Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sterilite Sterilite 5 Shelf Unit- Light Platinum

Sterilite Sterilite 5 Shelf Unit- Light Platinum

If you are looking for a better way to organize your home or office, this Sterilite 5-Shelf Shelving Unit might just be what you need. This simple organization solution helps store your gardening supplies or arrange your garage, play room or attic. Designed for heavy-duty use, the light platinum Sterilite shelving unit can be used to keep liquid containers, potting soil or backyard supplies. At the office, it can hold boxes of paperwork and other office supplies and small equipment. The shelves on this plastic shelving unit are ventilated to keep things dry, reduce odor and prevent the formation of mold and mildew. Made with a rugged tubular construction, this unit is strong and durable enough to last for years. It is easy to put together and can be assembled in a few minutes without the use of tools.
Average Customer Rating:
4.834 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(643 Reviews) 567
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
549
4 stars
86
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation99%637 out of 641reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
57 Questions | 369 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
549
4 stars
86
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sterilite 5 Shelf Unit- Light Platinum

Great Multipurpose Shelving Unit

02/01/2013
By ,
Smyrna, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a 5 person family and we live in an apartment with very little kitchen cabinet space, so my counters were cluttered with extra appliances (toaster oven, coffee maker, crockpot etc...) and boxes of snacks and cereal. I bought this because the price was low and there were tons of reviews and most seemed to be in love with it. It isn't as sturdy as metal, but the poles interlock all the way up as you put it together, which makes it very sturdy for thick plastic. It was super easy to put together and it only took 5-10 minutes. We keep our small appliances on it, the big boxes of snacks and cereal that we get from Costco and there is still so much room for more. We love it so much that after we buy our house we will just move this shelving unit into the garage. We love it and for the price you really can't beat it. I would totally recommend to anyone.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sterilite 5 Shelf Unit- Light Platinum

This is an excellent product!

04/21/2011
By ,
Fort Worth, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Like usual, I read other customer's reviews about these shelving units before ordering a few for myself. And believe me, I can understand now why people are so pleased with them. Working in the field of engineering, I know good, quality design work when I see it - and these units are an excellent product!! With each shelf capable of holding 150 pounds, that's a 750 pound capacity per unit. WOW!!
They're easy to assemble and exceptionally sturdy. I too though would recommend that you use a rubber mallet to make sure they're secure.
I bought three of these units for our utility/store room, and will definitely order more if we're ever in need of more storage space.
If you're in need of good storage shelves, look no further... You've found them!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sterilite 5 Shelf Unit- Light Platinum

These are the shelves that are and do as advertise

07/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the other 5 shelf --- what a mistake-just the color toupe was wrong. These shelves went together perfectly. Stood up straight and level. No stress cracks no cracking noises going together and no having to trim ,scrape,or file to make them fit.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sterilite 5 Shelf Unit- Light Platinum

Sturdy shelving!!

02/20/2014
By ,
Panama City Beach, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Super fast delivery - very easy to put together (did have to tap in slightly with a hammer) just to make sure.... My use for these shelves was to make a kitchen island bar and still have storage. Just need to add a countertop and I'll be all set. Two shelves are perfect height for a kitchen bar.. Included a picture of (3 two shelf units set up side by side. This would have made the bar 9 feet long (maybe too long) Took one shelf away and will be using it for a tv stand with storage for the bedroom. So I now have a 6 ft. long bar base and will be using an 8 ft. countertop - will have enough hang-over on the ends, as well. Will try and post more pictures once I have my set-up complete. Very sturdy and looks good.... and a GREAT DEAL!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sterilite 5 Shelf Unit- Light Platinum

Big gray shelf

02/03/2010
By ,
North Dakota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to go in my daughters walk in closet. We found rubbermaid storage tubs at Wal-Mart to fit on these shelves perfectly. Her toys are now neatly stored and not all over her room. I especially like the deep shelves and sturdiness of this unit. It was super-easy to put together. No tools required! Just a little muscle to push the legs into the shelves. It is not something I would leave sitting out in her room, as it is a big gray plastic shelving unit and not that attractive, but it certainly does the job in a closet or garage.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+68points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
what size were the rubbermaid storage tubs?
Posted 09/12/2014
Where they 18 gallons? or more? I'd like to know how many fit so I can purchase online. thanks!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Sterilite 5 Shelf Unit- Light Platinum

Good Value

02/07/2011
By ,
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value for the price. Pretty sturdy. I store about 300 folded t-shirts on mine.
Assembled, this thing is about 6 feet tall - just keep that in mind...items on the top shelf may require a step stool.
Wish it came in black.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sterilite 5 Shelf Unit- Light Platinum

Awesome for my indoor stockpile

06/14/2011
By ,
Roxboro NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this for my indoor stockpile after researching and shopping around awhile. I chose this one because it's a great value for the money and MUCH cheaper than anything at my local hardware store. Shipping from Walmart was fast and setup was a breeze, took about 5 minutes. I have this shelf loaded with various items from household goods & cleaners to groceries and soft drinks. It is nice and sturdy and I am actually thinking of buying another.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sterilite 5 Shelf Unit- Light Platinum

So good...I bought 2 more

07/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These are excellent shelves. I expect them to do well inside. I had previously bought another brand, and they are nothing in comparison, and have "warped." These Sterlite ones are good and sturdy. As soon as I finish this, I am off to buy 2 more!
Do not hesitate to purchase this shelf.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sterilite 5 Shelf Unit- Light Platinum

Exactly as expected

04/16/2012
By ,
Washington, D.C.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This shelf was a "snap" to put together - even my husband didn't complain and he really dislikes anything with assembly required. It's very sturdy and fits perfectly in our utility room. I think the product was a great value but the store -to-store shipping became a bit of a hassle during pick up. There aren't any special features as it's a shelf but I counted easy assembly as a feature.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sterilite 5 Shelf Unit- Light Platinum

Very sturdy for low price.

07/03/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have tons of stuff on the shelves and they aren't bending at all. They are very sturdy which was unexpected for the price. Great buy.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sterilite 5 Shelf Unit- Light Platinum

Excellent shelf - Excellent customer service

11/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered 4 sets of these shelves, but only received 2. I called customer service and spoke with a wonderful customer service rep named Tiair (I apoloize if I mispelld your name). She was so helpful and polite, and re-ordered the 2 remaining shelves for me. What a wonderful person to speak with. She welcomed my call and didn't have an attitude, as if I had bothered her. I even spoke with her manager to tell her how helpful and polite Tiair was. A very sweet young lady.
Now as far as the shelves go, they are easy to assemble and are very well built. I just moved into a new home, and needed them for extra storage. You can't go wrong and I think they are priced just right. Not too expensive. Thank you Walmart for stocking these shelves. It is so easy to order on line and you saved me from going out and having to load these into my car, then haul them into the house. I love the convenience of shopping with you on line. "MERRY CHRISTMAS" to everyone at Walmart.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sterilite 5 Shelf Unit- Light Platinum

Great Shelving Unit

11/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just received a few days ago and already put it together and put stuff on it. It was so easy to do, just make sure you put the legs in right and give it a little tap with a hammer and thats all there is to it. The shelves lay on top as you go up. I did find the top shelf when laid on, was somewhat loose but when tapped in with hammer was ok. I like this and may buy another one, its a whole lot easier than going to Home Depot, buying the shelving holders and lumber to put on them. I thought I might have to drill a hole in about midway up on legs to screw into garage wall to make sure it didn't tip over, but it was so steady and after I placed my stuff on it, it didn't move so no need to do that. Easy and great shelves for me and I'm a 70 female. If I can do it, you can. It did take a while to get, must have come from upstate or something seemed like over a week to get. But all is great now. Thanks Walmart for another great product.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sterilite 5 Shelf Unit- Light Platinum

Tall But Sturdy

11/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Big, thick, and heavy. Perfect for storage in my garage.
Tip: Use a mallet or something similar to pound in the support legs before you put each shelf on. I didn't do that on the first one and regretted it instantly. Did it on the second one and STILL didn't have every leg seated all the way. Some were; some weren't. So take your time. Don't try to assemble it 5 seconds like I did.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sterilite 5 Shelf Unit- Light Platinum

very sturdy, great unit

11/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We put this in our walk-in closet and it is great. Very sturdy and great large openings. Tip: Use a rubber mallet to put the legs in all the way. You have to really push and get some leverage on those!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sterilite 5 Shelf Unit- Light Platinum

Storage Made Easy?

11/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Arrived with packaging protecting our purchase. Easy to assemble, sturdy and ample shelf space. We have used them in our garage. No need to worry about holding tools, toys or stuff.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sterilite 5 Shelf Unit- Light Platinum

Top shelf product

12/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sturdy, roomy, and inexpensive. So easy to assemble. No tools required. Can be shortened if desired. Excellent customer service by manufacturer.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sterilite 5 Shelf Unit- Light Platinum

Heavy duty storage made for a woman.

12/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This storage shelving is lightweight enough for a woman to transport but heavy duty enough to hold lots of weight. A fantastic way to get organized without breaking your back or your budget!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sterilite 5 Shelf Unit- Light Platinum

Good shelf for the money

12/11/2014
By ,
chicago, il
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have purchased three of these shelves. They are practical and worth the money. Easy to assemble and no tools are needed.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sterilite 5 Shelf Unit- Light Platinum

Sterilite 5 Shelf Unit- Light Platinum

12/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product and easy to put together in a few minutes. I would definitely buy more of these.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sterilite 5 Shelf Unit- Light Platinum

Well worth the money

12/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to assemble, sturdy and accommodates a large amount of items.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 538 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  27 Next