Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Weed Eater Weed Eater Gas Trimmer and Edger

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Weed Eater Weed Eater Gas Trimmer and Edger

The TE475Y Weed Eater Trimmer and Edger is two tools in one that converts from a trimmer to a Weed Eater Edger. The Weed Eater Trimmer and Edger features an adjustable handle assist and includes an edge guide. The Gas Trimmer and Edger features a 25-cc engine with a 17" cutting path and a centrex line advance. The length of the curved shaft measures 51", and the entire unit weighs 10 lbs. This trimmer comes assembled.
Average Customer Rating:
3.377 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(61 Reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
16
4 stars
22
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
14
Customer Recommendation70%43 out of 61reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
16
4 stars
22
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
14
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Weed Eater Gas Trimmer and Edger

Cannot start

05/25/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This machine cannot keep running at idle speed. I tried to adjust the carburetor according to the manual but to no avail after a dozen times. It starts at half choke after several pulls (too many pulls), but once I put it on the running gear and release the trigger after 30 seconds, it will die. It does not seem to matter how long I warmed it up before releasing the trigger.
I had the same kind of weedeater for 12 years and it worked great until it died a few weeks ago. It was light and versatile and started very easily. The new version is definitely a big step backward. It has a flimsy handle and of course it does not work. I read reviews here that some customers have had the same problems of starting the machine and I thought I should give it a try. But I am very disappointed. Besides it takes too long to get it from the website (2 weeks).
It is strange that there are no other brands for this type of Trim N Edge. It seems to be such an obvious idea. And interestingly it cannot be bought (usually) in Walmart stores.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+22points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Gettysburg
STIHL
Posted 04/02/2014
You should get either a STIHL FS-94R or at least buy an Echo.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Weed Eater Gas Trimmer and Edger

Great product

09/28/2009
By ,
Clemson, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My father purchased an earlier version of this trimmer back in 1998 from walmart. It still operates today with minimal maintenance (fuel line and 1 carb part replaced later). So when I finally purchased my own home, of course I looked high and low for the same trimmer. Found it here online - thank you Walmart :-)
It arrived last week and fired up after priming. Upon 2nd start it would not as the carb is definitely restricting it. So I purchased poulan part # 530035560 online and adjusted the carb. Works perfectly.
My advice to everyone who has taken this back: don't give up on a great product. Either find a local shop to adjust your carb or buy a 15 dollar (after shipping) tool and do it yourself.
As for the quality of the plastic: I noticed the handle is a little flimsy, but nothing to be worried about. The only thing I'm disappointed in is the gravity fed carb that has since been implemented to meet EPA standards. That and the new line spool (which can be easily replaced). Otherwise, this trimmer is perfect. As of this posting, it is assembled in the USA.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Review 3 for Weed Eater Gas Trimmer and Edger

cheap plastic

03/18/2008
By ,
alabama
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
About what you would expect for the cheapest in the line of a name brand, but doesnt deserve it. Machine is mechanicly sound after a year of weekly use. The biggest problem with this product is the horribly cheap and weak plastic used for the handle and trigger. The handle is very flexable and makes controlling the trimmer real difficult. The trigger broke after few weeks of light duty work. Also the ability to turn shaft around for edging is practically useless with the flimsy handle. Wound be a good buy for light duty work on flat ground but not well suited for work with more than 10 min worth of trimming.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+41points
Review 4 for Weed Eater Gas Trimmer and Edger

Excellent VALUE

10/31/2010
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a an EXCELLENT product. Easty to start, easy to convert to an Edger, and light weight so it does not kill my back to do my yard.
I looked at units costing twice as much, however I am positive they could not have done the function any better or easier than this unit does.
This is the third WeedEater brand unit that we have had, they all last a long time. When we have problems to get them repaired would be as much as a new one so we get a new one every 5 or so years.
If I was good mechanically and could fix small engines myself we would still be on the first one. Since I cannot fix the engine myself, and they want $70 just to look at it in a shop, I choose to buy a new one for $90.00 when the engine stops.
However everything else is still working fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Review 5 for Weed Eater Gas Trimmer and Edger

Great Product!

07/22/2008
By ,
Kansas City
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have to say, I was wary about a gas-powered trimmer, as I've never had much luck with them, but needed something with a bit more power than electric provides. This trimmer delivered! The pull-starter uses less force, so you don't have to pull your shoulder out of socket with repeated, all-you-can-do rips with the cord. Matter of fact, it works BETTER if you use less force. First couple times i started this baby, I used too much and the cord skipped the gears and did nothing. Starts EVERY time with MINIMAL fuss. Prime, choke, run...amazing. The EDGER feature's pretty cool too! I"ve read reviews where it's flimsy, because of the plastic, but i have to say, i think it's sturdy enough to do edging and trimming...and I've done BOTH of those with this one product every week for two seasons now (i happen to live where we get snow a few months outta the year.)
Easy to use, multi-tasker, good power, AND it's got some cool attachments (sold separately) for some of the tougher jobs (I bought some nylon blades that make quick work of thick weeds and even small brush). GREAT PRODUCT!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 6 for Weed Eater Gas Trimmer and Edger

good product

07/22/2009
By ,
Hoover, Alabama
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought a Weed eater trimmer/edger 6-7 years ago at Walmart. When it was time to buy another one, there were none to be found in the stores. I found this one on line and although it isn't EXACTLY like the one I had it is very very close. It works great and I am glad I bought it. I would reccommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+8points
Review 7 for Weed Eater Gas Trimmer and Edger

First time user

09/08/2009
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This was my first gas weedeater, I am still learing how to use the trimmer. The owners manual was very helpful, especially with the starting process. I had no problems with the weedeater stopping after long periods of use. Word of advice wear earplugs, I was concerned with the weight, but its about average. It gets heavy after a while. Self feeds, which is nice, I didn't have a problem with the string getting caught in the spool or coming unwrapped.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Review 8 for Weed Eater Gas Trimmer and Edger

Convenient Weedeater/Edger

09/11/2009
By ,
Bossier City, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is so convenient to use. Without having to bother with multiple tools or equipment, you can easily edge and trim your entire yard. The price is exceptional as well, below $100. This is the second one that I've owned, and wouldn't trade it for any of the more expensive products out there.
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+12points
Review 9 for Weed Eater Gas Trimmer and Edger

Junk

04/14/2008
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this weedeater Monday,used it for maybe 30 min.It was doing great. did some other yard work and that evening tried to use it to finish my yard.Could not keep it running. So i couldnt finish my yard.Took it back next day.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+4points
Review 10 for Weed Eater Gas Trimmer and Edger

A BIG LET DOWN!!

09/21/2009
By ,
Troy, Mo
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is the worst experience I have ever had with a WeedEater product. The trimmer will not stay running even after warm up. I have tried to make the adjustments per the limited manual that comes with the trimmer to no avail. Very cheaply made compared to the price tag. I should have heeded the concerns of other reviewers, but decided to give it a try. Worst decision I have made in awhile. After I finish writing this review the trimmer will promptly be returned to the local WalMart. I don't even think this product deserves one star. Save yourself the time and headache, spend a little extra and buy a good one.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Review 11 for Weed Eater Gas Trimmer and Edger

Good Buy

07/18/2010
By ,
Magnolia, Tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This trimmer ran as well as could be expected. I cut and edged for several years on a 1 acre property and just now have had my first problems. The line auto advances too much, so I went and bought a Rino-Tuf permanent trimmer head....which said it fits 99% of Weed-Eater products. I think the TE475Y is one of the 1%. But I made it work. Now, I am having problems keeping it running once it starts. I opened it up and the fuel and vent lines were broken off of the ends and the filter was dancing around in the bottom of the tank. This costs $5-$10 to fix and I am looking for the new lines now. Just FYI - this problem probably would have been avoided if I would have followed the Mfr instructions and emptied the gas tank for the winter storage instead of leaving gas in it. So, my fault. Other than that (and the line issues) this has been a beast of burden in my lawn care arsenal!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 12 for Weed Eater Gas Trimmer and Edger

Perfect

07/02/2009
By ,
St. George, UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the 3rd one of these AWESOME trimmers I've purchased. I own a landscape business and use these 6 days a week. I'm sure they are not intended for heavy use, BUT, we love them. And they get a lot of use. We are starting and stopping all day long and never have a start problem. The line is really easy to rewind. For the price you can not go wrong. Everyone should own one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 13 for Weed Eater Gas Trimmer and Edger

You Get What You Pay For

08/25/2009
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my second trimmer from Poulan. The first lasted about 3 years and worked fine-started easily and did a good job. Replacing the line spool is not too expensive and easy. The new one seems to work the same although it is a little harder to start. For small-to medium jobs this trimmer should work fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 14 for Weed Eater Gas Trimmer and Edger

Stalls when excellerating from normal idle

07/28/2010
By ,
Tallahassee, FL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased one of these many years ago when they were sold in-store at Wal-mart. After I received this new one from on-line I took it out of the box and it started with very little effort. However, after I moved the lever to the "Run" position and I squeezed the trigger the engine stalled. This happened repeatedly so I took it to the local Wal-mart and the technician worked with it and had the same problem. The way he alleviated the stalling was to increase the idle so high that it was almost running at full speed even at idle. This simply may have been one bad one out of the bunch. I love the versatility of instantly having two tools in one and this type of trimmer/edger combination is hard to find so I will probably order one more to see if it happens again.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 15 for Weed Eater Gas Trimmer and Edger

Disappointing start

06/06/2009
By ,
TX
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I ordered this particular product based on the features it had for the price. I had previously owned a very similar model. When it arrived, we planned an all-day "get the yard in shape for summer" day. However, it WOULD NOT start. We tried for a couple of hours, pulling the cord countless times. It evidently needed a slight carburetor adjustment. This seems a frequent enough problem that one would think this adjustment would be made at the factory. Then our "authorized dealer" in our town refused to do the adjustment for us, saying that we should just send it back. Luckily, we have a friend who was able to do the adjustment for us. Once the trimmer was working, we were pleased with it. We just got off to a rough start (no pun intended) with this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 16 for Weed Eater Gas Trimmer and Edger
04/19/2010
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like a gas trimmer/edger combo without attachments - which you can't hardly find anymore. My husband personally likes the Echo brand, but I find it too heavy and the straight shaft too long for my use. When I mow, I use this one. It's much lighter and easier to manuever. I like the ability to trim around flower beds and immediately go to edging around sidewalks. I use it at least once a week during the spring/summer months and it holds up pretty well considering adding gas mix and installing new line is my only maintenance. I usually purchase a new one every 3 - 4 years. This trimmer used to be available in my Walmart store but now it's only online. I hope it's not discontinued.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 17 for Weed Eater Gas Trimmer and Edger

seamed great untill I used it.

07/25/2009
By ,
whitewater, WI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I thought that the auto feed was going tobe awesome! I thought it was going to save a ton of time...WRONG! It takes twice as long to do my LAWN. It you run into something hard that it will not trim like a small post or tree. it will continue to feed until it wrapped around it head or completely feed out.. then it takes for ever to feed it all back in .. then ten minutes you have to do it again. ... The engine is not as isolated as i would like. It seams to wear out my heads more then i would think for its price.
It dose start very easy and i like the edging feature.. spend the same amount and get the one you bang on the ground.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
-2points
Review 18 for Weed Eater Gas Trimmer and Edger

Best money I ever spent

06/19/2012
By ,
Goldsboro, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought item about 8 to 10 years ago. Has been been used very heavy for at least 6 years. Outstanding for trimming and edging that you can change on the fly without leaving your position. Have had repairs done before but, it comes back like a champ. Have replaced trim guard twice and just order some more. This product has outlived 2 new weedeaters and about 4 second hand (several different brands used). Very pleased with this product. Slightly heavy now since my health is failing but it gets the job. Would love to see it ilighter in wieght with double line feed, straight shaft, with trim guard.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 19 for Weed Eater Gas Trimmer and Edger

piece of junk

04/03/2010
By ,
new ipswich, nh
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i bought this after my echo die after 17yrs dont waste your time cheap poulan piece of junk there chainsaw are good think going buying another echo
you get what you pay for
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 20 for Weed Eater Gas Trimmer and Edger

I'll Never Know

06/19/2009
By ,
Raleigh, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Although I carefully followed the instructions, I was unsuccessful in starting and keeping my new Weed Eater Trimmer running. After two days of trying, I gave up and returned my purchase to Walmart for a refund. I will never know whether this trimmer performed well or not.
My old and even less expensive Weed Eater trimmer started well for more than a decade. Product reviews have led me to believe that currently there are no decent trimmers on the market for less than $300, and I can't afford that price.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
1-20 of 56 total reviews
1 2 3 Next