Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Yard Machines Yard Machines Gas Cultivator

Yard Machines Yard Machines Gas Cultivator

The Yard Machines Gas Cultivator is suitable for tilling yards and gardens. Powered by a 31cc 2-cycle engine, this lawn cultivator can till up to a depth of 4''. It comes with folding plow handles for convenient and easy storage. Lightweight and easy to carry, this 31cc 2-cycle cultivator is surprisingly powerful, given its weight. It features 7-inch retractable rear wheels for easy maneuverability. With its 8-inch forward-rotating steel tines and 10-inch tilling width, softening hard ground has never been easier.
Average Customer Rating:
3.902 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
14
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation85%34 out of 40reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 12 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
14
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Yard Machines Gas Cultivator

Don't buy this, too hard to start!

08/02/2011
By ,
Utah
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Extremely hard to start. A standard problem. Rope broke after pulling it for 15 minutes. Chock or not does not help. Fuel pressure bulb does not pressurize the fuel lines, leaving air in the line. When started it has to idle without throttle for a few minutes before it will rev up. Don't waste your money on this one. I usually don't write bad reviews ... this is an exception. Now I need to got put a band-aide on the blister from pulling the dang rope.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Yard Machines Gas Cultivator

tiller

06/19/2008
By ,
Graceville, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This little machine has done nothing but impress me with it's ability to get the job done. I usually do my gardening with a small farm tractor but this year I made a mistake in the row spaceing and could not get in between the rows after the crop got high, I got this little machine and it just keeps on going. I really like the performance.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Yard Machines Gas Cultivator

small but powerful

03/19/2009
By ,
West Tx.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It was a bit smaller than what we expected and if we had a bigger yard or more area to cultivate, this wouldn't work. Since we only needed smaller areas turned, however, this works very well. It bucked a bit when we hit harder areas and had a hard time cutting through the ever-present coleche deposits but with a bit of patience, it did the job we needed it to do. If you're planning on turning large areas or turning more than a foot or so deep, this isn't the tiller for you. Other than that, it's a good value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Yard Machines Gas Cultivator

preparing the soil for a vegetable garden

03/11/2011
By ,
PLANTATION,FL.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i have a 20'x20' vegetable garden in my yard now for two years.i have always cultivated thesoil by hand,lots of work and time.i decided to look into these portable tipe gas powered cultivators/tillers.this particular model was 2/3 cheaper than all the others it's size and i was very impressed with it's performance.i pulled up roots,rocks and trash that i had never even noticed before,and in one day's work,i am very excited at what the outcome of my planting this season will be.i recommend this product to everyone.thank you!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Yard Machines Gas Cultivator

Great for the backyard gardener

05/03/2009
By ,
Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The cultivator was very helpful when I wanted to till up an area in the backyard for my vegetable garden. It did the job and worked even in clay soils. Not for doing a large job like laying sod, but worked perfect for my 30x15 garden!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Yard Machines Gas Cultivator

Light weight and does the job

06/06/2009
By ,
Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This little machine is light weight but boy does it do the job. Even my 9 year old son had no problem tilling up the soil with it. Better then I thought it would be. Glad I bought it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Yard Machines Gas Cultivator

Excellent Product for the price

05/30/2010
By ,
St James, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this today, came home & tried it out & fell in love with it. It's perfect for cultivating after the plants are in the ground & need worked. Gas mix is easy. Machine is easy to handle. I used a Mantis a few weeks ago to see how it worked & this machine is very comparable without the high price!! I absolutely think it was worth the money. The only thing that would be better if the price were lower!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Yard Machines Gas Cultivator

Whimpy & ain't worth the cost

07/04/2012
By ,
Canon City, Colorado
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Got one of these a few years back & turned out to be one of the most expensive useless tools I've ever bought. First it will actually only till soil that is already loose. And not just loose, it has to be real loose. And even then its so light it tends to just bounce up & down if there's any kind of resistance at all on the blades. Then even if the soil is already loose enough for it to till the gearbox for the drive gets very hot very quick. For what it does it would be a better deal to get one of the line trimmers that has the half shaft so you can change tool heads and get the tiller attachment for it. They do the same job, and more by having different attachments, and is easier to manage. Trying to use this to till a small flower bed or small garden plot is actually more work than just doing it the old fashioned way with normal hand tools. You have to prep the soil by loosening it any way before you can really use this on it. It would be better in the long run to just add a few more bucks and get a normal size tiller that can do the job right or stick to hand tools.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Syracuse, UT
Ditto on the "Whimpy" comment
Posted 08/27/2013
I've spent more money on tune-ups for this machine than it originally cost. Every time after a tune-up, it runs great for a few days. Then, it goes back to a state where it overheats after about 10 minutes. If I wait for 20 minutes, I am able to till for another 10 minutes, and so on. This tiller should have been made to withstand the rigors put upon it under normal circumstances, but it doesn't. Please understand that this is NOT a hot weather overheating, it has the same problem regardless of the outside temperature.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Yard Machines Gas Cultivator

great product

04/21/2011
By ,
Moroni, Utah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased tiller last year and it worked great. Just went out this spring to start work on garden. The tiller started right up and did the job great. Read reviews last year stating starting was a problem, I haven't had any problems at all. Tiller works good on untilled dirt but you need to work it, this year working on last years garden plot the tilling was a breeze. I wouldn't waste the extra $200 to get the popular brand. I am sold on Yardman products. They are inexpensive and for me have worked great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Yard Machines Gas Cultivator

Yard Machines 10 31cc Gas Cultivator (Mini Tiller)

03/25/2012
By ,
Painter, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In the past I have used a large (man beater) roto tiller. Now that years are catching up with me I decided to try something a little smaller and less punishing to whatever muscles I have left. I have a vegetable garden (about 45' x 25') and I used this cultivator to break the ground and mix horse manure into the soil of an established garden. I don't know if it is powerfull enough to break ground for the first time. It took me a couple of hours to do this space, almost the same amount of time as with the big tiller I have used in the past. This cultivator proved to be easy to use and powerful enough to do the job with no strain to the engine. I found it easier to pull the machine towards me when working the soil. It mixes the soil nice and fine if you make a few passes, I do this in opposite directions. The main reason I bought a cultivator this small is in hopes it will make weeding easier. I plan to plant my rows about two feet apart and use this machine between the rows for weed control. If I could change one thing about this machine it would be the way to start it. The way it is set up you have to use your left hand/arm to pull the rope to start the engine. It might be easier for left handed people. Some reviews say they could not get it running but I followed the starting instructions and it started right up for me. Make sure to pump the priming blub at least ten times. I am very pleased with this machine so far. I gave it four stars instead of five because of the ackward position you have to put yourself in to start the engine.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Yard Machines Gas Cultivator

good little tiller

07/11/2009
By ,
North Little Rock, AR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We have used this machine to till small sections of the yard, prepping for sod replacements. It's great for what we need-tilling up small areas.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Yard Machines Gas Cultivator

perfect cultivator for small areas

12/22/2011
By ,
Northeast Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Yard Machine 121 31cc tiller is not made to till unbroken soil, like the larger tillers. Howerver, it does an exceptional job when used in a flower bed or small vegetable patch where the soil has already been broken up. It will go about 4 to 6" deep. It is lightweight, portable and great for weeding between rows. So far it starts within 2 or 3 pulls. There is plenty of power and it does it's job well. The tines are easily cleaned by removing a hitch pin on either side of the drive. The tines slide off the shaft for cleaning debris and vines that twist around the shaft. I have only used the tiller for about 3 hours(3 times), but so far I am very pleased. It uses a gas/oil mix 40:1. A non ethanol gasoline is best, good luck finding one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Yard Machines Gas Cultivator

Very powerful machine for the size

04/28/2011
By ,
Perry
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is great. This will take care of all my yard and garden needs this little tiller digs in and is easy to start and maintain.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Yard Machines Gas Cultivator

Very Good

03/25/2009
By ,
Urbana, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well worth the money. Works well, even on new ground. And my wife hasn't broken it yet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Yard Machines Gas Cultivator

Very handy machine

06/03/2011
By ,
Ratliff City, OK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The cultivator was lightweight, easy to use and required no assembly. We bought it to till up the grass between our garden rows, and it performed very well. We're very satisfied with the machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Yard Machines Gas Cultivator

Great little tiller

08/23/2011
By ,
Elkton, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second one of these I've owned. The first one was used every week to cultivate a 1000 sq.ft. garden and lasted 10 years. I love this little tiller. It is easy to use and can be picked up easily. I've also used this to till up flowerbeds - does a great job. You can manuever in tight areas and not chew up other plants. Just like the old one, this is a 2 cycle engine - meaning you add the oil premix to the gallon of gas. The good thing about this newer model is it takes a 40:1 mix, which is more of a standard. The older one was 32:1.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Yard Machines Gas Cultivator

Not a helpful product

08/22/2008
By ,
Springfield, CO
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Very hard to start. Clumsy. Does not go deep enough in dirt. Very disappointed. Returned product to store.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Yard Machines Gas Cultivator

Great Product

04/14/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great working Cultivator, If your looking for a tiller it is not. It breaks the top of the soil up nicely and removes weeds around the garden. You could probably use it to till but it doesn't go real deep so you would need to rake all the tilled soil back and till some more then rake it all back out level. Don't get me wrong it works well, really light and easy to work around the garden with.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Yard Machines Gas Cultivator
06/22/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
works great, after you get it " broke in" when i first started to use it it would stay running except on 2 on the choke and was hard to start, I was gonna take it back but the longer I used it the better it got. hope you're on good terms with your neighbors because it is loud.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Yard Machines Gas Cultivator

Very handy machine

06/21/2009
By ,
Bismarck, ND
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tiller is very handy in the garden. It's small enough to get between the rows to make easy work of weeding. It has plenty of power to till even hard ground.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 36 total reviews
1 2 Next