Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mongoose 26" Mongoose Woodland Women's Bike

Mongoose 26" Mongoose Woodland Women's Bike

With SRAM MRX shifters, the Mongoose Woodland 26" Women's Bike is as agile as you. Whether you're blazing through bumps, climbing steep hills or just cruising on a bike path, this women's mountain bike gives you total support and speed. The dual-suspension Y-frame design absorbs those pumps, so you can ride at top speed. Designed with a TZ rear derailleur, the Mongoose Woodland 26" Women's Bike makes switching gears easy. When you're speeding through rugged or smooth terrain, the front disc brake gives this women's mountain bike total halt control. With a three-piece crank set, the Mongoose Women's Bike gives you the power and speed you need, no matter where you ride.
Average Customer Rating:
3.45 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
17
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation72%29 out of 40reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 0 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
17
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for 26" Mongoose Woodland Women's Bike

Excellent bike for the price

10/26/2012
By ,
san antonio, tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent bike for the price, doesn't weight that much. My wife can lift it up without any problems, to place it on the bike rack. It does need to go to a bike shop to get the gears adjusted right. Took it back to walmart twice and they couldn't get it. Another then that, good bike...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for 26" Mongoose Woodland Women's Bike

Reviews Not Always Accurate!

10/27/2008
By ,
Vero Beach, fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had seen this online on clearance. I live in a area with lots of dirt roads and sand, very little concrete streets. I was able to find 1 walmart that had 1 left in stock. he said it had been returned by someone who said the gears didnt shift right..... lol! Ive seen alot of that on here! he also told me alot of people dont know that the gears have to be adjusted, they arent automaticaly adjusted. he adjusted them and "HER LOSS WAS MY GAIN". not only is it a very nice looking bike, but it rides great, and I got it for $89.99 in the store since its no longer in their system! AAAAAAA++++++++
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for 26" Mongoose Woodland Women's Bike

On the fence

10/13/2008
By ,
Georgia
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this bike having read previous reviews. I agree that the seat is the most uncomfortable seat I have ever sat on. The bike rode wonderfully, the shocks really absorved all the rocks and bumps on the path. However, the position of the pedals under the seat really make you feel like you are tipping forward. The handle bars were also at a weird angle and I had blisters on the palms of my hands and my wrists were killing me at the end of my one hour ride. I think I could have gotten used to all that, but the gears were not shifting right. After troubleshooting, reading the manual, and making adjustments that it recommended, the gears would still skip 2nd and 6th gear. I also found the lowest gear (1 and 1) to still be very hard for climbing hills compared to my husband's Schwinn bike. I returned this one because I felt that for the money I paid for it, it need to work 100%.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for 26" Mongoose Woodland Women's Bike

Good price, poor construction

07/07/2008
By ,
Columbus, OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got this bike a week ago. The price was awesome! In fact it was the deciding factor, which was mistake number 1. Mongoose is a good name so I figured how bad could it be, right? Well it looks fabulous. Very sharp design.. however, the front shocks don't work; the derailleur doesn't shift properly (can't get into first or 7th gear no matter how much adjustment is done to it) and I just can't justify taking a bike to the shop and pay to have it fixed when I've only owned it for a week! It's going back today.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
i can sympathize
Posted 07/30/2012
I can sympathize. I had the same experience with a great bike from walmart (ladies hybrid schwinn avenue). I finally caught on that all I needed to do was to learn to adjust the derailleur. It is a good skill to have anyways, & also should be regularly checked... along with cleaning it & the chain. I recommend the book bike maintenance for dummies.... very easy to follow. Then you might be able to keep a bike you might otherwise like.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for 26" Mongoose Woodland Women's Bike

LOVE THIS BIKE

08/15/2008
By ,
Minnesota
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this bike 2 weeks ago and I can't stay off it. I agree the seat is uncomfortable but I have replaced it with another seat. I have not had any problems with the chain coming off. This bike shifts well and breaks well and the shocks are wonderful. I am a beginner biker and wouldn't trade this bike in for another one. Great quality and a great price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for 26" Mongoose Woodland Women's Bike

Beautiful but not a good bike!!

08/03/2008
By ,
Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this bike because it is the coolest bike I have seen. I ride a bike almost 40 miles everyday for exercise. I have had it for a few months and finally figured out why it is so uncomfortable. The pedals are straight under you so you pedal behind you. Other bikes pedals are slightly in front of the seat. I tried every seat but the problem wasn’t the seat. My legs are still sore from this bike. On the front of the bike it says racing. Maybe that is why the pedals are where they are so you can lean forward to race.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Never
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for 26" Mongoose Woodland Women's Bike

Fantastic Bike , with new seat , minor adjustments

10/03/2012
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am retired , male 64 , a Fitness nut . I bought this bike for my grand daughter and me to share . She likes the color and I like the features . It is extremely hard to find a disc brake on a model this low in Price . We have 4 bikes at my home now and this is the best one . Brakes work great , actually I see only a tiny bit of difference vs linear brakes , but nice to say I have disc brakes on one of my bikes .
Naturally these bikes are made in China , so your getting unbelievable amount of bike for the money . It is well made for sure for the price . Now be prepared to spend time adjusting the rail systems or get a tiny bit of help . Women do great at these things , it is simply reading and following instructions . It will work OK to ride down the street , but you expect to make lots of adjustments and fine tune it to make the gear rail switching perfect. Brand New does not mean Perfect . But if you desire to spend the money , a Bike shop will make it perform Perfectly for you. Try it yourself to get the experience. You can do it .
This is not a small bike , a big girl can use it easily . The shocks are fantastic . The seat is horrible , A Gel seat for only $18.00 is a must for this bike , unless your rear end is made of steel.. Be prepared to really Kick your leg up a bit to thrust it over the frame . As for driving position for me it is Perfect , I am only 5 ' 7 " . Weight is good , but this is not an ultra light bike . Not heavy either . The bike is built to take punishment . I ride about 10 miles every single day unless it rains , so I know a tiny bit about bikes . Been riding bikes for 56 yrs . This is a good bike .
Nobby tires are not the best for street , but good for General purpose recreation.
It is one of the most pretty bikes out there for the money . Everything was greased and oiled up ready to go . Assembly was easy , you must put air in the tires . Have basic wrenches , inlcuding Metric Allen wrenches .
Great instructions included , even for railer system . Or you can use YouTube to learn , it is so easy . Naturally I am a guy and been a Technician all my life so for me this was childs play . For you ladies ask a male friend whom is experienced . Most things are extremely easy to see , rail systems take a little practice .
It takes bumps really well , coming up back into the drive way which is on a small hill is easy with the shocks . unless you live in a tremendous variance of Terrain , just keep the main Crank on number two gear and switch the back one , that way you kind of have good control till you get used to this bike . Normally people use all gears if they are really great bike riders and in top shape . An average person will never use all gears . you will need the lower gears going up hills .
The bike is not made for Racing , it is made for Fun and exercise . Old men like me love to enjoy the scenry , trees , nature , and fresh air on a good bike , I live in The Woodlands Tx. For the money you simply can not go wrong . Mongoose makes good bikes , as good as any other company . Everyone will admire the looks of this bike , you will love the smooth Ride , it looks much more expensive than what you paid for .
I love this bike so much , I may buy a second one just like it , so me and my Grand daughter can ride together, they grow up so fast . She loves the bike especially with her friends , she is 12 and allready an athelete, winning all kinds of awards. She competes with the boys . Bikes of today are built better than ever before and cost less .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for 26" Mongoose Woodland Women's Bike

Great Bike

03/06/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The only problem I have with it is that the seat is a little unconfortable. Once spring comes i'll be out riding it a few times a day
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for 26" Mongoose Woodland Women's Bike

looks good...looks can be deceiving.

05/28/2008
By ,
southern ca
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this bike at the end of April and 3 hours (about 30 min of riding) the broke, I called to get a replacement pedal which pacific cycle said they would mail out and I would receive in 5-10 days never did show up. They gave me the tracking information so I could call and find out what fedex did with them and found out fedex doesn't know what happened to them, pacific cycle won't file the claim to replace them and won't send out another set. I took it out the last time a week ago and when I came back I noticed a large chunk had came out of the rear dérailleur I'm guessing that it broke when the bike chain jumped gears on it's own which it did everytime I got going faster than my 5 year old. They offered to send me a new one, but could not help as far as how to replace it. I contacted the store and thankfully walmart was able to let me exchange it for another bike. I spent a few $s more and got the Schwinn Sidewinder and absolutely love it. The parts on the mongoose are cheap and don't hold up to slight use I can't imagine what would happen if someone were to actually buy it for normal use.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for 26" Mongoose Woodland Women's Bike

Excellent Mongoose!

06/28/2008
By ,
Madison, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased in Walmart store. I could not believe that you could get this much bike -- and a Mongoose -- for this price. The suspension is great, so smooth. The shifting is Shimano, so you know it's perfect, plus it has the Grip-Shift which is very nice. The front disc brake is different, but I like it, because you don't want your front brake to be too strong. I love this bicycle, except for the seat. The seat that I got is not the one in the picture. It is all black and not too comfy. Easy to replace. Wish the handlebars had those extra bars on the ends, but you can't get everthing for this low of a price, can you?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for 26" Mongoose Woodland Women's Bike

Too Big For Me..But Good

08/07/2008
By ,
Easton, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am not an expert on buying bicycles. I purchased this bike because it says "ladies" 26". However, I had to return it because it was WAY TOO BIG for me. I had to jump up on it to sit (at lowest setting) and I could not touch the ground (I'm 5'2"). So I had to return it and I purchased the same bike as a "GIRLS" 24". I love it! Really great ride for the money. The Mongoose name and Shimano Shifters do not disappoint. I did, however, purchase a different seat for added cushion, but I have had to do that with EVERY bike I bought. I recommend this bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for 26" Mongoose Woodland Women's Bike

Good quality bike. Rides well and looks very nice.

06/10/2012
By ,
Bridgeport, Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this bike for myself in anticipation of an upcoming hike and bike with our Venture Crew. It is taking me a little time to get used to the gear change, but this bike was easy to use from the time it was put together. Which was by my 14 yo daughter. She only had a little issue with the front brake, but was able to do it herself. The only thing that I would change really is the seat. I guess for a bike of this price point it is to be expected, but it is really uncomfortable. I plan on upgrading that feature before any extended use. Overall a great bike.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for 26" Mongoose Woodland Women's Bike

very strong, beautiful and nice

08/04/2008
By ,
Tampa FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wait more than 10 years to get a bike and I'm so satisfied with the bike that I will used it everyday after work and on weekends, Very smooth ride and excellent performance. Thank you
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for 26" Mongoose Woodland Women's Bike

Easy to asseble, looks nice

04/03/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The only issue that i am having is that the chain does not work, it keeps falling off, still have not got to work.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for 26" Mongoose Woodland Women's Bike

26" Woodland Mountain Bike by Mongoose

10/24/2012
By ,
Lawton, OK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Purchased this bike for my wife and she loves it except for the seat, I bought the cloud 9 seat for it and now she really likes it
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for 26" Mongoose Woodland Women's Bike

NICE BIKE

07/01/2008
By ,
El Paso, Tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall this is a great bike, rides nice and smooth. Only thing is the seat was very uncomfortable. Had to go buy another seat that was a lil bigger and with more cushion. But nice bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for 26" Mongoose Woodland Women's Bike

26" Ladies Mongoose

07/07/2008
By ,
Duncansville, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Everything good, except for a vevy uncomfortable seat. Handle bar grips a bit loose.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for 26" Mongoose Woodland Women's Bike

Don't waste your money

03/25/2008
By ,
Virginia City , NV
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this bike three days ago. The seat has already come un-sewn and is very very uncomfortable. One handle bar grip is loose and it does not shift well at all! The chain also de-rails itself when trying to shift . I am returning this Bike for sure!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for 26" Mongoose Woodland Women's Bike
05/01/2013
By ,
yucca valley, ca
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Got the bike delivered to the house opend the first box to find a second box was all tore up hidden inside the other box it was missing the seat and seat post.handlebar grip torn, back brakes were broke and the rim was bent.was like the bike had been put together before.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for 26" Mongoose Woodland Women's Bike

Hard seat beautiful bike

02/05/2013
By ,
Miami, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I read the reviews prior to purchasing and the seat is definitely rock solid. I didn't get the seat pictured with the red on the back I got a solid black one, I was hoping it was an improvement with all the complaints but ouch no. The assembly was easy enough, only had to adjust the breaks a little. I'm glad I bought this bike and the price compared to similar bikes, it's a steal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 38 total reviews
1 2 Next