Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Rubbermaid Rubbermaid Configurable 4' to 8' Closet Kit, Titanium

Rubbermaid Rubbermaid Configurable 4' to 8' Closet Kit, Titanium

Organize your closet with the versatile Rubbermaid Configurable Titanium Closet Kit. This simple-to-install, customizable closet system expands to fit any space. Telescoping rods and expandable shelves allow you to easily reconfigure the system to meet your changing storage needs. The components of the silver clothes closet kit are easy to install and is designed to fit a 4-foot to 8-foot closet space. The closet storage system includes three sets of shelves of varying lengths to accommodate different types of garments. It also has 11 shelf brackets that can be set up to hold hats, shoes, bags, make-up sets and nine-rod support hangers to hang formals, coats, cardigans. Moreover, this expandable closet shelf also features hang rails for trousers and a lengthy telescoping rod to hang clothes.
Average Customer Rating:
4.688 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(176 Reviews) 143
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
131
4 stars
37
3 stars
7
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation97%169 out of 175reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
26 Questions | 52 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
131
4 stars
37
3 stars
7
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Rubbermaid Configurable 4' to 8' Closet Kit, Titanium

Great Product with Room to Grow!

02/24/2010
By ,
IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is great for the money. It was relatively easy to put together, though I found I needed to buy more screws to secure the frame. The anchors were really great and once you got the frame on the wall securely, arranging all of the accessories was a breeze. I bought add ons, and if you decide to do this, just make sure you know the measurements of the product because everything hooks into the main frame. If you don't make them the right width apart, certain add ons won't fit. Over-all, great product that really helps optimize space!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Rubbermaid Configurable 4' to 8' Closet Kit, Titanium

great for closets!

03/14/2010
By ,
new york, ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is exactly what I needed, an easy convienent way to organize all my stuff. I had a small closet that just had one long rod and one long shelf. it took me a few hours to install and i was able to do it all by myself. i also only needed one of the drill pieces, since i didnt have both. i was able to make it work without the drywall anchors as well. it didnt come out perfect but it holds up, and hold all my stuff. i love that the shelves and rods are all interchangeable and i can confirgure it however i want. i was also impressed that the shipping charge was only 99 cents!!! this was amazing to me because usually really heavey stuff costs a ton of money to ship. i am super happy with my new organized closet, and the only thing i wish it had were more parts and shelves so i could add even more! i may buy the shoe rack seperately and install that next!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Rubbermaid Configurable 4' to 8' Closet Kit, Titanium

Greate product... not as pictured

10/08/2012
By ,
Chicago
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second time I re-do a closet in my home. I used a white version for reach-in 5' closet of my son's room and bought 2 wire drawers and a pant rack to upgrade. This made a huge difference in his organization and made his closet roomier. This time I re-did my 6'x6' walk-in with a titanium version. The hanging space increased over 5' and I bought extra shelves for one wall to put shoes and “shelfable” stuff within reach. I painted walls in yellowstone from B&M and ceiling in off white AC-42 from B&M and titanium looks very good and expensive against these colors and there is no need for a wooden trim as metal color is already softened by yellow-golden wall color. The instruction says to use 1/8 bit for the stud connection but I used 9/64 bit and still found the screws to be hard to tighten. I attached the guide rails to studs in both cases and "anchored" supports to walls. From my experience it is very secure. These closets are well made and easy to re-arrange and upgrade with drawers and etc. The super expensive Elfa has wooden trim for nearly same metal shelves and looks a bit neater but it costs 10 x more and you still see the wall supports like you see them in this system which are the ugliest in the whole construction. But they are nearly invisible in a white version against the white wall.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Rubbermaid Configurable 4' to 8' Closet Kit, Titanium

Wonderful product

07/04/2008
By ,
Panama City, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The closet system was extremely easy to install. The directions were written well and easy to follow. My closet is about 5 feet and the closet system adjusted easily to fit into my closet. The closet system has nearly doubled my storage space. I now have plenty of room for all of my clothes and room to spare! I've attached two pictures so you can see the final product....however, the pictures don't near do the product justice! It's much better in person.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Rubbermaid Configurable 4' to 8' Closet Kit, Titanium
03/19/2010
By ,
Chicago, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Our order arrived sooner than I expected! I was able to put up the closet on my own (my first real project) fairly easily. My closet looks much nicer now!
The organizer allows adjusting for different sized closets. I feel that I could have saved money if I knew what to buy individually at the hardware store, but I wouldn't have known where to start, so this was great for me.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Rubbermaid Configurable 4' to 8' Closet Kit, Titanium

Great Organizer

08/11/2008
By ,
Baltimore, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I changed the smallest room in our home into a closet, because like many people you never have enough closet space. We used this product to organize all our clothes on one side of the wall. This was the best item to do the job and we are going to purchase another closet kit to place on the other wall.
In the pic we are in the process of moving clothes in.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Rubbermaid Configurable 4' to 8' Closet Kit, Titanium

Excellent product

08/07/2011
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this for my 21 year old daughter's college room. The titanium material and the Rubbermaid name sold us (the alternative-those white, rubberized wire shelves get nasty over time so we didn't want them). It went up pretty easy and my daughter loves the flexibility. Very happy with the product and the delivery to the store for pick up service.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Rubbermaid Configurable 4' to 8' Closet Kit, Titanium

Just what I wanted

12/28/2008
By ,
Paris, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We just moved in to a new house and I needed an extra closet. So I turned some space in the garage into closet space. This kit worked wonderful! I was a little concerned about it being strong enough to hold all the clothing... but I didnt need to worry. This took care of all my needs. Plus I have room to add shelves if I decide to later.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Rubbermaid Configurable 4' to 8' Closet Kit, Titanium

Not as advertised

03/16/2009
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The picture makes this organizer look like it comes with a drawer, shoe organizer and lots of shelving. It doesn't! I wish the manufacturer would ONLY SHOW what comes in the box, instead of using a photo with tons of added accessories!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+176points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
agree
Posted 09/06/2012
You're right. The photo is very deceptive. A customer shouldn't have to click on "what's included" to know what's included!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Rubbermaid Configurable 4' to 8' Closet Kit, Titanium

Better Closet

07/23/2011
By ,
Manvel, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WOW!! What a difference it made for my boys closets. From one shelf and hanging system all the way across, to a Multipurpose, organized closet, with 3 places to hang clothes. And now their shirts don't hang down on the clothes below from the cheap hanging hooks I had before. They also have shelving in their closet for added organization. They Loved it too. (Ages 13-18) It took me about 3 hours to install the first closet, and about half the time to install the 2nd closet. And that's including gutting the closet and taking breaks. I should have done it sooner. I went with a smaller configuration and thought I'd add to it as needed. I saved 140.00 doing it that way. Now I'm going to add one shelf to each closet. Also, the difference between the old Rubbermaid system and the new is that the old system would sag from the weight of the clothes; this system is strong and sturdy. I used anchor bolts where there weren't any studs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Rubbermaid Configurable 4' to 8' Closet Kit, Titanium

Very Good Product

04/19/2008
By ,
Central, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found this product very easy to install even though my husband did it.. it's very easy and convenient for any closet size space and I am REALLY happy with the finished product.
My only recommendation, use only the parts (such as screws, bolts and anchors) that come with this item, we tried using some screws & anchors we had purchased from HD, thinking they would work the same but it was not the case.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Rubbermaid Configurable 4' to 8' Closet Kit, Titanium

Good closet system

08/30/2009
By ,
ORLANDO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was an excellent buy for this closet system. My only complaint was the instructions for designing the closet you wanted were non existing. We had to figure it out ourselves. The instructions for installing the closet were good. This closet can be changed to grow with my young children. I put the longest bar at the bottom so they could reach their clothes. As they get older we can change that. GREAT GREAT GREAT!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Rubbermaid Configurable 4' to 8' Closet Kit, Titanium

Put add-ons together first

01/27/2009
By ,
Austin, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I ordered 2 of these along with 2 Rubbermaid Configurations 3-Shelf Units. The directions for the closet kit only tell you to place the wall mounts more than 22 inches apart. I put mine 24 inches apart. After I installed the kit, I put together the shelves and realized they are less than 23 inches wide! The measurements were/are not online in the product description. It was poor pre-planning on my part. I have to install 3 more kits, so I will adjust there. Other than that small snafu, I really like this kit. Now they need non-wire solid shelves so I can mount some under shelf lighting to them!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Rubbermaid Configurable 4' to 8' Closet Kit, Titanium

Photo not accurate

12/31/2009
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The photo is NOT what is in the box. Read the list of items, you do not get everything in the photo.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Rubbermaid Configurable 4' to 8' Closet Kit, Titanium

Very Sturdy, not as easy to install as expected

09/19/2012
By ,
Fullerton CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The unit once it was up and on the wall is very nice, BUT my only issue with it is this, the Anchors which are used to secure it to the wall where there is no stud, were incredilby impossible to use. their design was flimsy and when following the directions with drilling a small hole then hammering into the wall, they did not fit, nor did they expand correctly once in the wall. After a few nasty large holes in the wall and brusied thumbs, my husband threw those anchors out and went to Home Depot to purchase a box of better designed anchors.
My suggestion, either ONLY drill into Studs or have your own functional anchors to use ahead of time. We spent over 3 hours trying to get those suckers to work, and once we had functional anchors we got it up on the wall in 30 minutes. But we do love it now and have healed from our wounds
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Rubbermaid Configurable 4' to 8' Closet Kit, Titanium

easy to install, exceeds expectations

12/06/2010
By ,
charlotte, Tn.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recommend this product, easy to install, looks good, sturdy, a great value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Rubbermaid Configurable 4' to 8' Closet Kit, Titanium

good

09/12/2010
By ,
bronx ew york
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
it is ok but i was missing two shelf supports and i could purchase them at lowes but i donot have lowes in the bronx so i am out of two shelf supports wishing that walmart would replace them bcus i shouldnt have to buy them and i didnt want to return the item, they shouls sell spare parts where customers can get them with ease not just at lowes we dont have lowes only homedepot and they dont sell them there
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Rubbermaid Configurable 4' to 8' Closet Kit, Titanium

Worked very well in our narrow walk in closet

11/29/2011
By ,
Cape Girardeau, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have a small walk in closet in our Master Bathroom where we had to have two organizers where it allowed us to walk in and access either side with space to move around. I bought this one because I didn't like the other one we installed first. This one far out weighs all others in functionality of those name brand we have bought and installed. I'll be back for more...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Rubbermaid Configurable 4' to 8' Closet Kit, Titanium

great closet organizer, titanium really holds up.

09/08/2012
By ,
Queens, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
my husband and a friend installed closet organizer in a fairly short amount of time. I am very pleased with the product but i didn't really allow space for the width once clothes were hung on rails (my fault I have a very narrow walk in closet). It is very functional and I was able to utilize all rails which was my main objective.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Rubbermaid Configurable 4' to 8' Closet Kit, Titanium

Great Product, Great Price.

02/26/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the least expensive, closet kit I have found anywhere. They sell it at Lowe's for a quite a bit more but only have it in white. This is my third closet system. I have one more to go. I love it. For the price it's excellent quality and you can change it whenever you need to rearrange. It's great quality for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 86 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next