Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Weed Eater Weed Eater Gas Trimmer and Edger

Weed Eater Weed Eater Gas Trimmer and Edger

The TE475Y Weed Eater Trimmer and Edger is two tools in one that converts from a trimmer to a Weed Eater Edger. The Weed Eater Trimmer and Edger features an adjustable handle assist and includes an edge guide. The Gas Trimmer and Edger features a 25-cc engine with a 17" cutting path and a centrex line advance. The length of the curved shaft measures 51", and the entire unit weighs 10 lbs. This trimmer comes assembled.
Average Customer Rating:
3.377 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(61 Reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
16
4 stars
22
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
14
Customer Recommendation70%43 out of 61reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 12 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
16
4 stars
22
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
14
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Weed Eater Gas Trimmer and Edger

Good for about 3 years.

05/20/2009
By ,
Dallas, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This trimmer - edger has worked like a dream for 3 years. Now, in my 4th Summer with it, it is starting to cost me. So far this year I've had to replace the spark plug ($8), the ignition module ($40), and the fuel tank assembly ($32). I could almost have bought a new one for that all that money. It has been well cared for and garage kept, but I don't think it will last for another Summer. I gave it a 3 because it worked so great for 3 years, and I can't recommend any better for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Weed Eater Gas Trimmer and Edger

Not a STIHL, but a steal of a price for a combo

08/11/2010
By ,
charleston, sc
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have used the trimmer/edger combo for a season and a half in S. Carolina on the 8 lawns I take care of. Does a GREAT job and you just can't beat the price and convenience of the combo edger!!!!!
TWICE I have pulled the starter cord out and had to pay $25 to have it fixed.....probably my fault for pulling too hard I guess. If you do buy this, be aware that you do NOT have to pull hard to start.
I run mine on 1/2 choke and it runs strong with no problems!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Weed Eater Gas Trimmer and Edger

nice trimmer

09/12/2009
By ,
NW Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this trimmer in spring 2005....have used it for 5 seasons and LOVE it
Lady doing 1 to 1 1/2 hours of trimming per week. I have a shoulder strap for it and never has given me any problems.
has finally died and looking to replace it with the exact same thing.
only replaced gas lines this year and priming bubble.
wonderful machine. very low maintence ...always starts easily.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Weed Eater Gas Trimmer and Edger

weed eater and edger

05/30/2009
By ,
ny ,ny
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I found the machine to be dependable ,it started after a couple of pulls,my biggest problem is you have to buy a new spoon kit ,each time the line is empty ,I don't know if it is just me but I couldn't whine the line on the old spool that came with it ,so ended up buying a new spool kit each time it ran out and at $15.00 a pop it gets expensive,there is only 25ft on the roll
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Weed Eater Gas Trimmer and Edger

good product

05/05/2009
By ,
Dallas TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had this weed eater for about 3 years and it has worked fine. True, some of the plastic could be a bit more substantial, but it is adequate to control the trimmer. If the engine is cold I will sometimes have to manipulate the choke while pulling the starter cord several times, but it only takes a minute or two to get it running and it runs fine once it gets warmed up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Weed Eater Gas Trimmer and Edger

I like it!

07/29/2008
By ,
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have used this trimmer extensively; the manual explains clearly how to adjust idling, etc. I really like the fact that it automatically feeds new line. Does Not use new line excessively as I first figured it would. Uses same gas/oil ratio as Poulan Chainsaws, another perk. Light enough for extended use, yet heavy enough to handle fairly good size weeds.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Weed Eater Gas Trimmer and Edger

Started twice

04/13/2009
By ,
St. Louis, MO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This thing is a piece of junk. I finally go it started after trying every half hour. The string that is supposed to come out on its own did not and when I stopped the weed eater to fix the string it wouldn't start back. The handle is very much plastic. Overall, not a good experience. Had to take it back to Walmart, I'm glad I didn't get rid of the box.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Weed Eater Gas Trimmer and Edger

Great Product

07/25/2009
By ,
Orange City, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product. This is my second one. We took the older one to use at our new vacation cabin in NE GA and bought a new one to replace it here in FL. It was very hard to find this weed trimmer but thanks Walmart for carrying this item in online sales. I especially like the dual use of edging and trimming. I find I use the edger more than the trimmer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Weed Eater Gas Trimmer and Edger

Never started

09/16/2008
By ,
Forest Hill MD
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was never able to start this trimmer - I tried for several days and then returned it. It never even turned over or sounded as if trying to start. I have owned a trimmer for 20 years - I do know how to start them.
The shaft turned effortless to convert to an edger. I liked this feature, but alas - the motor has to run to make it work !
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Weed Eater Gas Trimmer and Edger

great product

06/08/2009
By ,
Austin tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have owned a 475 for narly 3 years and think so much of it I bought another one for a family member. Some reviews downplay the auto feed but it has worked great for me. Use it 3-4 times a month and in heavy growth. Its supposed to be sold in stoes but thats a myth. Very dependable. Having problem finding an extra head line head.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Weed Eater Gas Trimmer and Edger

great unit

02/18/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I take care of about 13 yards and have had 3 of these twist and edge units and I love them--nothing else can edge a walk as well as this one--also, I like the "continual feed" feature of the string--no "bumping"--it takes a little time to get comfortable with it as it is different from most of the others on the market. Billybob
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Weed Eater Gas Trimmer and Edger

love it!!!

09/05/2008
By ,
spring, tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent product. just bought 2nd one. last one lasted 4 years. easy to use. sometimes a little hard to flip from weedeater to edger, but well worth the trouble. make sure you use the right mix of gas and oil or it will smoke. i keep a seperate gas can already mixed for this product.
would definately recommend to everyone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Weed Eater Gas Trimmer and Edger

Will Return

06/14/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I plan to return the product. I have another which runs fine. I bought this for a vacation home and just took it with me, and the trimmer will not idle without stalling. You have to have it run on half choke to keep it running.
Very disappointed since the twist and edge is great to bad the carb. is bad.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Weed Eater Gas Trimmer and Edger

Some good some bad

08/03/2009
By ,
Tennessee
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I love the way you put string in this weedeater and it starts easy, but we had to adjust the choke right out of the box. It would start but would not stay running. The instructions said to adjust the screw that controls the gas and that worked. Seems like they would have done this before they sold it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Weed Eater Gas Trimmer and Edger
05/03/2010
By ,
santa cruz ca
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
worked fine, for a while but then it just wont stay on ,used it once evrey month for about a year, some tech told me it might be the ingition, or carbs varnish, if it is the ingition thats a 40 bucks for parts and labor who knows too much,,but wont recomend it to know one,,buy a good name brand
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Weed Eater Gas Trimmer and Edger

good for the times

08/06/2009
By ,
Tecumseh, Ok.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not nearly as good as the 1996 model I had, but what product is ? don't really care for just one line instead of two but it does advance like it is suppose to. Easy to flood (could be my fault), but has not failed to start. Overall I am very pleased for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Weed Eater Gas Trimmer and Edger

Worth the start-up

07/12/2010
By ,
Houston, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I followed the directions and had my WeedEater running in about 15 minutes out of the box. Getting it started and running without dying took a little work, but once I got it going, it was not a problem again. This thing is AMAZING! I LOVE IT!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Weed Eater Gas Trimmer and Edger

Weed Eater defect

09/02/2008
By ,
Havelock, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This weed eater new out of the box would not run. It would not accelerate, bogged down with no power. Called toll free number they said needed a carburetor adjustment. Currently at shop for adjustment. Shop says it was second one in a week!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Weed Eater Gas Trimmer and Edger

weedtrimmer

06/13/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy assembly out of the box,started in 3 pulls.Works well in both trimmer & edger
positions.Had to run on half choke for approx.
3-5 minutes.Very pleased with this item and would definately recommend for price and value.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Weed Eater Gas Trimmer and Edger

Works for me

07/18/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've had this a couple of years and it has worked pretty well. The only problem has been the choke control knob broke and is darn near impossible to replace. I "Jimmied" it and got it to work, though.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 56 total reviews