Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Fellowes Fellowes Powershred Shredder Lubricant Oil

Fellowes Fellowes Powershred Shredder Lubricant Oil

Enhance the performance of your paper shredder with the Fellowes Powershred Shredder Lubricant Oil. This handy oil comes in a 12-oz plastic squeeze bottle so it is simple to use and can be stored away easily. This product comes with an extended nozzle that will ensure complete and accurate coverage when applying the paper shredder oil to your device. This is a wonderful product to use in order to achieve the proper care and maintenance needed for the upkeep of your personal at home document shredder. You can maintain the maximum cutting capacity of your shredder with the useful and efficient Fellowes shredder oil.
Average Customer Rating:
4.796 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(103 Reviews) 72
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
87
4 stars
13
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation98%101 out of 103reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 25 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
87
4 stars
13
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Fellowes Powershred Shredder Lubricant Oil

Shredder Oil

10/28/2009
By ,
Somerset County, New Jersey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Other vendors are insisting upon selling lubricant sheets that are less effective and by far more expensive than using shredder oil. I believe my shredder manufacturer specified oil not silly pieces of paper with lubricant imbeded.
This product seems to work just fine to prolong the efficient operation of the shredder. It is as recommended by the shredder manufacturer.
Re. Walmart's service. You can't beat ordering today, expecting it in a week and getting it in 24 hours. Way to go! Good customer service means exceeding expectations.
If Walmart was handling emergency supply distribution to disaster areas in the USA we'd all be much safer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Fellowes Powershred Shredder Lubricant Oil

Must Have!

12/27/2008
By ,
Baltimore, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I searched everywhere for the best price on this product because I did not want to pay a lot for it. Wal-Mart had the best price!
Other reviewers suggested putting some of this product in a junk mail envelope and then running that through your shredder for the best results and I agree. This is the best way to use this product and keep your shredder blade in tip-top condition. I purchased this product to extend the life of my new shredder, but found that it restored life to my old shredder too.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+60points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Fellowes Powershred Shredder Lubricant Oil

A Must Have Product

08/26/2008
By ,
Gilbert, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cross-cut shredders require periodic lubrication to clean out the paper debris accumulations on the cutting heads. Fellowes Powershred Shredder Lubricant Oil is an economical alternative to pre-lubricated cleanings sheets. Just spread some oil inside a junk mail envelope and shred.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Fellowes Powershred Shredder Lubricant Oil

LONGLASTING

10/06/2009
By ,
PHOENIX, ARIZONA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BEEN PLACING OIL IN A JUNK MAIL ENVELOPE
PERIODICALLY. ALLOWS MY SHREDDER TO WORK MORE SMOOTHLY SINCE I HAVE BEEN USING THIS OIL.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Fellowes Powershred Shredder Lubricant Oil

i guess its working

03/02/2011
By ,
Atlanta, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i bought the lubricant in hopes of extending the life of my new fellowes shredder and have applied it after each full basket of shredded paper.
there is a helpful instuctional video on fellowes.com that shows how to apply the lubricant.
my two complaints are that the bottle comes with no instructions and they video did not say where to cut the dispensing plastic top, so i unknowingly cut it too far down and the oil rushes out too fast. also, when the proct was delivered, there was no cap to the bottle in the box, so i had to use aluminum foil ... i just have to hope it doesnt get knocked over accidentally.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Fellowes Powershred Shredder Lubricant Oil

Prolong The Life of Your Shredder

04/05/2011
By ,
Lake Winnebago Area, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Using Fellowes brand oil will help prolong the life of any shredder.
I must admit though, I did have an Aurora shredder that finally died a couple months ago after almost 8 years of extreme shredding and not once had I ever applied oil to it. Guess I was lucky...VERY lucky!
Since purchasing a Fellowes MS-450Ci, (micro-shredder), its oiled every time a full basket is emptied.
I fold an 8 1/2 x 11 piece of paper in half, inserting it about a half inch into the opening. Hold apart, a little bit, the two ends of the paper and quickly apply the oil beginning at the top and moving across as it will run down into the crease. Quickly insert the rest of the way into the shredder.
A small amount of oil will run out of the sides, but that's good...it will lubricate the very ends of the cutters.
When shredding is complete, I run in reverse and forward respectively, for approx. 15 seconds each mode.
Works for me.
NOTE: I apply oil beginning at the top of the folded paper letting it run down to make sure all the cutters have a chance of being lubricated. The cutter is cylindrical in shape and revolves. If oil is only applied to the bottom of crease, only a small number of the cutters will be lubricated in one revolution.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Hawaii
Fellowers High Perfomance Shredder Oil
Posted 10/12/2013
Do some research on Fellowes Home page for the MSDS-Manufacture Safety Data Sheet; this is NOTHING but Canola Oil search-link and see for yourself! http://assets.fellowes.com/MSDS/35250_MSDS.pdf
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Fellowes Powershred Shredder Lubricant Oil
05/20/2012
By ,
Killeen, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This oil is very thin (watery). Cut a very small tip off the cap. A little goes a long way! Lubricating the cutting blades seems to have cut down on paper clustering on the underside fillng the shredder basket. I don't spend so much time plucking the tightly bunched up paper shreds from under the shredder. Use caution when lubricationg the blades, because the oil quickly runs through to the other side causing oil to drip everywhere. Also, I found that if I immediately run the shredder in reverse after I oil the cutting blades, that action causes the oil to distribute evenly over them. The lubricated blades seem to shred paper much quicker and easier than when not lubricated. So far, so good. No complaints thus far.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Fellowes Powershred Shredder Lubricant Oil

Necessity for prolonging life of paper shredders

02/14/2014
By ,
Dayton, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lubricant for paper shredders. Is as advertised, just spread across cutter blades and working parts of motor head. Wish I had been aware of importance of using this on my old shredder. I will be oiling the mechanical parts regularly on my new crosscut shredder to get the long life needed. Recommend this product for any brand of paper shredder. Nothing fancy and easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Fellowes Powershred Shredder Lubricant Oil

FIXED THE PROBLEM

09/01/2011
By ,
Gulfport FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One side of my shredder would not rotate, I used quite a bit of this oil and now it is like new. I plan to use it on a regular basis now that I know it is necessary. Even if your unit works fine now, you should use some type of oil to prevent the same problem I had. It is a little expensive, but it works!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Fellowes Powershred Shredder Lubricant Oil

Great Lubriant

08/11/2014
By ,
Jefferson, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does the job that is great and keep the shedder working smoothly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Fellowes Powershred Shredder Lubricant Oil

Works great with my shredder!

01/17/2014
By ,
Sierra Vista, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I abuse my shredder. The shredder has lasted a looooooong time. I keep it lubricated with the shredder oil. No worries!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Fellowes Powershred Shredder Lubricant Oil

very good product

11/07/2013
By ,
greenburg,pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very good pricing for a very good product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Fellowes Powershred Shredder Lubricant Oil

Best Price

04/26/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Fellowes oil works as described...Wal-mart has the best price on this product....I, like others have mentioned, use the oil on junk mail and run it through the shredder after I fill up the shredding bin! Product arrived in a fast amount of time. Ordering online from Wal-mart is fast, easy, and they always have the lowest prices!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Fellowes Powershred Shredder Lubricant Oil

excellent comparitive price for a needed product

06/11/2014
By ,
stuart, fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A little goes a long way. I put a little in an envelope every time I empty my shredder to keep up the needed maintenance. Walmart's price is the best.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Fellowes Powershred Shredder Lubricant Oil

Makes the old like new

03/22/2011
By ,
Fort Myers, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have had my shredder for about 10 years now, and bought that at Walmart too. Recently the paper has been getting jammed and causing "aruckus". This helped make everything run smoothly again. I will be now using it at least once a month, b/c I use my shredder so much. Oh, and a little goes a long way.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Fellowes Powershred Shredder Lubricant Oil

Wish Walmart SOLD this in the shredder isle also !

12/24/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would be nice if walmart SOLD this With the Shredders in the shredder isle!
I have been to THREE walmarts in my area.....
And I can ONLY find this item ONLINE!
The pile of items I need to shred is growing and I will be trying the nearest office supply store to see if THEY have this item on the shelf.
I found NO directions or diagrams on how to oil my shredder, but it did state that it needed to be oiled. So,being the net surfer that I am, I did find a page with not only instructions, but with a sketch on:
How to Oil Your Paper Shredder
you can go to ( of course the 3 w's first) then:
factory-express dot com/blog/2005/09/how- to-oil-paper-shredder.html
Walmart should print out that page and put it in a holder for customers to take that buy or have purchased a shredder, so they know how to do it. AND put the oil you need next to the information, would be nice too!
I ran the black and decker shredder BD-10P(that I bought at walmart) one day for almost 6 hours, then it started to sound louder. That was 2 weeks ago. So I stopped using it until I could get some oil for it.
I put that shredder through its paces.... Very good shredder for the price!
With the price of gas going up I don't want to keep driving around for oil for it. I also dont want to wait for weeks before it gets shipped to me. Something you will need every few weeks for maintainence for it so the shredder wont "blow up"on you - you'd THINK they would Keep on the shelf at the local Walmart....
That's why I gave the scores I did....
I havent "Found" the product to be able to use it, which is fustrating. But the only cheapest place I found "Online" is walmart.
I would just like this item to be available on the shelves at the local walmart so I won't harm the 89.99 B&D shredder I bought from walmart.
I'm dissapointed with walmart. I expected better. :(
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Fellowes Powershred Shredder Lubricant Oil

You Will Need This!

02/02/2013
By ,
Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Your shredder will work better and last longer if you use this.
I followed the recommendations from ppl who had already written reviews on this product about putting the oil in a junk mail envelope and running it through after every full basket of shredded paper.
Excellent Advice!!
Walmart's price and size of this product is the best I've found!
Had it shipped to home and it arrived the next day on Standard shipping.
Shipping cost is Great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Fellowes Powershred Shredder Lubricant Oil

great shredder lubricant

01/02/2013
By ,
San Ramon, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like the ease in which I can use this lubricant with my shredder. I just poke a pin hole in the nozzle and stick it in the shredder blades (machine unplugged of course) and squeeze and its lubricated. Doesn't have any odor and isn't messy to use. The size will last me a very long time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Fellowes Powershred Shredder Lubricant Oil

Important for smooth operation

02/25/2011
By ,
S.F. Bay area
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My shredder operates more smoothly after using this vegetable oil lubricant.
The instructions for its use could be much better.
After removing the cap, no lubricant came out when I tried to squeeze it into the throat of the shredder.
You have to snip off the top with a scissor or razor.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Fellowes Powershred Shredder Lubricant Oil
06/19/2013
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
does a good job just cost to much.....
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 73 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next