Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Yard-Man Yard-Man Push Lawn Mower

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Yard-Man Yard-Man Push Lawn Mower

 
Average Customer Rating:
3.688 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation69%11 out of 16reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Yard-Man Push Lawn Mower

Totally bad mower

05/04/2008
By ,
Sedalia, MO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had this mower for 2 1/2 years and the mower has been repaired 2 times and needed a new blade after a year and a half. Now the motor has broke off the deck. For $208.00 it should have lasted longer.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
-3points
Review 2 for Yard-Man Push Lawn Mower

GREAT Product - GREAT Price

05/03/2008
By ,
Florence, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I checked several mowers and the Honda motor was a definite requirement. The mower is of very sturdy construction and excellent quality. It started the first time and has each time since. The cut is fantastic and the mulch feature works so well that I don't have a need for the side discharge chute or rear bagger. It is fairly lightweight and easy to handle. I have a heavy, thick lawn and it makes very short work of it and cuts evenly and the motor never even acts like it is under any additional strain. A great mower and value. Fantasitc for smaller to mid size yards.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Review 3 for Yard-Man Push Lawn Mower

Dissapointed in mower.

07/08/2008
By ,
Laurel, Md.
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this product because of the Honda overhead cam engine. It was out of stock in 3 Wal-Marts before I finally found it. It took a couple of tries to start the engine. When it started it ran for about 5 minutes and then started idling up and down and then stalled. After several tries it started again and ran for a few minutes and then idled up and down until it stalled. I called the manufacturer and they told me to check the spark plug wire. It was loose but after fixing it and restarting the mower I had the same problem. I called the manufacturer again and they said to take off the fuel line and see if anything was blocking it from when it was manufactured. I did not remove the fuel line - I felt I should not have to disassemble parts of a new lawn mower so I
returned it. Another complaint was the automatic choke. You had to be quick in starting the mower before the choke reset. When it ran it was the smoothest running mower I've ever owned. I will probably go back to the conventional Briggs & Stratton powered mower.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Review 4 for Yard-Man Push Lawn Mower

Pleasantly Surprised

07/25/2008
By ,
FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I went to Wal-Mart looking for a basic mulching lawn mower with high wheels in the back. This one caught my eyes due to the Honda engine which was not described in the initial on-line ad. It costs about 20 dollars more than the cheaper but comparable one. For a Honda engine, I thought it's worth it. With the help of a very helpful associate of Wal-Mart, the mower was loaded on my car and homeward bound. Filled up the mower with oil and gas, I was excited to give it a try at home. Before I pulled the chord to start, I noticed a valve in the gas line. Figuring that the valve is meant to control the gas flow, I turned it to a different position thinking that it should be off while in shipping or storage. I moved the choke to the start position and pulled the cord. The engine started but sputtered and stopped. After a few tries, the same thing happened each time. I was really frustrated and thought that Honda engine was overrated and I probably had to return the mower. I decided to give it a last try before I pack the mower and return it. At that time, it finally occurred to me that the gas was not flowing to the engine. I checked the gas valve and noticed it was rested at the off-position, not very clearly marked. I turned the valve to the other position and pulled the cord. It started and stayed running smoothly. I have used it several times since and it hasn’t failed to start after the first pull. This would be the best mower that I ever had so far, if it could last several years.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Review 5 for Yard-Man Push Lawn Mower

Excellent Mower

04/28/2009
By ,
Waxahachie, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this mower 2 years ago and it still starts on the 1st pull. I have 1.5 acres and use this mower to mow a large front yard (60' x 100'). This mower gives the lawn a well manicured look (I use a riding mower to mow the rest of the property). Well worth the money. I'm sold on Honda engines now.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 6 for Yard-Man Push Lawn Mower

Best For The Price

06/15/2008
By ,
Minnesota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Absolutely, hands down, the best lawn mower for the money. Starts every time, first pull. Easy oil changes. Easy change over from mulch, bag, discharge. Wheel adjustments are perfect. Easy on gas. Love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 7 for Yard-Man Push Lawn Mower

yard man

03/22/2009
By ,
bakersfield
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
works great lots of power to mow heavy lawns.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 8 for Yard-Man Push Lawn Mower

Starts on first pull

07/04/2009
By ,
San Diego, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just used this mower today. They provide the oil, so you just need gas. Super easy to assemble- unfold the handle bars and tighten. Make sure the sparkplug wire is on the sparkplug. At first I tried to start it but it wouldn't start. After 5 tries I called the neighbor over. After several attempts to start it, we found that the air filter was SATURATED with oil and wouldn't allow proper airflow. Once that was removed, it started up on the 1st pull and ran great, no uneveness. We washed the filter with gas and it cleaned it enough. The auto choke provided more than enough time to start the mower. I would recommend this mower.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 9 for Yard-Man Push Lawn Mower

A real let-down

06/15/2008
By ,
NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this mower because for the price - it appeared to be a real good deal. I figured with a Honda engine on it - I couldn't go wrong. It started up easily but only ran for 1.5 minutes then died. I did this several times and each time the result was the same. Taking it back tonight and have to look for another brand. I tried to hold the choke open halfway hoping it just needed to warm up a bit b4 shutting the choke off - that didn't change the results at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-3points
Review 10 for Yard-Man Push Lawn Mower

What a Bummer

03/16/2009
By ,
Modesto,CA.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We needed a new mower so instead of going out and driving all around town, we shopped online for it. That was a mistake! We read the reviews on the mower and there were only a couple of them that were not good, compared to alot of good reviews, so we decided to try it out. I got the mower quicker than expected, that was a good thing because our grass was really long. I opened it immediately put it together in minutes, and proceded to my backyard to mow my 8'by 8' patch of grass. The mower started right away, ran for about 2 minutes, then died. after several tries to restart it, with no success, I took off the fuel line and bled some gas out. I than tried to resart it, and again after several tries it started running only to rev up and down as it was running. It ran for about 5 min. this time so I got to mow some of my lawn. And so the cycle went on for about 45 min. to an hour, I finally got a patch of grass mowed with much frustration and disapointment. A couple of days later I brought the mower to my frontyard to try and mow, Ha!, now I should known that was not going to happen! After bleeding the gas line again, I did get it started after pulling and pulling and pulling(did I mention pulling?), and as the mower revved up and down again I got to mowing. I got 1 21in. circle cut (that is the size of the blade) the monster never started again. I have since returned it to Wal-Mart with no problems. I would not recomend this mower at all. I am very dissapointed with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 11 for Yard-Man Push Lawn Mower

Awful Product

05/23/2008
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had to return two of these mowers, both had the same problem. They start up fine, but when the choke moves to the off position, either the engine dies right away or it dies minutes later. No matter what I've done (changed gas, changed spark plug, let sit) nothing remedies the problem inherent in this awful product.
I've had other people look at the mower to make sure it wasn't me, and they've all shook their heads. Skip this mower, and spend a little more on a better brand.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 12 for Yard-Man Push Lawn Mower

Easy to set up and use

05/22/2008
By ,
Colorado Springs, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My first concern was if I needed to buy oil before using. I looked in the box and they furnished the oil. Great News! Setup was easy. Adding oil and gasoline, then unfolding the handle and securing. It started right up. This mower has plenty of torque and power. My older 4 HP mower would die several times before finishing. This one cut the grass without hesitation. I especially like the 2 year warranty. I would highly recommend this mower.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 13 for Yard-Man Push Lawn Mower

yardman 21 cut pushmower

05/19/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The ad on WalMart's webpage says the engine is a 160cc over-head valve engine, but it is actually the Honda 160cc over-head CAM engine. There is a big difference, about $150 difference. The Honda over-head VALVE engine is more expensive and has a cast iron cylinder sleeve. But this Honda engine, although less expensive than the over-head valve engine, does have plenty of power, runs well, and starts easily.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 14 for Yard-Man Push Lawn Mower

satisfied

10/02/2008
By ,
Bowie, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This lawn mower is just what I was looking for.
After assembling and supplying fuel and oil and a new air filter, the mower starts on the first pull every time. It works great!
The original filter was oil-saturated and didn't allow
air flow. Possibly a shipping incident may have caused that.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 15 for Yard-Man Push Lawn Mower

Excellent Product

06/11/2008
By ,
Lake Delton, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mower is way better than expectations especially with the Honda engine. Starts with one pull and cuts like a dream. Best value for the money with these kinds of options. Highly recommend this one!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 16 for Yard-Man Push Lawn Mower
10/06/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've only used this new mower once. I bought it because it had a Honda engine. Everything works well so far. No issues. Installation was simple and all parts were included.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points