Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Persuasion (2007) (Widescreen)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Persuasion (2007) (Widescreen)

Average Customer Rating:
4.76 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
22
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation96%24 out of 25reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
22
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Persuasion (2007) (Widescreen)

Enjoyable Jane Austin classic tale

12/16/2012
By ,
Nampa, ID
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We watched this film as a family and enjoyed the Pride and Predjudice type feeling and setting. We have enjoyed that Jane Austin classic over and over. Persuasion will certainly be that type of movie also.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 2 for Persuasion (2007) (Widescreen)

A Travesty of Adaptation

03/19/2010
By ,
Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was so disappointed in this version. The only person to whom I would recommend this movie is someone who has never actually read "Persuasion" or seen one of the purer movie adaptations. The movie is not without merit, but the scenes that are familiar seem to be recycle from earlier versions, and the of the scenes that try to be novel, half are not even representative of the book. Apparently, the screen writer(s) felt they were more capable of delivering Jane Austen’s vision than she was. I could have forgiven the small disappointments throughout the movie if the end hadn’t been varied beyond recognition. The fairy tale moment that we expect (Austen fans will know to what I refer) is so grotesquely distorted that it completely alters the character of Anne and makes her laughable instead of the heroine. The ending is absolutely slaughtered. If you love "Persuasion" DO NOT BUY THIS VERSION!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
-2points
Review 3 for Persuasion (2007) (Widescreen)

Very Enjoyable

04/20/2008
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I thoroughly enjoyed this movie--It has excellent acting, beautiful background--The kind of movie you want to watch over and over again--Enjoyable for any age
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Review 4 for Persuasion (2007) (Widescreen)

A lovely new "Persuasion"

01/19/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had inadvertently rented this movie from Netflix, and enjoyed it so much, I wanted to own it and hence I ordered it from WalMart. The casting, locations and performances are truly excellent. A delightful new approach to a Jane Austen classic.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Review 5 for Persuasion (2007) (Widescreen)

Wonderful film!

03/03/2008
By ,
Broken Arrow, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this movie! Being a proud Janeite and lover of all things Regency, I highly recommend this film. It is actually the one Jane Austen book that I've not read any of, so I can't give any report on the accuracy or faithfulness to the original story, but I love the movie. The costumes and scenery are gorgeous and Sally and Rupert shine as Anne and Captain Wentworth.
Even if you aren't particularly interested in this era (are there really such people out there? Shocking!), you can enjoy this as a sweet story of second chances and the courage and strength of true love. :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 6 for Persuasion (2007) (Widescreen)

Great Movie

05/19/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this movie!! The only problem was how long it took to get here. I ordered two other things at the same time, which I received within a week and a half. This was the first to be shipped out and the last to be received, quite a bit after it was supposed to get here, I thought it might have been misplaced. But when I got it, I did have to watch it several times-it's just that good! I do wish it had some behind the scenes or a making of, some kind of special features.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+1point
Review 7 for Persuasion (2007) (Widescreen)

A very nice video

08/04/2009
By ,
Grants Pass, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this movie! Better than the other Persusions, in my opinion.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+1point
Review 8 for Persuasion (2007) (Widescreen)

Persuasion

09/19/2008
By ,
Georgia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you are a die heart fan of Austin as I am, then you'll delight in seeing any version of her work.
I found this rendering good based not on the actors, even though they we good, but based on the physical appointments. The location of the shots that were of the house were most excellent. I thought it gave the viewer a better idea of what the father had flittered away than other works. The resolution of the of the conflict was done well as it demonstrates the logical conclusion much better. However, the shots of the waterfront were a bit dark, overdone, and there were too many of them. All in all it was as decent attempt. It won't be a let down to buy this movie.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 9 for Persuasion (2007) (Widescreen)

Enjoyed greatly

08/05/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Loved this movie. The previous version of Persuasion with Amanda Root and Ciaran Hinds followed closer to the Austen novel but watching Rupert Penry-Jones made this purchase well worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 10 for Persuasion (2007) (Widescreen)

Great adaptation of Jane Austen's book

05/17/2011
By ,
Washington
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This movie is a little slow, but I still LOVE it! If you are a fan of Jane Austen's book Persuasion, I'm sure you will love it too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 11 for Persuasion (2007) (Widescreen)

Austen

01/15/2010
By ,
Abingdon,MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did enjoy this version from the BBC, but I wished they would have shown the wedding at the end. Still a very good version of story.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 12 for Persuasion (2007) (Widescreen)

One Great Movie

10/13/2008
By ,
Fort Payne, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are a hopeless romantic. You will definitely love this movie. Glad I didn't miss it. One you will be glad you watched.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 13 for Persuasion (2007) (Widescreen)

a beautiful movie

09/23/2008
By ,
inver grove heights , MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
it's a great movie.beautiful places,romantic and classic . i love this movie.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 14 for Persuasion (2007) (Widescreen)

Best Love Story Ever

03/31/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Persuasion is the best love story ever writen. I love this movie.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for Persuasion (2007) (Widescreen)
Based on the average of (11) ratings-only reviews
4.9 out of 5
4.9 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.9 out of 5
4.9 out of 5