Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for RCA RCA Digital TV Converter Box, DTA800

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

RCA RCA Digital TV Converter Box, DTA800

Purchase a digital converter box for $49.87 (with coupon, $9.87*) Digital converter boxes receive over-the-air digital TV broadcasts for viewing on TVs that do not have built-in digital tuners. If you wish to keep using your analog TV set, you must purchase a digital converter box. Digital converter boxes are available at Wal-Mart stores nationwide. For additional information and to apply for digital converter box coupons, visit www.dtv2009.gov or call 1-888-DTV-2009.
Average Customer Rating:
3.485 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(196 Reviews) 196
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
75
4 stars
48
3 stars
10
2 stars
23
1 star
40
Customer Recommendation63%123 out of 196reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
75
4 stars
48
3 stars
10
2 stars
23
1 star
40
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for RCA Digital TV Converter Box, DTA800
06/15/2008
By ,
Eagan, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have now guided multiple elderly (and not so elderly) family members in the purchase of this easy to use box. All of us have enjoyed the easy to use remote and the box's ability to lay flat or upright. Excellent reception and sound and doesn't overheat like the Magnavox did. People should use Antenna Web or TV Fool to know where to aim their antenna, and purchase what they recommend (TV Fool is better with terrain and if you need to have antenna elevated). Upstairs I use an eight year old Jasco Optima (GE make equivalent now) for stations up 45miles away, but down one flight have to use a Radio Shack 15-1892 directional amplified to get 'violet uhf' for the station 45 miles away. Unlike snowy screens on analog TV's if signal strength is <14% you get nothing. Roof top aerials may not work unless amplified with low noise next to antenna. Also digital reception easily blocked or messed up by metal in walls. Best if antenna is by window if inside or if outside aimed in best direction. RCA will release their 'Smart Antenna' this Fall of 2008; it will plug in the back of RCA DTA 800 boxes and automatically orient itself for best signal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 42 for RCA Digital TV Converter Box, DTA800

Comparison of RCA and Magnavox

03/08/2008
By ,
Norman, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used my rebate coupons at WalMart to buy each one of its converter offerings, and if I bought a third unit, it would probably be the Magnavox, though both are excellent products. For me, the RCA took a bigger, better antenna to bring in all channels available in my area. The Mag could scan channels successfully with a smaller antenna. The Mag has a true off switch, plus a standby button on the remote, whereas the RCA has only a standby button, so it is on all the time, though powered down. The RCA remote is better, with larger buttons and the ability to control your TV (input source, volume, mute) as well as the converter box, and there is a CC button so you can easily access closed captions. The Mag remote has a still button to capture a video frame (while sound continues) and an alternate channel button, but closed caption controls are buried deep in the setup with no easy way to access CC. The Mag has a better program description in its guide and can show future programs (the next 2 or 3 shows), whereas the RCA has a list of concurrent shows on all channels. Thanks WalMart for having the best prices in town on these converters.
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 43 for RCA Digital TV Converter Box, DTA800

Well worth it

05/02/2008
By ,
Minneapolis, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased 2 of these units from the local store after receiving my government coupons. Beware, some stores may be sold out. Call around until you find one that has this brand in stock. I admit to being quite informed on how to set this device up. If you have an HD TV, you will find details of setup similar to that TV. If not, do not become discouraged by attempts that do not produce a super picture. you can play around with this and not hurt any of your electronics devices (TV and/or VCR/DVD recorder). IF you now receive your TV signals with any kind of antenna, you are guaranteed to get the digital signal as long as the local channel is broadcasting digitally. If you can't get a given channel, it is likely due to the station, NOT the converter box. Also, if the station does not broadcast in digital now, it will have to by Feb. 2009 (hence the whole reason behind this converter box program by the government). Put your mind at ease as we move to digital TV. The digital tuner/converter in this product is 'better' than a 720P HD TV by Panasonic that we have in our family room. This product pulls in weaker signals, so we effectively get more channels. One final piece of advice. If you haven't ordered your coupons yet, do so now. Get the products as soon as you get the coupons. I have a gut feeling that there will be 'run' on these at least by Christmas this year if not sooner. If you currently are on cable or satellite, contact your provider to be sure that you do not need to do anything to keep your existing 'standard definition' TVs working. If you don't need the converter to continue using all of your TV's, don't buy them, you just won't need them. But if any TV is 'antenna connected' you WILL need the converter or you will be forced to buy a TV with a digital tuner. You will not be disappointed in the difference in picture quality with stations that you can receive that are broadcast digitally.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 44 for RCA Digital TV Converter Box, DTA800

A big waste of money

06/01/2009
By ,
Tulsa, OK
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought the RCA model because it was all Wal-Mart had at the time. The remote couldn't be programed to my TV and it has no "previous channel" button. When the signal gets weak it displays all of the channel info on the screen while you are trying to watch a show and this can't be turned off. I had the box for about 2 months and one day it just turned off and then there was this burning smell coming from it. So now it's dead and being 2 months later I nolonger have the receipt or the box so I will have to go buy another one. I am trying for the Magnavox one this time.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 45 for RCA Digital TV Converter Box, DTA800

b. June 2008 - d. Dec 2009

12/29/2009
By ,
Wichita, KS
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My 1st box. First thing I noticed using a converter box was how slow the converter box changed channels. A big difference from changing tv channels on the tv, the way it was in the past. I got used to it though and the converter box remote worked well. 1 side for the box, 1 side for the tv. Easy to hold, buttons easy to use. But I had trouble picking up PBS from time to time (they went from being 1 channel to being 3), all the more reason I'd like to be able to watch it. I got PBS well enough before, but not since the switch to digital. Some days yes, some days no. The box worked satisfactorily that summer but come fall it would turn back off after turning it on in the morning. Puzzled me (& the company tech too), but I finally figured out it was sensitive to temperature. With it shut off overnight, if the temps got cool enough overnight(in the lower 60's), it would not come on and stay on without turning it back on about 3 times in a row. Then it'd stay on the rest of the day. So I put up with that until I found the setting to turn off the automatic shutt-off, so that it did not shut off after 4 hrs. Worked ok again that way with it left on all the time. It worked for me thru the winter of 08-09, and spring & summer '09, accepting a few glitches with it here and there. A month or two ago it started locking up more often, ie. picture freezing & box no longer functioning at same time. On the night of the Survival finale show, I had changed channels just before the last hour and rushing to get back to Survivor, the picture froze and box failed to respond further. I did what I'd done a hundred times before, unplugged the thing and then plugged it in again. It came on standby as always, I turned it on but the picture froze again. Repeat a couple more times and still wouldn't stay on without locking up. And since then I've not been able to get it to come on and stay on. With the antenna *disconnected* from it however, it stays on fine! Green light comes on, stays on for hours. Hook up the antenna and after 20 seconds or so it shuts down. Same antenna, same everything. I've tried all sorts of things. Moved it further from tv. Took splitter out of antenna line. Took vcr out of equation. Looked inside at the circuitry -forget that! it's complicated. Slapped it around. It just will not stay on [with the antenna connected] anymore. So I'm getting another converter box. Picked a different brand. I haven't used other converter boxes so I don't know whether the picky behavior I've experienced with this one is common with all of them or what. The principle behind the operation of a converter box seems to be somewhat different from a vcr or tv or electric clock. It's very sensitive. This one's become overly sensitive to the miniscule quantity of 'juice' in an antenna lead.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 46 for RCA Digital TV Converter Box, DTA800

Great little Gadget

04/16/2008
By ,
Los Angeles
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
out of the box, this little guy was working great. Easy to program and easy to install and you can't beat the price with the gov coupon. i purchased another one from circuit city (zenith) for a little more money and i have to say the cheaper RCA seem to function better. there is also a little jack in the back for a "smart antenna" to help boost reception quality but i can't find anyone who knows what it is or where to find one (back kinda looks like a phone jack). If only they would make a universal remote to work this with all my other stuff i would be set.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 47 for RCA Digital TV Converter Box, DTA800

Good Product

03/27/2008
By ,
Sacramento, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I decided to buy this now and settled on the RCA digital tuner because of the positive reviews and the simple to use combined remote that would control both the tuner box and the TV. Was not disappointed. The remote works really well along with the clear stations, which there are many more channels to see. Loved the small size of this box. The digital tuner is hooked up to my roof antenna. The set-up was not as easy as I had hoped, but worked out OK. There is no way to manually add one station or to see the analog channels with the RCA box on or off. I am thinking about other ways to attach the digital tuner to the TV to allow access to the analog stations. I want access to the analog channels because some stations will broadcast different programs between the analog and digital channel. All this will be a moot point in Feb 2009.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 48 for RCA Digital TV Converter Box, DTA800

DTA800 works weill

03/08/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I received my TV converter box coupon today, so I decided to pick up one of these units. I set it up in an area of the home that had very snowy reception. I was impressed about the clarity and the number of additonal channels I was able to recieve. There were still some weak channels that pixelated, but they were geneally channels that in analog I rarely was able to get sound.
Additionally DTV provides program information for most channels.
The remote has the TV controls, power, input, mute and volume all in dark gray on the left side. The converter box controls are on the right, including box power, info, and Closed Captioning. Closed Captioning can be configured in a variety of ways.
Unlike some other units, the base unit has up and down channel buttons, and a power button. The base unit can also be placed upright, using a built in stand base.
I set it up directly from the antenna to the box and the coaxial out to the TV. However, you have the option of using the Smart Antenna connection for the RCA Smart Antenna which RCA claims will improve reception. Also, it has the common A/V three wire connection for output.
The only problem was the initial setup because both the manual and the quick setup guide said that after after you find find the proper input and channel, you should start at at the Language Menu. Instead, it started out at a "channel not found" screen. Instead you just need to press the Menu button on the remote to start setting up the unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 49 for RCA Digital TV Converter Box, DTA800

DTA800B

04/10/2008
By ,
Pipe Creek, TX (32 mi NW of San Antonio)
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very basic converter, remote is not backlit, no last channel recall, and no analog bypass. Out of 6 local stations, I can pickup 4, one of those 4 has habitual pixelating! Only 3 out 6 stations are viewable! Unable to record on VHS, or view preprogrammed stations on TV or VCR. I moved this from the L/R to the B/R as I only watch one channel on that TV, do not record, only watch for very brief periods. Wait for a unit that has analog bypass and recall function, you'll be happier. Unit was in stock at the store.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 50 for RCA Digital TV Converter Box, DTA800

Does its job.

04/14/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have three of these in the house in various rooms. I am able to set each up individually for blocking certain TV shows I don't want the kids to see (but have a password so I can). Works okay and displays a 480i picture. This WILL NOT turn your Philco into a High Definition screen. Be realistic, this is a "bandaid." That said, it does what it promises to do. It will let you run your existing TV until its end of life when you can replace it with something that will have a better picture.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 51 for RCA Digital TV Converter Box, DTA800

Much Better than Walmart Magnovox

10/11/2008
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have this converter box, and the Magnovox one.. they each have their pluses and minuses, but i plan on getting rid of the magnovox box.. with my existing antennal, this box gives me 22 channels, tho not in my area NBC or ABC yet.. but it controls your TV, where the magnovox does not, there is no previous channel button, which i love.. but the magnovox which has that option, does not give me as many channels or control my TV.. if you have to choose between the 2, get this RCA one
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+1point
Review 52 for RCA Digital TV Converter Box, DTA800

good product

11/19/2008
By ,
Abilene, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought an RCA converter box in March, and then bought a Magnavox box Nov. the rca far out does the mag box. It lays flat or sits on its side. Everything comes with the Rca, you would have to buy the audio video plugs for the other. My 3 old tvs need the converter box the rca works on all three and the analog channels come in pretty good, can't get 2 of the channels on the mag box which both were purchased at walmart. Would have purchased the 2nd rca if they hadn't been out!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 53 for RCA Digital TV Converter Box, DTA800

Not recommended

03/29/2009
By ,
Fort Worth TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product worked fine at first. Then we began having trouble with the remote and had to turn on the television and adjust the sound with the television remote and not the one that came with the box. Finally the box/remote no longer worked at all. After connecting a different brand box everything works well again. I read the warranty and it is only 90 days, so I am out of luck on getting my money back on this one. I would avoid the RCA box if at all possible.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 54 for RCA Digital TV Converter Box, DTA800

This is the one you want

05/17/2009
By ,
Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This RCA converter box is by far the one with the best reputation of quality. We've had ours for a year, and it still does great. Also, by reading other reviews on other sites, this brand of converter box is one of the few that almost never has any problems. You here things like, "it overheats," or "the remote doesn't work." Not the case with this brand. Setup is simple. It comes with a big-button remote, that, unlike many other brands, it allows you to control your original tv's power and volume, by using the codes supplied, so that you don't have to use two remotes. If you have the right antenna, you can get all your channels without virtually any troubles. The picture is crystal clear, and the sound is good, too. If your just now buying a box, buy this one, its a good deal for $50 ($10 with government coupon).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 55 for RCA Digital TV Converter Box, DTA800

Not to bad..But...

03/29/2008
By ,
Dallas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You get what you paid for. ($9.97 w/coupon)
The Analog tuner in your VCRs will not work after Feb '09.
If you frequently record programs from over the air TV stations, using your VCR tuner, you'll have to wire in your VCR as well.
You can wire both your TV and VCR to the converter box, but you won't be able to watch one program and record another, since you're using the tuner in the converter box.
Oh well.....just another day in the park...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 56 for RCA Digital TV Converter Box, DTA800

worth $ w/ w/o coupon

03/20/2008
By ,
Quincy,IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this and was afraid it wouldn't work well w/o an expensive outdoor antenna. Surprise for me. I didn't need one, just my old indoor rabbit ears. The product is easy to set up and use and the remote worked my older television when other boughten remotes wouldn't function. I went from getting 2 channels to 8 and the picture is wonderful. If you are like me and cant afford cable or satellite this is worth every penny!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 57 for RCA Digital TV Converter Box, DTA800

Its works

03/09/2009
By ,
Washington
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It works,,, when it wants to, real quirky !!! some times you will not have any sound, so the fix is to shut the box off, then back on. other times if you go through the channels to fast, it will quirk it out, and just hang up,,, again, you have to shut it off, then back on, or even sometimes unplug it, and plug it back in. (How fun, when you have an entertainment center with lots of wires. But other then that,, its great.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 58 for RCA Digital TV Converter Box, DTA800

Not for me

05/12/2008
By ,
Harrison, AR
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Easy to connect and that's where it stops. It will not allow transfering signal from this unit to the antenna without physically removing antenna lead and connecting back to the TV. (We have stations here that are still in the analog only mode) The remote will not work with my 5 year old Sylvania TV as the product manual states it should. When changing channel it will not obey direct input such as pressing one and then 0 to get to channel 10. When trying to use the up-down channel selector button it will skip channels if the antenna is not tuned in correctly. It will slowly pass by each channel (hesitating at each one) as you try to go to where you want to be. I truly hate the thing and am trying to locate a Magnavox to exchange it with just to see if it is any better. I hardly think it can be any worse.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 59 for RCA Digital TV Converter Box, DTA800

Leave it on the shelf!

05/16/2009
By ,
Meridian, MS
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased two RCA converters using my vouchers. I was excited about how small they were and that they have buttons in case you can't find the remote. They do have a great channel info setup BUT look out! When it loses signal, (instead of going to a blank screen) the picture freezes and the tv audio stutters! This happens more than frequently!!! Spend more money to get a better product!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 60 for RCA Digital TV Converter Box, DTA800

setup manual not accurate

04/10/2008
By ,
Guthrie, OK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After following the procedures in the manual, I kept getting the 'no signal' message on tv. Frustrated, I searched and found a post about pressing Menu. I did and finished the installation perfectly. The setup manual that comes with the unit is 'painfully' inaccurate. RCA needs to hire a ' user manual' writer. But after all that, the unit works great and I recommend it highly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
41-60 of 196 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  10 Next