Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sterilite Sterilite 4-Shelf Utility Storage Cabinet, Putty 01428501

Sterilite Sterilite 4-Shelf Utility Storage Cabinet, Putty 01428501

The Sterilite 4-Shelf Utility Storage Cabinet is an ideal product for storing items in your garage, basement, utility room or hobby room. It's made of heavy-duty plastic and can be assembled in a short period of time without tools. The Sterilite 4-Shelf Utility Cabinet features doors that can be easily and securely opened and closed. If you wish to use a padlock for security, a standard size lock will be sufficient. There are four shelves that can be adjusted to multiple heights. The weight capacity of each shelf in this plastic storage cabinet is 40 pounds. The Sterilite Storage Cabinet is approximately 25-3/4 inches long, 19 inches wide and 69-1/2 inches tall.
Average Customer Rating:
4.646 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(845 Reviews) 733
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
625
4 stars
178
3 stars
17
2 stars
13
1 star
12
Customer Recommendation97%821 out of 843reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
74 Questions | 438 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
625
4 stars
178
3 stars
17
2 stars
13
1 star
12
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sterilite 4-Shelf Utility Storage Cabinet, Putty 01428501

Great storage cabinet

11/27/2013
By ,
Lakeland, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These were on sale and I brought 6 of them. I lined all 6 of them up in my garage side-by side and they look great! Before I had tools, camping equipment, paint and household stuff everywhere. I had everything organized before, but it always seemed to look messy with everything laying out around the sides of the garage in baskets, on bookshelves and just stacked on top of one another. With these cabinets everything has a place and I labeled with cabinet on top with what was stored so things could be found easily. I was able to put these together in no time-no tools needed, it just snapped together. I don't know how long they will last but they are made out of thick plastic. The selves seem to be sturdy enough for what I need them for. I put my smaller hand tools, nails etc on the selves but I didn't trust them with cans of paint or power tools so I just put those on the very bottom. You put the selves where you need them. I have been telling everyone about these!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Carlsbad, CA
I love this product!
Posted 01/19/2014
Easy to assemble, spacious, holds up to the sun and can take light rain without getting wet inside. Great price too! The fact that it is often unavailable is most likely because people love them and
scoop them up fast. I own two myself.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Sterilite 4-Shelf Utility Storage Cabinet, Putty 01428501

This unit exceeded my expectations!

04/01/2014
By ,
Orange Park, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this for our kitchen. This is an extremely easy unit to assemble; my husband did it in less than 15 minutes. It is very sturdy and spacious. It actually has 6 shelves, if you utilize the bottom shelf and the top of the unit. We stored bulkier items in those areas to have them secure and out of the way. I moved all the groceries and other items from a bookcase type system that was in the way and opened up floor space, with room to spare in the storage unit. It was $79.88 in-store, but it was in stock and I could take it home immediately. There were no assembly problems, and it was lightweight to move across the floor. This is the greatest piece of furniture I have ever purchased, but I knew going into it that Sterilite makes very good products, and in my opinion, sometimes puts Rubbermaid to shame!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sterilite 4-Shelf Utility Storage Cabinet, Putty 01428501

Excellent product for the value!!

12/27/2009
By ,
Richmond,VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This review was long due. I read good reviews about this product. I have been looking for a storage shelf like this for around 2 months online and in-stores. I did not want to spend too much on it as its for a 1 BR apartment, from where I might move out in a year or so. I picked it up from my local walmart store. Shipping was quick (1 week). The box packaging seemed to be a bit damaged and got me a little worried. But I came home opened up the product and there was no damage to any part inside. The assembly was the easiest I could have ever imagined. It took me 30 minutes to put this together. The color of the product matched the color of walls in my apartment (added bonus). Its extremely light-weight, yet durable. And it has a lot more room than you can imagine by looking at the product pictures. Look at the pictures in my review to get an idea. This was an ideal storage solution for my kitchen pantry. Highly recommended.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sterilite 4-Shelf Utility Storage Cabinet, Putty 01428501

Great storage anywhere

01/05/2010
By ,
Nebraska
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I previously purchased two-(2 piece shorter version)of these storage units and liked them so well I purchased the taller (one peice) unit. They all serve their purpose well,however, I prefer the two smaller units-stacked on top of each other. For some reason they are more steady - the taller(one piece) feels tippy, but I love both of these and the quality is wonderful along with the assembly-I did it myself and didn't need my husband to help! Very roomy too!!! I also was impressed by the FAST EFFICIENT service I received-THANKS WALMART!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+44points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sterilite 4-Shelf Utility Storage Cabinet, Putty 01428501

EXCELLENT PURCHASE

06/21/2009
By ,
Lexington, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this as a temporary solution to a pantry problem in our kitchen. We liked it so much that we are purchasing another and keeping them as our pantries.
I packed quite alot of stuff in it as you can see in the picture..
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+236points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
waxahachie
pantry
Posted 05/11/2012
I need to use in my garage in TX, will critters keep out of it with dry good perishables like the one I see in your pic?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Sterilite 4-Shelf Utility Storage Cabinet, Putty 01428501

Love it!

07/08/2010
By ,
Kissimmee, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My kitchen pantry was getting too small so I needed something for the garage to use as a pantry! This shipped quickly and I received it quickly as well. Easy to put together with no tools at all. Not heavy to move at all! My husband even told me that we need to buy more of these to organize the garage! It holds much more than I thought! Worth the money!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sterilite 4-Shelf Utility Storage Cabinet, Putty 01428501

multiple uses

01/05/2012
By ,
Marion, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this cabinet to use for storage of brooms/mop. It works awesome. I was able to use one shelf at the top and fit in 2 mop buckets, 2 brooms, 1 sm. broom, 1 mop and 1 bissell in the bottom. Definitly a great buy.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sterilite 4-Shelf Utility Storage Cabinet, Putty 01428501

THE BEST!

08/24/2012
By ,
Silver Spring, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this cabinet. I needed extra storage space in my kitchen and this was the perfect fit! Its stream line, and looks very nice in the kitchen. It goes with the colors in the kitchen.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sterilite 4-Shelf Utility Storage Cabinet, Putty 01428501

Great for kids room or playroom!

01/01/2010
By ,
Pennsylvania
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for an inexpensive storage unit that would work for my girls rooms since I don't have any closets. This worked great!! My 5 year old and myself put this together in no time, and now everything has a place. I plan on buying a couple more for the house. It looks very nice also.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Texas
Awesome for Garage Cabinet
Posted 01/02/2014
This Arrow storage unit is a great addition to my garage area. Works well for storing tools, garage related items, and virtually anything that fits. My wife is happy because it made me a bit more organized. The manufacturer arrow originalshelters.com has always delivered storage products far above the others on the market today! I would recommend this product for anybody looking for a great storage solution on a budget.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Sterilite 4-Shelf Utility Storage Cabinet, Putty 01428501

Great Storage!

03/17/2011
By ,
Chino, California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a storage container to hold all of my dog supplies. This is perfect. A snap to put together. Light weight to carry it empty to your location. I keep this in my game room. The color is neutral and does not stick out like a sore thumb. The price is what attracted me to buying it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sterilite 4-Shelf Utility Storage Cabinet, Putty 01428501

Great Cabinets, Smooth Setup, Great Price

08/22/2011
By ,
Ipswich, Massachusetts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hard to find much wrong with these cabinets. They go together easily, are a fraction of the cost of the particle board style cabinets, look nice, are durable and work well.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sterilite 4-Shelf Utility Storage Cabinet, Putty 01428501

WOW I like these

02/06/2008
By ,
Waterloo, New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought one of the two shelf units and two of these bigger ones. These things are great! They hold more than we thought they would. They look sylish in the kitchen. And the chemicals are locked so the little ones can't get them and the keys and other things are untouchable to the teenagers. :-)
Would love to see more items that match these ones.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+99points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sterilite 4-Shelf Utility Storage Cabinet, Putty 01428501

Great storage

12/13/2010
By ,
Austin, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Organized my garage and bought two of these cabinets along with the Sterilite shelves and 4-drawer storage cabinet. Online notification was great - item came early. Store helped load into my car. The assembly was easy with the assistance of my son. Instructions were very good. The function of the cabinets is great for the price. I'm not worried about spills, bugs, or the weight i put on the shelves. I like that people cannot see my stuff when my garage is open. Wish I'd done the whole wall with these!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sterilite 4-Shelf Utility Storage Cabinet, Putty 01428501

Im happy with my purchase!!!!

07/19/2010
By ,
Brooklyn NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great storage cabinet! I looked around quite a bit before deciding on this one. It was definately the cheapest of all I looked at and I think the best looking. It's totally cute and very functional. It's a cinch to put together - comes with very clear instructions and no tools are needed. When it's empty it isn't very heavy and can easily be moved. The 4 shelves are adjustable to different heights as well. Thanks Walmart !
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sterilite 4-Shelf Utility Storage Cabinet, Putty 01428501

Great All Purpose Storage Units

03/25/2013
By ,
Columbus, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got these to take care of seasonal items, kids games and school supplies, gardening supplies, and kitchen items that aren't used often. We can't afford to redo the kitchen at this time so I checked into storage units. I've had the pressed board shelving before that doesn't hold up very well so I was looking for something different without having to shell out $1000. The Sterlite 4 Shelf Storage Cabinets fit our needs. The shelves are adjustable so you can fit short or tall items in them. I would not store heavy items like dishes due to plastic tends to bowl over time if heavy loads are placed on them. They are great for storing my pots and garden supplies, the kids games and school supplies, my seasonal holiday items, and heavy stuff on the bottom of the unit since it's already sitting on the floor. The doors close well without having the gaps that pressed board cabinets tend to have. I put together all 4 units in 2 hours, by myself. I can live with the putty color since it's not to dark, would be nice to see these units in white or eggshell, however they still don't look bad in a kitchen setting, unless you have a designer kitchen. They will serve their purpose for several years until we can remodel the kitchen. I like that everything is hidden behind cabinet doors, instead of being in plain view and the units can have a lock placed on them using the holes that are located in the bottom of the door handles. I brought 4 units total, using the 2 pack deal for a better price break. With no shipping costs they worked out to be $75 a piece, plus the $20 Walmart gift card that comes with the 2 pack pack ended up making them $65 a piece. My husband likes them so much that he wants me to order another 2 pack for his computer room.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sterilite 4-Shelf Utility Storage Cabinet, Putty 01428501

Sturdy and useful product

12/30/2013
By ,
IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's easy to put together also. It's made in such a way that I don't know if it's possible to put it together wrong. We're using it for toy storage and it holds a lot.
We have the smaller Sterilite utility cabinet and have had it for about a year. We've had no problems whatsoever with it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sterilite 4-Shelf Utility Storage Cabinet, Putty 01428501

Love! Love! Love this cabinet! 5 Stars!

04/16/2013
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Price! Easy to put together! I purchased 2 and want 2 more. I'm using one for household storage, gets rid of clutter. And the other I'm using to store all of my scrapbooking supplies. I love that it locks and keeps the kids out! Couldn't be more pleased with value and quality!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sterilite 4-Shelf Utility Storage Cabinet, Putty 01428501

A GREAT ITEM FOR YOUR HOME

12/27/2009
By ,
Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I put this item together myself and just took my time in doing so. A couple of the pieces at the end were mismarked but I was able to figure them out and completed the project. I am a senior citizen and if I can put this together anyone can lol. It looks very nice and I am using it for food stuffs. I highly recommend this unit for storage.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sterilite 4-Shelf Utility Storage Cabinet, Putty 01428501

Awesome Cabinet

09/18/2009
By ,
Hot Springs Village, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just picked-up this cabinet yesterday. I'm 5'3 and weigh 113 lbs. and it took me a total of 14 minutes to put it together. I timed it just to see. It was so easy. Every piece is identified with a letter of the alphabet. You just click them together following the simple instructions. This cabinet rocks. I'm using it in my sunroom which I have just converted to my art studio. It has so much room it's hard to believe. I have all of my supplies in it and there's still plenty of room for more stuff. It's very sturdy. I was worried that it would look awful, but it's amazingly attractive. I brought my neighbor in to show her and I had to point it out to her. I had it in the corner and she didn't even notice it. I am going to order another one right now for the garage. We buy items in bulk and store them on open shelving. This will keep them out of sight and safe from "critters". I know it's going to hold a ton of stuff. I highly, highly recommend this product. I love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sterilite 4-Shelf Utility Storage Cabinet, Putty 01428501

Just what I wanted for the garage!

04/17/2014
By ,
Norman, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My old wooden cabinet fell apart after 20 years of neglect, water and age. I saw this cabinet online. It was cheap and seemed what I wanted. It was at my house in no time. I assumed it would be like most inexpensive cabinets: difficult. I was wrong. No tools~it snapped together. Not only that, it snapped together easily, and once together was as sturdy as I could have hopped. It was slightly larger than the old wooden one, so everything fit in well. Most importantly, my wife was delighted. The old cabinet threatened to fall on her; this is entirely stable. A happy wife means a happy life.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 695 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  35 Next