Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for RCA RCA Digital TV Converter Box, DTA800

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

RCA RCA Digital TV Converter Box, DTA800

Purchase a digital converter box for $49.87 (with coupon, $9.87*) Digital converter boxes receive over-the-air digital TV broadcasts for viewing on TVs that do not have built-in digital tuners. If you wish to keep using your analog TV set, you must purchase a digital converter box. Digital converter boxes are available at Wal-Mart stores nationwide. For additional information and to apply for digital converter box coupons, visit www.dtv2009.gov or call 1-888-DTV-2009.
Average Customer Rating:
3.485 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(196 Reviews) 196
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
75
4 stars
48
3 stars
10
2 stars
23
1 star
40
Customer Recommendation63%123 out of 196reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
75
4 stars
48
3 stars
10
2 stars
23
1 star
40
Customer Reviews
Review 61 for RCA Digital TV Converter Box, DTA800

DTV

11/19/2008
By ,
Telford, Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Good picture.
Easy to set up
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 62 for RCA Digital TV Converter Box, DTA800

Get a different converter box

11/16/2008
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
As far as doing its job this converter box does bring in the digital channels, however my box will turn off for no reason and it will often freeze when I am trying to turn the channel with the remote. I would suggest buying a different converter box. If I had known it would be this much trouble, I would've gotten a differnt one.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 63 for RCA Digital TV Converter Box, DTA800

not very good

11/16/2008
By ,
little rock,ar
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought 2 of these and 1 quit working after 3 weeks. I have to spend too much time adjusting the antenna and searching. For some channels I switch back to analog.
Wal-Mart only carries one brand of converter box!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 64 for RCA Digital TV Converter Box, DTA800

works well

11/08/2008
By ,
Hurricane wv
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought two of theconverter boxes for 9.99 with the coupon, took it home and hooked it up.I was so surprised to be able to recieve up to 9 to 10 channels on my tv. The key to a good reception is a good set of rabbitt ears. The better the antenna, the better the reception. No need to buy expensive converter boxes, the less expensive ones work great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 65 for RCA Digital TV Converter Box, DTA800

GREAT PRODUCT

10/12/2008
By ,
MCALLEN,TX -REYNOSA MEXICO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WE GOT OUR COUPONS AND WE WAITED 3 WEEKS SAMS CLUB TO RESTOCK AND 2 MORE WEEKS FOR WALMART TO RESTOCK. WE LIVE IN MCALLEN TEXAS NEAR REYNOSA MEXICO. WE GET 28 STATIONS WITH THE RCA BOX. WE ARE VERY HAPPY CAUSE WE HAVE ONE LESS BILL FOR CABLE TO PAY EVERY MONTH. WE HAVE FEW STATIONS WITH 24/7 CARTOONS FOR THE KIDS. THANKS AND THE WAIT WAS WORTH IT...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 66 for RCA Digital TV Converter Box, DTA800

Much Better than Walmart Magnovox

10/11/2008
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have this converter box, and the Magnovox one.. they each have their pluses and minuses, but i plan on getting rid of the magnovox box.. with my existing antennal, this box gives me 22 channels, tho not in my area NBC or ABC yet.. but it controls your TV, where the magnovox does not, there is no previous channel button, which i love.. but the magnovox which has that option, does not give me as many channels or control my TV.. if you have to choose between the 2, get this RCA one
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+1point
Review 67 for RCA Digital TV Converter Box, DTA800

did not work

10/10/2008
By ,
comanche, oklahoma
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i hooked it up and i can't get any channels, that i could pick up with the regular antenna.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Never
0points
Review 68 for RCA Digital TV Converter Box, DTA800

More Features and Better Performance

10/08/2008
By ,
Cedar Rapids, IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Tunes more channels than its competitors; universal remote control; channel up+down buttons on the front; auto-off is configurable.
.
Cons: no S-Video output.
.
This is one of two DTV converters my Walmart stocks at the same price. Having used both, this RCA is by far the better choice. (1) Using the same loop antenna, the RCA pulled in 6 more channels (even some my digital TV cannot). (2) Its universal remote controls the TV (on/off/volume/input) and has large, easy-to-use buttons. (3) Channel up+down buttons on the front of the unit eliminate the need to find the remote. (4) The auto-off feature can be set to stay on indefinitely, enabling your VCR to record a show hours or even days after you leave.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 69 for RCA Digital TV Converter Box, DTA800

Good Converter Box

10/05/2008
By ,
Howard Lake, MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to Setup. You can manually add and delete channels (including deleting Minor Channels - a Magnavox H2160 DVD Recorder with Hard Drive won't delete Minor Channels). The remote is pretty good (good size, TV functions on one side, Converter Box functions on the other). Color-coding the two different sets of buttons is also a good idea. The Channel Guide is also better than the first Converter box I purchased (Venturer STB7766G1). The channel guide lists the current program and "what's on next" for each channel.
Overall, I will be happy with this box until my current TV dies and I have to purchase a new one.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 70 for RCA Digital TV Converter Box, DTA800

Works fine with good antenna

09/30/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This convertor box works just fine for the price. Practically paid nothing for it with your coupon. You need to have a really good antenna otherwise your signal will go in and out. And that is really annoying when you are watching your favorite TV shows. Pictures are clear. I like that you can stand it vertically or horizontal. Overall, works fine with a good antenna.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 71 for RCA Digital TV Converter Box, DTA800

Don't buy

09/29/2008
By ,
Oregon
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We purchased the RCA converterbox less than a month ago and it just quit working. Not a very good start is it. I have not tried to see if Wal-Mart will replace it yet due to we do not live near town. But it is frustrating as it changed the way our tv works.
At first we were impressed that we were able to get more stations when we hooked the converter up as we are on an antenna not cable, but we noticed when we went to regular tv we lost the clarity.
If we have a lemon we'll see but right now I don't hold out much hope.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 72 for RCA Digital TV Converter Box, DTA800

Outstanding

09/24/2008
By ,
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I decided to break down and purchase one of these to see what all they hype was about, and I was amazed we used to get 4 fuzzy channels, and only 1 was a major channel (CBS) I plugged it in and did the channel setup, I was amazed when 9 channels showed up no "snow" what so ever looked like I was on cable. I now have CBS, NBC, ABC, FOX, as the majors, and many others I never realized existed. I then went and got an antenna amplifier and plugged that inline and got 5 more channels. This is worth the money to get!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 73 for RCA Digital TV Converter Box, DTA800

Poor Reliability

09/22/2008
By ,
Pocahontas, AR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought two of these converters and within 2 months both had failed. Also I believe the sensitivity of these converters is not as good as a dtv, you have to have a very strong signal for them to work without picture breakup.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 74 for RCA Digital TV Converter Box, DTA800

Magnificent!

09/18/2008
By ,
Nashville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this thing yesterday, and am highly pleased with the results. The picture is crystal clear, and I get about 22 channels as opposed to the six I got without it. Setup was easy, for the most part; while the box itself was no bother, getting that great bulky tv scooted around so I could get at the back of it was a minor annoyance, and finding out that I could have either the vcr or the dvd player but not both slightly aggravates. I'll sort that out at length, though... the signal from the rabbit ears isn't as strong as I'd like, either, but that too will be improved over time. The thing is, I got to watch Leno last night with a perfect picture, something that hasn't happened in months.
The best part is that I no longer have to have two tvs, one for the video playback and one for regular reception. This box hooked in directly through the RCA A/V jacks. The damaged coax connector on my tv isn't a problem anymore. And once I get a better antenna like the RCA Smart Antenna, I'll get a much better signal and more channels.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 75 for RCA Digital TV Converter Box, DTA800

Expectations

09/13/2008
By ,
Cleveland, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am a little let down that the box doesn’t automatically switch between normal and wide screen. Instead, it forces you to go through the menu each time the programming changes.
I didn’t know that this would be an issue coming from an analog experience, but it turns out that about half of the new channels that I have are in wide screen format.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 76 for RCA Digital TV Converter Box, DTA800

Good So Far

09/03/2008
By ,
Palmer Lake, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
With the comments that say that the units sometimes stop working I'm not going to get to excited yet, but I've had good luck so far.
Some people seem to be missing some information. On the channel scan if you drop down and check the keep existing channels box before running a scan it will keep your existing channels and only add new ones. This has to be done before each scan. The channel scan is under "Change Settings" in the main menu. If your using an indoor antenna or a rotor change the position of your antenna and run different scans to pick up new channels. The box will keep your saved channels even if disconnected. I was able to get 9 channels on a $8.99 RCA rabbit ear UHF loop combo. I'm 26 miles from the towers with a low mountain ridge blocking line of sight to the towers. The channel displayed on the screen is not related to the frequency of broadcast. (i.e. digital channel 5.1 and 8.1 are currently UHF signals in our area and 8.1 will return to the VHF range after analog broadcast is shut down.) The 5.1 and 8.1 etc. are virtual channels that identify the channel not the fequency. Therefore if you get a good VHF analog signal now, and switch to digital, it may not come in because your antenna doesn't pick up the UHF fequency the channel is being broadcast on. Check tvfool for current and future broadcast frequencies. Many will change frequencies after Feb. 17 2009. Also, you will need to run new scans after 2/17/08 to find the channels that change back to VHF.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 77 for RCA Digital TV Converter Box, DTA800

RCA Digital TV Converter Box, DTA800

09/01/2008
By ,
Spokane, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just prior to tossing my 1977 RCA TV and 1990 Toshiba VCR out the door, I bought this converter box! That TV's gonna last another 30 years, WITH a remote control that it never had until now!!! The picture's crystal clear; I've got additional channels.
If the box holds up, I'll be happy for a long, long time! I KNOW the TV's immortal!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 78 for RCA Digital TV Converter Box, DTA800

Very Poor Quality

08/31/2008
By ,
Portland, Oregon
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought 2 of these and the first one didn't work and the second couldn't hold the signal. I was adjusting the antenna more with the box than without. Thought it was my area or TV but it was the box. Plus the remote does not have a recall button. Had to buy another brand from another company and it works perfectly.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 79 for RCA Digital TV Converter Box, DTA800

Not a good product

08/28/2008
By ,
Midland, Tx
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought 2 of these RCA converter boxes with my government coupons. I got them home and went right to set them up, well disappointed from the start. The first one I got out of the box did not work at all. So I tried the next one and again I was disappointed, I set it up as the instructions advised and I did not get any channels. I got more with just my simple rabbit ear antenna. I am unaware of what to do now that I used my coupons on this product and it doesn't work. Is walmart going to refund my full price or what.........
I just hope no one else goes through these problems as I did with this RCA converter box. I do not recommend this product at all.
Good luck to all of us that have to deal with this conversion and have no luxury of cable or satellite.
Oh, one more thing. When I pulled both of these products out of the box both of them were scratched up like they had been used before.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 80 for RCA Digital TV Converter Box, DTA800

GET THIS NOW! YUP! GET IT NOW!

08/09/2008
By ,
San Francisco Oakland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this today based on what others said.
I had to pay about $9 plus TV card for $40.
I hooked rabbit ears to the RCA dig box - my TV is a SONY XBR High Def from 2003. IT pics up several full HI DEF signals - and now I get 30 stations instead of 4.
I live on the BOTTOM FLOOR of a 3 tier building.
GET THIS - try it even if you have cable. You may says GOODBY CABLE>!!!!
Obviously ATT and COMCAST DO NOT want you tro try this $9 device.
I am a consumer dude - BUY THIS NOW!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
61-80 of 196 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6  ...  10 Next