Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Magnavox Magnavox Digital-to-Analog TV Converter Box

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Magnavox Magnavox Digital-to-Analog TV Converter Box

Purchase a digital converter box for $49.87 (with coupon, $9.87*) Digital converter boxes receive over-the-air digital TV broadcasts for viewing on TVs that do not have built-in digital tuners. If you wish to keep using your analog TV set, you must purchase a digital converter box. Digital converter boxes are available at Wal-Mart stores nationwide. For additional information and to apply for digital converter box coupons, visit www.dtv2009.gov or call 1-888-DTV-2009. This box receives over-the-air digital TV broadcasts for viewing on a TV that does not have a built-in digital (ATSC) tuner. Additional features include a trilingual on-screen display, audio/video output, antenna input (F-type connector), and remote control.
Average Customer Rating:
2.973 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(223 Reviews) 220
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
66
4 stars
27
3 stars
31
2 stars
33
1 star
66
Customer Recommendation49%109 out of 223reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
66
4 stars
27
3 stars
31
2 stars
33
1 star
66
Customer Reviews
Review 161 for Magnavox Digital-to-Analog TV Converter Box

Great product

05/19/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great product. I am ashamed to say that I actually like it better than my 100 dollar HD tuner. The program guide works well and reception is spectacular. I can use a very weak signal. Two minor dislikes: 1. you can only change the channel with the remote 2. you can only see the program guide after tuning the channel.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 162 for Magnavox Digital-to-Analog TV Converter Box
03/11/2008
By ,
tampa,fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this product one for the price and two I heard that could possible to receive more than local channels other than their counter parts in HD in which it did. The only thing about this product there still moment where it dose not get a signal right away but when it dose what a great picture on a tv that is 5 years old.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 163 for Magnavox Digital-to-Analog TV Converter Box

Nice Product

02/18/2009
By ,
St. Louis
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I installed this converter box today and it works great! We get all of our local channels plus 6 extra we were not recieving before. I love the display that tells you what shows are in the future. Our other converter box shows only what is on next, this one shows a few hours in advance.
Love it, recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 164 for Magnavox Digital-to-Analog TV Converter Box

Got what I paid for.

09/16/2008
By ,
Florida
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I did not like the design because it has no channel buttons on the unit itself, so don't lose the remote or you wont be able to change stations! And don't assume that your universal remote will work on it. The setup was easy but I had little luck getting reception. I guess for $10 bucks, I got what I paid for.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 165 for Magnavox Digital-to-Analog TV Converter Box

Not worth it

06/28/2009
By ,
Cape Girardeau, MO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I tried hooking this box up to two different TV sets. The picture was fine, however I didn't realize that there is no volume control on the remote. Plus, it seemed to knock out the volume on both sets so I had to turn the volume all the way up just to be able to hear it. I will definitely be returning it.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 166 for Magnavox Digital-to-Analog TV Converter Box

Great Product !

03/07/2008
By ,
Boston, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dont Wait! This is a great product. More and better channels and all for free. It comes with a "Setup Wizard" that does about everything except plug itself in.
Even the remote comes with batteries.
Five minutes out of the box and its like buying a new tv.
Use the coupon and get it all for a few dollars.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 167 for Magnavox Digital-to-Analog TV Converter Box

There are better converters out there

06/28/2008
By ,
Boyce LA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
For $15.00 with the credit I guess it's ok. Ease of operation and set up is a breeze. The remote is junk and don't lose it because there are no controls on the converter. The volume is extremely low. The user preset auto power off is a plus. All in all I recommend it but, not at the full price.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 168 for Magnavox Digital-to-Analog TV Converter Box

Fair Product

04/14/2008
By ,
Huntington, WV
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Wired up the converter, worked good, except sound
was low and not what is was originally. Called
Magnavox, got quick response. They said product
was defective and to exchange it. Did this and
second box was no better than first. Picture is fine
but sound is too low. TV set to maximum volume.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 169 for Magnavox Digital-to-Analog TV Converter Box

this is ok

01/29/2009
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
easy to hook up but cable that came with unit cut reception in half, put a high def coax and doubled recption. not many channels but i live just out of reach of most major network programing. will wait and hook up antenna out of doors once weather warms up to see if i pick up more channels.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 170 for Magnavox Digital-to-Analog TV Converter Box

We love it!!

08/07/2008
By ,
Topeka, Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this converter box and have been VERY pleased. We are located centrally between South Bend and Fort Wayne so we have the best of it! We can usually get around 25 channels and sometimes more. It was very easy to hook up and get running. We love it and would recommend it to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 171 for Magnavox Digital-to-Analog TV Converter Box

Great Deal

03/02/2008
By ,
Baltimore, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I brought it, connect it, and it works great.The channals are clearer,like the display buttons, it let you know what's comeing up next, or the name of the program you are watching.The only problem I have is , I can't get channel 24,20. where I live, other than that it's a Great Deal.Buy It
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 172 for Magnavox Digital-to-Analog TV Converter Box

save your money

09/23/2008
By ,
Margate,Fl
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Before I bought and hooked up this box I could get a least 5 local stations. Now I get 2. I kept a tv/w/o cable around in case cable went out during storms/hurricanes. With this box I get no channels during the storms. Save your money buy a digital tv. This is a waste of time and money!
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 173 for Magnavox Digital-to-Analog TV Converter Box

two remotes required

02/16/2009
By ,
Castle Rock, Co
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This converters remote can not control your TVs volume and on/off thus you will be switching between two remotes to change channels,volume and on/off. The RCA unit does have a remote that will control both the TV and converter plus it is easier the set up and scan for digital channels.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 174 for Magnavox Digital-to-Analog TV Converter Box

Magnavox converter box

02/07/2009
By ,
utah
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased 2 of these boxs yesterday and while it worked fine there is no volume control on the remote. This forces you to use 2 remotes to operate the tv which is very inconvienent. I would not reccomend this one unless you don't mind using 2 remotes. Other than that, go for it.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Review 175 for Magnavox Digital-to-Analog TV Converter Box

Disappointed

06/17/2008
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I am very disappointed with the Magnavox converter,because I keep getting a message saying no signal. And sometimes I can watch a show only for a few minutes. Maybe the RCA would be better. I have unhooked it and still use the rabbit ears. My Walmart store did not carry the RCA.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 176 for Magnavox Digital-to-Analog TV Converter Box

Amazing!

03/07/2008
By ,
San Antonio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought 2 boxes after receiving my coupons. The hookup was fast; setup fast, and the results amazing! The picture was clearer, local channels have 2 channels or more (as in 4.1 and 4.2 instead of just 4), and I receive channels I didn't know existed. Great bang for the buck!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 177 for Magnavox Digital-to-Analog TV Converter Box

Very Basic

07/08/2009
By ,
Monterey Bay, California
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Have had this item for about a month. It does a decent job of analog to digital. The remote control is junk! the buttons are small and cannot be programed to control the tv. I know the RCA converter also available through walmart is able to be programmed for tv control.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 178 for Magnavox Digital-to-Analog TV Converter Box

DTV Converter

01/27/2009
By ,
Galveston, IN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this for my 80+ year old parents. It worked great for the first week and then the channels just kept getting fewer and fewer. Now there are almost no channels that work. I have tried setup again but it doesn't help. I would recommend you try a different brand.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 179 for Magnavox Digital-to-Analog TV Converter Box

It is pretty good

05/06/2008
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I got up and running fast. The picture is great. I can even tape from it. The only problem is I can't receive NBC Channel 5. It is a digital station and it doesn't find it. I just hope I can eventually get it. Other than that, the other channels come in great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 180 for Magnavox Digital-to-Analog TV Converter Box

magnavox digital to analog tv convertor

06/27/2008
By ,
Monticello
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
was very easy to setup put it in our camper and it picked up digital channels that I didn't even know we had or have in our area. so I reccommend any one using tv antenna to get this one it will make a 100% difference in the way you watch analog tv .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
161-180 of 221 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  7 8 9 10 11 12 Next