Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Coleman Coleman Rechargeable Hot Water on Demand 5 gal. Portable Water Heater

Coleman Coleman Rechargeable Hot Water on Demand 5 gal. Portable Water Heater

Average Customer Rating:
4.03 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
5
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation82%27 out of 33reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 21 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
5
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Coleman Rechargeable Hot Water on Demand 5 gal. Portable Water Heater

Great for quick hot shower

12/25/2012
By ,
york, pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
its better than I thought...love it
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Coleman Rechargeable Hot Water on Demand 5 gal. Portable Water Heater

Works well and very complete

04/01/2014
By ,
Smethport, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this unit from Walmart.com for their great price ($196.99 plus free shipping at the time). Read many reviews, and for the most part, it sounded like a good unit to suit my needs as a tent and pop-up camper. Well, after receiving the unit, it lives up to the reviews. Works flawlessly and very quiet. The battery unit holds charge very well and it is nice to see that it comes equipped with the optional 12-volt cord to use in your car cigarette lighter for charging just in case the battery dies off on a camping trip. I know many things Coleman has made in the recent years have not been up to the quality of past items, but this is a high point in quality for them. I also purchased the shower unit and the carry case. The carry case I would recommend to protect the unit and store propane tanks, plus it comes with a water-resistant cover to put over the unit when you set up camp and leave it out overnight.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Coleman Rechargeable Hot Water on Demand 5 gal. Portable Water Heater

Great replacement for the water heater

06/16/2014
By ,
Greeley, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a pop-up camper that has a hot water heater and uses a lot of propane when I use it. I picked this up to warm water for washing dishes, I did not want to use a pan on the fire.
Good: Warms fast, runs as much water as you have the fuel for, Charges quick and lasts for a long time (did not drain my unit but went for 6 cycles of 3 gallons each), can go anywhere (just realize it is big, about the size of a sewing machine in a storage case) and weighs a few pounds, has a charger for 110v and 12v car charger, will impress anyone who has not seen one.
Cone: size (I did not notice the size in the description), the knob that adjusts the temperature feels like it is ready be break every time I turn it on (I hope it lasts).
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Coleman Rechargeable Hot Water on Demand 5 gal. Portable Water Heater

unable to get water to heat

07/18/2014
By ,
Everett WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
help
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Coleman Rechargeable Hot Water on Demand 5 gal. Portable Water Heater

Unit failed on second use

05/19/2014
By ,
Huntsville, AL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have several of these Water heaters and I use them a lot. I decided it was time to buy a new one as a backup. I tested it when we got it home and it appeared to work as expected. Put in car my son noticed it was leaking propane. When we tried to use it after changing out the propane it would not light. Was on a level surface and we have enough experience with these to do basic troubleshooting. Our experience with these heaters has been good in the past. Guess we just got a bad one this time. Nothing we tried work so we returned it to the local Wal Mart.
I did not want to void the warranty by opening it up and looking at the switch that sometimes goes bad and does not detect water movement.
We were very happy with the no hassle return process. We had used the site to store shipping. All we had to do was print a return label and drop off at customer service.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Coleman Rechargeable Hot Water on Demand 5 gal. Portable Water Heater

Awesome, just Awesome

08/18/2009
By ,
Milwaukee, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this with the idea that it would be nice little Luxury, for us while camping at the races this August. Well, man was I wrong. This unit is just spectacular. We had six people showering once a day for 4 days. 4 days of doing dishes twice a day,(2 wash tubs going at once). All of this was done on the initial charge of the battery, and one propane canister. Unreal!!!!! I love this heater and cannot wait to take it again. The On Demand water heater is a bit "plasticy", but if your careful it should last as long as you want. My only isssue was there is not a shut off for the shower head. You have to completely turn of the heater, which makes for some fun moments when you have soap in your eyes. LOL
I highly recommend this to anyone who is looking for a way to get some hot water while camping
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Coleman Rechargeable Hot Water on Demand 5 gal. Portable Water Heater

Convenience will cost you...

05/03/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this product only IF you connect it to propane tank and a garden water hose. The propane connection does not swivel so threading the cylinder is difficult unless you sit at the same level or squat below the unit. Also, you will be dependent on buying the propane cylinders which have to be properly recycled. A 2 pack of Coleman propane cylinders will cost $5-6 and one cylinder on the hottest temperature setting will pump water for only 20-30 minutes on a fully charged battery. IF order to use a garden hose you will need to buy an accessory part--the Water Hose Adapter ($35-$40) to regulate the flow of water. However, if there is not enough water pressure built up in your water line the HWOD pump will not even turn on. If you need to bathe, then you will need another accessory the shower hand adapter ($25-$35). The 5 foot propane hose tank will cost approximately ($19-$28). It's a good product for short term use and emergencies. The only drawback is you will keep spending money to increase your convenience. Also, you must be discipline enough to recharge it everyday you need to use it frequently. You are buying hardware ONLY, a constant water source, fuel costs and recharging the battery is your responsibility. HOWEVER, does it produce HOT WATER ON DEMAND=YES!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Coleman Rechargeable Hot Water on Demand 5 gal. Portable Water Heater

Hot water on Demand

06/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This little device is easy to use and amazing. That water really gets HOT!
Just a little disappointed that it did not come with the attachments shown on the box, mainly shower accessory. But everything else is AWESOME!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Coleman Rechargeable Hot Water on Demand 5 gal. Portable Water Heater

COLEMEN HOTWATER ON DEMAND PORTABLE WATER HEATER

06/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THIS WATER HEATER IS THE BEST IT WAS SHIPED ON TIME AND THE WATER HEATER WORKS GRATE , I USE IT ON MY HOT DOG CART IT IS VERY PORTABLE THATS WHAT I WANTED
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Coleman Rechargeable Hot Water on Demand 5 gal. Portable Water Heater

Not for cooler climates

11/09/2009
By ,
Atlanta, GA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this product for camping. I saw it in action and thought it would be a great addition to my camping collection. Well, I deer hunt (tent camping) in the North Georgia mountains in November and December and this product failed miserably. The temperature knob broke (it was cold outside) when I tried to turn it to high heat. I could not use the unit again. I returned it to the store and exchanged it for a new one. The next time I used it, again it was cold outside, the same thing happened again! I was very frustrated and brought it back to the store again. This is a 3 season water heater. Do not rely on it if the temperature drops below 40 degrees. If you need a water heater in colder weather, I would recommend some other water hear (maybe Zodi) where you have no mechanical parts that can break.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per year
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Coleman Rechargeable Hot Water on Demand 5 gal. Portable Water Heater

Nice concept...faulty unit

06/05/2014
By ,
Farmington Hills, MI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Product worked as described. Stopped working after it's first use. I believe the conr knob is faulty, as unit stopped working. Would not charge, ignite, or dispence water. Indicator Light would flicker...that's it!!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Coleman Rechargeable Hot Water on Demand 5 gal. Portable Water Heater

VERY HELPFUL PRODUCT!

08/05/2009
By ,
Moberly, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are very very happy with our purchase of HOT WATER ON DEMAND by Coleman. We've been looking at them for some time and shopping around. Then all of a sudden (spur of the moment) we decided we needed it THAT week. We checked Bass Pro (who had in stock) but it was still less expensive for us to purchase from Walmart ONLINE and get delivered on the 1-2 day delivery, Great...thanks Walmart!~
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Coleman Rechargeable Hot Water on Demand 5 gal. Portable Water Heater

Arrives damaged

05/04/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I like the design but now I have a second one that is damaged upon arrival. Not sure if the problem us with design or shipping. Will return and try once again.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Coleman Rechargeable Hot Water on Demand 5 gal. Portable Water Heater

Lovely hot water anywhere!

08/12/2008
By ,
Bakersfield, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I agree that the water pressure doesn't match that of even a low-budget hotel, but hey...you're in the wilderness, right? Rinsing long hair with a bucket of warm water (faster than using the spray nozzle) works perfectly. On the plus side, this thing has worked over and over from horse shows to mountain peaks without a hitch. It is not a substitute for your trusty kettle as the highest setting is great for tea but not hot enough for making drip coffee. However, we set this up on the camp kitchen for easy dish & hand washing then move it over to the shower tent for endless hot water (connected to our big propane tank, there's plenty of hot, not scalding, water for four people to shower). It is an expensive luxury when a really big constantly warmed teakettle would do the same job, but this was a Christmas-present convenience I now wouldn't want to be without.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Coleman Rechargeable Hot Water on Demand 5 gal. Portable Water Heater

very good investment

04/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All I can say is I love this product
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Coleman Rechargeable Hot Water on Demand 5 gal. Portable Water Heater

I would buy it again

10/17/2009
By ,
Russellville, AR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Had the product for a couple of months now, and have to say, It was worth every dime. nothing like a hot shower when the alternative is going without. Some of these reviews say it has weak pressure, but mine is not so bad, I'm 6'1 240 lbs, I can take a 20 minute shower, and its great. Not like home, but hey, better than a heating water over a stove. I have taken 3 showers, and washed dishes with one small propane bottle. I would recommend it to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Coleman Rechargeable Hot Water on Demand 5 gal. Portable Water Heater

Coleman Water Camping Heater

04/10/2008
By ,
Lawton, OK
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The water heater does heat the water as advertised but the water pressure from the battery powered pump is very very low. I was very disappointed in the water pressure as I wanted to take a shower with the unit (as was mentioned in the ad). It will do what Coleman says it should do but I was not happy with the unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Coleman Rechargeable Hot Water on Demand 5 gal. Portable Water Heater

My second portable hot water heater

01/08/2014
By ,
Naples, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a catering company and the state of Florida requires that I have an on demand hot water source for all of my outdoor events. I purchased my first Coleman hot water heater three years ago and it has performed well. I opened a second location which required me to purchase an additional Coleman hot water heater and it too is performing flawlessly.
Great company and a great product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Coleman Rechargeable Hot Water on Demand 5 gal. Portable Water Heater

Excellent For warm outdoor shower

07/15/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Along with a shower tent and accessories to hook the water heater up to a shower hose, this product was perfect for warm showers when our hot water heater went out. The only draw back was the accessory to hook our hose directly up to the heater. We could not get a good seal, but just a large bucket, hose, and product's pump fixed the problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Coleman Rechargeable Hot Water on Demand 5 gal. Portable Water Heater

Hot Water On Demand

09/17/2010
By ,
Utah
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product lives up to its name! It is big and heavy and I was a bit intimidated, but I followed the instructions for cleaning well before use and am amazed how really easy it is to use. I plan to use with a camping trailer and this will really help with dishes, bathing and hot drinks. Love it! No more waiting for the pot of water to heat.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 32 total reviews
1 2 Next