Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sterilite Sterilite 5-Shelf Shelving Unit, Light Platinum

Sterilite Sterilite 5-Shelf Shelving Unit, Light Platinum

The Sterilite 5-Shelf Shelving Unit in Light Platinum helps store your gardening supplies or organize the clutter in your garage, playroom or attic. Designed for heavy-duty usage, this shelving unit can be used to store liquid containers, potting soil, utility or garden supplies. The shelves are ventilated to keep things dry, reduce odor, and prevent mildew. Made with a rugged tubular construction, this outdoor shelving unit is strong and durable to last for a long time. It is easy to put together and can be assembled in a few minutes without the use of tools. These heavy-duty plastic shelves help keep everything in one place for easy access and better organization.
Average Customer Rating:
4.829 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(520 Reviews) 444
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
443
4 stars
70
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation99%514 out of 518reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
47 Questions | 311 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
443
4 stars
70
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sterilite 5-Shelf Shelving Unit, Light Platinum

Sturdy shelving!!

02/20/2014
By ,
Panama City Beach, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Super fast delivery - very easy to put together (did have to tap in slightly with a hammer) just to make sure.... My use for these shelves was to make a kitchen island bar and still have storage. Just need to add a countertop and I'll be all set. Two shelves are perfect height for a kitchen bar.. Included a picture of (3 two shelf units set up side by side. This would have made the bar 9 feet long (maybe too long) Took one shelf away and will be using it for a tv stand with storage for the bedroom. So I now have a 6 ft. long bar base and will be using an 8 ft. countertop - will have enough hang-over on the ends, as well. Will try and post more pictures once I have my set-up complete. Very sturdy and looks good.... and a GREAT DEAL!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sterilite 5-Shelf Shelving Unit, Light Platinum

This is an excellent product!

04/21/2011
By ,
Fort Worth, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Like usual, I read other customer's reviews about these shelving units before ordering a few for myself. And believe me, I can understand now why people are so pleased with them. Working in the field of engineering, I know good, quality design work when I see it - and these units are an excellent product!! With each shelf capable of holding 150 pounds, that's a 750 pound capacity per unit. WOW!!
They're easy to assemble and exceptionally sturdy. I too though would recommend that you use a rubber mallet to make sure they're secure.
I bought three of these units for our utility/store room, and will definitely order more if we're ever in need of more storage space.
If you're in need of good storage shelves, look no further... You've found them!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sterilite 5-Shelf Shelving Unit, Light Platinum

Big gray shelf

02/03/2010
By ,
North Dakota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to go in my daughters walk in closet. We found rubbermaid storage tubs at Wal-Mart to fit on these shelves perfectly. Her toys are now neatly stored and not all over her room. I especially like the deep shelves and sturdiness of this unit. It was super-easy to put together. No tools required! Just a little muscle to push the legs into the shelves. It is not something I would leave sitting out in her room, as it is a big gray plastic shelving unit and not that attractive, but it certainly does the job in a closet or garage.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+59points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sterilite 5-Shelf Shelving Unit, Light Platinum

Great Multipurpose Shelving Unit

02/01/2013
By ,
Smyrna, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a 5 person family and we live in an apartment with very little kitchen cabinet space, so my counters were cluttered with extra appliances (toaster oven, coffee maker, crockpot etc...) and boxes of snacks and cereal. I bought this because the price was low and there were tons of reviews and most seemed to be in love with it. It isn't as sturdy as metal, but the poles interlock all the way up as you put it together, which makes it very sturdy for thick plastic. It was super easy to put together and it only took 5-10 minutes. We keep our small appliances on it, the big boxes of snacks and cereal that we get from Costco and there is still so much room for more. We love it so much that after we buy our house we will just move this shelving unit into the garage. We love it and for the price you really can't beat it. I would totally recommend to anyone.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sterilite 5-Shelf Shelving Unit, Light Platinum

Good Value

02/07/2011
By ,
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value for the price. Pretty sturdy. I store about 300 folded t-shirts on mine.
Assembled, this thing is about 6 feet tall - just keep that in mind...items on the top shelf may require a step stool.
Wish it came in black.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sterilite 5-Shelf Shelving Unit, Light Platinum

Awesome for my indoor stockpile

06/14/2011
By ,
Roxboro NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this for my indoor stockpile after researching and shopping around awhile. I chose this one because it's a great value for the money and MUCH cheaper than anything at my local hardware store. Shipping from Walmart was fast and setup was a breeze, took about 5 minutes. I have this shelf loaded with various items from household goods & cleaners to groceries and soft drinks. It is nice and sturdy and I am actually thinking of buying another.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sterilite 5-Shelf Shelving Unit, Light Platinum

Exactly as expected

04/16/2012
By ,
Washington, D.C.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This shelf was a "snap" to put together - even my husband didn't complain and he really dislikes anything with assembly required. It's very sturdy and fits perfectly in our utility room. I think the product was a great value but the store -to-store shipping became a bit of a hassle during pick up. There aren't any special features as it's a shelf but I counted easy assembly as a feature.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sterilite 5-Shelf Shelving Unit, Light Platinum

Very sturdy for low price.

07/03/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have tons of stuff on the shelves and they aren't bending at all. They are very sturdy which was unexpected for the price. Great buy.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sterilite 5-Shelf Shelving Unit, Light Platinum

Easy to set-up, good value, great quality

04/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have purchased this Sterlite Shelving unit in the past from local stores. However, it is not now carried by those stores. Lowes and Home Depot did not carry it and the ones they had good poor reviews and appeared to be of poor quality. I am happy to say that this Sterlite unit continues to of good quality and sturdy. Walmart had the best price. There is a wide range of prices on Amazon and other sites for this unit, so it pays to shop around.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sterilite 5-Shelf Shelving Unit, Light Platinum

Great Value

04/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Value. Easy to put together, very sturdy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sterilite 5-Shelf Shelving Unit, Light Platinum

Made in USA-YES!

04/14/2014
By ,
West Bloomfield, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had many sets of this particular shelving unit. I love them. Our originals are over 10 years old-have not developed "sway" or any warping. They are durable and easy to assemble, disassemble and re-assemble. I will continue to buy this particular item for my shelving needs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sterilite 5-Shelf Shelving Unit, Light Platinum

Jaziray

04/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very satisfied with product. Description of product is accurate. Value is great. Shipped without any damages. Will purchase again if I need more.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sterilite 5-Shelf Shelving Unit, Light Platinum

sturdy shelving

04/09/2014
By ,
Rhode Island
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sturdy shelving to hold your items. Best if heavier items are placed on the bottom shelves for added security. Assembly is fairly easy to do but it is best to use a rubber hammer to tap in the legs for each section. Overall this shelving unit works well and is worth the price paid for it. I would recommend this item.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sterilite 5-Shelf Shelving Unit, Light Platinum

Just what I needed to organize my garage

04/03/2014
By ,
Greenwood,AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought three of these and couldn't believe how much space 9' of this shelving unit has. Thirty minutes after they arrived I had all three assembled and was ready to clear a wall to arrange them. They are surprisingly strong placing the heaviest items on the bottom to stabilize the unit. The only tool I used to put them together was a rubber mallet. Now my wife is happier that she has more room to park and items are easier for me to locate. The garage has never looked better-good bonus!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sterilite 5-Shelf Shelving Unit, Light Platinum

Best Shelving I ever bought.. I love them....

04/17/2013
By ,
Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased these shelving units yesterday. I really love them and plan on purchasing three to four more. I used them in my new pantry to hold my canned goods, they were easy to put together and light weight. I bought the grey ones and boy they look nice in the room I placed them in. These shelving units organized that room oh so nicely were I know what I have and what I don’t.
It’s about time they make sturdy shelving units. I didn’t use the smaller pieces at all just the shelves and the longer pieces and it sits nice and flat on the floor. One thing I did have to do to make sure was the posts on all four corners were in good.
I took a hammer on its side then tapped one time around the four corners to snap the posts in. They are sitting flat on the floor and they hold a lot of items. I wish my Wal-Mart would have had more. I will keep checking back. I need four more to complete the room and to finish stocking shelves into a pantry. I really love these shelving units. I also love the interlocking sides were you can put them together to save space. Don’t stop making these.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sterilite 5-Shelf Shelving Unit, Light Platinum

Perfect shelf storage unit for my needs.

04/08/2014
By ,
San Francisco
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was surprised at how sturdy this unit is. Extremely easy to put together and fits perfectly into the space I wanted it in. I'm getting second one. Good to have because it is so portable and strong.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sterilite 5-Shelf Shelving Unit, Light Platinum

GREAT VALUE!!

04/09/2014
By ,
MIDDLETOWN, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I BOUGHT THESE SHELVES TO ORGANIZE MY GARAGE. THEY WORK GREAT AND ARE DURABLE! REALLY MADE MY GARAGE LOOK CLEANER AND MORE SPACIOUS! WOULD DEFINITELY RECOMMEND.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sterilite 5-Shelf Shelving Unit, Light Platinum

Good value !

04/09/2014
By ,
Rockingham , NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Went together easy enough . Used a small hammer to urge it along . Used a level to check the finished shelves. Perfect !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sterilite 5-Shelf Shelving Unit, Light Platinum

Solid shelves

04/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have bought previously, sturdy, clean appearance. Easy to assemble.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sterilite 5-Shelf Shelving Unit, Light Platinum

solid

07/07/2009
By ,
Northeastern, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very sturdy shelf. Easy to put together. All the pieces fit nicely. Would definitely buy another if I need to. Don't go with cheaper models if you want strength and reliability!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+94points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 424 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  22 Next