoke wrench in a bike shop. Spend $3-$4 on a really good Allen wrench, you won't regret it! The Allen wrench is used to assemble and adjust the handle bar, the 15 mm wrench for the wheels. The wheels on my bike needed trueing very badly, especially the front wheel. Basically I could not assemble the front brake before trueing the wheel.
And now my bike runs very well! Take care when inflating the tires, you should add air gradually and make sure the tires are properly fitted. First time round the inner tube tried to escape from my rear tire ... that is not supposed to happen.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 7 for 700c Men's Mongoose Paver Commuter Bike

Do not buy it . . . do not even think about it.

07/07/2009
By ,
Knoxville,T.N
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I like to think im a fair guy,and I gave this bike chance after chance.On my first encounter with this bike I decided to take it for a test drive so I inflated the tires to 50 p.s.i (the actual p.s.i that the bike recommends is 60 p.s.i).I rolled it about a foot away and the tire blew, I was not even on the bike.So I gave it another shot this time only inflating it to 40 p.s.i.Once again the tire blew after being rolled a foot or two, and I was not on it.My father and I decided it was a shady bike,so we left not even bothering with the third one there.After this we recently went shopping at another center where there was the same bike.I gave it another chance.I gradually inflated the tires to 60 p.s.i.The tires did not blow.So we purchased the bike,the next day I took it on a cement bike trail(nothing extreme practically a sidewalk).The left pedal broke off.Do not give this bike a chance,it does not deserve it
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 8 for 700c Men's Mongoose Paver Commuter Bike

Nice for the money

07/13/2009
By ,
Knoxville,TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had the mongoose for a little while and with maintenance seems to be a good bike. When you buy it there are some adjustments but that was expected. Very light weight and pretty nimble to be a tall bike. Overall it is a good bike for the small price. I'm satisfied.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 9 for 700c Men's Mongoose Paver Commuter Bike

Close, but not close enough

10/21/2009
By ,
Sacramento, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
After having surgery on my hand, I needed a bike where I sat upright. I wanted a hybrid with 700C wheels, but more like a cruiser than a mountain bike. I thought the Paver would be perfect.
The problems I was able to fix.
To make a long story short, the front wheel was not centered, both front and rear brakes were not adjusted right, and both wheels were not even close to being true. The seat was also way too small for this type of bike.
What I was not able to fix.
The bike geometry is completely wrong.
It is basically a mountain bike frame with cruiser handle bars on it. Because of this, it gives the feeling the pedals are placed too far back.
If you had mountain bike bars on it, you would lean forward a bit and then it would feel correct.
You can minimize this effect if you adjust the seat height correctly. This means that with the pedal down, your leg is almost straight.
Also, you have to adjust the seat back as far as you can. Still not quit enough, but it helps.
This bike will never feel exactly right, but for my 5'5" height, I have it pretty close.
My recommendation is that if you are a bike tech, and you are 5'5' or shorter, you will be able to get by with this bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Review 10 for 700c Men's Mongoose Paver Commuter Bike

Good Bike... Cheap pedals...

03/25/2008
By ,
Orlando, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This bike was a great pick after much back and forth on some of the other bikes in store. Decided on this model as I am riding my bike to work and home and the only mountains this bike will see will be on the billboards on the side of the road. First thing I did was swap the bike seat with a much comfier gel based seat. That was it. Bike was great and off I went. However, the bike pedals can't handle the strain of heaving pedaling. I have already gone through two pedals (both on the right side). Walmart replaced the first one, but after having the second one break, decided I would buy an aftermarket pedal that is made from Metal and not plastic. So, be wary if you ride the bike hard as the pedals are not made to withstand heavy or hard pedaling.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Review 11 for 700c Men's Mongoose Paver Commuter Bike

Very versatile

04/14/2008
By ,
St Louis City, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After 20 years of not riding a bike, I took the plunge and bought this very nice looking bike for riding in the city. (My lady love thought it looked cool.) I wasn't quite used to the upright sitting, but after all it's a comfort/commuter bike, and I've come to enjoy it. Swapped out the saddle for a Brooks I had from another bike (the one with it is pretty hard) and fell in love with riding a bike again. It's a bit slow and tough uphill with the wider tires (lots of resistance), so I put some narrower ones on and gained a lot of agility and less rolling resistance -- still not a speed demon but at my age (51) I've come to enjoy taking in the views. Added some fenders for the rain and wow. A great bike just as is, or you can spruce it up and "customize" it to suit your needs, and the overall cost will be lower than going out and buying something from the bike store -- which you'd end up tinkering with anyway. I'm very, very happy I bought this bike. Looks great, is solid, nice components, and darn good price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 12 for 700c Men's Mongoose Paver Commuter Bike

Excellent Bike

03/07/2008
By ,
Worcester, Massachusetts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent old school type bike. For the money it cannot be beat, it rides good and is stable. It was better than I thought.....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Review 13 for 700c Men's Mongoose Paver Commuter Bike

Don't buy this bike!

10/24/2008
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this bike online for college. It took it pretty long to get here even when I selected express shipping. Then you have to assemble it by hand. Which was pretty easy if you have all the tools. the one tool I didn't have was the Allen key, which is essential for attaching the handle bars, and it was like an english metric allen key or somethin really rare. So about a week later when I got the bars attached I got to ride it. It is a very slow bike, with a very uncomfortable seat, and very cheap parts. I have had this bike for 3 weeks now and so far; one of the cheap plastic pedals broke off, my front brakes have come off the track and the wire has come off. I got a flat from the cheap tires the first day of riding it. I have replaced almost all of the external parts with better things, ie seat, pedals, brakes, reflectors, and in doing so I have spent more money on replacement parts than on the bike. It is a cheap hunk of junk put together by mongoose, I reccomend people do not gamble there money on this thing!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 14 for 700c Men's Mongoose Paver Commuter Bike

You get what you pay for

09/15/2013
By ,
Alexandria, VA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I work at a bicycle co-op, and have been working on bicycles for almost 30 years. While I do not own this bicycle, I just finished working on one. Sadly, the Mongoose Paver is a very poor quality product. On the one I worked on, it was even poorly assembled from the factory; one of the bearing cups for the crank bearing was cross threaded into the frame. I had to remove it and re-tap the bottom bracket. The crank axle is too long, causing the chain to fall off; I reversed it so the chainline would be a bit better. The bike came in with a blown out front tube. I notice in a lot of the reviews people complaining about blowouts. That is because the tire beads fit _very_ loosely on the rims, and require careful installation to prevent blowouts. The brakes are very difficult to adjust, because of the low quality materials used. The only plus to this bike is the ride is quite good. But I expect anyone who buys one would be disappointed in its durability.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 15 for 700c Men's Mongoose Paver Commuter Bike

OKAY bike

07/01/2009
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased this item online and used the free Site to Store service and picked it up from my local Walmart. The first thing I noticed was that the box containing my disassembled bike was tattered and barely holding together. After I finished putting my bike together, I realized the front wheel wasn't completely straight. Either this was a manufacturing error, or it got damaged during shipping. I'd recommend this product to other customers, but I wouldn't recommend using the Site to Store service. Another thing I want to mention is that the assembly instructions are not helpful at all. The diagrams are barely relevant, and the explanations are incredibly verbose and confusing. This is a pretty good bike, but if you are going to buy it, I'd seriously recommend trying to find it pre-assembled in a store. This way, you won't have to worry about damaged parts, and you'll have the peace of mind that your bike was put together by a professional.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 16 for 700c Men's Mongoose Paver Commuter Bike

good bike, bad shipping

12/08/2008
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall, this is a great bike that'll get you from point A to point B without breaking your budget. The aluminum frame is a big plus. However, you will need to take into account any repairs/replacements that you'll need either out of the box or in the near future.
The box the bike came in was double walled, yet somehow, the axle of the front wheel was completely protruding out. Fortunately, nothing was lost, but that was an indication of how badly the package had been treated. As a result, the wheel was out of alignment and had to be trued at my local bike shop (an additional $8). The rear wheel was also warped, but not nearly as much as the front.
You might also expect to pay extra for another pair of pedals as they do seem a little fragile and for another saddle as it is fairly hard.
In short, if you don't mind spending at least an extra $10 for repairs/replacements (assuming you already have a lock), go ahead and buy this.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for 700c Men's Mongoose Paver Commuter Bike

Good value

07/03/2009
By ,
New York City
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Read the reviews before buying and you should be prepared. Cheap price = cheap components. But it's an aluminum frame (i.e. it's lighter than steel), and the design was right for me.
Product took some tinkering to get right. I had zero experience with bikes but got a wheel truing tool from a bike store ($12) and watched an on-line video and truing the wheels was easy. The brakes I was never able to get right (despite the online videos) and had to take to a bike mechanic for adjustment ($10). Replaced the seat, as other reviewers had suggested.
I commute on the bike several days a week, over some rough track. The bike is perfect for the task with its wide wheels. I like to sit bolt upright, so the style of the bike suits me. I'm 6' 0" and the bike is smaller than ideal on me, but works for me.
Bike looks great. A real value at the price. Recommended.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 18 for 700c Men's Mongoose Paver Commuter Bike

Complete Junk

06/04/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got this bike at local walmart store. It looks great for price (rear rack, shimano gear shift,....). I paid and load this bike in my SUV, and WHALA. the tube itself busted on the way home. I almost lost my conrol of car due to the busting boom sound. This is not a joke, and I was never on the bike. I had to return and got a new one. This one was okay in my SUV. The tire pressure was low (the tire says you have to inflate to 60 psi), so I pumped air to front and rear tire at home. Well, the front tire was busted again before it even reached 60 psi. What a junk. I returned for refund and would never buy Mongoose. If tire was this bad, what can you say about other components?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Review 19 for 700c Men's Mongoose Paver Commuter Bike

The verdict is in

04/27/2009
By ,
Shreveport, La
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First off, let me say that I really like this bike. I read all the reviews and weighed the pros and cons before making the purchase. The box it came with did look alittle rough, but all the peices were there and nothing was damaged. It was mentioned a few times about the difficulty of assembling the bike, I had no problem. It comes in five pieces, plus the pedals (which are labeled left and right). I still haven't gotten my brakes perfect just yet, but so far that has been the hardest thing I have had to work on. I plan on getting on a more comfortable saddle. The saddle that comes with the bike is a little rough on your back side. I read in one review that the owner removed all the decals for a sharper look. I did this, they were stickers and came off really easily. But it did make the bike look better. This bike is really great for taller people. I'm a woman, and women's bikes usually don't fit me very well. At six feet, it's a perfect fit. Make sure you read about how a bike is supposed to fit you properly, it will come in handy when making a decision on a purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for 700c Men's Mongoose Paver Commuter Bike

Great Looking, Tires need work

08/12/2009
By ,
Elmhurst, IL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
bike is sleek & stylish, very comfortable to ride.
used bike 3 times, tires blew out 2 of three times i road the bike. once front tire & once rear tire. there is a problem with the rims, tires or tubes on this bike. see other review, many others having same problem. I returned to walmart with no problem, this bike would be great if they fixed the tire problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
1-20 of 122 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next