Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Bounty Hunter Bounty Hunter Junior Metal Detector

Bounty Hunter Bounty Hunter Junior Metal Detector

Introduce your child to the thrill of discovery with the Bounty Hunter Junior Metal Detector. With a finely tuned discrimination control to eliminate unwanted items on par with that of the highest-quality metal detectors, treasure hunting becomes fun and easy. It has a compact and ergonomic design, making it ideally suited to be a kid's metal detector. It also has feedback volume that is proportional to the signal strength, so it's easy for beginners to learn how to use the Bounty Hunter Junior Metal Detector and start treasure hunting wherever their adventures take them.
Average Customer Rating:
4.097 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
14
4 stars
10
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation90%28 out of 31reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 18 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
14
4 stars
10
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Bounty Hunter Junior Metal Detector

Great gift for young prospector's

12/30/2013
By ,
Scottsboro AL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: I gave this 4 stars because my 8yr old son just got it for Christmas so I cant give it a long lasting review but it seems to be of good quality and a great beginners detector. It is very easy to use the sensitivity seems to be accurate and after about 5mins of use he was able to decipher the difference in pings. He has been able to find old nails,washers and a couple coins buried about 4 to 6 inches under dirt and clay. We are planning a beach vacation this summer and he's already looking forward to the "buried treasures" he plans to find.
Cons: Better stock up on 9volt batteries, they don't last long in this. About 30 to 45mins on store brands, maybe a little longer since he has learned to "turn it off" while digging. I'm gonna try some of the different name brand battery companies to see if they will last longer, maybe a rechargeable type. The only other thing is it doesn't have an ear phone input, only an external speaker. Either way he's enjoyed this so much it's well worth it to me.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Bounty Hunter Junior Metal Detector

Bounty Hunter Junior Metal Detector

01/02/2014
By ,
West Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thank you!
The Bounty Hunter Junior Metal Detector is a great product! We purchased this for my 12 year old son. It works fantastic, even with lots of snow and ice! Christmas morning my two boys went searching for metal for about 45 minutes and came back with a big assortment. We are very pleased with it's ease of use, that it works so well, and that my son loves it!!
Also, thanks for the super speedy delivery! We didn't expect it to arrive so quickly
and we were so thankful it came just in time for our Christmas.
I will definitely recommend this to friends and family!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Bounty Hunter Junior Metal Detector

Great Metal Detector for kids

04/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My grandson found lot of interesting things in his driveway on the first day he tried it. Very excited to do more.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Bounty Hunter Junior Metal Detector

great product for a young beginner

04/07/2014
By ,
Sarnia, On., Canada.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
our grandson asked for a metal detector for his birthday, so this unit was affordable and easy to order at a wallmart store...we ordered it in florida and picked it up at port huron mi., before returning to canada...it seemed to work just fine when it was set up to go, [insert batteries]...we were sitting on a deck and it beeped when held above a screw in the deck...we hope he won't dig too many holes in our son's yard as he hunt's for treasure...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Bounty Hunter Junior Metal Detector

Great Gift

03/31/2013
By ,
Fredericksburg
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought the Bounty Hunter Jr for our 5 year old daughter for Easter 2013. We had so much fun with it. We used it all day and can't wait for tomorrow to resume our hunt. We found a 1970's Grape Coke can in our yard! It was also fun doing research to find out how old the stulff was! The kids definatley got excited every time to see what it was. We also bought the Bounty Hunter with case and pinpointer for our 12 year old son We found so many cool things with it in our back yard that day to list them all! This is one of the best purchases that we've made. Considering getting more for my hubby and I. Thanks, Wal-Mart, for the fast shipping and for carriying such a great product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Bounty Hunter Junior Metal Detector

My go to metal detector

11/07/2013
By ,
Burlington,N.C.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The small size is nice,when folded it fits in a backpack with a small shovel entirely unseen. Very lightweight, I can swing it all day without tiring my arm. Very easy to use, only 2 knobs. I hunt for larger relics (Civil war era), I do have a larger and heavier metal detector that can detect smaller objects at a greater depth, but when going out and exploring new areas to hunt the Bounty Hunter JR. is what I use. My first day out with it I recovered a cannonball.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Bounty Hunter Junior Metal Detector

Great for grade school kids

04/07/2014
By ,
South east WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Simple, easy, effective. Uses 2 - 9V batteries. Started with coins I hid in the yard, kids loved it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Bounty Hunter Junior Metal Detector

Not happy with product

04/01/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought the Jr. Metal Detector but found it not to be very well made and not a good product for a 9 yr old child. Returned it the next day.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Bounty Hunter Junior Metal Detector

Great for kids

05/12/2012
By ,
Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is great for kids starting out doing this. We took it camping and found tent stakes, nails, screws and a really old cool pocket knife. It is better if you have the metal tools not the plastic ones and a good metal shovel. I am now looking at buying accessories to go with it. The carrying bag is a necessity. Great purchase!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Bounty Hunter Junior Metal Detector

Great to get the kids outside

03/21/2009
By ,
Enfield, CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought 2 for my kids. We've already gone hunting and found change and a Boy Scout slide. They are very excited and can't wait for the warmer weather.
Item is a bit heavy at first but they will build muscle with use. Great for family outings.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per month
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Bounty Hunter Junior Metal Detector

Great for a 7 year old

10/28/2013
By ,
texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is great for kids. It has kept him busy for hours. Threw pennies in the yard for him to find.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
pittsburgh, pa
batteries
Posted 11/06/2013
does it use batteries? if so, how many, what kind
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Bounty Hunter Junior Metal Detector

Great Product

04/13/2008
By ,
Beaufort, SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My son loves the metal detector. It is a good choice and size for a 9 year old, but a little pricey.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Bounty Hunter Junior Metal Detector

It is....for kids..

12/19/2013
By ,
Cleveland,TN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Should be used as kids toy . Not bad for the price though.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Bounty Hunter Junior Metal Detector

Good starter for children

12/09/2013
By ,
Austin, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This has been bought for gifts and looks to be very easy to use
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Bounty Hunter Junior Metal Detector

It's for a kid

12/06/2013
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It is what it is. A small detector for a little one.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Bounty Hunter Junior Metal Detector
02/25/2013
By ,
Bellevue, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect for my 9 year old. Works great! So glad I didn't spend $200, like I had planned.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Bounty Hunter Junior Metal Detector
02/22/2008
By ,
Piedmont,Mo.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Item was easy to put together and within 15 minutes found the item on Wal-Mart.com and the product works great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Bounty Hunter Junior Metal Detector

it worked very well

01/06/2014
By ,
Summerville, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was please. My grandson had a great time on the beach finding things in the sand.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Bounty Hunter Junior Metal Detector

Great Metal Detector

12/26/2013
By ,
Hartland, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought for my 11 year old son and although we have snow, he has found several items in the house. It is so good, it even picks up the nails, under our carpet, in the sub-floor. Reviewed a lot of detectors and wanted to make sure my son wouldn't grow out of this. It will last a long time and was highly rated in my searches.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Bounty Hunter Junior Metal Detector

good starter

12/30/2013
By ,
ocala, fl
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
so far so good
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 28 total reviews
1 2 Next