Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sterilite Sterilite 5 Shelf Unit- Light Platinum

Sterilite Sterilite 5 Shelf Unit- Light Platinum

If you are looking for a better way to organize your home or office, this Sterilite 5-Shelf Shelving Unit might just be what you need. This simple organization solution helps store your gardening supplies or arrange your garage, play room or attic. Designed for heavy-duty use, the light platinum Sterilite shelving unit can be used to keep liquid containers, potting soil or backyard supplies. At the office, it can hold boxes of paperwork and other office supplies and small equipment. The shelves on this plastic shelving unit are ventilated to keep things dry, reduce odor and prevent the formation of mold and mildew. Made with a rugged tubular construction, this unit is strong and durable enough to last for years. It is easy to put together and can be assembled in a few minutes without the use of tools.
Average Customer Rating:
4.823 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(739 Reviews) 662
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
628
4 stars
98
3 stars
9
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation99%730 out of 737reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
62 Questions | 385 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
628
4 stars
98
3 stars
9
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sterilite 5 Shelf Unit- Light Platinum

This is an excellent product!

04/21/2011
By ,
Fort Worth, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Like usual, I read other customer's reviews about these shelving units before ordering a few for myself. And believe me, I can understand now why people are so pleased with them. Working in the field of engineering, I know good, quality design work when I see it - and these units are an excellent product!! With each shelf capable of holding 150 pounds, that's a 750 pound capacity per unit. WOW!!
They're easy to assemble and exceptionally sturdy. I too though would recommend that you use a rubber mallet to make sure they're secure.
I bought three of these units for our utility/store room, and will definitely order more if we're ever in need of more storage space.
If you're in need of good storage shelves, look no further... You've found them!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+75points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sterilite 5 Shelf Unit- Light Platinum

Great Multipurpose Shelving Unit

02/01/2013
By ,
Smyrna, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a 5 person family and we live in an apartment with very little kitchen cabinet space, so my counters were cluttered with extra appliances (toaster oven, coffee maker, crockpot etc...) and boxes of snacks and cereal. I bought this because the price was low and there were tons of reviews and most seemed to be in love with it. It isn't as sturdy as metal, but the poles interlock all the way up as you put it together, which makes it very sturdy for thick plastic. It was super easy to put together and it only took 5-10 minutes. We keep our small appliances on it, the big boxes of snacks and cereal that we get from Costco and there is still so much room for more. We love it so much that after we buy our house we will just move this shelving unit into the garage. We love it and for the price you really can't beat it. I would totally recommend to anyone.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sterilite 5 Shelf Unit- Light Platinum

Sturdy shelving!!

02/20/2014
By ,
Panama City Beach, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Super fast delivery - very easy to put together (did have to tap in slightly with a hammer) just to make sure.... My use for these shelves was to make a kitchen island bar and still have storage. Just need to add a countertop and I'll be all set. Two shelves are perfect height for a kitchen bar.. Included a picture of (3 two shelf units set up side by side. This would have made the bar 9 feet long (maybe too long) Took one shelf away and will be using it for a tv stand with storage for the bedroom. So I now have a 6 ft. long bar base and will be using an 8 ft. countertop - will have enough hang-over on the ends, as well. Will try and post more pictures once I have my set-up complete. Very sturdy and looks good.... and a GREAT DEAL!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sterilite 5 Shelf Unit- Light Platinum

Good Value

02/07/2011
By ,
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value for the price. Pretty sturdy. I store about 300 folded t-shirts on mine.
Assembled, this thing is about 6 feet tall - just keep that in mind...items on the top shelf may require a step stool.
Wish it came in black.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sterilite 5 Shelf Unit- Light Platinum

Awesome for my indoor stockpile

06/14/2011
By ,
Roxboro NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this for my indoor stockpile after researching and shopping around awhile. I chose this one because it's a great value for the money and MUCH cheaper than anything at my local hardware store. Shipping from Walmart was fast and setup was a breeze, took about 5 minutes. I have this shelf loaded with various items from household goods & cleaners to groceries and soft drinks. It is nice and sturdy and I am actually thinking of buying another.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sterilite 5 Shelf Unit- Light Platinum

Big gray shelf

02/03/2010
By ,
North Dakota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to go in my daughters walk in closet. We found rubbermaid storage tubs at Wal-Mart to fit on these shelves perfectly. Her toys are now neatly stored and not all over her room. I especially like the deep shelves and sturdiness of this unit. It was super-easy to put together. No tools required! Just a little muscle to push the legs into the shelves. It is not something I would leave sitting out in her room, as it is a big gray plastic shelving unit and not that attractive, but it certainly does the job in a closet or garage.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+68points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
what size were the rubbermaid storage tubs?
Posted 09/12/2014
Where they 18 gallons? or more? I'd like to know how many fit so I can purchase online. thanks!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Sterilite 5 Shelf Unit- Light Platinum

These are the shelves that are and do as advertise

07/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the other 5 shelf --- what a mistake-just the color toupe was wrong. These shelves went together perfectly. Stood up straight and level. No stress cracks no cracking noises going together and no having to trim ,scrape,or file to make them fit.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sterilite 5 Shelf Unit- Light Platinum

So good...I bought 2 more

07/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These are excellent shelves. I expect them to do well inside. I had previously bought another brand, and they are nothing in comparison, and have "warped." These Sterlite ones are good and sturdy. As soon as I finish this, I am off to buy 2 more!
Do not hesitate to purchase this shelf.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sterilite 5 Shelf Unit- Light Platinum

Exactly as expected

04/16/2012
By ,
Washington, D.C.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This shelf was a "snap" to put together - even my husband didn't complain and he really dislikes anything with assembly required. It's very sturdy and fits perfectly in our utility room. I think the product was a great value but the store -to-store shipping became a bit of a hassle during pick up. There aren't any special features as it's a shelf but I counted easy assembly as a feature.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sterilite 5 Shelf Unit- Light Platinum

Very sturdy for low price.

07/03/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have tons of stuff on the shelves and they aren't bending at all. They are very sturdy which was unexpected for the price. Great buy.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sterilite 5 Shelf Unit- Light Platinum

very sturdy!

06/15/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best plastic unit I've ever purchased. I mainly bought it for the 'drainage/air' holes in the shelves as I would have plants on part of it.i and load allowance. I separated it into two units - one 3 tier and 1 two tier and they both look wonderful on my back screened porch. However, considering the sturdiness or the unit it I believe it would function fine as 5 shelf unit too. Considering another for storage room - weight allowance is terrific.
Not flimsy like some I've had from Sterlite and others.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sterilite 5 Shelf Unit- Light Platinum

Sterilite shelves

05/23/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Nice looking shelves and easy to put together. They have weight issues. They do not like to hold heavy (50) pounds on shelf. I already see stress marks and sagging of shelves.
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sterilite 5 Shelf Unit- Light Platinum

Great Shelves

06/29/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Delivered on time, in one box. Totally easy to put together and sturdy once assembled! Holds a lot of heavy garage "junk". Couldn't ask for more!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sterilite 5 Shelf Unit- Light Platinum

SUPER Great & Not Expensive

06/22/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SUMMARY: This is EASY to Set-up; STURDY 5-level structure; ATTRACTIVE plastic materials; and HOLDS Lots of STUFF !!!
Great for garage and other storage areas. I'm completely satisfied and happy with this purchase. I've recommended it to other family members.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sterilite 5 Shelf Unit- Light Platinum

Sturdy and looks good.

06/22/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great shelves. I bought 2 for a work area and then purchased 3 more. 2 are in garage and I'm planning on purchasing more as we organize garage. At 39.99 they are a smart purchase. The shipment was very quick.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sterilite 5 Shelf Unit- Light Platinum

Sturdy, easy

06/20/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These shelves are simple to put together, sturdy, look good in the garage. I'd buy them again in a heartbeat.
Assembly took me less than 15 minutes. I'd definitely recommend using a rubber mallet to ensure the legs/shelves are seated properly.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sterilite 5 Shelf Unit- Light Platinum

Simple and Sturdy

06/19/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These are the same set of shelves I purchased years ago and they have worked well for me. Easy set up, easy to clean, and sturdy for use. Very practical and adaptable for home storage.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sterilite 5 Shelf Unit- Light Platinum

Great storage and sturdy

06/11/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First of all this is so easy to put together, you don't really need instructions at all, look at the picture, put your common sense to work and wholla, done. I bought one of these years ago, but have accumulated more stuff, paint, tools, crates of Christmas decorations, birthday decorations, old magazines...etc. Here's the good news everything fits and holds and is easy to get to and see. This works in the garage, gets stuff off the floor and into sturdy storage.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sterilite 5 Shelf Unit- Light Platinum

Shelving

06/20/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love love this shelving. Very sturdy. More than I expected!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sterilite 5 Shelf Unit- Light Platinum

Evaluation

06/20/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No tools, easy assembly, fair price. Will order more.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 631 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  32 Next