Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zebco Zebco Hawg Seeker Fishing Combo with Bite Alert

Zebco Zebco Hawg Seeker Fishing Combo with Bite Alert

Supercharge your catching capabilities with this Zebco Hawg Seeker Fishing Combo with Bite Alert. This combo is ideal for both beginning and experienced anglers that are dock fishing and fishing for catfish. The reel is equipped with the Bite Alert Technology, a powerful enhancement using the latest technology. This innovative feature makes it easy to see and hear fish bite at the end of your line, day or night. This Zebco fishing combo includes a 7' heavy rod that features the Z-glass construction for durability and lightweight feel. Its tough construction helps in catching bigger fishes easily. The fishing rod and reel combo also features a built-in sensitivity switch, so you can easily personalize the bite sensing technology to your comfort zone.
Average Customer Rating:
3.878 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(49 Reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
24
4 stars
12
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation84%41 out of 49reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
22 Questions | 65 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
24
4 stars
12
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Zebco Hawg Seeker Fishing Combo with Bite Alert

Katmaster

02/05/2010
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This rod combo never has failed me yet.I hardly miss one at night with this assembly. It's worth every penny saved up for it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Zebco Hawg Seeker Fishing Combo with Bite Alert

Catfish Killer

08/13/2008
By ,
Roxana, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall i would say i am pleased. No longer must you use either a bell (that sometimes doesn't work well enough especially in windy conditions) nor do you have to use the old school method of hanging a bobber from slack in the line. The only other thing that is truely better than the bite alert is a bite sensor (they get really expensive and take some room).
Overall i have had overall good luck. First fish landed was a 7 lb channel took him with ease! I have to say catching the smaller scale ones almost seems to take the fight out of them as the open face gear ratios help crank em in.
Make sure you preset the bite alert to your comfort zone, this includes the drag setting as well as it does play an instrumental part.
The only reason that i didn't give it a better rating is that the factory line that comes on it is really not that great. I would suggest you also pick up some Spectra Stealth or PowerPro for your new reel. As the factory placed string causes some problems.
I took a good 50 yrds off of it before using as there was too much already on there (could forsee a tangle as one on the racks was already!)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+143points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Zebco Hawg Seeker Fishing Combo with Bite Alert
05/04/2009
By ,
Texarkana, Tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great rod and reel combo. The second day I had it caught a 25# flathead. Took about 15 minutes to get it in, and was very pleased how the gear held up.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Zebco Hawg Seeker Fishing Combo with Bite Alert

excellent combo

06/29/2009
By ,
lancaster, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
you get your moneys worth for this combo. the first time i used the hawg seeker was in saltwater and we were fishing for 10 to 20 pound barracuda. caught over 10 that day and was impressed by the rod and reels performance. this is an all around fishing rod and i like the price i got it for.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per month
+52points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Zebco Hawg Seeker Fishing Combo with Bite Alert

Big Catch

11/02/2008
By ,
Everett, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The day I picked up the Hawg Seeker I caught a starry flounder the first time I cast it out. Love this rod as I continue to catch fish with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Zebco Hawg Seeker Fishing Combo with Bite Alert

Great Fishing Rod and Reel

05/13/2014
By ,
Cowen, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This rod and reel combo is an exceptional fishing pole. I would recommend it to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Zebco Hawg Seeker Fishing Combo with Bite Alert

Great for night fishing

11/28/2011
By ,
Yuma,Az
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No longer need previous alerts on rod(flashlight, bell, etc.). I used it almost nightly in the summer time with the smallest of probably 40 fish caught being 4lb and the largest 16lb in swift current. I've not missed a single fish when the sensor goes off. I've recomended this to lift long fishermen and beginners alike.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Zebco Hawg Seeker Fishing Combo with Bite Alert

the hawg seeker

04/06/2010
By ,
norwalk, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
the hawg seeker is a very nice pole and reel for the money i realy like it a lot the only complant is the bait alert which works good but the first night i used it it started to rain and they say the electronics are water resistent my oppion is they should be water proof this is why i didn't give it a full 5 star other than that its great
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Zebco Hawg Seeker Fishing Combo with Bite Alert

Interesting fishing combo

08/19/2010
By ,
Nebraska
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is an interesting fishing combo. At first I couldn't get the bite alarm to work while fishing. No instructions stating that you must REMOVE the green try me button in order to "turn on" the bite alert. So, I found out by accident. I thought the alert was broken as the green button was missing off of one of the poles. (I bought 2 combos) Then I noticed that next to the "try me green button" was "On/Off" switch which you must have "On" in order for the bite alert to work. Over all, I find this combo very interesting and hope it works well for us.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Zebco Hawg Seeker Fishing Combo with Bite Alert

Outstanding

07/04/2010
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the price, this combo is an outstanding deal. The first fish I caught on this new rig was a 38 pound flathead catfish. Not one issue. I did when I recieved it take off a bit of the line. I could see that there was to much and would cause issues later. But the bite alert worked great. I set both rigs with live perch as bait. Fished all night with just a pen lite. Didnt use the lantern unless I needed a pop out of the cooler :) . When the flat head took and ran with the perch. The bite alert woke me from sleeping in my lawn chair lol. Buy this rig if you like slip floating or fishing with live perch for sure.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Zebco Hawg Seeker Fishing Combo with Bite Alert

Great rod and reel

07/17/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this pole a couple of years ago and put 65 pound power pro ive hooked up on 40 pound cats and i am very impressed with how well it handles
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Zebco Hawg Seeker Fishing Combo with Bite Alert

Zebco...excellent as always

04/24/2011
By ,
Columbus , Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used Zebco reels and rods for more the 27 years and I have never been disappointed in performance ( nor appearance ) .
I fish year 'round ...rain sleet snow... and Zebco reels and rods go right along with me everytime .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Zebco Hawg Seeker Fishing Combo with Bite Alert

A great help

07/16/2009
By ,
Sandusky, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The fishing pole was for my 12 year old grandson. He has used it twice. Once in the bay and then in the lake. It is too big for perch fishing but great for cat fishing. So far he really likes it. He especially likes the beeper when he has a fish on the line. so all in all he is very satisfied.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Zebco Hawg Seeker Fishing Combo with Bite Alert

Great rod / Buy spare tips

03/05/2009
By ,
cleveland
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The rod work pretty good, except for the tip Zebco did a bad job on the tip!
What i reccommend is take it to the bait shop and get a better tip! Here's how
Listen to me carefully
1. Heat the tip of the rod and the tip comes right off without cutting the ROD!!!!!
2. Select the correct new tip after you take the old tip off first.
3. I used the rod cement. Heat the rod cement apply evenly to the rod ,
4. Put the new tip on and align it with the other eyelets on the rod.
5. Let the tip cool and go fish! You should not need to crip the tip.
Now i go to sandusk and bring home cooler of catfish , bass and white perch tasty...,, might as well get a electric fillet knife your gonna need it.
You will need to take some line off this rod.
It would have been nice to get a 2nd spool!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Zebco Hawg Seeker Fishing Combo with Bite Alert

Don't waste your money!!!

05/08/2011
By ,
Perryville, AR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Zebco has a great concept but a poor product. First, the bait alert system is very problematic and once you add water (even the water from line retrieval) causes the system to short out and break permantly. Second, the plastic assembly that connects the reel to the pole breaks under the slightest amont of stress allowing the reel to spin freely around the pole and slide up and down rendering the pole useless. I bought 2 at separate times both broke on their first fishing trip. Stay away from these zebco combos unless only plan to look at it in the rod rack! Walmart is great though, they gave me a refund in case you make the same mistake I did.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Zebco Hawg Seeker Fishing Combo with Bite Alert

Great Throwing Rig

08/25/2009
By ,
Livingston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Husband bought me my first Hawg Seeker
for my birthday this year and I loved it but so did my grandson and somehow he has possession of it
now so I ordered me a new one. I love
Zebco Reels and have been using them for
40 or more years as well as my dad before
me. It is a Great Throwing Rig.
Thanks Zebco
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Zebco Hawg Seeker Fishing Combo with Bite Alert
06/30/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got this for son's birthday, and he loves it!!!! Now he likes going fishing.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Zebco Hawg Seeker Fishing Combo with Bite Alert

Zebco Hawk Seeker good and bad

06/29/2010
By ,
Arlington WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The rod itself from a scale of 1-10 I would give it about an 8. The Reel, worked well the bite alert came not working, however, I really didn't care as I didn't buy it for that anyway for me, I sort of wish it had worked on my sons pole. However, the line that came on the reel was terrible; don't even bother taking the pole out with that terrible line on it. Take it all off and start over with new line! I have used other med- heavy weight combo’s that weren't quite as heavy by weight as this, as you can really tire yourself out quick with this pole combo as my son and friend did. So just be aware that for younger fishermen who have the skills but not a lot of strength, this may not be the combo for them. I however loved it, just the line I didn't like, but I did not buy it for the line. I think I am just picky about what is on my reel.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Zebco Hawg Seeker Fishing Combo with Bite Alert

GREAT VALUE FOR A GREAT COMBO!

07/13/2009
By ,
Utah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I actually bought one of these from Cabela's because of the price and I liked the fact that all the rod guides are reinforced. The bite alert is a really nice feature especially if you do alot of night fishin. No more bells jinglin while your reelin in or castin out. The pole is really strong and the reel has strong, fast gearing. The only complaint is the line being overspooled (too much) but its smooth. I've since bought another off of WalMart.com for my dad. Gonna try em out on some monster northern pike soon
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Zebco Hawg Seeker Fishing Combo with Bite Alert

Can't believe it!!!

08/07/2010
By ,
Monroe,Mi
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
So i buy this very fishing pole on friday august 6th 2010. The very next day august 7th 2010, I get out to lake erie to use this pole, and the first fish i catch,which was about a 2 lb catfish snaps the pole right in half where the rod tip slides into the pole. so needless to say the very first time using this product and the first fish i caught with it was all it took to snap this pole like a twig. would not recommend this product because even on zebco's web site they dont make replacement tips for these poles.
Very disapointed because the bite alert worked great.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 46 total reviews
1 2 3 Next