Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for North States North States - Top Notch Plastic Gate

North States North States - Top Notch Plastic Gate

When your toddler has just started learning to walk on his or her own, you can help make his or her environment safer by installing the North States Top Notch Plastic Gate to limit his or her movements. This product is especially designed to offer protection to your little one and give parents peace of mind during this highly exploratory stage. In order to fit your doorway, the North States baby gate comes with an adjustable length and breadth. The pressure-mounted gate can be easily installed, thus assuring security. This plastic baby gate has a memory-lock feature, which means that it can recall the earlier lock position and set itself in the same position the next time. Made from heavy-duty materials, this uni-body gate lasts long to offer durable performance as your child grows.
Average Customer Rating:
3.914 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(522 Reviews) 413
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
245
4 stars
134
3 stars
55
2 stars
29
1 star
59
Customer Recommendation80%416 out of 522reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
22 Questions | 146 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
245
4 stars
134
3 stars
55
2 stars
29
1 star
59
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for North States - Top Notch Plastic Gate

PAIN IN MY REAR

12/20/2012
By ,
altamonte springs,fl
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
You get what you pay for..... BUt if your not looking to pay 40 dollars and looking to keep a baby or pet out it will get the job done. Its just a pain putting up and down.& just cheaply made
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for North States - Top Notch Plastic Gate

Dog Gate

07/24/2010
By ,
Castroville, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I know this is made for little kids for their safety but we use it to block our back door so that our small dog won't get out plus now she can see all her friends when they are walking up the street. Plus it's also good for air cross flow through the house.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for North States - Top Notch Plastic Gate

Cheap price=Cheap gate

05/26/2009
By ,
cleveland, ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After having the gate for a month, the top cracked,& the middle part where it connects caved in! I would recommend spending more money for a better gate, this is cheaply made & now it's going in the trash & i have to go get another gate. DO NOT BUY THIS GATE, you'll be sorry!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for North States - Top Notch Plastic Gate

AMAZING!

01/27/2010
By ,
Long Beach
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to replace an old one that had worn out, and I was pleasantly surprised! I thought I was taking a gamble because it was cheaper than the rest, as well as shorter, but I'm SO happy with it. I was considering getting a gate with the little door, but I didn't want to drop that kind of money. This one comes just above my knees, so it's the perfect size to keep the little one and the dogs separated, and I don't have to move it every time, I just step over easily. I used it right out of the box, it's great. I recommend it to anyone with kids, dogs, or both.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for North States - Top Notch Plastic Gate

This is a great gate!

08/22/2010
By ,
Richmond, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the money, this gate does the job for putting up a tight fence between doorposts, to keep crawling, learning-to-walk infants in a safe area. As always, supervision is still needed. We used it in a hallway area and made it a great book nook. :) A great way to make more playspace. :)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for North States - Top Notch Plastic Gate

great for a in home daycare

06/09/2014
By ,
pittsburgh pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought these gates to keep the toddlers from going all around the house. It's safe & prevent children from leaving the area you got gated up. If you do childcare in your home. I would recommend you try these gates.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for North States - Top Notch Plastic Gate

Works Great For Short People!

07/22/2009
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this gate to block a hallway when we got a new Brussels Griffon puppy. I had looked at all of my regular pet discount sites and stores. Their gate prices were ridiculous. It will only be needed until he is fully house broken. It was easy to fit and is very sturdy. For me the best part is that it is low enough for me to easily step over (I'm only 5 ft tall). There are 4 of us and no one has complained about having to step over the gate. I love it and the price can't be beaten!! I think it is strong enough to be safe for babies since I have tried to push it over and couldn't. We also have a 25 pound dog who constantly is jumping on it and it hasn't budged. I must STRESS I am only using it for dogs NOT babies.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+88points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for North States - Top Notch Plastic Gate

didn't work as expected

06/11/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
i purchaded 2 of these gates to keep my son's puppy out of carpeted bedrooms. because of the baseboard, they did not fit tightly in the door ways, and using anything to shim them up didn't work as he could push them over. if i raised the gates above the baseboard, i couldn't step over them. should have spent a little more and gotten the ones that have a gate to open.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for North States - Top Notch Plastic Gate

Great Value

01/05/2009
By ,
Homestead, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned a lot of different style and cost baby and pet gates. We purchased this one t keepbaby out of the kitchen, since we'd gotten rid of all the rest already.
It was easy to set up and adjust, and I like the fact that it "remembers" the position I have set for ease of reinstalling on the same door.
Cats climb on it and baby tugs on it, but it remains secure.
We are tall folks, and leave it installed and just step over. If you need to go in and out frequently, this would not e a good choice for having to remove/replace or open/close every time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+106points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for North States - Top Notch Plastic Gate

Perfect as a dog gate on deck!!!

05/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had one of these years ago and could not find a replacement. I use it on my deck to keep my dog from running Dow the stairs. Love that you can move it around and do not have to permanently affix. Highly recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for North States - Top Notch Plastic Gate

Child safety gates

07/07/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I wasn't happy with these. Could not get them to fit. I returned them.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for North States - Top Notch Plastic Gate

just what you need to keep your little tykes safe

05/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
set it and forget it...quick set up and release,you also can use this gate to keep your dogs and cats out of areas they are not to be in.Last but not least as the say "the price is right". Pongee
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for North States - Top Notch Plastic Gate

Fine

07/04/2014
By ,
Oklahoma City, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great for the price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for North States - Top Notch Plastic Gate

An excellent value

09/28/2009
By ,
Brooklyn, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a very good product, very sturdy and so easy to use. I bought it for my Bichon and unfortunately it was a little smaller in height than I would like(she jumps over it when no one is home).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for North States - Top Notch Plastic Gate

Not worth it

06/17/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If you're looking to contain a small dog this gate is probably fine. If you're planning to use it long term as a baby gate, do yourself a favor and spend a little extra money for something of better quality. First of all it's pretty short. My just turned 2yo can now easily climb over it. If I try to affix it higher in the door jam he'll just knock it over trying to climb over it as it's not really sturdy enough either. Per the manufacturers instructions I do have it set to where the horizontal bar bows just slightly, so it is as tight as I can get it. It also doesn't work for all opening sizes mentioned. I tried to move it into our hallway at one time, but I just couldn't get an appropriate fit. One setting was so tight it looked like I would literally break the thing if I forced it closed and the next setting down was way too loose.
All in all if you're thinking about purchasing this gate I would just think about how long you intend to use it. If the appearance of a doorway being blocked is enough for you than this gate is probably fine. If you plan to use it for a child who's actually going to try to get over/through it then you should probably get something else. You'll end up needing to anyway.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for North States - Top Notch Plastic Gate

Great child-proof gates

06/26/2014
By ,
Port Saint John, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I use these gates to separate/fence in my new puppy at night. It works great until the pup learns to jump over it. Maybe stacking two will work.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for North States - Top Notch Plastic Gate

Just what I was looking for

07/20/2009
By ,
huntington beach, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I needed a "gate" for my 10 fmo old son's room. He has learned how to crawl out of his crib very quietly. I needed a way to secure his room so he couldn't roam around the house while I was asleep...this gate works great.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for North States - Top Notch Plastic Gate

Not very strong or reliable

06/11/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My son and dog are able to knock it over... not very good plastic. Ordering a new one from amazon.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for North States - Top Notch Plastic Gate

not very user friendly

06/02/2014
By ,
Oakland CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Well for starters the instructions to open the gate are shipped in between the the 2 pieces so very useful. This gate is not meant to be repeatedly opened and closed it is very difficult to adjust. But once you get it set it is very sturdy.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for North States - Top Notch Plastic Gate

Hard to use & didn't fit.

12/06/2010
By ,
Northern Maine
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This gate is supposed to fit 28" to 41" openings, but was too wide for my 29" livingroom doorway; the metal clip wouldn't even fit in the first notch. In my opinion, your doorway should be at least 31" wide.
This gate was meant to keep our toddler in the same room with us, either the kitchen or the livingroom. I would probably be setting up & taking down this gate 3 or 4 times a day, as I don't like climbing over a gate when the baby is sleeping or if we are moving from one room to the other a lot, and this gate doesn't slide open/closed easily at all.
I did give this gate 3 stars because I think it is a great gate for the price. If you are leaving it set up in a door 31" or more wide, it would probably be good for you.
However, I wouldn't reccommend buying this gate if you are going to be putting it up/taking it down frequently. It doesn't slide open & shut easily and is too wide for the narrow openings, even though it states "28 to 41 inch range."
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 414 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  21 Next