Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for GE GE Electric Induction Cooker

GE GE Electric Induction Cooker

The GE Electric Induction Cooker lets you cook more easily than ever. Highly preferred by many individuals and restaurants, it is easy to handle and also help in bringing down the time needed to cook. It also puts out less heat than industrial restaurant equipment and is safer, due to the cool touch ceramic cooking surface and automatic induction-compatible cookware detector. It includes 6 temperature settings from KEEP WARM to a MAX temperature setting of 410F. In addition the portable induction cooker also includes 8 preset cooking programs namely the Stew, Simmer, Soup, Boil, Braise, Hot Pot, Roast and Stir Fry which come in really handy and facilitate faster cooking. And if you don't want to use one of the preset cooking programs, you can choose the digital display to set personal preferences on cooking time and temperature. This GE induction cooker also includes an automatic safety shutoff device and non-slip rubber feet.
Average Customer Rating:
3.925 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
13
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation80%32 out of 40reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 29 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
13
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for GE Electric Induction Cooker

Best buy for the money

11/24/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
You can't beat the price for this burner, but it does have it's drawbacks. The ceramic top is dish shaped - it has a lip so you are limited to round bottom pans no more than 9 in diameter. All of the presets are a waste of time. Find one of the settings where you can vary the temperature and just use it to increase and decrease the temperature. The timer is hard to use, and has limited time options depending on what preset you use. Most of the preset times are too long and it is hard to find a setting where you can adjust it by minutes. If you are pan frying - the food in the center of the pan cooks faster. You have to keep moving the food around in the pan so it cooks evenly. However, I've read this is a problem on some of the high dollar units also. All that said, I am very pleased with it .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for GE Electric Induction Cooker

Excellent product

09/30/2008
By ,
Vienna, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first induction cooktop. I'm moving into a place with electric stoves. Considering this cooktop is much cheaper than others, I had worries. When it arrived, my worries were gone:
1. It's as powerful as a gas stove. The box says it's 1300W although the Walmart description does not say anything.
2. The build is solid. The top is some kind of plastic -- not ceramic. I guess that's why it's cheaper than the others. I don't see anything wrong with the plastic top. The device automatically shuts down if it gets too hot any way.
3. The fan is noisy if you are used to gas stoves. I read complaints to other induction cooktops as well. The fan noise level is about the same as my microwave oven makes.
In general, I'm very happy with it. I'm thinking of getting a 2nd.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for GE Electric Induction Cooker

Confusing How-To Explained!

03/11/2009
By ,
Southern Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It clear from all other reviews that there seems to be general confusion how this cooker operates.
There are 3 (three) cooking modes: Cook-by-Power, Cook-by-Temperature and Cook-by-Program.
"Cook-By-Power" applies constant power (at the desired level from Keep Warm to Max) regardless of the actual temperature of the cooking vessel. This mode should be used for boiling, steaming, simmering, etc., where there is plenty of liquid (water/stock/juice) in the vessel. If you try to use Cook-By-Power for frying, the pan will get too hot and the pan overheat protection will shut the cooker down as a precaution after a few minutes - you must use Cook-By-Temperature for frying)
"Cook-By-Temperature" uses a sensor to determine the temperature of the cooking vessel and cycles the power on and off to maintain the temperature (from Keep Warm to 410ºF) within 6% to 15% of the desired temperature. This mode should be used for pan frying, deep frying, stir-frying, and griddle-type operations, where the the pan will be dry or contain oil.
"Cook-By-Program" uses either Power or Temperature or Both according to a predetermined function profile. For example: the Rice setting boils the water at MED POWER then switches to a simmer on MIN POWER all the while measuring the temperature of the cooking vessel. When all the moisture is absorbed the pan will start to heat up. The induction cooker will sense this and then switch to the Keep Warm TEMPERATURE (just like a dedicated rice cooker). The Boil Water setting starts on MAX POWER and when the temperature reaches 212ºF the cooker shuts off. The water will bubble long before 212ºF is reached.
Each of the 8 buttons on the cooker is assigned one of the above 3 cooking modes:
Cook-by-Power: –Hotpot (when you adjust levels, you are adjusting POWER from 300W to 1300W and the cooker stays on continuously until you shut it off, or the pan overheats) Hotpot is the default mode when the cooker is turned on.
Cook-by-Temperature: –Stir-Fry, –Braise, –Roast (when you adjust levels, you are adjusting TEMPERATURE and the cooker will cycle on and off to maintain the set temperature) Note: the primary difference between these three buttons seems to be the initial tempature which can easily be adjusted up or down for each one.
Cook-by-Program: –Rice, –Boil Water, –Soup (MIN to MED POWER for a set time) , and –Stew (MED to MAX POWER for a set time) . Soup and Stew are kind of like Slow Cooker Low and High settings. You cannot adjust either power or temperature for the Cook-By-Program buttons -- they just do their thang.
Timer Operation: Cooking Time can be set for Hot Pot, Stir-Fry, Roast and Braise buttons. When using the Cook-By-Program buttons (Rice, Boil Water, etc.) the timer functions as a delayed start timer instead.
Hope this helps!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Usage:Every day
+179points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for GE Electric Induction Cooker

GE induction cooker

01/27/2011
By ,
Duncan, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It works exactly as described; the container is heated directly with almost no waste heat. Temperature control is the same as a microwave in that it cycles on and off. There is no actual power reduction. The controls don't work as described; the best way to learn is to put some water in a pot and experiment. There are other reviews that have good descriptions of what and how but hands on is a good way to learn. The "roast" setting with time and temperature adjustments seems to be the most useful setting and will do about everything.
I used this to make ghee (clarified butter) using the roast setting and lowest power, keeping it partly covered at first did a fantastic job with no burning.
The manual shows a rice cooker setting. My unit does not have this and other reviews do not mention it. This is no big deal since it is easy to adjust the temperature when it is time to do so.
I rated this with fours because it is a bottom of the line unit without the amenities of a $300 cooker. It does a good job and I intend to buy several more as gifts.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for GE Electric Induction Cooker

A product that worths the money you paid

05/14/2009
By ,
Ft Lauderdale, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this induction cooker more than a week ago and I've been using it every day since then. It's powerful enough to cook just almost whatever you want: from boiling water (that takes me about 10 min) to making soups, stews, fries and etc. This product met all my expectation and it really can replace a stove and being used for an everyday cooking.
I also want to point out at two minuses i've noticed: first the timer doesn't let you to set less than 30 min and the second - the cooking settings may be confusing at the beginning - I usually use "boiling" or "hot pot" functions.
As I said before - it's a very useful product and if you are looking for a portable cooker I will recommend to buy this model.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for GE Electric Induction Cooker

Love it but getting a different one

06/11/2011
By ,
Lakeland, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was my first induction cooker, and once I found the right pans to use loved it untill I bought a 12" pan. the top has a built up ring that will not let a 12" pan sit flat. all the presets are useless to me. I use stir fry and boil. I am going to keep this one but I would not recomend it only because of the ring on the top. I do however recomend induction cookers, just not sure which one yet. :)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for GE Electric Induction Cooker

new experience

11/28/2009
By ,
Ludington, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It takes quite a while to learn how to use all the different options. I am still learning. I had a hot plate before, boy what a difference. This burner is so much better. It boils water in no time at all. I really like the way it works. The biggest problem I had was finding pans that would work on the surface. I started out by buying different pans, bringting them home, if they didnt work I took them back (none of my old pans worked). Then I pulled up on the internet different sets of pans. If the sets said they were for induction cooker, they will work. If it doesn't say it, they won't work. Even the pans in the local stores will say if the are for induction cooker. I could have saved myself a lot of shopping if I had known that.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for GE Electric Induction Cooker

good price, functional but not perfect

01/14/2009
By ,
Vienna, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We decided to keep it for its value, although the cooker is not powerful enough to fry steak like our gas top can. It's intelligent enough to turn itself off automatically when certain conditions are detected, such as overheating. We used a infrared temperature probe to measure the temperature of the cast iron pan we were using, and the temperatures are not uniform and vary significantly. Hence, some foods are not cooked as well, if they happen to be in less hot spots. This means you'd need to stir and turn foods to get even cooking. Having said that, it's hard to beat the price, considering we don't cook very often with it, and only use it for outdoor cooking to avoid stinking up the kitchen.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for GE Electric Induction Cooker

Great deal and worth the money!

01/28/2011
By ,
NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just received two weeks ago, and used it two times only. The features are good enough and they are easy to operate.
The time to heat up is reasonable. Actually, can't tell how the durability it is, since I just got it for two weeks. The material it used seems fine by me.
Anyway, it is a good deal compare to some similar cookers on the market, as I don't exactly know why they can cost almost double to this cooker.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for GE Electric Induction Cooker

GE Induction cooker

01/04/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the first induction product I've ever tried, and I really like how fast it heats up and how evenly it heats, amazing technology. The only thing I don't like on this one is it seems to think that it is smarter than I am, changing heat settings seemingly at random sometimes, so you have to pay attention to it. I've had it about 2 weeks now, so I can't say much one way or another toward durability.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for GE Electric Induction Cooker

Not at all happy

01/26/2009
By ,
Milpitas, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The heating is very uneven. The timer function is lame in that the minimum time you can set is 30 minutes, there is no facility for reducing the time only increasing it by one or ten minutes. If you select stew (simmer) after a few minutes the heat will go to high and burn your food. The boil function is supposed to turn the burner off one minute after the water boils but does not.
There is NO information about the unit at the website listed in the manual and the telephone support line is not open late enough for west coast users.
After using a neighbors induction cooktop I had much higher expectations. I'm returning the unit to Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for GE Electric Induction Cooker

Very Nice Product

11/18/2011
By ,
Rhode Island
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have only used it twice so I could not review "durability". Otherwise exceptional so far. Looks great. Easy to use. Requires special pans (must be steel/iron, etc.) Doesn't work with glass or aluminum pans. Read useer's manual.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for GE Electric Induction Cooker

Worth A Try

02/12/2009
By ,
Texas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
After having used this product for almost everyday cooking, strong point was it is very quick to boil and fry and it seems it cuts cooking time by 25% and if I may say that the electricity savings would be around 30% too! However, in the simmering or lower down of heat, it is very tricky as you would keep track of it inorder not to overcook / burn the food. When I called GE customer support, they just advised to return / exchange it to Walmart with another one. It is really worth a try for new users of induction technology. As it goes with the rest of the reviews, you may love it or leave it. Worth a try.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for GE Electric Induction Cooker

outstanding value.least expensive induction cooker

11/06/2008
By ,
atlanta ,ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
my Viking 5 1/2 qt sauce pot just fits inside the raised outer ring with about 1/8 inch to spare.2+ qts of cold water take about 16 min to rolling boil (only about 5 min more than my more powerful Viking induction unit) also,this ge unit comes with a 2-yr warranty vs 1 yr for Viking.both are rated "home use only".unless you use 12 qt stock pots or fry pans,the ge way be all you need.(9 inch base max for ge use.)my Viking unit is prettier,but when it dies,i will be back to wal mart to buy another ge unit.incredible value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for GE Electric Induction Cooker

Not all it was supposed to be

10/30/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am really impressed with the Induction unit. The only draw back was that the book shows a rice cooking setting. On my Induction Unit, I have a Simmer setting where the rice setting was shown in the book. So I tried using the Simmer setting to cook rice and it burnt.
I am just not sure the unit works correctly.
I love the control of heat. It is like a gas stove, instant heat and instant cool down. Amazing.
If someone could just answer my rice setting question, I would be completely satisfied
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for GE Electric Induction Cooker

great value

11/28/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
after useing for a few weeks I found that cast iron enamel coated cookware works the best. I tried standard stainless and it dose not disperse the heat giving you a small work area. Best place to buy cast enamel is Marshalls or TJ Max but it is stocked randomly and you must keep checking. Exceeded my expectations for the price and the technology works very well, fan is a littie noisy but is worth the performance if you are use to cooking with a electric stove. GE a name brand and can return to Walmart if it is not to your expectations you can't lose, If you dont like it take it back. Bet you will keep it but read the manual and dont leave unattended until you are familar with the instructions and unit. If you set to boil and decrease the temp. it will increase back to 410f when you walk away (oops) 1st mistake.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for GE Electric Induction Cooker

Excellent product!

02/13/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have to agree with the other reviewer that trying to control settings is very tricky. I use Hot Pot setting to do all my cooking as I can vary the temperature to specific needs. Be careful with the other settings (with the exception of Boil) as the temperature can change automatically and scorch your food. This product more than meets my needs and exceeds my expectations.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for GE Electric Induction Cooker

Love it!

01/07/2009
By ,
Warren, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am in the process of a kitchen remodel and don't have a stove. I have purchased several different cooktops. Utill now none of them got hot enough to cook a good size pot of pasta. I am very happy with my new induction cooker. Now I have to be careful not to burn things. Very powerful. Very good buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for GE Electric Induction Cooker

Very Useful Product

01/12/2009
By ,
Philly
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was curious how this induction technology works, so purchased one. I'm now hooked. I use it everyday. It's fast, and saves energy and also safe. It's also relatively inexpensive.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for GE Electric Induction Cooker

Spend more

02/06/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
half the price of other induction heater, less than half the quality, slow to warm to boil, shuts off when it is ready, I returned mine
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 33 total reviews
1 2 Next