Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Poulan Poulan Pro Gas Chainsaw

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Poulan Poulan Pro Gas Chainsaw

Average Customer Rating:
3.774 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation74%23 out of 31reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Poulan Pro Gas Chainsaw

Way past expectations

09/16/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought a craftsman 18 inch chain saw to do some tree and brush removal and with in a half a day it actually melted the plastic and seized up returned with out a problem thank God. So I figured I would buy a cheaper saw just to try and found this one on sale. On the first day I felled at least 10 good size trees and cut all of them up returned next day and did more cutting. I just clean when done mix gas properly and keep oiled. For the price you cant go wrong, saw has been used hard for the past 2 months and just keeps preforming great
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 2 for Poulan Pro Gas Chainsaw

Poulan 18IN, 42cc

12/02/2008
By ,
Arkansas City, Kansas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had nothing but problems with mine. I have only owned it 6 months and cut roughly 4 cords of wood. I have had to replace the bar once, 3 chains, the sprocket twice, and the clutch once. No matter what I do, the sprocket wears out in the first day & the chain dulls. I am not even cutting close to the ground. I own a Stihl that I got from my Grandfather and I will never own anything else. Once this Poulan breaks again, I am returning it to Wal-Mart and demanding my money back. Power is also a joke. It should be maybe a 14-16 inch chainsaw.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per week
+12points
Review 3 for Poulan Pro Gas Chainsaw

Not the best

12/06/2008
By ,
Lawrenceburg, TN
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bought one of these chainsaws and after about a month had to return it. Nothing I could do would get it to start. I called the 1-800 help number and they said I got a dud, and to exchange it for another. WalMart was great about exchanging it. Now I got another Poulan and it worked great for about 2 months ... now it won't cut very well, overheats and dies in 10 minutes. I obviously need a new chain, but I'm surprised since I've only cut about 8 small trees (10 inch diameter or so).
Overall, I recommend spending more money to get something better. This saw is made cheaply.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+20points
Review 4 for Poulan Pro Gas Chainsaw

Poulan Loyal

01/25/2010
By ,
Alaska
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've, for years now, owned a single Poulan saw, an 18 inch blade 2450 Woodmaster. I heat my cabin with all wood, and have once used the old Woodmaster to clear cut a solid spruce and birch tree forest of 18 acres out front and 23 acres in back of a nearby property, with out a single major hiccup or day of downtime, rain - shine - or snow, during the almost year long job. This machine appears very similar and I expect this saw will deliver the same years of performance I have experienced from my previous Poulan. My best friend swears by a Stihl, an old 026 Pro model, but it gives him 10 times the headaches of my old 2450 Woodmaster, that I paid less than half of a Stihl for. Poulans have always been good to me, and I will remain loyal to the green machines. Of course you DO have to read and regularly follow the idle mixture adjustments in the manual, etc, but the same goes for a Husky, Echo, Stihl, or any other gas powered equipment for that matter. If you can't handle simple maintenance, then electric might better suit you. Some things I highly recommend is that you use all Oregon Brand Bars, Chains and Oils, and grease the bar sprocket with each tank of gas, use Stabil and Iso-Heet in all your Gas, burn all the gas out of your saw everyday or each time you run it, keep your Carb Adjusted Properly ( a major culprit of non-idling, quick dying or low powered machines), and clean the screen inside the muffler about every 25 hours. If you quickly do a two minute "three pass per tooth" sharpening routine with your file on the chain with each tank of gas, you'll make the saw cut better and since the chain cuts easier through the wood - the engine may last longer too. Change the Air filter every other day or every 10 hours, and keep a good supply of Spare Air Filters, Sharpened Cutting Chains, Spark Plugs, Sprocket Grease, Spare New Bars, & Chain Files on hand. DO NOT USE ANY CHAMPION PLUGS. Use only AC, Bosch, or NGK (If you can find them). I always cut my Bar oil 50%-50% with 5w-30 engine oil in the winter months too, to help it flow better. Hope these tips help someone out there!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Review 5 for Poulan Pro Gas Chainsaw

Get ready to pay more than 150

09/09/2008
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Right out of the box I had to tune the Carb on the high end. Not a problem if you have the tools (this is a tamper resistant carb) and know how but if you don't add mechanic fees to your purchase. The chain dulls after a few cuts so replace that with a quality chain and since the bar is flimsy and makes straight cuts difficult on large trees pay to upgrade that also. Oh the sprocket wears pretty quickly so be prepared to replace that so once I spent 75 dollars I had a decent saw total price 225. Now the problem was that with a chain with any real bite the engine despite being large doesn't have enough power to rip through anything so you have to ease the saw through. Oh the balance isn't that great either. And with less than 50 hours on the saw I broke a connecting rod. I just ordered an 18" 40cc Echo online for $209 I saved 16 dollars and got a much better saw. If you need an 18" saw I just can't recommend this as a good choice.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 6 for Poulan Pro Gas Chainsaw

good saw for price

10/24/2008
By ,
California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have a similar poulan made saw. As another reviewer said, these are not the best saws made. However, for the price, they work great. I learned the hard way that you should NEVER leave gas in the saw for more than about a month. Empty the tank, then run the saw till all of the fuel is gone. This saw will give you many years of use if you treat it right.
The first year I had my saw, I left fuel in it over the winter. Had to have the carb rebuilt. It cost about $100. Good thing we had a local Poulan shop. I have had it for about 8 years now, and I NEVER have a problem with it starting up. As long as the chain is sharp, it cuts great. It is not as fast as a good husky or stihl, but for the price it is a good saw.
However, if you are using it for cutting firewood, and you can afford more saw, then I highly recommend going to a saw shop and getting something with more umph. The higher end saws tend to give you more features and more power per inch of bar. That extra power gets the work done much faster! And the saw shop will be your friend when it comes to recommending new chains and accessories.
Speaking of chains, the anti-kickback chains sold on these saws are for safety, but you can get a MUCH better chain at the saw shop. The non-anti-kickback chains (pro chains), cut much faster and allow you to cut with the tip. So, instead of your 18" bar only being able to cut up 16" logs for firewood, it will be able to cut up to at least 30" if needed. You will want a second chain anyway, in case the inevitable happens and you get the chain in the dirt or hit a rock.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+5points
Review 7 for Poulan Pro Gas Chainsaw
12/25/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is a great saw the fire department im on have them in the brush trucks and there great
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Review 8 for Poulan Pro Gas Chainsaw

dont do it

10/15/2008
By ,
pittsburg ca
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i work on these units all the time and they are 110% GARBAGE!!!! you might make it through 1 six inch branch before the piston seizes up inside the cylinder no matter what mix gas you run through it, and thats if you dont have to take it into the shop to have a carb adjustment first!!! all poulan/weedeater products are trash straight out of the box!!!!!!!!! you might as well just set it on fire and kiss youre money goodbye!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
-3points
Review 9 for Poulan Pro Gas Chainsaw

great buy tough saw

06/25/2009
By ,
Va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used this saw for two winters cutting wood with no problems i always mix the gas as recommended and i have not have to replace the blade or chain just a good sharpen and i use the recommended chain bar oil in it runs greats and starts fast even in the freezing cold this is a super buy for the cash!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 10 for Poulan Pro Gas Chainsaw

Best tool for the price

07/01/2009
By ,
Malad City Id
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
with this handy carring case make easy of storeing it,Starts great and the auto oiler is great
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 11 for Poulan Pro Gas Chainsaw

Excellent Product what a great price.

02/24/2009
By ,
Bernville,PA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been heating my house and water with wood
for some years now.I have had many types of chain saws some cost way more then this one but I
see no differnts in the end results cut firewood. I have had no problems with this product,I LOVE IT.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 12 for Poulan Pro Gas Chainsaw

Worth the money

10/17/2008
By ,
Carthage, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Some things others have written about this saw are true and need to be noted but all-in-all it is worth the money I paid. The chain did dull fairly soon but I had cut several hardwood trees (red oak and cedar). The horse power is a little lacking but a sharp chain and some self control will overcome this problem. Carb adjustment screws are accessable on my saw but I have not had to adjust them yet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 13 for Poulan Pro Gas Chainsaw

disapointed

05/24/2013
By ,
east stroudsburg, pa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i bought a poulan pro saw about a year ago thought i was getting a good saw a a great price, but the problem was no one told me the saw was built to be disposable use the saw once then throw it away. i cut about 4 cords of wood with the saw then it seamed to stop running after 5 minutes and wouldn't start till it cooled down so i put the saw away for the winter and figured i would have it looked at in the spring spring came and i couldn't get the saw to even start called poulan who gave me 4 places to take it and get the saw repaired the first three places told me they no longer will repair poulan saws under warranty the 4th place said bring it in and well mail it out for you wasted 20 bucks in gas driving to the place so they could mail it out why i couldn't just mail it myself???? who knows.... i wait 2 weeks and get a call from the 4th place they tell me the motor was full of debris and the pistons, carb, and cylinders all needed to be replaced and poulan would not honor the warranty. i never had the air cleaner off so if there was debris in there it had to have been a design flaw with the air intake or perhaps the thing wasn't installed correctly from the factory which in my opinion should be covered. moral of the story never be afraid to buy quality you wont be disappointed. i have a echo chain saw i have owned for 5 years and never changed a plug or filter and it still starts on one to two pulls.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 14 for Poulan Pro Gas Chainsaw

Excellent Chainsaw Going To Buy One More Today

11/27/2009
By ,
Fall River
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used the saw for two years on two properties and have sawed up the equivalent of a couple cords of wood. Probably 10 hours of total run time. My main use is to clean up trees uprooted by high winds. So far I have bucked a black locust, a pine, an oak, and a poplar. It is important to keep the oil reservoir filled to reduce the friction on the chain. I just put a new chain on this evening since the old one had dulled. As of this writing, you can get a two-pack of chains at Wal-mart for $25. The saw would not last a day if used for an episode of Ax-Men, but it serves my purposes just fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 15 for Poulan Pro Gas Chainsaw

Good value and performance

02/15/2009
By ,
Indiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have cut firewood for 15 years. Have had mostly Homelite and Craftsman saws. This Poulan saw has run great right out of the box. Easy starting. If it had a little more power it would be excellent buy. The chain is appox to what Craftsmans are so it doesn't give long life but is acceptable. I think this Poulan is a very good buy for the money spent and for most occasional users is the way to go. If you are in a more demanding need then you really should get more powerful saw and the Poulan would be good for triming.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 16 for Poulan Pro Gas Chainsaw

pouland pro 18 inch bar

09/14/2008
By ,
upstate ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
read a lot of reviews on home owners saws and picked the pro model , been useing it for awhile and very satisified with it ,cut a lot of wood so far with no problems,relitive has had his poulan wild thing chain saw for 7 yrs and still cutting a few cords a year with his ,i have cut up a half a dozen trees so far this month for fire wood and very satified with it and the power it has for the price of it.some of the trees are much bigger then the 18 inch bar it has but cuts thru it just fine hard or soft wood.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 17 for Poulan Pro Gas Chainsaw

Not a Bad Saw

06/28/2009
By ,
Walterboro, SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall this is not a bad saw. First order of bussiness, trash the cheep chains and get a good one. We bought one from an equipment rental store. We had to adjust our carb to get it to idle(which the web site recomends anyway), but now it runs great and cranks up fine. We have cut everything from small trees to larger hard woods and it's doing the job. We clean it up regularly and make sure it always has oil in it. It's a great saw for the price. For the average homeowner, it will do a good job.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 18 for Poulan Pro Gas Chainsaw

Works great

10/23/2008
By ,
Mt. Carmel PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've owned this saw for two years. this past summer i cut down trees at my brothers house, 50 of them were pine trees about 50 feet tall and 5 were oak and maple about three feet in diameter. I used 3 chains but this saw did work great for me. I still have it and the engine is still strong even with about 75 hours on it. It won't cut like a Husky or Stihl but it was alot less money. I like it and would recommend it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 19 for Poulan Pro Gas Chainsaw

poor product

11/02/2008
By ,
Conway, AR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this saw and ran for about 15 minutes then overheated. Restarted and ran again for 15 minutes. Then would start but would not stay running, each time you throttled it up the thing would die. Poor product and would not recommend it to my worst enemy! Do NOT waste your maoney on this chainsaw. Spend a lil' more and get something that will run and cut!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 20 for Poulan Pro Gas Chainsaw

Positive

03/09/2009
By ,
Oakwood, Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just bought a second one. The drive gear went bad on the first. Most of the problems I have had were user caused. Chain tension, touching soil and binding the bar. Mostly cut hardwoods and this one lasted 3 years with no major problems till now. Starts easy. And have cut trees from 6 inches to 36 inches down. All in all the saw performed as expected.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
0points
1-20 of 30 total reviews
1 2 Next