Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Bounty Hunter Bounty Hunter Junior Metal Detector

Bounty Hunter Bounty Hunter Junior Metal Detector

Introduce your child to the thrill of discovery with the Bounty Hunter Junior Metal Detector. With a finely tuned discrimination control to eliminate unwanted items on par with that of the highest-quality metal detectors, treasure hunting becomes fun and easy. It has a compact and ergonomic design, making it ideally suited to be a kid's metal detector. It also has feedback volume that is proportional to the signal strength, so it's easy for beginners to learn how to use the Bounty Hunter Junior Metal Detector and start treasure hunting wherever their adventures take them.
Average Customer Rating:
4.062 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(48 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
23
4 stars
15
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation88%42 out of 48reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 29 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
23
4 stars
15
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Bounty Hunter Junior Metal Detector

More a toy than a detector

04/20/2009
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We weren't looking for much when we bought this online, but this even failed to meet those expectations. We just wanted a simple, basic, metal detector, but this is really a toy for young kids. Only the center part of the detector will actually detect anything, and then only when you pass over it, not hover. Had trouble finding a quarter tossed on the grass. We took it back.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Bounty Hunter Junior Metal Detector

Great gift for young prospector's

12/30/2013
By ,
Scottsboro AL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: I gave this 4 stars because my 8yr old son just got it for Christmas so I cant give it a long lasting review but it seems to be of good quality and a great beginners detector. It is very easy to use the sensitivity seems to be accurate and after about 5mins of use he was able to decipher the difference in pings. He has been able to find old nails,washers and a couple coins buried about 4 to 6 inches under dirt and clay. We are planning a beach vacation this summer and he's already looking forward to the "buried treasures" he plans to find.
Cons: Better stock up on 9volt batteries, they don't last long in this. About 30 to 45mins on store brands, maybe a little longer since he has learned to "turn it off" while digging. I'm gonna try some of the different name brand battery companies to see if they will last longer, maybe a rechargeable type. The only other thing is it doesn't have an ear phone input, only an external speaker. Either way he's enjoyed this so much it's well worth it to me.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Bounty Hunter Junior Metal Detector

Bought to Find Property Markers

05/30/2014
By ,
Germantown, WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this metal detector specifically to find the five 1-inch iron pipes marking corners for our recently purchased property. One was roughly four inches below the surface, the rest about an inch below the surface, hidden under thick turf. I found all but one, that marker apparently graded out when finish grading was done by the landscaper. Finding the four out of five markers that I did locate would not otherwise have been successful without hiring a land surveyor. I will end up hiring one after all to reset the missing marker. The detector was easy to learn to use and served the purpose I had in mind very well. It was certainly worth the small amount of money I spent.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Bounty Hunter Junior Metal Detector

Perfect for beginners

12/26/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for a Christmas gift for my daughter. She really enjoys it! It's perfect for kids!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Bounty Hunter Junior Metal Detector

Good C Service...

12/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product came in good time, was what I ordered. Not damaged..yea.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Bounty Hunter Junior Metal Detector

Digging Away

11/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product was all it was advertised to be & more.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Bounty Hunter Junior Metal Detector

Bounty Hunter Junior Metal Detector

01/02/2014
By ,
West Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thank you!
The Bounty Hunter Junior Metal Detector is a great product! We purchased this for my 12 year old son. It works fantastic, even with lots of snow and ice! Christmas morning my two boys went searching for metal for about 45 minutes and came back with a big assortment. We are very pleased with it's ease of use, that it works so well, and that my son loves it!!
Also, thanks for the super speedy delivery! We didn't expect it to arrive so quickly
and we were so thankful it came just in time for our Christmas.
I will definitely recommend this to friends and family!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Bounty Hunter Junior Metal Detector

Great for kids

05/12/2012
By ,
Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is great for kids starting out doing this. We took it camping and found tent stakes, nails, screws and a really old cool pocket knife. It is better if you have the metal tools not the plastic ones and a good metal shovel. I am now looking at buying accessories to go with it. The carrying bag is a necessity. Great purchase!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Bounty Hunter Junior Metal Detector

CHEAP CHEAP CHEAP

11/23/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
For the price. I paid , this is a very cheaply made expensive product
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Bounty Hunter Junior Metal Detector

Great metal detector

09/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for my grandsons 9th birthday. He loves it!
Works great.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Bounty Hunter Junior Metal Detector

Does what I need it to do.

11/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to help me find the property boundary spikes.
It has been useful.
I wanted a metal detector that was inexpensive, and this met my need.
The detector extends and retracts so the niece and nephews can play with it when they visit, hence "Junior" in the product name.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Bounty Hunter Junior Metal Detector

Great to get the kids outside

03/21/2009
By ,
Enfield, CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought 2 for my kids. We've already gone hunting and found change and a Boy Scout slide. They are very excited and can't wait for the warmer weather.
Item is a bit heavy at first but they will build muscle with use. Great for family outings.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per month
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Bounty Hunter Junior Metal Detector

Metal detector just junk

08/16/2014
By ,
bmt
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No matter how hard we tried to use these, they just wouldn't work. I even dropped various coins on the ground and it still couldn't find them. Don't waste your money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Bounty Hunter Junior Metal Detector

My go to metal detector

11/07/2013
By ,
Burlington,N.C.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The small size is nice,when folded it fits in a backpack with a small shovel entirely unseen. Very lightweight, I can swing it all day without tiring my arm. Very easy to use, only 2 knobs. I hunt for larger relics (Civil war era), I do have a larger and heavier metal detector that can detect smaller objects at a greater depth, but when going out and exploring new areas to hunt the Bounty Hunter JR. is what I use. My first day out with it I recovered a cannonball.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Bounty Hunter Junior Metal Detector

Great for a beginner

09/29/2014
By ,
Norwich, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 10 year old has been having a ball going around the yard finding "stuff". Perfect for a beginner.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Bounty Hunter Junior Metal Detector

Beginer Metal Detector

05/31/2014
By ,
Auburn,WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband bought this for our daughter who just turned 13 . For fun, we burried her other gift in the yard and had her find it with this detector. She had a ball ! It worked just great as expected, was easy for her to use , and looks like it'll be durable for a lil while .
A good starter product for a tween . Now she's jazzed for hitting the beaches & parks looking for treasure just like the guys on TV !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Bounty Hunter Junior Metal Detector

Great Product

04/13/2008
By ,
Beaufort, SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My son loves the metal detector. It is a good choice and size for a 9 year old, but a little pricey.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Bounty Hunter Junior Metal Detector

Great Gift

03/31/2013
By ,
Fredericksburg
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought the Bounty Hunter Jr for our 5 year old daughter for Easter 2013. We had so much fun with it. We used it all day and can't wait for tomorrow to resume our hunt. We found a 1970's Grape Coke can in our yard! It was also fun doing research to find out how old the stulff was! The kids definatley got excited every time to see what it was. We also bought the Bounty Hunter with case and pinpointer for our 12 year old son We found so many cool things with it in our back yard that day to list them all! This is one of the best purchases that we've made. Considering getting more for my hubby and I. Thanks, Wal-Mart, for the fast shipping and for carriying such a great product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Bounty Hunter Junior Metal Detector

Great for a 7 year old

10/28/2013
By ,
texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is great for kids. It has kept him busy for hours. Threw pennies in the yard for him to find.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
pittsburgh, pa
batteries
Posted 11/06/2013
does it use batteries? if so, how many, what kind
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for Bounty Hunter Junior Metal Detector
02/22/2008
By ,
Piedmont,Mo.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Item was easy to put together and within 15 minutes found the item on Wal-Mart.com and the product works great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 45 total reviews
1 2 3 Next