Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for North States Industries North States - Top Notch Plastic Gate

North States Industries North States - Top Notch Plastic Gate

When your toddler has just started learning to walk on his or her own, you can help make his or her environment safer by installing the North States Top Notch Plastic Gate to limit his or her movements. This product is especially designed to offer protection to your little one and give parents peace of mind during this highly exploratory stage. In order to fit your doorway, the North States baby gate comes with an adjustable length and breadth. The pressure-mounted gate can be easily installed, thus assuring security. This plastic baby gate has a memory-lock feature, which means that it can recall the earlier lock position and set itself in the same position the next time. Made from heavy-duty materials, this uni-body gate lasts long to offer durable performance as your child grows.
Average Customer Rating:
3.921 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(528 Reviews) 419
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
249
4 stars
135
3 stars
56
2 stars
29
1 star
59
Customer Recommendation80%421 out of 528reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
23 Questions | 148 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
249
4 stars
135
3 stars
56
2 stars
29
1 star
59
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for North States - Top Notch Plastic Gate

PAIN IN MY REAR

12/20/2012
By ,
altamonte springs,fl
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
You get what you pay for..... BUt if your not looking to pay 40 dollars and looking to keep a baby or pet out it will get the job done. Its just a pain putting up and down.& just cheaply made
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for North States - Top Notch Plastic Gate

Dog Gate

07/24/2010
By ,
Castroville, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I know this is made for little kids for their safety but we use it to block our back door so that our small dog won't get out plus now she can see all her friends when they are walking up the street. Plus it's also good for air cross flow through the house.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for North States - Top Notch Plastic Gate

Cheap price=Cheap gate

05/26/2009
By ,
cleveland, ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After having the gate for a month, the top cracked,& the middle part where it connects caved in! I would recommend spending more money for a better gate, this is cheaply made & now it's going in the trash & i have to go get another gate. DO NOT BUY THIS GATE, you'll be sorry!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for North States - Top Notch Plastic Gate

AMAZING!

01/27/2010
By ,
Long Beach
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to replace an old one that had worn out, and I was pleasantly surprised! I thought I was taking a gamble because it was cheaper than the rest, as well as shorter, but I'm SO happy with it. I was considering getting a gate with the little door, but I didn't want to drop that kind of money. This one comes just above my knees, so it's the perfect size to keep the little one and the dogs separated, and I don't have to move it every time, I just step over easily. I used it right out of the box, it's great. I recommend it to anyone with kids, dogs, or both.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for North States - Top Notch Plastic Gate

This is a great gate!

08/22/2010
By ,
Richmond, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the money, this gate does the job for putting up a tight fence between doorposts, to keep crawling, learning-to-walk infants in a safe area. As always, supervision is still needed. We used it in a hallway area and made it a great book nook. :) A great way to make more playspace. :)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for North States - Top Notch Plastic Gate

Works Great For Short People!

07/22/2009
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this gate to block a hallway when we got a new Brussels Griffon puppy. I had looked at all of my regular pet discount sites and stores. Their gate prices were ridiculous. It will only be needed until he is fully house broken. It was easy to fit and is very sturdy. For me the best part is that it is low enough for me to easily step over (I'm only 5 ft tall). There are 4 of us and no one has complained about having to step over the gate. I love it and the price can't be beaten!! I think it is strong enough to be safe for babies since I have tried to push it over and couldn't. We also have a 25 pound dog who constantly is jumping on it and it hasn't budged. I must STRESS I am only using it for dogs NOT babies.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+92points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for North States - Top Notch Plastic Gate

Great Value

01/05/2009
By ,
Homestead, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned a lot of different style and cost baby and pet gates. We purchased this one t keepbaby out of the kitchen, since we'd gotten rid of all the rest already.
It was easy to set up and adjust, and I like the fact that it "remembers" the position I have set for ease of reinstalling on the same door.
Cats climb on it and baby tugs on it, but it remains secure.
We are tall folks, and leave it installed and just step over. If you need to go in and out frequently, this would not e a good choice for having to remove/replace or open/close every time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+107points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for North States - Top Notch Plastic Gate

An excellent value

09/28/2009
By ,
Brooklyn, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a very good product, very sturdy and so easy to use. I bought it for my Bichon and unfortunately it was a little smaller in height than I would like(she jumps over it when no one is home).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for North States - Top Notch Plastic Gate

Not worth it

06/17/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If you're looking to contain a small dog this gate is probably fine. If you're planning to use it long term as a baby gate, do yourself a favor and spend a little extra money for something of better quality. First of all it's pretty short. My just turned 2yo can now easily climb over it. If I try to affix it higher in the door jam he'll just knock it over trying to climb over it as it's not really sturdy enough either. Per the manufacturers instructions I do have it set to where the horizontal bar bows just slightly, so it is as tight as I can get it. It also doesn't work for all opening sizes mentioned. I tried to move it into our hallway at one time, but I just couldn't get an appropriate fit. One setting was so tight it looked like I would literally break the thing if I forced it closed and the next setting down was way too loose.
All in all if you're thinking about purchasing this gate I would just think about how long you intend to use it. If the appearance of a doorway being blocked is enough for you than this gate is probably fine. If you plan to use it for a child who's actually going to try to get over/through it then you should probably get something else. You'll end up needing to anyway.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for North States - Top Notch Plastic Gate

Just what I was looking for

07/20/2009
By ,
huntington beach, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I needed a "gate" for my 10 fmo old son's room. He has learned how to crawl out of his crib very quietly. I needed a way to secure his room so he couldn't roam around the house while I was asleep...this gate works great.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for North States - Top Notch Plastic Gate

Hard to use & didn't fit.

12/06/2010
By ,
Northern Maine
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This gate is supposed to fit 28" to 41" openings, but was too wide for my 29" livingroom doorway; the metal clip wouldn't even fit in the first notch. In my opinion, your doorway should be at least 31" wide.
This gate was meant to keep our toddler in the same room with us, either the kitchen or the livingroom. I would probably be setting up & taking down this gate 3 or 4 times a day, as I don't like climbing over a gate when the baby is sleeping or if we are moving from one room to the other a lot, and this gate doesn't slide open/closed easily at all.
I did give this gate 3 stars because I think it is a great gate for the price. If you are leaving it set up in a door 31" or more wide, it would probably be good for you.
However, I wouldn't reccommend buying this gate if you are going to be putting it up/taking it down frequently. It doesn't slide open & shut easily and is too wide for the narrow openings, even though it states "28 to 41 inch range."
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for North States - Top Notch Plastic Gate

just adequate

02/09/2009
By ,
Vacaville
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this product only with stipulations..... I bought this gate to keep my 6.5 pound maltise dog from going upstairs. One thing I didn't take into consideration was that I have a 5" strip of molding at the base of the stairway walls. With this, I was unable to securely attach the gate. My husband managed to prop it up but it's just a lot of trouble. If you plan on securing this gate to a door jam or two walls with no baseboard or molding it will probably work fine, but it didn't work for my stairway. Good thing it didn't cost much, I will end up giving it away I'm sure.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for North States - Top Notch Plastic Gate

Great Gate

02/15/2011
By ,
Denver, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had the two gates now for about 4 weeks and really like them. They are really sturdy, my 4 year old can climb over them and they dont move at all and my 2 year old (gates were for him and my 10 months old) shakes and leans on them and they are really staying in place. The price is awsome for 2 gates. The look isnt the best but once they are in place it acutally doesnt look that bad. I am really happy with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for North States - Top Notch Plastic Gate

Worth the money!

05/06/2011
By ,
Orlando, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this set of gates b/c we just got 2 new puppies and wanted to block off certain areas of the house until they were completely house broken. We wanted something plastic (not wood) to stand up to puppy teeth in case they got chewed on,.. which they do occasionally. These gates hold up great!!
I only wished they would offer the same low prices for the same gate but with a door in it. Can be a little tiring having to climb over it to get to the other rooms when we need, if you're not very tall.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for North States - Top Notch Plastic Gate

Terrible

09/28/2012
By ,
Chicago, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It was broke when I received it. I bought two, one for my house and one for my parent's house. Theirs was not broke but it is VERY hard to use. Would NEVER buy it again. You get what you pay for.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for North States - Top Notch Plastic Gate

Does The Job

01/30/2013
By ,
Gresham, OR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
You get what you pay for with these gates. They are sturdy and can withstand my toddler running full speed into it with his walker. I tested these once I installed them by kicking the gates as hard as I could. They didn't fall down, but they did angle slightly from the force. I am not worried about it because for a toddler to run into it that hard twice in a row, I will be aware of what's going on before they were to possibly knock it over.
I did struggle a little with setting these up. The plastic doesn't slide easily when you are trying to adjust the width. Also, the pressure bar that you press down to lock the gate in place bows out slightly. I tried to losen it to prevent the bowing, but then the gate was flimsy. It isn't really an issue as that is the side of the gate my toddler isn't on.
So for the price I can't complain. It does the job and they will be easy to take to the grandparents houses.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for North States - Top Notch Plastic Gate

great for a in home daycare

06/09/2014
By ,
pittsburgh pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought these gates to keep the toddlers from going all around the house. It's safe & prevent children from leaving the area you got gated up. If you do childcare in your home. I would recommend you try these gates.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for North States - Top Notch Plastic Gate

Perfect as a dog gate on deck!!!

05/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had one of these years ago and could not find a replacement. I use it on my deck to keep my dog from running Dow the stairs. Love that you can move it around and do not have to permanently affix. Highly recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for North States - Top Notch Plastic Gate
12/29/2011
By ,
San Antonio, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great gate for the price. I use it to contain small dogs in one room while the cat is out elsewhere.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Brooklynn, NY
GREAT GATE FOR LITTLE DOGS!
Posted 08/12/2012
I love this gate because it is so easy to keep my little Westie contained for the night.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for North States - Top Notch Plastic Gate

Takes some getting used to

04/27/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My puppy is a 9 week old Cockapoo and very smart and he climbed on his crate and jumped over the gate and met me at the front door when I got back from work today. It is quite low and he stands on his hind legs (which aren't very long) and can look over the top. It's too short for him, and just a little too tall for me to walk over easily.
The locking system is a little difficult to get used to. But once you get the hang of it, it's good that you can push the gate together by lifting the lever/metal clip system. For me I have 2 openings that I want to block at different times (depending on if I'm home) and they are two different sizes (doorway vs. hallway) so I had to figure that clip system out on my own instead of using all my might to pull them apart or push them closer together.
But, for the price, I think I'm going to keep it for a little while longer.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 420 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  21 Next