Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for North States North States - Top Notch Plastic Gate

North States North States - Top Notch Plastic Gate

The North States Supergate Top-Notch Gate is designed to offer protection to your little one and peace of mind to parents. In order to fit your passage, this North States baby gate comes with adjustable length and breadth. This pressure-mounted plastic baby gate can be easily installed, thus assuring complete security. Featuring the great advantage, memory-lock feature, this pressure mount baby gate can recollect the earlier lock position and set itself in the same position the next time. Made from heavy-duty materials, this baby gate lasts long to offer durable performance.
Average Customer Rating:
3.918 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(511 Reviews) 402
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
240
4 stars
133
3 stars
52
2 stars
28
1 star
58
Customer Recommendation80%409 out of 511reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
22 Questions | 143 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
240
4 stars
133
3 stars
52
2 stars
28
1 star
58
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for North States - Top Notch Plastic Gate

Perfect for doorways

12/10/2012
By ,
Pennsylvania
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my grandson. I read the reviews first. It's very durable and does what it's supposed to, stay in place. Measure once, adjust and lock accordling to width, never needs to be readjusted, if your using for the same area. Keeps little people safe & secure. Very Pleased!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for North States - Top Notch Plastic Gate

Dog Gate

07/24/2010
By ,
Castroville, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I know this is made for little kids for their safety but we use it to block our back door so that our small dog won't get out plus now she can see all her friends when they are walking up the street. Plus it's also good for air cross flow through the house.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for North States - Top Notch Plastic Gate

Cheap price=Cheap gate

05/26/2009
By ,
cleveland, ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After having the gate for a month, the top cracked,& the middle part where it connects caved in! I would recommend spending more money for a better gate, this is cheaply made & now it's going in the trash & i have to go get another gate. DO NOT BUY THIS GATE, you'll be sorry!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for North States - Top Notch Plastic Gate

AMAZING!

01/27/2010
By ,
Long Beach
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to replace an old one that had worn out, and I was pleasantly surprised! I thought I was taking a gamble because it was cheaper than the rest, as well as shorter, but I'm SO happy with it. I was considering getting a gate with the little door, but I didn't want to drop that kind of money. This one comes just above my knees, so it's the perfect size to keep the little one and the dogs separated, and I don't have to move it every time, I just step over easily. I used it right out of the box, it's great. I recommend it to anyone with kids, dogs, or both.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for North States - Top Notch Plastic Gate

This is a great gate!

08/22/2010
By ,
Richmond, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the money, this gate does the job for putting up a tight fence between doorposts, to keep crawling, learning-to-walk infants in a safe area. As always, supervision is still needed. We used it in a hallway area and made it a great book nook. :) A great way to make more playspace. :)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for North States - Top Notch Plastic Gate

Works Great For Short People!

07/22/2009
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this gate to block a hallway when we got a new Brussels Griffon puppy. I had looked at all of my regular pet discount sites and stores. Their gate prices were ridiculous. It will only be needed until he is fully house broken. It was easy to fit and is very sturdy. For me the best part is that it is low enough for me to easily step over (I'm only 5 ft tall). There are 4 of us and no one has complained about having to step over the gate. I love it and the price can't be beaten!! I think it is strong enough to be safe for babies since I have tried to push it over and couldn't. We also have a 25 pound dog who constantly is jumping on it and it hasn't budged. I must STRESS I am only using it for dogs NOT babies.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+86points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for North States - Top Notch Plastic Gate

good gate

04/19/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Got what we paid for and a little bit more.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for North States - Top Notch Plastic Gate

Great gate

04/17/2014
By ,
Ventura, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are using our gate in our motor home to keep our dog out of the driving area. It was an inexpensive solution to an ongoing problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for North States - Top Notch Plastic Gate

Great Value

01/05/2009
By ,
Homestead, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned a lot of different style and cost baby and pet gates. We purchased this one t keepbaby out of the kitchen, since we'd gotten rid of all the rest already.
It was easy to set up and adjust, and I like the fact that it "remembers" the position I have set for ease of reinstalling on the same door.
Cats climb on it and baby tugs on it, but it remains secure.
We are tall folks, and leave it installed and just step over. If you need to go in and out frequently, this would not e a good choice for having to remove/replace or open/close every time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+106points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for North States - Top Notch Plastic Gate

Perfect and great price!!!

04/08/2014
By ,
Central Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect and great price!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for North States - Top Notch Plastic Gate

An excellent value

09/28/2009
By ,
Brooklyn, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a very good product, very sturdy and so easy to use. I bought it for my Bichon and unfortunately it was a little smaller in height than I would like(she jumps over it when no one is home).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for North States - Top Notch Plastic Gate

Not worth it

06/17/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If you're looking to contain a small dog this gate is probably fine. If you're planning to use it long term as a baby gate, do yourself a favor and spend a little extra money for something of better quality. First of all it's pretty short. My just turned 2yo can now easily climb over it. If I try to affix it higher in the door jam he'll just knock it over trying to climb over it as it's not really sturdy enough either. Per the manufacturers instructions I do have it set to where the horizontal bar bows just slightly, so it is as tight as I can get it. It also doesn't work for all opening sizes mentioned. I tried to move it into our hallway at one time, but I just couldn't get an appropriate fit. One setting was so tight it looked like I would literally break the thing if I forced it closed and the next setting down was way too loose.
All in all if you're thinking about purchasing this gate I would just think about how long you intend to use it. If the appearance of a doorway being blocked is enough for you than this gate is probably fine. If you plan to use it for a child who's actually going to try to get over/through it then you should probably get something else. You'll end up needing to anyway.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for North States - Top Notch Plastic Gate

Just what I was looking for

07/20/2009
By ,
huntington beach, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I needed a "gate" for my 10 fmo old son's room. He has learned how to crawl out of his crib very quietly. I needed a way to secure his room so he couldn't roam around the house while I was asleep...this gate works great.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for North States - Top Notch Plastic Gate

Not worth it

02/27/2014
By ,
Newport News, Va
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this to use in my kitchen doorway. When it arrived I expected to put it right up, wrong! There was no fluidity, I had to put it on it's side and struggle to pull it to lengthen then do the same to try and shorten it. After trying for 10 minutes to fit it into the door I have up. Press don't waste your time i
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for North States - Top Notch Plastic Gate

Overall good

03/04/2014
By ,
Walton, Indiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good gate overall, just had pieces of the corner broke off when I received it in the mail.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for North States - Top Notch Plastic Gate

exactly what I expected

02/25/2014
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This gate was exactly what I expected. It's not top quality but it's easy to use, and keeps the little ones out.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for North States - Top Notch Plastic Gate

didn't like

02/26/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
hard to work
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for North States - Top Notch Plastic Gate

Hard to use & didn't fit.

12/06/2010
By ,
Northern Maine
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This gate is supposed to fit 28" to 41" openings, but was too wide for my 29" livingroom doorway; the metal clip wouldn't even fit in the first notch. In my opinion, your doorway should be at least 31" wide.
This gate was meant to keep our toddler in the same room with us, either the kitchen or the livingroom. I would probably be setting up & taking down this gate 3 or 4 times a day, as I don't like climbing over a gate when the baby is sleeping or if we are moving from one room to the other a lot, and this gate doesn't slide open/closed easily at all.
I did give this gate 3 stars because I think it is a great gate for the price. If you are leaving it set up in a door 31" or more wide, it would probably be good for you.
However, I wouldn't reccommend buying this gate if you are going to be putting it up/taking it down frequently. It doesn't slide open & shut easily and is too wide for the narrow openings, even though it states "28 to 41 inch range."
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for North States - Top Notch Plastic Gate

Gate hard to adjust.

02/14/2014
By ,
NC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This gate is well constructed, but the adjustment mechanism is very hard to adjust. Gate advertised as having memory when reinstalling to a previous position. Gate suffers from "poor memory" as this does not work for me. I guess the gate is worth what I paid for it, considering the low price verses the quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for North States - Top Notch Plastic Gate

just adequate

02/09/2009
By ,
Vacaville
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this product only with stipulations..... I bought this gate to keep my 6.5 pound maltise dog from going upstairs. One thing I didn't take into consideration was that I have a 5" strip of molding at the base of the stairway walls. With this, I was unable to securely attach the gate. My husband managed to prop it up but it's just a lot of trouble. If you plan on securing this gate to a door jam or two walls with no baseboard or molding it will probably work fine, but it didn't work for my stairway. Good thing it didn't cost much, I will end up giving it away I'm sure.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 403 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  21 Next