Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Coleman Coleman Rechargeable Hot Water on Demand 5 gal. Portable Water Heater

Coleman Coleman Rechargeable Hot Water on Demand 5 gal. Portable Water Heater

Average Customer Rating:
4.32 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation88%22 out of 25reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 14 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Coleman Rechargeable Hot Water on Demand 5 gal. Portable Water Heater

Great for quick hot shower

12/25/2012
By ,
york, pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
its better than I thought...love it
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Coleman Rechargeable Hot Water on Demand 5 gal. Portable Water Heater

Works well and very complete

04/01/2014
By ,
Smethport, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this unit from Walmart.com for their great price ($196.99 plus free shipping at the time). Read many reviews, and for the most part, it sounded like a good unit to suit my needs as a tent and pop-up camper. Well, after receiving the unit, it lives up to the reviews. Works flawlessly and very quiet. The battery unit holds charge very well and it is nice to see that it comes equipped with the optional 12-volt cord to use in your car cigarette lighter for charging just in case the battery dies off on a camping trip. I know many things Coleman has made in the recent years have not been up to the quality of past items, but this is a high point in quality for them. I also purchased the shower unit and the carry case. The carry case I would recommend to protect the unit and store propane tanks, plus it comes with a water-resistant cover to put over the unit when you set up camp and leave it out overnight.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Coleman Rechargeable Hot Water on Demand 5 gal. Portable Water Heater

very good investment

04/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All I can say is I love this product
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Coleman Rechargeable Hot Water on Demand 5 gal. Portable Water Heater

Awesome, just Awesome

08/18/2009
By ,
Milwaukee, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this with the idea that it would be nice little Luxury, for us while camping at the races this August. Well, man was I wrong. This unit is just spectacular. We had six people showering once a day for 4 days. 4 days of doing dishes twice a day,(2 wash tubs going at once). All of this was done on the initial charge of the battery, and one propane canister. Unreal!!!!! I love this heater and cannot wait to take it again. The On Demand water heater is a bit "plasticy", but if your careful it should last as long as you want. My only isssue was there is not a shut off for the shower head. You have to completely turn of the heater, which makes for some fun moments when you have soap in your eyes. LOL
I highly recommend this to anyone who is looking for a way to get some hot water while camping
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Coleman Rechargeable Hot Water on Demand 5 gal. Portable Water Heater

Not for cooler climates

11/09/2009
By ,
Atlanta, GA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this product for camping. I saw it in action and thought it would be a great addition to my camping collection. Well, I deer hunt (tent camping) in the North Georgia mountains in November and December and this product failed miserably. The temperature knob broke (it was cold outside) when I tried to turn it to high heat. I could not use the unit again. I returned it to the store and exchanged it for a new one. The next time I used it, again it was cold outside, the same thing happened again! I was very frustrated and brought it back to the store again. This is a 3 season water heater. Do not rely on it if the temperature drops below 40 degrees. If you need a water heater in colder weather, I would recommend some other water hear (maybe Zodi) where you have no mechanical parts that can break.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per year
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Coleman Rechargeable Hot Water on Demand 5 gal. Portable Water Heater

VERY HELPFUL PRODUCT!

08/05/2009
By ,
Moberly, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are very very happy with our purchase of HOT WATER ON DEMAND by Coleman. We've been looking at them for some time and shopping around. Then all of a sudden (spur of the moment) we decided we needed it THAT week. We checked Bass Pro (who had in stock) but it was still less expensive for us to purchase from Walmart ONLINE and get delivered on the 1-2 day delivery, Great...thanks Walmart!~
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Coleman Rechargeable Hot Water on Demand 5 gal. Portable Water Heater

My second portable hot water heater

01/08/2014
By ,
Naples, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a catering company and the state of Florida requires that I have an on demand hot water source for all of my outdoor events. I purchased my first Coleman hot water heater three years ago and it has performed well. I opened a second location which required me to purchase an additional Coleman hot water heater and it too is performing flawlessly.
Great company and a great product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Coleman Rechargeable Hot Water on Demand 5 gal. Portable Water Heater

Lovely hot water anywhere!

08/12/2008
By ,
Bakersfield, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I agree that the water pressure doesn't match that of even a low-budget hotel, but hey...you're in the wilderness, right? Rinsing long hair with a bucket of warm water (faster than using the spray nozzle) works perfectly. On the plus side, this thing has worked over and over from horse shows to mountain peaks without a hitch. It is not a substitute for your trusty kettle as the highest setting is great for tea but not hot enough for making drip coffee. However, we set this up on the camp kitchen for easy dish & hand washing then move it over to the shower tent for endless hot water (connected to our big propane tank, there's plenty of hot, not scalding, water for four people to shower). It is an expensive luxury when a really big constantly warmed teakettle would do the same job, but this was a Christmas-present convenience I now wouldn't want to be without.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Coleman Rechargeable Hot Water on Demand 5 gal. Portable Water Heater

I would buy it again

10/17/2009
By ,
Russellville, AR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Had the product for a couple of months now, and have to say, It was worth every dime. nothing like a hot shower when the alternative is going without. Some of these reviews say it has weak pressure, but mine is not so bad, I'm 6'1 240 lbs, I can take a 20 minute shower, and its great. Not like home, but hey, better than a heating water over a stove. I have taken 3 showers, and washed dishes with one small propane bottle. I would recommend it to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Coleman Rechargeable Hot Water on Demand 5 gal. Portable Water Heater

Eh.... Disappointed

12/07/2013
By ,
NC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Water tepid at best. Did not get hot as advertised (tested in 55 degree weather).
The set up was easy & the pump works well. Had to return it for the lack of hot water.
Disappointed.
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Coleman Rechargeable Hot Water on Demand 5 gal. Portable Water Heater

Coleman Water Camping Heater

04/10/2008
By ,
Lawton, OK
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The water heater does heat the water as advertised but the water pressure from the battery powered pump is very very low. I was very disappointed in the water pressure as I wanted to take a shower with the unit (as was mentioned in the ad). It will do what Coleman says it should do but I was not happy with the unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Coleman Rechargeable Hot Water on Demand 5 gal. Portable Water Heater

Excellent For warm outdoor shower

07/15/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Along with a shower tent and accessories to hook the water heater up to a shower hose, this product was perfect for warm showers when our hot water heater went out. The only draw back was the accessory to hook our hose directly up to the heater. We could not get a good seal, but just a large bucket, hose, and product's pump fixed the problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Coleman Rechargeable Hot Water on Demand 5 gal. Portable Water Heater

Hot Water On Demand

09/17/2010
By ,
Utah
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product lives up to its name! It is big and heavy and I was a bit intimidated, but I followed the instructions for cleaning well before use and am amazed how really easy it is to use. I plan to use with a camping trailer and this will really help with dishes, bathing and hot drinks. Love it! No more waiting for the pot of water to heat.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Coleman Rechargeable Hot Water on Demand 5 gal. Portable Water Heater

Coleman Hot Water On Demand

03/22/2011
By ,
Englewood, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Coleman's HWOD is a can't-do-without product for camping fun. As advertised, it gives you HOT water when and where you need it with NO WAITING. Cleanup was never so easy with this portable water heater that provides gallons of hot water on one small bottle of gas. Love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Coleman Rechargeable Hot Water on Demand 5 gal. Portable Water Heater

Met my expectations

08/16/2009
By ,
Southern California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I actually purchased this to use with my concession cart. It works great and heats the water to Health Dept. requirements. It's easy to use. We also take it camping and it is nice to have hot water to wash our dishes. I would highly recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Coleman Rechargeable Hot Water on Demand 5 gal. Portable Water Heater

great product

03/16/2010
By ,
lake wales florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i used a friends and had to have my own. works great, easy to operate, great for camping & when kids play in the mud they can get a shower outside and not track in my house
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Coleman Rechargeable Hot Water on Demand 5 gal. Portable Water Heater

Works very well

07/06/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used this water heater for the last two summers for our annual camping trip. It works very well. As the other review mentioned, the water pressure is not high, but what do you expect from a portable unit? It heats the water in seconds and we got around 14 showers out of one propane bottle and had propane left. The only suggestion I have is to charge the unit in your car every night whether the low battery light is on or not. The first year I only charged it when it said it needed it and until the green light came back on, but then it would run out of power in the middle of a shower. That did not happen this year charging it every night.
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Coleman Rechargeable Hot Water on Demand 5 gal. Portable Water Heater

great for the sportsman

11/02/2009
By ,
the Dakotas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We got this to use while cleaning pheasants outdoors as the water coming from the garden hose is too cold for cleaning birds. It worked great!! We did not have any problems with the unit at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Coleman Rechargeable Hot Water on Demand 5 gal. Portable Water Heater

provides you with hot/cold or warm water

05/09/2013
By ,
Pflugerville, Tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does as it is advertised, wish the shower hose was longer so it could extend over our shower shelter
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Coleman Rechargeable Hot Water on Demand 5 gal. Portable Water Heater

Really Pleasant

08/10/2009
By ,
Washington, DC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
To be able to take a hot shower while camping! My wife and I used on a trip this weekend. It took a few minutes to discover how to get a comfortable water temperature, but once done, it was great! Be prepared; 5 gallons of water go VERY quickly when showering!
Coleman products are generally very durable. Obviously we haven't used this long enough to comment, but it seems solid.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 24 total reviews
1 2 Next