Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for MTD MTD Yard-Man Variable-Speed Self-Propelled Lawn Mower

MTD MTD Yard-Man Variable-Speed Self-Propelled Lawn Mower

When it comes to mowing, let the Yard-Man variable-speed, self-propelled mower do all the work. It mulches, rear bags or side discharges with its 3-in-1 cutting deck.
Average Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
5
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation100%6 out of 6reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 0 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
5
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for MTD Yard-Man Variable-Speed Self-Propelled Lawn Mower

Very Good

04/12/2008
By ,
Lebanon, Tn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very happy about my purchase. I have about an acre and a half to mow and this mower did it with no problem at all. All i did was steer and the mower did the rest, with NO WORK OF MY OWN!!! My yard is very uneven and hilly and it cut it with no problem. Started the first time out of the box and everytime since.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for MTD Yard-Man Variable-Speed Self-Propelled Lawn Mower

GREAT MOWER

07/09/2008
By ,
GAINESVILLE,FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This mower was very easy to set up.It took several pulls on the rpoe to crank the first time. My grass was thick as I had just returned from vacation. Had to go slow in certain areas but that was to be expected. The mower did great. I have mowed the grass twice more since the first time and it cranked on the first pull every time.My wife has no trouble stating it or mowing with it. i highly recommend this mower.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for MTD Yard-Man Variable-Speed Self-Propelled Lawn Mower

Easy-to-use and effective

07/08/2008
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Yard-Man Variable-Speed Self-Propelled Lawn Mower is a great product. Initial set-up was easy and didn't take too long. Just pull the cord and you're ready to mow!
The variable-speed self-propelled feature works well for all areas of your lawn. Going over rough terrain, slowing down for thick grass, and climbing a hill all are handled by this mower. And the large rear wheels make turning easy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for MTD Yard-Man Variable-Speed Self-Propelled Lawn Mower

Excellent mower

04/25/2008
By ,
Youngstown, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this mower about a week ago. Very easy to assemble and to understand the directions. I have used the mower once and it does a great job. Every time I shut it off and restarted it - it started on the first pull. I am very pleased with this purchase. Thank you Wal-Mart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for MTD Yard-Man Variable-Speed Self-Propelled Lawn Mower

Love this mower!

04/29/2008
By ,
Wellsville, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this to replace one I bought at Kmart 13 years ago. There is so little assembly to this. Just two screws with wingnuts to put on, and the bag, add oil, add gas, and voila... ready to run.
No primer bulb to push on mine before you start the engine. The very first time I started it, it started on the first pull. That was off of an empty gas tank that was just filled. Very nice!
The engine did quit a few times with the damp clumpy grass, but that was to be expected from any mower. Cuts wonderfully. The bag fills up rather fast though. Also, the pull handle for the front wheel drive cramps my hands a bit, but small price to pay for the overall quality of this mower IMO.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for MTD Yard-Man Variable-Speed Self-Propelled Lawn Mower

Cuts large yard

05/14/2008
By ,
Canfield, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this after an old riding mower quit on me. Price was right. I have used it 3 times, to cut 3/4 Acre (2+ hours). I would have liked it to be a little faster, but for a small/med sized yard, you won't notice it.
Mower has started on first pull every time.
I don't use the bag or discharge. Not sure how long the bag would hold up to constant use? Have no idea if the weight on the back would hamper the front wheel drive traction?
Mulching is fine as long as the grass is dry and fairly short. (That's true for any mulching mower)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.