Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sterilite Sterilite 5-Gallon (20-Quart) Storage Box, Set of 6

Sterilite Sterilite 5-Gallon (20-Quart) Storage Box, Set of 6

A reliable storage solution, the Sterilite 20-quart Storage Box is all you need to keep things at your home or office organized. Each of the six 20-quart storage boxes comes with a snap-on lid that ensures that the box contents are secure. The boxes feature a clear base to enable clear visibility of the contents. Made of heavy duty plastic, these white storage boxes will help you store a wide variety of items for many years to come. You only have to wipe clean these 20-quart storage containers to keep them clean and fresh.
Average Customer Rating:
4.512 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(84 Reviews) 61
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
61
4 stars
13
3 stars
6
2 stars
0
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation96%81 out of 84reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 46 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
61
4 stars
13
3 stars
6
2 stars
0
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sterilite 5-Gallon (20-Quart) Storage Box, Set of 6

They work in cubes

02/27/2014
By ,
Niagara Falls, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought these to use in my cube-storage units in my craft room. I didn't like the idea of my yarn basically sitting on the floor. This was the only lidded bin I could find for these units. While not the perfect fit, they do work. I ordered the 6-pack site-to-store because my store was out of stock. The bottom bin was broken and will be exchanged as soon as the store gets some in.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sterilite 5-Gallon (20-Quart) Storage Box, Set of 6

The Ultimate Stash & Project Storage System

02/16/2014
By ,
Washington, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For anyone who creates, and who likes to have their materials on-hand when the mood strikes to start a new project, these 20-qt bins along with their shorter 12-qt cousins are superb. They stack quite well, and unless they are over filled, the lids stay in place. The lids for both of these sizes are interchangeable. My order arrived much more quickly than the web page led me to believe they would.
While I do wish the walls of the bins were truly clear, they are superior to any similar boxes. I am unaware of any other bins in this price range. Combining these bins with modular, Ikea-style shelving units will keep your stash & projects clean, close, and handy. To complete the storage solution, I use white electrical tape & permanent marker to identify the contents. The tape stays put until I'm ready to change it, then it peels off easily leaving no residue.
I've been using these bins for a number of years, and I keep finding new uses for them. They are a convenient excuse for buying more stash when it's on sale, when I find something unusual I want to use later, or when I want to replace something I just used.
They don't seem to discharge static electricity very quickly, and as a result, they have a high affinity for attracting dust. However, a quick sweep with a Swiffer duster makes them look clean, and new again. I will buy many more of these, I'm sure, and I highly recommend them to anyone who likes to make things, and keep their materials clean, and well organized.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sterilite 5-Gallon (20-Quart) Storage Box, Set of 6

perfect size

06/28/2014
By ,
Roseville, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Now I can see what is enclosed in the boxes and can quickly identify the service unit supplies available for event usage.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sterilite 5-Gallon (20-Quart) Storage Box, Set of 6

Getting organized

08/02/2010
By ,
Middle of nowhere, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for affordable, stackable small totes to organize my many craft item. These were perfect for what I needed. I ordered them online and had them shipped to my house. They came in just a couple of days and I was able to get started while the spirit still moved me to tackle the job!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sterilite 5-Gallon (20-Quart) Storage Box, Set of 6

Wrong or misleading specifications in size

12/12/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It may not be ill intended, but size written in specifications refer to the lid, not to the actual container. I was misled. Size is quite less than you may expect... the lid area has indeed the size specified, but the bottom or base area is rather small due to the trapezoidal shape of the container. So, the referred size in the website says... about 10 X 16 X 11 1/2, yet the real size by the base, which is the one that matters if you need this item for storing stuff orderly is: 9 X 13 X 8 1/2, so you are missing almost 3' lineal in the base length and width ... the lid has a snap part too small and it is not fully sealed.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Brighton, MI
thanks for adding bottom dimensions
Posted 05/12/2013
I needed the bottom dimension to buy the correct bin that will fit in my pull-out cupboard. Thanks so much for taking the time to review this and record the bottom measurements. This saved me a lot of time and I found these were the correct ones for me.
0points
Customer Avatar
f
size matters
Posted 08/01/2012
You are wanting to have the base dimensions which are important for what is contained in the box. I can sense your reason for disappointment if something didn't fit properly WITHIN. However, its outer dimensions are important too.I can think of 2 good reasons. If you were relying on fitting this in tight spaces for long term storage, or the trunk of a car, you sure wouldn't want it to be bigger than the dimensions were in writing. Secondly, the tapered (diagonal) sides, which are visible in the product's photo, are useful in allowing empty containers of the same size to stack within one another and take up less space. How do you expect them to ship you a pack of 4 if this advantage wasn't there? Your review is very misguided, though it would have been avoidable if the description from the manufacturer had included base dimensions as well as total volume dosplaced by the container, both of which are useful.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 6 for Sterilite 5-Gallon (20-Quart) Storage Box, Set of 6

Sturdy!

05/23/2009
By ,
Northeast, USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great storage bins. A little smaller than I had expected, but that was due to my poor judgment. Bought bigger ones in addition to these, and I found lots of things with which to store things in around the house. Great for storing items that are in plastic bags and card board boxes, gives a room a cleaner and more organized look.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sterilite 5-Gallon (20-Quart) Storage Box, Set of 6

Great quality for the price!

10/13/2013
By ,
PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought 24 of these and I couldn't be happier. The quality is very good, and a great value at this price! The tops are a little flimsy but not so much that you have to be afraid to stack them or that they will break. The clear plastic is great for seeing exactly what is inside without having to unstack and look in each one. I will be buying more of these in the future.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sterilite 5-Gallon (20-Quart) Storage Box, Set of 6

Stacks on the ones we have.

05/28/2014
By ,
Norman, Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These are the right size for the items we need to store. Not to large for me to pick up & they match the ones that we arleady have. Thank you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sterilite 5-Gallon (20-Quart) Storage Box, Set of 6

Wrong product or specifications ?

01/16/2011
By ,
Tx
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I placed an order on 12/30 and got it on 1/15. I was very satisfied that Customer Service sent me an e-mail when it was ready for pick up. When I got home I saw that the boxes look smaller than specification on the site: Product in Inches (L x W x H): 16.75 x 11.75 x 19.5
Their real size is 16.5" L x 11.5" W x 9.63" H
I'm going to return this item.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sterilite 5-Gallon (20-Quart) Storage Box, Set of 6

Great Storage Solution

06/18/2009
By ,
Horizon City, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use these containers to store books. They're great because you can see through them and they're not too heavy to lift & put on a shelf in the garage. They keep the books dust-free and clean. They are the perfect size for the perfect price of $3.00 each at Walmart. I will be ordering more, I need about 12 more.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sterilite 5-Gallon (20-Quart) Storage Box, Set of 6

Typical storage bin

10/16/2013
By ,
South Florida
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This storage bin worked for me because I am using them for storage of pantry goods in my garage. They were high enough to put unopened boxes of stock, pastas, unopened jars etc. I am currently re-organizing my garage space with plastic shelving that can hold these storage boxes. I cater many events and buy pantry items in bulk.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sterilite 5-Gallon (20-Quart) Storage Box, Set of 6

Great boxes for fabric organizing

05/07/2014
By ,
San Diego, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wrap my uncut fabric around comic boards and store them upright in these boxes, without the lids. They are great for this purpose because I can instantly see the color and designs and can easily sort them according to the needs of my current project. When I am done, the boxes neatly slip back onto their shelves.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sterilite 5-Gallon (20-Quart) Storage Box, Set of 6

Perfect in every way!

05/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product arrived quickly. Just the right size!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sterilite 5-Gallon (20-Quart) Storage Box, Set of 6

easy to pack, lightweight, great storage

04/26/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great lightweight storage option
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sterilite 5-Gallon (20-Quart) Storage Box, Set of 6

Very deep and good appearance

02/04/2014
By ,
New York, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is big enough to put many things. I used in the kitchen to put some plastic stuff. I also used some in my closet to put winter stuff. I liked the size, the color, the material and the usability.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sterilite 5-Gallon (20-Quart) Storage Box, Set of 6

great value and serves my purpose

02/02/2014
By ,
oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i will order some more
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sterilite 5-Gallon (20-Quart) Storage Box, Set of 6

Great storage boxes

04/14/2014
By ,
Washington
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Boxes are a nice size and quite sturdy. The lids snap on good and are easy to get off without breaking all your finger nails. Easy to see whats in them too.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sterilite 5-Gallon (20-Quart) Storage Box, Set of 6

Good Storage

12/30/2013
By ,
Dallas, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I think these six tubs were cheaper than purchasing them in the store individually.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sterilite 5-Gallon (20-Quart) Storage Box, Set of 6

5 gallon tote

03/22/2014
By ,
Pittsburgh, Pa.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the perfect size for the small delicate Christmas things, and also for the large amount of things you collect for plumbing and electrical fixes, all the stuff you collect when you have a home to maintain. My basement now has organization. BEST OF ALL MADE IN THE USA.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sterilite 5-Gallon (20-Quart) Storage Box, Set of 6

Great for Getting Organized

06/23/2009
By ,
centralia, mo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These totes are really great for organizing a room. They are a little smaller than what I had expected. Since they are clear, I can store things in them and be able to see into them and find what I am looking for without digging in the box. I would recommend this for anyone looking for something to store items in.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 58 total reviews
1 2 3 Next