Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Rubbermaid Rubbermaid Configurable 4' to 8' Closet Kit, White

Rubbermaid Rubbermaid Configurable 4' to 8' Closet Kit, White

Get organized and customize your closet with the Rubbermaid Configurable 4' to 8' Closet Kit. This closet organizer kit is simple to install and can be configured to fit any space with no cutting required. You can also reconfigure this organizer kit based on your requirements with the telescoping rods and expandable shelves provided. You can store your shirts, skirts, and folded pants in the double-hang section and dresses and suits in the long-hang sections. This Rubbermaid wardrobe organizer comes with a top and bottom shelf to store your sweater, blankets, and shoes. This closet organizer kit is versatile and flexible and can be easily reconfigured to fit varied spaces.
Average Customer Rating:
4.744 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(156 Reviews) 132
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
121
4 stars
31
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation99%153 out of 155reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 43 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
121
4 stars
31
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Rubbermaid Configurable 4' to 8' Closet Kit, White

Make sure you have deep closets

08/23/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought 2 of these and I like them but the only thing is make sure you have deep closets. The clothes hanging bar sits at the end of the shelves and every time I close my bifold doors the clothes racks get inbetween the doors. Other than that, good product so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Rubbermaid Configurable 4' to 8' Closet Kit, White

Good for Organization Closet Kit

02/10/2011
By ,
New Orleans, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The installation and configuration was fairly easy. My husband located the studs and hung the rails. I thought that the height specification for the top rail was too high, so I had it installed a few inches lower. I did the configuration, this is what took the longest. I tried a bunch of different ways until I settled on one. Our closet is approximately 5' 5" wide.
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Rubbermaid Configurable 4' to 8' Closet Kit, White

awesome

02/27/2012
By ,
Nv
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As you can see my old closet was looking pretty shabby!
And after with this Rubbermaid closet organizer and help from my son, we
were able to put it up within about 20 minutes or so.
I am now able to see all my clothes!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Rubbermaid Configurable 4' to 8' Closet Kit, White

Closet organization par excellence

11/08/2008
By ,
Washington state
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the rubbermaid closet organizer kit is an excellent value. installation is quick'n'easy {although a bit longer than instructions lead you to believe!}
the major drawback is one item in the kit .... the "plugs" for the ends of the clothes rods. they are poorly designed, do not fit well, were somewhat mishapen as a result of packaging. w/o them, the clothes hangers tend to slip right off the end of the rod {which is not against a wall}. we remedied it with the purchase of 7/8" rubber ends that are used for the legs of furniture. white ones blend in with the white shelving and brackets .... inconvenient, but workable.
overall ... we increased our closet capabilities from 8 feet of shelf and 5 feet of hanging rod ... to 12 feet of hanging rod and 18 feet of shelving ... all in an 8 foot wide closet. result is a very usable closet - amazing use of space. and very happy people.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Rubbermaid Configurable 4' to 8' Closet Kit, White

Wonderful.....!!

08/23/2008
By ,
Richmond, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought two of these, one for each bedroom in my home. A friend handled the installation & he said it was pretty easy! This product didn't disappoint in the least. If I had to indicate a negative aspect, it would be that more shelf supports were included (2-3 more would've made it perfect!!). Suffice it to say, though, that I'm incredibly happy with my purchase & would absolutely recommend this Rubbermaid product to anyone!
In addition, for this order I utilized the "Site to Store" option & saved close to $40 in shipping charges by picking up this order @ Wal-Mart myself. Was easily loaded it in my car's trunk & carried into my house with little effort & no assistance.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Rubbermaid Configurable 4' to 8' Closet Kit, White

GET READY TO BUY EXTRA HARDWARE

03/06/2014
By ,
TUPELO,MS.
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sure it looks good after all day trying to install it . But the kit as they call it, has some slight flaws in the inventory area. After laying everything out and getting ready to install it. I discover that there is a shortage of wall anchors for drywall points and not enough screws for the wall studs that you better hit as many times as possible across the top hang rail for the down tracts to hang from or you'll be fixing holes in the wall where it pulls loose from weight of clothes and other items. Ifinished the job but after going to Lowes Hardware and spending another 15 bucks for more mounting hardware.It get better, I bought 2 of these at the same time online and ended up paying almost 30 dollars more in extra hardware to complete the project. GOOD LUCK EVERYBODY
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Rubbermaid Configurable 4' to 8' Closet Kit, White

Great Value!

03/27/2014
By ,
CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sturdy when done correctly :) This closet has several configurations available and when complete the closet has an airy appearance!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Rubbermaid Configurable 4' to 8' Closet Kit, White

Gets the job done

03/21/2014
By ,
woodbury, mn
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Be sure to have a stud finder. I had uneven studs so things were a bit different but I set up over a couple days as not to be too stressed out!
a couple of the plastic hanging rail end covers were broken in shipment, not critical but not the best either.
It does the job and makes room in my 6' wide closet.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Rubbermaid Configurable 4' to 8' Closet Kit, White

Easy installation

01/10/2014
By ,
Clinton, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I consider myself handy for a woman and this closet system was so easy to install. The installation process took me 45 minutes to complete. I had to modify some of the instructions when it came to the wall studs. I used wall anchors because of the spacing between each rail. This system looks great and professional. I can't stop walking in the guess bedroom just to look at it and showing off my handy work to guess when they come over. I'm now getting ready to tackle my next project which is my smaller guess bedroom that my husband converted into a closet and I know this system will work GREAT in there.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Rubbermaid Configurable 4' to 8' Closet Kit, White

Easy assembly and configuration

03/09/2014
By ,
Raqndallstown,Md.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So pleased with this closet kit I ordered another
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Rubbermaid Configurable 4' to 8' Closet Kit, White

great product

01/24/2009
By ,
PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If your short on space and like diversity, this is it! Absolutely love it ,even the husband has to agree! I found add on basket drawers for this system at another store...I wish Wal-mart would carry all the extra's for this system rather than shopping around. Overall...you can't go wrong!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Rubbermaid Configurable 4' to 8' Closet Kit, White

wow

03/05/2009
By ,
Woodstock, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
got this organizer to make room in the closet for my boyfriends massive amount of clothes and mine that were already there...had just one bar across the top...after putting this in, the room doesnt even look the same....was able to paint the closet, hang the system and get some organization done in just one afternoon. The only drawback i came across was not enough shelving...after making two hanging racks above each other and a long hanging section on other end for pants and dresses, only left one shelf to hang in center area we decided to place shelves, also the amount of brackets and hangrod hooks was a little unusual, had an extra shelf when done but only one bracket to hang with, looked everywhere for a place to buy extra brackets but cant find, so just ordered another shelf kit. This is definately the best price and comes to the store rather quickly, would definately get another in the future. Its so simple to change the closet around.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Rubbermaid Configurable 4' to 8' Closet Kit, White

good buy with one complaint

11/13/2013
By ,
Ionia Michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Over all happy with everything about this product except for the cheap drywall anchors. This project took me twice as long as it should have because of the anchors. After trying to get them to work for me , i eventually found some i had (same size and style only better made). From that point on everything went togeather very easy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Rubbermaid Configurable 4' to 8' Closet Kit, White

Great Organizer

01/21/2014
By ,
Bronx, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Once you get the back bracket in place and secure the sides its very easy to configure anyway you want. Really adds space and keeps your closet neat and uncluttered. I would highly recommend this item. I have them in all my 5 closets.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Rubbermaid Configurable 4' to 8' Closet Kit, White

Supports a lot of weight. Great Value.

06/04/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This closet system works perfectly for our walk-in closet. We needed something that did not require support from two end-walls (one of our usable walls runs right into the entrance doorway). We screwed all the upright support beams into wall studs to ensure it would support a lot of weight. Since we didn't follow the pattern suggested, it does limit some of the configurations (due to the spacing of the brackets). However, we wanted to avoid a repeat disaster. We previously had a standard 6' wire rack that was supported with drywall anchors & brackets (anchors ripped right out of the drywall - everything came crashing down).
We've had it up for a few months & it's holding the weight just fine. We also found a few extra accessories (shelves, baskets, etc), sold elsewhere individually, that we added onto the standard kit.
I highly recommend this closet. We'll be getting another one for the other side of our walk-in.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Rubbermaid Configurable 4' to 8' Closet Kit, White

OK

01/16/2014
By ,
Florida
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Easy to install. One of the shelves was .75 of an inch wider than the others. Best price is at Walmart over all other stores.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Rubbermaid Configurable 4' to 8' Closet Kit, White

Love our new closet!!!

06/15/2010
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased 3 Rubbermaid Configurable Closet Kits, 2 3~6 ft and 1 4~8 ft plus 3 additional wood shelves, to remodel an unused bedroom into a walk in closet.
We ordered them thru WalMart online using the Site to Store option. We were very impressed with how quickly they arrived at the store and saved a fair amount on the shipping using this option.
Installing the systems was a very easy process. A little measuring and marking had all three systems up in just under 2 hours.
My only word of advice/caution is that if you purchase the wood shelves you have to measure correctly to mount them BEFORE attaching the wall hanging brackets.
As other reviews have stated, the most difficult part of installation was choosing which configuration you wanted. I played with that for hours finally setteling on a configuration that gave us maximum storage and made the room look nice.
The hang rods, shelves and hardware are all nice quality and well built...the only complaint, and it isn't even that important, is the hang rod ends...their plastic and some of them came a little dented/bent...easy enough fix tho...just roll them back and forth in your hands...the plastic remolds itself pretty well.
We've had our closet systems up for about 3 weeks now and we couldn't be happier. Loads of storage, everything has it's place and if you want to change things around it takes just a few moves and a couple minutes.
We would highly recommend this product to anyone in need of extra and/or more efficient storage.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Rubbermaid Configurable 4' to 8' Closet Kit, White

Ikea couldn't have doen better

07/29/2010
By ,
From Brooklyn, living in Navarre, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this space maker. First b'cause the space my wife & I are in doesn't have closets...so therefore enter Rubbermade! It's not at all bulky, really can't even notice it on the wall for the cloths. Next is the sturdy construction...as I was putting it together I was like "is this going to work," b'cause usually I have parts left over not from me scrapping the instructions, but the manufacturer always adding more equipment than nessecery, (right). So yep it's still hanging tough there on the wall with at least 70 pounds of cloths on it! Rock on peps, Ikea has the price & style points, but this takes the cake with all practicality & price. Peace up W-town down.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Rubbermaid Configurable 4' to 8' Closet Kit, White

Looks good but not as easy as it looks!

06/22/2010
By ,
Tampa, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This closet organizer LOOKS like it would be a cinch to install. Putting up the main rail (horizontal) and the vertical pieces was simple with included drywall anchors and screws. However, getting the brackets, shelves and poles aligned was not so easy. My closet is 6.5 feet long, and I had to use both the long shelf and a shorter shelf to extend the entire length. There is simply no way to use both shelves unless you double up on brackets right next to each other. I thought the shelves could overlap a bit but they cannot. I ended up using some white duct tape and wrapped the vinyl coated shelves together so it wouldn't sag where the 2 pieces met. The poles connect to each other without issue, and the brackets were easy to install. I'm pleased with the final product but wish there was some method to connect 2 shelves that share a bracket.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Rubbermaid Configurable 4' to 8' Closet Kit, White

good product

11/18/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
its awesome
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 72 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next