Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Poulan Weed Eater Electric Trimmer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Poulan Weed Eater Electric Trimmer

Make maintaining your lawn or garden easier with this Weed Eater Electric Trimmer. With a 4.5 amp engine and a centrex fully automatic line advance head, this weed trimmer is one powerful tool. The device easily converts to an edger with just a touch of a button. Keep your lawn manicured and healthy with the Weed Eater trimmer.
Average Customer Rating:
3.718 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(71 Reviews) 64
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
30
4 stars
17
3 stars
9
2 stars
4
1 star
11
Customer Recommendation72%51 out of 71reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
30
4 stars
17
3 stars
9
2 stars
4
1 star
11
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Weed Eater Electric Trimmer

Hint to make this perform better

04/14/2008
By ,
My Yard, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The stock .065 line is okay, but doesn't have the cutting power I need. When I was out of my original line, I purchased the .080 line. The cutting performance was much better and was perfect for cutting the thick ivy that I have to deal with in my yard. For under $40 the weed trimmer is well worth the money. However, the line does run out in about an hour's worth of work when working with thick brush. The manual says to stick with .065 line, but I've been using the thicker line for over a year now and have not had any problems. The only downfall to this weed trimmer is that the black protective dome is shaking loose now, but it can be attributed to the wear-and-tear and weekly abuse I put this through. I'd like to do away with the dome completely and "McGyver" a rod only to serve as the arm to cut the line when spinning too far from the spool. Overall, great deal for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+55points
Review 2 for Weed Eater Electric Trimmer

Exceptional product for a great price!

04/05/2008
By ,
Mobile, Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently purchased this item as a replacement for my gas trimmer. I normally purchase my lawn and garden items from another name brand retailer, but this product had the same features and options, but at a cheaper price. The assembly time was less than 10 minutes and I was very pleased that it was very effective and user friendly. I look forward to purchasing more lawn and garden products at my local Wal-Mart. This was a wise investment!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+21points
Review 3 for Weed Eater Electric Trimmer

weedeater electric trimmer

07/12/2009
By ,
Katy,TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This product is great for the first 4-6 months. After that, it starts going downhill. Every year I have to buy a new one.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+12points
Review 4 for Weed Eater Electric Trimmer

Broke In Less than 2 Weeks

09/19/2009
By ,
Austin, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I picked this up from my local Walmart using the Site-to-Store option on 9/6/09. I just returned from the store (9/19/09) after returning the unit. Less than 2 uses in less than 2 weeks - very disappointing. Inexplicably, the unit stopped functioning while I was about 3/4 of way through trimming my yard. This was the second time that I used it. I verified that the electric socket I was using was working (tested with a lamp) and tested the extension cord (again using the lamp and socket). The unit would simply not turn on when I pulled the trigger. I did notice that one of the plastic brackets in the plastic guard had broken off and it appeared to have happened recently as the plastic surface formerly covered by the bracket was still very clean relative to the rest of the plastic which was coated with fine grass shavings. I am going to reorder the product because it is very inexpensive ($38) and quite powerful. I am hoping that the broken bracket was just a fluke. I will be looking more closely at the new unit to see if there is a sensor in that bracket insert that can detect if the bracket is missing. If in fact, there is a sensor that detects the bracket then this would be a good safety feature to protect injury if the guard was removed. I'll follow up later when I get the next unit. Kudos to Walmart for offer some nice features for its reviews (photos, video, etc.).
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Review 5 for Weed Eater Electric Trimmer

Worked GREAT For Us

07/06/2008
By ,
Bethlehem, Georgia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My son gave me money to buy yard tools in 2002 when I purchased my new home. I was so excited, but in trying to save money I decided to purchase this item from Wal-mart. I was shocked, it worked great, I used it often at least 6 times a month. I have a large yard in the front and the back with a lot attached next door about 1 and a half acres. I trim the grass at the edge of my driveway, line up my flower beds, line up my shrub areas, edge up the grass near my house foundation, I just love this yard tool. But, after 6 years it finally broke, I'll be buying a new one this weekend.
I just love the price, this item is light weight, it has easy functions, no nasty gas smells because it electric, just press a button and it goes from trimmers to edgers. the line advances without you having to tap it on the ground, sometimes the replacement line is hard to find so I purchase about 4 spools at a time. This is a Great Yard Tool.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 6 for Weed Eater Electric Trimmer

I would buy it again

09/11/2009
By ,
Bristol, PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My trimmer shorted out in billows of white smoke from fried wires or motor, but not until I had worked the heck out of it all summer. I kept it clean and cared for but my weeds and bamboo sprouts gave it more than the usual workout.
*** DONT follow another review "Hint to make it perform better" by modifying the tool by removing shielding, using line size other than recommended, or attaching another style cutting edge.
READ & FOLLOW all instructions. Safe use of power tools can prevent injury to you or someone you care for. "McGyver"-ing a potentially dangerous tool can be foolish, and to recommend that to ANYONE ELSE do it is irresponsible.
I had my share of problems with my Weed Eater, but for the cost and for what it did accomplish, I can't complain too loud. I only wish they still had them in stock at the store today. (seasons pass) but thank goodness for Site-To-Store. :)
Swallowtail
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 7 for Weed Eater Electric Trimmer

Great Value

07/28/2008
By ,
Stillwater, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had nothing but bad experiences with Black and Decker products and was determined to find something else. Found only $120 to $200 models at Lowe's. Our local Walmart had zip for weedeaters, so I looked online. Figured for $35 it was worth a shot.
It was super easy to put together -- no tools required. Don't like the Spanish and French that triples the size of the owner's manual, but that's minor.
It performs well. I was worried it wouldn't be strong enough to edge, but it is strong enough to edge in dirt that hasn't been edged in 9 months.
I was concerned about the automatic feeder (one part of the B&D models that never worked right), but it seems to do very well so far. Even when it doesn't feed when I want it to, a quick pull loosens it -- no disassembly required. That is probably because I fed in the new line pretty sloppily.
The only part I need to work on is that the clamp that holds the cord doesn't hold very well and the cord pulls out every ten minutes or so. Minor issue, easily fixed.
Great value for the price and takes care of everything I need. I would definitely recommend this product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 8 for Weed Eater Electric Trimmer

Bad design

04/03/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is the worst design for line feeding ever. This isn't a "bump and feed" it's suppose to be an auto feed. They want you to stop running it, then pull the trigger for 5 secs on full. The repeat. Are you kidding me? It took me twice as long to weed eat my lawn with this new design. I called the factory and the tech said "yeah, we are having a lot of problems with that". I took my back to the store, and bought a bump and feed one. Not a good product at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Review 9 for Weed Eater Electric Trimmer

Really Good Product

04/09/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have only used the trimmer once but I am very pleased with the performance and the price cant be beat.This easily a $100 machine so $40 is a steal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Review 10 for Weed Eater Electric Trimmer

Good motor but not much else

06/08/2009
By ,
Tx
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Motor felt powerful as soon as I started using the trimmer. However, the wire "guide" didn't last 10 seconds as it kept flying off. I spent quite a bit of time looking for it. I finally ended up super gluing the thing on just to finish the yard. I purchased this equipment because it is American made and the price seemed fair. For the money the trimmer is not bad but as far as weedeater workmanship goes, I am disappointed. It is this lack of workmanship that continually degrades American products.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 11 for Weed Eater Electric Trimmer

Excellent and Tough

05/23/2009
By ,
Pittsburgh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have major weeds that needs to be done. I have a large, steep hill that has tall grass and weeds and small plants that grow. I have a gas trimmer that I have been using and we bought this one to do around the sidewalk and driveway. The gas one was not starting so I used the Weed Eater. It did fantastic. It ate right through the hillside better than my gas trimmer.
I still have to wait and see if it lasts all summer or not, but it has a powerful engine and great cutting radius.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 12 for Weed Eater Electric Trimmer

Buyer Beware

05/04/2008
By ,
Oak Harbor, WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this today with high hopes that it would function at least well enough to trim the grass along my fence. Sadly I never got the chance to take it outside. Sure, the assembly would be easy if it worked. I followed the instructions exactly and held up my handy work only to have it fall apart and fold up like it came out of the box. I cannot attest to the power of this unit, but if it doesn't even stay together long enough to use it, it really doesn't matter how strong it is.
I would say I overpaid for this product... had it performed any function near to what it was intended. As it is, $35.52 is too much to pay for a door stop.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-15points
Review 13 for Weed Eater Electric Trimmer

Weed Eater #RTE115C

08/12/2008
By ,
Oklahoma City Area
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was fed up with my gas trimmer. Went online to see what was available. This model caught my eye, however it said out of stock online & out of stock at my local Wal-Mart store. I went to the store anyway to see what was available, and they had one sitting on the shelf, never opened. I grabbed it and within 30 minutes was trimming the yard. EXCELLENT -- NO MORE GAS TRIMMERS FOR ME.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 14 for Weed Eater Electric Trimmer

good, but started with issues

06/24/2009
By ,
Colorado
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The product get an overall good to excellent rating. My complaint isn't so much the usage, but how it came. The line was not wound correctly and the nut to hold the line was not installed right either. From the start I had some hassle correcting both, but once I got to use it right (without having the line coming out more and more) it worked for what I need it for. I have a fenced yard and just needed something to do a little trimming around my tree's and the fence. Easy assembly (If done right from the factory) and the features are good. I don't think I would recommend for heavy duty use, but for the average person doing yard work, you can't go wrong.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 15 for Weed Eater Electric Trimmer

doesn't deliver

07/07/2008
By ,
Idaho Falls, ID
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this item not expecting too much as, it was less than 40.00. Unfortunately I was quite disappointed. Runs out of string quickly at which time I chose to replace the spool instead of feeding string onto the existing spool. I have heard that the pre-loaded spools work better than spooling it yourself. This task was impossible. There is no way to get the spool off. I got about 1 hours total use of the unit. String breaks easily, but I have pretty thick weeds. It is ok for light grass trimming and edging and that is about it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 16 for Weed Eater Electric Trimmer

May be low in price, but works Great!

09/16/2009
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The term "You get what You pay for" is not always a true statement. Times are tough on everyone and You can't always pay top dollar for things. This is my 2nd buy w/ this product. It handles tough, high grass and works w/ a~lot of power. I would say when You finally run out of string get what is required for this type of weed/trimmer. I'm glad they haven't hired the price in the three years it took for me to have to buy a new one. "Good job" on making a product that withstands the abuse I put it through! Excellent!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 17 for Weed Eater Electric Trimmer

A chunk of plastic

08/22/2009
By ,
Florence, ky
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I used this product a grand total of 3 times. The clips to hold the string shield broke, after it began making a quite neighbor-aggrivating noise. The shaft would constantly rotate back and forth causing the head to tilt and gouge the lawn. The wire edger shield fell off twice. The only time it worked properly and w/o making an obscene amount of noise was in the edging position.
Forget going "green" w/ this item. Until they come out with tougher and more effective products, I'll stick to gas operated.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 18 for Weed Eater Electric Trimmer

Weed Eaters are classic

09/01/2009
By ,
Raleigh, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've had 3 edge trimmers, the reason I went back to Weed Eater is because it is the classic. The others were OK, but the Weed Eater has a better line feed system. To me that was the selling point. Most of the them are good at trimming but, the thing I hate most is having to feed the line out manually because the system failed some how. This new Weed Eater makes it so easy and fast. As long as you have line in it, it will keep putting it out there to cut that grass. Keep up the good work Weed Eater.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 19 for Weed Eater Electric Trimmer

Look for something else

03/28/2009
By ,
Rocklin, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This thing is a peice of JUNK. It's wobbles, the line doesn't come out (I had to pull on it, for it to come out). It's louder than a gas trimmer (because the plastic wobbles). I have to make multiple passes (because the line is cheap, and breaks). I think I need to go back to a gas trimmer. Lets just say, I expect my pants to have grass debris on them when I go out to use it.... my pants are clean, because it doesn't work.
I'll be returning it for something better.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 20 for Weed Eater Electric Trimmer

Take it light and easy!

09/19/2008
By ,
Milledgeville, Ga.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found gas powered weed eaters to be just to much of a hassle. The weight, mixing the gas and oil, the smell... etc. was getting old fast. Plus pulling to start was no fun either. Being a female I needed an alternative. I found this weed eater brand electric trimmer to be very light and easy to use, no hassles! It was easy to assemble too. I highly suggest this product for those looking for a better way to keep your yard trimmed and looking great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
1-20 of 55 total reviews
1 2 3 Next