Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Weed Eater Weed Eater 500 Series Push Lawn Mower

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Weed Eater Weed Eater 500 Series Push Lawn Mower

Average Customer Rating:
2.8 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation40%10 out of 25reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Weed Eater 500 Series Push Lawn Mower

A great lawnmower after you do 2 things!

10/19/2009
By ,
North Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this lawnmower almost 3 months ago and had trouble in the beginning which I quickly fixed. Do 2 things and the lawn mower will work and start instantly. 1- Replace the spark plug supplied with the lawn mower with a new one--Champion RN74C Stock # 323 and it will start with one pull. The spark plug that comes with the mower is the wrong size--too short! Replace it. 2- Un-bend the little choke lever so that you can move it back-and-forth and you will then be able to adjust the choke for easy starts. The lever was prebent to prevent it from beaking during shipment to the Walmart stores. Now I love the mower--it cuts well, uses one fifth the gas my other mowers did use. Follow what I suggest and you will also love the wower--a very good deal!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Review 2 for Weed Eater 500 Series Push Lawn Mower

Not what I hoped for

07/18/2009
By ,
College Station, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We bought this mower in March of 08 and I had trouble getting it started from day one. I would have to try to start it about 5 times or so and then wait about an hour, come back out about an hour later and do exactly what I did before, and then it would finally start. This year I got it to work three times on the first try and thought, "well, I was just an idiot" but now it won't start at all. Cleaned out everything, changed the gas, drained the oil, still won't start. Definitely will buy a different brand this time. I suppose that you get what you pay for, but I was hoping it would at least make it through more than 20 mowings.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
+14points
Review 3 for Weed Eater 500 Series Push Lawn Mower

Hard to start

01/07/2009
By ,
Baltimore, MD
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Don't buy this mower unless you are a mechanic and can get it started each time. As a woman this mower has been a nightmare for me. It just doesn't want to start most of the time. I have used it for less than 10 hours and now it just doesn't start at all. What a piece of junk.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:A few times per month
+17points
Review 4 for Weed Eater 500 Series Push Lawn Mower

this is a bad mower

05/24/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After looking at a bunch of mowers at walmart store, I decided to go with this one. It looked like a decent mower for the price. I got it home, I put it together. Got it all set up. I used it, no lie less than 10 times. Now it starts for 5 seconds and dies. This is a bad mower. Do not buy this mower unless you can fix it!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+15points
Review 5 for Weed Eater 500 Series Push Lawn Mower

easy to fix and easy to work on

02/22/2009
By ,
holden, LA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I like them all , i know how to work on them. I think it is fine, i bought one becouse it was cheap and it was all the money i had at the time. i use the heck out of it, almost like a bush hogg, it seem's to be fine. When starting them, there are a few thing's to do to get it started . I was gone from the house for about 2 month's, my cousin threw it in our pound and it sat there till i got back, i was wondering where it went when i got back, till my outher cousin told me what had happened. I fished it out, cleaned it up, and it run's and looks new. Of course i bought new gaskets and thing's for it. But i still got it. No matter what you bye, if you take care of it, it will last. Not throwing it in the pund. Heck, i even run alot of octane in it too, i like rebuilding it. I am wanting to go get a newer one when i get the money, the one i got now will then be a light job mpwer. But i find that it is a really good mower, i like it, and i am getting all of my money out, every bit of it. It is keeping my yard looking good.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 6 for Weed Eater 500 Series Push Lawn Mower

You get what you pay for

05/23/2009
By ,
Reno, NV
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The mower has a small red "primer" button - it says right on the mower to push it three times and then start the mower. It never really worked - most of the time I had to push it six times in order to start the mower, the mower would run a few seconds, then stop. I'd have to repeat this process 3 to 4 times before the mower would keep running. Finally - the red button deteriorated and when I pushed it this week gasoline squirted out all over me. But it lasted about two years before this part failed.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Review 7 for Weed Eater 500 Series Push Lawn Mower

Junk

07/21/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Used about 6 times. Hit small rock. Shaft bent!
Had many lawnmowers thought the years replaced sheer pin then went on This mower is junk! Threw away no fixing
Recommends this product? No
+5points
Review 8 for Weed Eater 500 Series Push Lawn Mower

This mower is a piece of junk!

08/21/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DO NOT buy this mower! It is a piece of junk. I used mine twice and now the shaft is bent and it won't start. I didn't hit anything that would cause a normal mower shaft to bend. This mower has a very poor and very weak Briggs & Stratton motor. You will be throwing your money away if you buy this mower!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+4points
Review 9 for Weed Eater 500 Series Push Lawn Mower

Not cool

04/17/2009
By ,
Culman, Alabama
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got this gas mower since my electric mower would have shocked me trying to mow through the muck here in Ala. This mower is not self propelled and heavy. It is like trying to push around a wet mattress. The electric mower would have been easier even with throwing the wire around, minus gettng electrocuted.
I do not recommend this mower, it needs to be self propelled and much lighter.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+2points
Review 10 for Weed Eater 500 Series Push Lawn Mower

Very Happy for the Money

09/27/2009
By ,
Manteno, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed an inexpensive mower at the time and this fit the bill fine. 22" deck, decent power, low cost. Couldn't ask for much more. My property is 3/4 acre after subtracting for house, driveway, and large garden shed, so I only mow every 10-14 days because of the size of the yard. While I wish it had a more powerful engine, I'm a mechanic and I knew what my money was getting me in advance, so I can't say I'm disappointed. It does take a strong arm to give a good hard pull such as this mower requires (this model engine needs to be spun faster than some others during start up for the engine to catch and start) but my wife and I have never had a problem getting it started. Despite the engine being too small to mulch in overly thick or long grass, despite the relatively hard pull needed to start the engine, and despite the fact that it's not the riding mower I wish I had, I have no issues with this mower and would certainly recommend it to anyone on a budget. It starts every time for me, it only stalls if I'm trying to mulch grass that's too tall, and I've certainly never encountered any of the issues others seem to have had.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 11 for Weed Eater 500 Series Push Lawn Mower

Cheap Mower

06/19/2009
By ,
Desmoines, iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I picked two of these up for $25 bucks each they were on sale because someone returned them broken well i put gas in one it runs great and a new plug in the other and new gas they had it on its side so oil leaked in the carb it runs great to. i figured they have a briggs motor so they cant be that bad. but you do get what you pay for nothing fancy on these mowers.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 12 for Weed Eater 500 Series Push Lawn Mower

lawn mower

03/02/2008
By ,
hemet, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
well i bought this lawn mower thinking it would be cool and i can go home put it together and mow my lawn but it turns out u cant.. i put gas in and the oil it came with and i try to start it and it will start only for approximatley 2 seconds. it wont stay running. it may have something to do with the throttle or the choke because the spring by the choke or whatever is very losse and i am not sure if that is right or not.
thanks
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
-1point
Review 13 for Weed Eater 500 Series Push Lawn Mower

Weedeater and moneyeater

06/26/2009
By ,
Huntsville, Al
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this $146 mower from Walmart expecting that it would be a quality product . I had a Weedeater Trimmer also from Walmart. THe Trimmer lasted one year and the mower about 3 months. I used it last fall and it was fine. I used it once this spring and it never started again. I asked my local repair man if he would fix it and he said put it in the garbage, It will cost more to look at it than it is worth. And don't buy another one unless you want to keep paying me. I have worked on it for days to no avail. Replace any part that could be replace when I could find someone that carried them. Tried to order a primer bulb that rotted in that few months, and can't even find the model number on the Weedeater site. All in all, Take my advice and buy one that in guaranteed to work.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 14 for Weed Eater 500 Series Push Lawn Mower

weed eater lawn mower

10/18/2009
By ,
texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this lawn mower and all i can say it purrs!!! like a kitten. no problems with this weed eater of any sort. it just takes a little maintence and care and you shouldn't have any problems.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 15 for Weed Eater 500 Series Push Lawn Mower

pile of JUNK

06/10/2009
By ,
Springport In.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
this product has taught me a big lesson,always read reviews befor buying!!!.around mid to late last summer,08 I purshaced this mower and unlike some of the other reviews I did no have any problems with starting,always started on 1st pull every time,but after using for maybe 5-10 hours it started fouling plus bad.after the 1st time it fouled out had to pull and clean plue every 15 minutes or so.got rid of the champion plug and replaced with autolite,no difference,then last time i used it the rope would not recoil,good thing it has 2 yr warranty.taking to shop and hopes it helps,but have a feeling i will need to buy a new 1 next summer.WILL NOT BE A WEEDEATER
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 16 for Weed Eater 500 Series Push Lawn Mower

great product

10/04/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was leery to buy this after reading all the reviews but I couldn't afford anything else. I go the mower today. All i did was fill the oil and the gas, prime it as it says (3 pushes on the knob) and it started first pull. It did a great job on my yard. would recommend to anyone on a budget.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 17 for Weed Eater 500 Series Push Lawn Mower

love it

05/16/2009
By ,
Harrington DE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this lawn mower and thought well maybe I can at least some of my grass cut as it was over a foot high,,, bought it home and hubby put handle up on it put the oil in and primed it. Started right up he cut all of our grass and I am not kidding it was high,, he again cut it this weekend. I think this lawn mower is a great buy for the price I really didnt think it would work so well
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
-1point
Review 18 for Weed Eater 500 Series Push Lawn Mower

DO NOT BUY THIS MOWER

05/23/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
So I bought this lawn mower to stay within my budget and I will say that it was the worst idea I have had in a long time. I dont even hav 5 hours on this thing and it does nothing but make my life a living heck when it comes to mowin the grass. If I do by some chance get it started (which isnt too often), i get about half of my front lawn mowed b4 it stalls out and quits running. My advice to others is to just spend the extra money and get a mower that is a little better bc in the long run you will be paying for it in repairs. This mower is a must NOT buy!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
0points
Review 19 for Weed Eater 500 Series Push Lawn Mower

For the money its beed a good one.

06/10/2012
By ,
St Cloud MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought my mower sometime in 08 and it has been running wonderfully for me. now understand I have 5 acres of lawn and i only use this one for under trees and trimming. i never winterize it or anything and it starts on the first pull everytime. I did replace the spark plug immediately after i purchased the mower (before i even started it the first time). This mower has been great for the price I paid.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 20 for Weed Eater 500 Series Push Lawn Mower

It's a cliche but... "you get what you pay for."

07/25/2010
By ,
Fairfax Station, VA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Disappointing. Have had this mower for 5 years but for the last 4 have only been able to keep it going after an inordinate amount of spring maintenance. Have gone through FAR too much oil and FAR too many sparkplugs for such a time span. Like so many other reviewers here have been saying, you get what you pay for. Truly, folks: tighten your belts, save your pennies and buy something that'll actually LAST awhile.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
0points
1-20 of 25 total reviews
1 2 Next