Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sterilite Sterilite 5 Shelf Unit- Light Platinum

Sterilite Sterilite 5 Shelf Unit- Light Platinum

If you are looking for a better way to organize your home or office, this Sterilite 5-Shelf Shelving Unit might just be what you need. This simple organization solution helps store your gardening supplies or arrange your garage, play room or attic. Designed for heavy-duty use, the light platinum Sterilite shelving unit can be used to keep liquid containers, potting soil or backyard supplies. At the office, it can hold boxes of paperwork and other office supplies and small equipment. The shelves on this plastic shelving unit are ventilated to keep things dry, reduce odor and prevent the formation of mold and mildew. Made with a rugged tubular construction, this unit is strong and durable enough to last for years. It is easy to put together and can be assembled in a few minutes without the use of tools.
Average Customer Rating:
4.835 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(612 Reviews) 536
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
521
4 stars
84
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation99%606 out of 610reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
52 Questions | 352 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
521
4 stars
84
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sterilite 5 Shelf Unit- Light Platinum

Great Multipurpose Shelving Unit

02/01/2013
By ,
Smyrna, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a 5 person family and we live in an apartment with very little kitchen cabinet space, so my counters were cluttered with extra appliances (toaster oven, coffee maker, crockpot etc...) and boxes of snacks and cereal. I bought this because the price was low and there were tons of reviews and most seemed to be in love with it. It isn't as sturdy as metal, but the poles interlock all the way up as you put it together, which makes it very sturdy for thick plastic. It was super easy to put together and it only took 5-10 minutes. We keep our small appliances on it, the big boxes of snacks and cereal that we get from Costco and there is still so much room for more. We love it so much that after we buy our house we will just move this shelving unit into the garage. We love it and for the price you really can't beat it. I would totally recommend to anyone.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sterilite 5 Shelf Unit- Light Platinum

These are the shelves that are and do as advertise

07/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the other 5 shelf --- what a mistake-just the color toupe was wrong. These shelves went together perfectly. Stood up straight and level. No stress cracks no cracking noises going together and no having to trim ,scrape,or file to make them fit.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sterilite 5 Shelf Unit- Light Platinum

This is an excellent product!

04/21/2011
By ,
Fort Worth, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Like usual, I read other customer's reviews about these shelving units before ordering a few for myself. And believe me, I can understand now why people are so pleased with them. Working in the field of engineering, I know good, quality design work when I see it - and these units are an excellent product!! With each shelf capable of holding 150 pounds, that's a 750 pound capacity per unit. WOW!!
They're easy to assemble and exceptionally sturdy. I too though would recommend that you use a rubber mallet to make sure they're secure.
I bought three of these units for our utility/store room, and will definitely order more if we're ever in need of more storage space.
If you're in need of good storage shelves, look no further... You've found them!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sterilite 5 Shelf Unit- Light Platinum

Sturdy shelving!!

02/20/2014
By ,
Panama City Beach, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Super fast delivery - very easy to put together (did have to tap in slightly with a hammer) just to make sure.... My use for these shelves was to make a kitchen island bar and still have storage. Just need to add a countertop and I'll be all set. Two shelves are perfect height for a kitchen bar.. Included a picture of (3 two shelf units set up side by side. This would have made the bar 9 feet long (maybe too long) Took one shelf away and will be using it for a tv stand with storage for the bedroom. So I now have a 6 ft. long bar base and will be using an 8 ft. countertop - will have enough hang-over on the ends, as well. Will try and post more pictures once I have my set-up complete. Very sturdy and looks good.... and a GREAT DEAL!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sterilite 5 Shelf Unit- Light Platinum

Big gray shelf

02/03/2010
By ,
North Dakota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to go in my daughters walk in closet. We found rubbermaid storage tubs at Wal-Mart to fit on these shelves perfectly. Her toys are now neatly stored and not all over her room. I especially like the deep shelves and sturdiness of this unit. It was super-easy to put together. No tools required! Just a little muscle to push the legs into the shelves. It is not something I would leave sitting out in her room, as it is a big gray plastic shelving unit and not that attractive, but it certainly does the job in a closet or garage.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+64points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
what size were the rubbermaid storage tubs?
Posted 09/12/2014
Where they 18 gallons? or more? I'd like to know how many fit so I can purchase online. thanks!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Sterilite 5 Shelf Unit- Light Platinum

So good...I bought 2 more

07/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These are excellent shelves. I expect them to do well inside. I had previously bought another brand, and they are nothing in comparison, and have "warped." These Sterlite ones are good and sturdy. As soon as I finish this, I am off to buy 2 more!
Do not hesitate to purchase this shelf.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sterilite 5 Shelf Unit- Light Platinum

Awesome for my indoor stockpile

06/14/2011
By ,
Roxboro NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this for my indoor stockpile after researching and shopping around awhile. I chose this one because it's a great value for the money and MUCH cheaper than anything at my local hardware store. Shipping from Walmart was fast and setup was a breeze, took about 5 minutes. I have this shelf loaded with various items from household goods & cleaners to groceries and soft drinks. It is nice and sturdy and I am actually thinking of buying another.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sterilite 5 Shelf Unit- Light Platinum

Good Value

02/07/2011
By ,
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value for the price. Pretty sturdy. I store about 300 folded t-shirts on mine.
Assembled, this thing is about 6 feet tall - just keep that in mind...items on the top shelf may require a step stool.
Wish it came in black.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sterilite 5 Shelf Unit- Light Platinum

Exactly as expected

04/16/2012
By ,
Washington, D.C.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This shelf was a "snap" to put together - even my husband didn't complain and he really dislikes anything with assembly required. It's very sturdy and fits perfectly in our utility room. I think the product was a great value but the store -to-store shipping became a bit of a hassle during pick up. There aren't any special features as it's a shelf but I counted easy assembly as a feature.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sterilite 5 Shelf Unit- Light Platinum

Very sturdy for low price.

07/03/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have tons of stuff on the shelves and they aren't bending at all. They are very sturdy which was unexpected for the price. Great buy.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sterilite 5 Shelf Unit- Light Platinum

Great value for the money

10/23/2014
By ,
Flemington, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This storage rack is a great value for the money. It is sturdy and unbelievably easy to assemble. It doesn't look very attractive as furniture. It looks like it belongs in a warehouse. However, it serves it's purpose well as a storage rack.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sterilite 5 Shelf Unit- Light Platinum

Great product!

10/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great product and couldn't be easier to assemble and move into place.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sterilite 5 Shelf Unit- Light Platinum

Great Storage Shelves

10/07/2014
By ,
San Rafael, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product was as easy to assemble as stated. The only tool we used was a rubber mallet to get a tighter fit. The shelves are strong, and the unit looks good. The only drawback for me is that our garage floor isn't level, so the shelves were not level. We had to put shims under the front to correct that. It would be great if it had those leveling "feet" on the bottom that could be adjusted to the floor surface. At this price, though, I wouldn't expect that.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sterilite 5 Shelf Unit- Light Platinum

perfect

09/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is a great unit....holds 150 per shelf...and I believe it...they don't flex,its sturdy,,shelves are ventilated....and a great spacesaver...goes together in like 3 mins...ive stocked 3 air conditioners on one unit..no problem
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sterilite 5 Shelf Unit- Light Platinum

solid

07/07/2009
By ,
Northeastern, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very sturdy shelf. Easy to put together. All the pieces fit nicely. Would definitely buy another if I need to. Don't go with cheaper models if you want strength and reliability!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+94points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sterilite 5 Shelf Unit- Light Platinum

Best Shelving I ever bought.. I love them....

04/17/2013
By ,
Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased these shelving units yesterday. I really love them and plan on purchasing three to four more. I used them in my new pantry to hold my canned goods, they were easy to put together and light weight. I bought the grey ones and boy they look nice in the room I placed them in. These shelving units organized that room oh so nicely were I know what I have and what I don’t.
It’s about time they make sturdy shelving units. I didn’t use the smaller pieces at all just the shelves and the longer pieces and it sits nice and flat on the floor. One thing I did have to do to make sure was the posts on all four corners were in good.
I took a hammer on its side then tapped one time around the four corners to snap the posts in. They are sitting flat on the floor and they hold a lot of items. I wish my Wal-Mart would have had more. I will keep checking back. I need four more to complete the room and to finish stocking shelves into a pantry. I really love these shelving units. I also love the interlocking sides were you can put them together to save space. Don’t stop making these.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sterilite 5 Shelf Unit- Light Platinum

Good product. Great price. Easy setup!

10/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my shelving unit! It was exactly what I wanted. Easy setup and for a great price. I am now planning on getting a second one for another area of my home so as to store items neatly. P.S. my cats love lying on the shelving also!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sterilite 5 Shelf Unit- Light Platinum

Great shelves

11/01/2008
By ,
Shippensburg, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This shelving unit is well worth its price. It goes together easily and is very sturdy and looks good. The only thing you have to watch is that you get the legs seated the whole way. I would recommend using a level and check it from side to side and front to back on each shelf as you stack them. A darn good buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sterilite 5 Shelf Unit- Light Platinum

These shelves are terrific

08/26/2014
By ,
Chattanooga, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed to neaten up my garage, including some shelves. Checked on line, saw these, and all the good reviews. Price was right, delivered without problem, and sooo easy to put together: took maybe 5 minutes. Look good, shelf space is tall enough to handle everything, and I'm really pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sterilite 5 Shelf Unit- Light Platinum

Plastic storage racks

06/18/2014
By ,
Arvada, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: Racks assemble very easily. I live in Florida with high humidity, so the plastic won't rust as a metal rack might. Amount of space - five shelves is good. The appearance of these racks is fairly innocuous - i.e. they look just okay in a garage - maybe not as pleasing as a metal rack, but not too cheap looking either. They hold the load which is my case varies between about 40 to 100 pounds per shelf without flexing - at least so far - I have had them about a week.
Cons: Racks are not as stable even with loads on the shelves as I would have thought. Not terribly bad, but they will flex and move a bit when bumped or when taking things off or putting things on the shelfs.
Bottom Line: For the price - these racks are an exceptional value especially if one is concerned about high humidity, ease of assembly, and practicality. A quick way to get some vertical storage space and get at the stuff you need more easily.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 508 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  26 Next