Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Coleman Coleman Anodized Cookset

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Coleman Coleman Anodized Cookset

The Coleman Anodized Cookset is a great option for cooking meals while camping or on a picnic. This sturdy Coleman cookset includes two pots and two pans that are made from hard-anodized aluminum. The pots and pans nest inside each other for easy transport. The small pot holds up to 19 ounces and the large pot holds up to 30 ounces. The pans also serve as lids for the pots. The aluminum body of these pans and pots allow even heat distribution for consistency in cooking. The swing-out handles on the pots and foldout handles on the pans provide good control while cooking. This aluminum cookset is safe to use in dishwashers and has an easy-to-clean surface.
Average Customer Rating:
4.452 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
20
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation94%29 out of 31reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
20
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Coleman Anodized Cookset

Great solo kit

02/13/2011
By ,
WA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great kit and if you own a Svea 123 this is perfect for storing your stove. The Svea fits inside the pots minus on small pot. I did find that the handles got a bit hot so I used 1/16th surgical tubing on them and solved the problem. If you are looking for a 1-2 person cook st this is great and a great price.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+25points
Review 2 for Coleman Anodized Cookset

Perfect for my needs

05/01/2010
By ,
Fort Worth, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this cookset just to get the smaller pot from it. I only need to boil 2 cups of water at a time for dehydrated food. The total weight for the entire cookset (both pots and lids) is 15.5 oz including the mesh bag. The small cook pot with lid and bag weigh only 7.5 oz. My modified Esbit stove and fuel fit inside and the whole thing fits in an outer pocket on my backpack. The pot handles swing out and the lid handles fold out and lock. Both sizes are perfect for backpacking and when it comes to cost v. weight with titanium - this is the best deal for me. I liked it the first time I used it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+24points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Texas
Fluid marks incorrect
Posted 03/16/2012
...but have you checked the fluid level marks on yours? Mine, and the others at the store, are off by 1/2" - meaning it reads 4oz LOW. Be careful if preparing freeze dried foods.
0points
Customer Avatar
Black Forest Pa.
Best for the money
Posted 07/30/2011
I have bought over a 100 of these sets for my customers,and have used one myself for over 3 yrs. without a single complaint. Outstanding set for 1 or 2 poeple. I carry the smaller set for my 3 day solo hikes and my woodgas stove fits perfectly in the larger set. You can spend 2 or 3 times as much and still not get a better set.
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 3 for Coleman Anodized Cookset

Look at the box

04/11/2009
By ,
McKinney, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When you look at the box, why do people think it can hold a 10" skillet and a couple of 2-qt. pots? This is not for a family reunion! It's for hiking and backpacking.
My wife and I took it backpacking for a two night trip. This set can cook a meal for two people. We carried a couple of plastic cups to drink from. It's non-stick, so clean-up was easy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
+42points
Review 4 for Coleman Anodized Cookset

Great set

03/21/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm not an expert, but I do camp 6-8 times a year. I camp for hunting and just to be out and enjoy nature. I spend a lot of money on my equipment. This cookware blows away my expensive Snow Peak titanium set. Yes, the snow peak was a little lighter, being titanium, but it buckled and didn't hold up to the heat. IMHO, they made the items too thin thinking that the titanium would allow it to old up. It doesn't. The Coleman anodized aluminum is light enough and has more solid construction. I took it camping during a snow storm which forced us to make an emergency stop to pitch camp and get warm. This set came in handy when needing to boil snow and heat soup. I highly recommend it. It's a little pricy, but much better than the overpriced set I mentioned.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
+8points
Review 5 for Coleman Anodized Cookset

less is more!

10/03/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I borrowed this little cook set on a weekend canoe trip and I love it I will be buying one for myself very soon. I have used many expensive cooksets over the years and this one preformed as well as almost all of them. It is true that it is a bit small the large pot is only about 850 ml or so. I was hoping to find a set like this with a 1L cook pot, but for the price I haven't found a thing that comes anywhere close I would, and have already recommended it to a friend. great product. I'm glad to see coleman stepping up their products.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per month
+15points
Review 6 for Coleman Anodized Cookset

Best Bang for the Buck!

02/13/2011
By ,
Springfield, Louisiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I do a lot of motorcycle camping, and I needed a pot set that nestles my SVEA 123 stove inside, therefore making a nice, neat package.
This set fits the bill! The SVEA stove fits perfectly, with a bar towel cushioning it so it doesn't scratch the pots. Since the stove already has fuel in it, I'm set for a couple of days of cooking.
I was pleasantly surprised at how heavy duty this set really was! No thin stuff here!
I bought a Snow Peak Trek 9000 Aluminum pot set at the same time since I have 2 of these stoves. It also fits the SVEA nicely.
But, of the 2, the Coleman was the better, more sturdy set. Plus, I only used 2 of the pots and have 2 extra pots for extras. A bargain for sure.
For the price and for the quality, this set cannot be beat!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Review 7 for Coleman Anodized Cookset

Great set for the money!

08/03/2011
By ,
Hillsboro, OR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So on the side of spending a small amount of cash and getting your money's worth, I'd have to say this little kit is worth every penny. It may be a bit heavy for UL standards, but it's unlikely you will bring all 4 pieces at the same time.
Some reviews I read state that rice and eggs stick to it. It's not non-stick. It's just hard anodized aluminum. I fried a few strips of bacon in the pan(doubles as a lid for the pot) then fried up some eggs. Slid around like non-stick. I did this using my Red Bull Alcohol stove. Did up some boil in bag rice( I never use loose rice for camping) no issues.
As far as clean up, it's a snap. Most of the soot even wipes off. I just used a sponge and dish soap. I wouldn't use anything abrasive as it will eventually wear off the anodizing. (I'm a machinist, I know).
Overall, for what I was expecting, the quality is up there and far better than most of the Coleman products offered in past years. It cooked evenly, cleaned up easily, and stores well(I put paper towels between everything as I cannot stand rattling.) My one complaint is that the handles could have been a wee bit longer. There's room to do so. They tend to get a little hot. A pot grabber does the trick though. IMHO, one would be hard pressed to find this amount of bang for the buck.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Review 8 for Coleman Anodized Cookset

Coleman Mess Kit

02/25/2010
By ,
Cypress, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
OK, read the description, people. This is a single person mess kit but if all you want to do is boil water for dehydrated meals, it will work for 2 people. This is not the $80 REI set, it is not the $125 Jetboil set, it is a $25 Coleman set. It is hard anodized aluminum and as such it is a good buy. It is well made for the price and I can certainly put it to good use. Your results may vary.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Review 9 for Coleman Anodized Cookset

Excellent 1-2 Person Backpacking Cookware

12/31/2009
By ,
Peoria, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Coleman Anodized Cookset is perfect for backpacking or those looking to save on space, weight and COST. I have used this set a number of times. Measuring cup aspect is critical when using MRE's, dehydrated foods, etc. The other pots can also serve as cup/mug, lid, or a for use by a companion. The non-stick anodized steel makes cleaning easy. They compact into such a small space you can pack extra food or clothing. I commend Wal-mart and Coleman for making excellent and efficient camping gear for a low price. Perfect.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Texas
Inacurate - don't use for measure
Posted 03/16/2012
Have you checked the fluid level marks on yours? Mine, and the others at the store, are off by 1/2" - meaning it reads 4oz LOW. Be careful if preparing freeze dried foods.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Coleman Anodized Cookset
04/15/2012
By ,
San Juan PR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a solo backpacking cooking set, that is to say it is fairly light, small and meant for one person preparing backpacking foods (mostly boiling water, adding the dehydrated ingredients & simmering until they are hydrated and 'cooked') and to cook over a backpacking or an alcohol stove. If that's your intended use, then by all means get it. It's a real deal--actually, you'll have two spare pots. It is easy to clean, handles are 'gripable' and the markings indicating ounces and liters are a plus. Though in a pinch it could be used for 'real' cooking, if you are contemplating cooking other than rehydrating, and for more than just yourself, I'd recommend you find something else.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Review 11 for Coleman Anodized Cookset

Exactly as advertised

04/17/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a small cookset that would take up less space than my MSR set. At about the same weight it is much smaller. I only eat freeze dried or dehydrated foods on a trip so my primary need is to measure and boil water.
Perfect for a solo canoer or hiker. Great price too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Texas
..not exactly
Posted 03/16/2012
Not exactly as advertised....have you checked the fluid level marks on yours? Mine, and the others at the store, are off by 1/2" - meaning it reads 4oz LOW. Be careful if preparing freeze dried foods - don't rely on the marks on the pot.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Coleman Anodized Cookset

Nice Compact Unit

01/01/2010
By ,
Iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This kit is perfect for auto emergency kit and or BugOut Bag. I used it with an Esbit Stove with great results. Good to make coffee/tea; warming up MREs or boiling water for Mountain House pouches. I have paired it up with an old Boy Scout mess kit. MREs, Mountain House pouches, Ramen noodles, coffee, tea, the Esbit stove all in a small duffle bag.
Don't forget the hobo kit (fork, knife, spoon) by Ozark Trails, also here at Walmart, it splits apart, very cool.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Review 13 for Coleman Anodized Cookset

Great cookset for backpacking

09/29/2011
By ,
Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this set for a backpack trip. Worked great. Mostly used to boil water for freeze dried meals. The large pot worked well as it holds enough water for 3 meals. There were 3 of us camping together and was really nice everyone could eat at the same time. Very compact set with carry bag. Plenty of room when stacked together to put a small stove in with pots. Highly recommend this set. Very light weight and very durable. Cleans easily.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Review 14 for Coleman Anodized Cookset

Great Set For Hikers

01/17/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a perfect set for hiking, backpacking, etc. It is small but, the perfect size for backpacking trips. It's made for one person thats why on the box it called Coleman SOLO Anodized Cookset. They should really put SOLO in the name on the website. Bottom line, if you are looking for backpacking cookware, BUY IT!!! REI and other outdoor stores want $30 for it or more for it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 15 for Coleman Anodized Cookset

Should be... Single Person Anodized Cookset

03/31/2009
By ,
denver, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product should be titled Coleman Max Single Person Anodized Cookset. This is indeed more than enough for one backpacker, but would not suffice if you're looking for a family cookset.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Review 16 for Coleman Anodized Cookset

GREAT BUY

10/31/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does the same thing as the expensive ones but you get 2 sets and for only $20
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Review 17 for Coleman Anodized Cookset

Too small and too heavy

05/23/2009
By ,
East Tennessee
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I borrowed this item while traveling out-of-state when an unexpected backpacking opportunity came up. As with most Coleman equipment, it is junk.
I agree with others who say this item is too small for two people and too heavy for a kit for one. I normally use a 2 quart pot for two people - and sometimes that is barely big enough.
My regular kit for two (Antigravity Gear Mama's kitchen 2 quart) has a 2 quart pot with a clamping handle, a cozy, a windscreen and an alcohol stove and only weighs 9.6 ozs - the pitiful set I'm rating weighs 4 more ozs. I come in under this weight with plates and utensils!
My whole set only cost about $10 more than this set - the reason I gave this kit the low value rating.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
-66points
Review 18 for Coleman Anodized Cookset

Great product! Great price!

11/09/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This cook set is listed as a single person cook set, but it it flexible and functional for two people. I bought it online at Walmart for $20.00...a great price! It comes with two pots with flip out handles and two pans with flip up handles. I use the smaller set (pot is 16 ounces or two cups and pan is 12 ounces) for day hikes / overnight trips. Sometimes, for day hikes, I just use the small pan. I love the flexibility of this cook set. The handles are great, sturdy and easy to hold; I use tea light alcohol stove with them and the handles do not get hot. The anodized aluminum is nice; feels light weight and heats up quickly when boiling water. The mesh bag is nice. It is a great backpacking / camping cook set!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 19 for Coleman Anodized Cookset

Great For Backpacking

08/29/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought these pans with my husband for the 2 of us to use backpacking. We recently went backpacking with my mom and dad, and now my mom is in love with my pans. They are easy to wash, kept the food warmer then a plate, easy to pack/stack and all four family members used the one set. I will be buying her a set or I have a feeling my set will go missing the next time she goes packing.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 20 for Coleman Anodized Cookset

Very small & compact!

09/08/2011
By ,
IL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It's a very small & compact set, light weight and has it's own mesh sack. Not a fan of mesh sacks, even though their light weight, everything gets caught in them. It was a deal at $20, was concerned about small size, not sure you could really cook in them. I never got the chance, as my pops was concerned about the process of anodized aluminum , said better safe now then sorry later down the road, so I returned them and got a GSI glacier stainless set. Still think it's a great budget set for solo backpackers tho!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-2points
1-20 of 31 total reviews
1 2 Next