Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Blue Rhino Uniflame LP Gas Grill

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Blue Rhino Uniflame LP Gas Grill

Grill in style with this attractive stainless steel full size gas grill. Featuring a total of 68,000 BTU for all your cooking needs. This grill has a total of 847 square inches of cooking surface.
Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation100%10 out of 10reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Uniflame LP Gas Grill

Uniflame GBC873W grill

03/04/2008
By ,
Federal Way, WA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
After owning a older uniflame grill (Model SG380), I was a little skeptical about buying another. I average about 3-4 20lbs tanks of propane a year. (I grill a lot) I had problems with the 380.. The biggest was keeping more than two burner lit at a time..
Looking around over the winter, I found that this grill offered alot more for the money..I know its 400 grade stainless, but is 300 grade worth another $300-$400??? So I looked it over really good and search the net for reviews of an older model. Everything seemed good. So we pick one up.
My 11 year old and I put it together, I took a couple of hours, and about 40 more washers from Lowes (It needs to come with more Stainless Steel washers) We had a great time figuring it out together.
Broke it in right and grilled some T-bones. Everything works as advertised. Could use a better heat deflector system to manage flare ups. High fat Burgers could be a problem. Will look for stainless grating and lava rock.
Likes;
Tank storage system
Self igniting burners
Searing burners
Solid Construction
Dislikes;
Not nearly enough washers
Heat deflector over burners
Warming rack gets in the way
Overall, for much less money, you get a good grill. Pick up the 68" grill cover. Will keep advise as time goes buy.
Brewman2
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 2 for Uniflame LP Gas Grill

Meets all expectations

07/26/2008
By ,
Paola, Kansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for a July 4th party. It replaces a much older and smaller model. Laid out all the pieces on the garage floor and had my 7 year old grandaughter assist me. Took about 3 hours. She read the directions, located the proper pieces and selected the proper fasteners. Granted, she is a genius, but she had no trouble reading the directions. Had two small problems. The holes for the slide-out LP tank tray were not properly located. The two center holes were fine the the holes on the right hand side were about an inch too near the centerline. Drilled new holes, fastened it down, it works fine. Also, a small piece of welding slag on the end of a towel bar gave me a slight cut on my finger. I removed the slag with a file. My able assistant, it turns out, is also a fine nurse. I learned all about the benifits of Neosporin and Band-Aids. I've used the grill nearly every weekend since. I works wonderful, clean-up is a breeze, and I haven't noticed any rust. I am impressed with the quality of the unit (well, except for the hole thingy). I would highly recommend this for those who need a larger grill. Can't wait to find a rotisserire unit for it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 3 for Uniflame LP Gas Grill

Excellent Deal

04/14/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this unit a couple of weeks ago. Assembled myself because wouldn't fit into our truck pre-assembled.
Directions were good at first and very thorough but they skipped steps later on that forced me to go back and disassemble pieces in order to tighten screws or assemble trim pieces. Was no big deal but probably caused an extra 45-60 mins of assemble time that wasn't necessary.
Have been extremely happy with the unit. Was disappointed to find no good rotisserie solutions available from Mfg web site or WalMart but was able to figure out a way to get the Universal Rotisserie from WalMart to work (not too bad for $20).
Was impressed that metal was not 'flimsy' and entire unit is very stable and solid. Have also been impressed that they did not take mfg shortcuts on things like the screws & nuts. Manual reports that screws are nickle plated and nuts appear to be brass plated. Too new to tell but at least they "appear" to be well designed against years of corrosion.
Overall have been very impressed with the unit and wife & I have been looking for things to cook on it every night.
Very happy and looking forward to years of service from this grill.
Happy Grilling!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 4 for Uniflame LP Gas Grill

WHAT A DEAL!!!

08/06/2008
By ,
Birdsboro,PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My local store had this beauty for $298 marked down from $387, Only complaint I have is that I had to carry it to the deck from the truck, definitely need help for that if you are unable to carry 176lbs. alone. Assembly was fairly easy, I was able to do it at night on my deck without waking any neighbors with obscenities so that to me is a plus. Everything fit great, all burners fired up fine the first click. Grill looks great cant wait to cook on it, I will write another review to talk about how it cooks but I dont forsee any issues at all, its a nice grill at a nice price, THANKS WALMART!!! Recommend the 68" cover too. HAPPY GRILLING!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 5 for Uniflame LP Gas Grill

Too much rust for my liking

05/19/2008
By ,
Terre Haute, IN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Other than the rust, it's a great grill. However, I got this on Father's Day 2007 and it has rusted beyond what I thought it would have done for a lifetime. It actually started rusting just 2-3 months after I got it.
I even kept it inside during the winter months.
I am very disappointed in this product for the rust element. If it wasn't for this, I'd rate it a 5. I Googled it and researched but warranty doesn't cover rust according to the brochures.
However, this is crazy and should be replaced.
Has anyone else had this problem?
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 6 for Uniflame LP Gas Grill

So far so good

10/13/2008
By ,
DeKalb County, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this grill pre-assembled off the floor a couple of months ago. I have had no problems with it other than the frequent "flare ups" from drippings. I fear I have come close to a grease fire a couple of times. However, I consider that my fault and am overall very satisfied with this product. I am taking extra care with it given the other reviews that speak of quick rusting. The jury is still out on longevity but so far this baby has cooked up a good 15 meals!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 7 for Uniflame LP Gas Grill

Awesome grill

08/27/2008
By ,
Mulvane, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This grill is great - hands down, cannot beat it for the price. I was down to this grill or a Perfect Flame model from Lowes for $100 more. The only real difference was that the PF grill did not have the side-burner, and instead placed the sear burner where the side-burner would have been. Since I don't use the side-burner, that is what I wanted - but I couldn't justify the extra $$ just to have a few extra inches of cooking space inside the firebox.
I bought this grill on sale for $299 in early July and can't stop using it. It is VERY solid and well-built, very easy to assemble (I did not have any issues with missing hardware like some of the other reviews stated, not sure why - everything needed was provided, and assembly took less than 2 hours).
The only gripe I have is with the universal rotisserie kit I bought from Wal-Mart. The kit said it fits upto 36" grills (which this grill is) - a previous reviewer said they were able to make it work, but I found it easier to return the Wal-Mart kit and buy the Perfect Flame 40" kit from Lowes - it installed perfectly on this grill in under 10 minutes.
I did buy a heavyweight 68" grill cover that works very well, I did however leave a pronged fork on the side shelf once - it rained a little and I have a couple of tiny rust spots where the fork sat. Other than the tiny rust spots (my fault) and the rotisserie problem, this grill is simply awesome. Warms fast, cooks well, (very) typical hot spots in the back of the firebox between heat shields. I noticed the price went back up, but if you can get it on sale, this grill is the best value out there in medium $$ range category.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 8 for Uniflame LP Gas Grill

Definitely worth the money

03/20/2008
By ,
SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband is the one who does the grilling but this is a VERY nice grill. I love that it is all stainless steel because we leave near water and i dont want it to rust. I looked at other grills at places like lowes and this one is definitely an awesome deal. We love it and we highly recommend it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 9 for Uniflame LP Gas Grill

Good product

07/15/2008
By ,
Pahrump, Nevada
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We purchased the stainless steel grill and do like it. It has lots of space for grilling for a lot of people. The one thing that I don't care for is that it flames up too easy, other than that, we like it
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 10 for Uniflame LP Gas Grill

Features are good

03/21/2008
By ,
N.E.FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After purchasing this grill on 03/17/08, I have cooked 4 times on it. T-bone steaks first and it did a good job. Hot dogs next and they are what they are. Smoked some chicken thighs and while it is messy now inside from all the drippings, it should clean up OK. Again some steaks and all was well. The sear burner seems to do a quick job of searing and I haven't used the back rotiss burner yet. I wish more grills in this price range would include a smoker box with a dedicated burner. I have almost zero use for a side burner and would gladly trade for a dedicated smoke box capable of handling chunks. My old flat chip box of cast iron will fit under the grates in between two burner deflectors and works OK. This is a decent grill for the money but not what I would really like to see if I could design one. While Wal-Mart offered FREE assembly with purchase, there was no way it would fit in the back of My SUV assembled. Just did fit in the box. This is a very heavy grill at 176 lbs. so have some help. I assembled it in less than 2 hours taking frequent breaks along the way. Everything was included along with 2 screwdrivers and a wrench. These are not worthy of keeping in your tool box after use. I tossed the large screwdriver in the trash after it was almost stripped after assembling. Stamped steel wrench also went out. The small screwdriver is for the battery cover on the digital timer. I kept that one. It.s easy to install the batteries when you put this grill together, but you will have to get your head under the shelf to get at it later on. Could have done without that design. I like and recommend this grill if it is within your price range. There are better grills out there but usually they cost a lot more. This is a lot of "bang for the buck". Get a heavy duty cover and some stainless steel cleaner/protectant product like Bayes as the 430 steel can rust without good care and maint.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points