Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for SwissGear SwissGear 15' x 10' Smart Shade Canopy

SwissGear SwissGear 15' x 10' Smart Shade Canopy

Portable shade canopies are just the thing you need for outdoor parties and tailgating events. The SwissGear 15' x 10' Smart Shade Canopy is an exceptional choice as it has a tool-free assembly thats quick and easy to learn. Put up the frame, attach the canopy to it, and extend it to the position you want. It is expandable for your convenience and can be set up with the easy-release buttons provided. Also, this sturdy sun shade canopy has strong stabilizer arms to withstand windy weather conditions. Made of heavy-duty polyester, it is durable and resistant to harsh UV rays. You can carry this expandable canopy anywhere you like with the wheeled duffel bag provided along with it.
Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
22
4 stars
12
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation90%36 out of 40reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 18 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
22
4 stars
12
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for SwissGear 15' x 10' Smart Shade Canopy

EXCELLENT product!

05/17/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purhcased this canopy for my annual Relay for Life 24 hour Cancer Walk. I read MANY online reviews because I just couldn't decide. I read great reviews about the Swissgear brands and decided to get the 10' x 15' canopy. I am SO happy with the canopy. Our event is on a high school track/football field in Michigan in an open area which produces an extreme amount of wind. I am pleased that it took only 2 gallon milk jugs filled with sand to hold down each leg of the canopy. Basically, 4 bags of sand, 12 - gallon milk jugs, and a back cover and we were wind-free under the canopy! The cover withheld the nighttime dew and the frame supported all of our decorations and banners. I couldn't be happier with this product and I am sure it will be the most important addition to our Relay Team for many years!
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for SwissGear 15' x 10' Smart Shade Canopy

Thoroughly love this canopy!

06/29/2009
By ,
South Hills, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At first we thought that the canopy was a little more difficult to put up, but it might possibly be that it seemed that way because this was the first time to use it. After getting the frame up and the canopy on, we all agreed that it is the best addition that we have made to our family camping equipment in years. We had great shade and protection for our eating, cooking and game playing area. It was very easy to take down and that was a big plus, especially when you're tired and just want to get everything put away and go home. I also found shade sides at Walmart for an easy up that was meant to fit a 10 * 10 with four sides that easily covered the two long sides and one short side of our canopy and it was only about 38 dollars. It was great to protect our cooking gear and belongings from the elements. It is two parts that zip together on two sides. Even though it was not made for our canopy, the clamps and hooks at the top side were easy to adjust to use for ours. I would highly recommend both of these products to anyone, but would also say that you need at least three people to put the 15 * 10 up.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for SwissGear 15' x 10' Smart Shade Canopy

Good Quality and sturdy

05/31/2009
By ,
Southern California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This seems to be a very high quality Canopy made by the manufacturers of swiss army knives. I am using it as a semi-permanent shade for my patio/pool area. We'll see how well it holds up in the wind.
It definitely was not "EZ Up". I pinched my finger badly and bleeding and almost hurt my back trying to get it to lock in place. I suggest having three people to raise it up, placing emphasis on pushing up the center/middle extensions.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for SwissGear 15' x 10' Smart Shade Canopy

Best Yet

07/12/2009
By ,
CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a decent canopy that could be left up for the summer on my back deck which is made of wood.This exceeded my expectations . It has held up in high winds , rain and nicely protects from the sun. The set up really requires 2 people but 1 strong man could do it with some assistance from a female. It is very well made and much sturdier than prior canopies I have tried. I would highy recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for SwissGear 15' x 10' Smart Shade Canopy

worth the price

08/16/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have been through several of these ezup style canopies over the years for use in the pits at motorcycle races. I also have an ezup express II. I got this one due to good reviews and the larger size. It is a decent canopy for the price but not as heavy duty as the ezup express. As long as it is handled gently while putting it up and down and make sure it is strapped down good when set up it should hold up good. I was hoping the frame would be more stout for a canopy of this size. It seemd a little wobbly at full height so we set it up one click down which makes the edges around 5 1/2' high so taller people have to duck going under.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for SwissGear 15' x 10' Smart Shade Canopy

Not Worth The Money

09/20/2010
By ,
North Carolina
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After having this canopy up for Labor Day weekend, and then taken down, and then Put back up for the following weekend, there were four spots where holes formed in the canvas. They couldn't have been better weekends in my opinion as far as weather goes because, there were no storms, no rain, no wind, no heat, no nothing. So for holes to form in the canvas is in that short period of time is ridiculous. I think that only lasting 2 weekends isn't very inviting for me to replace this item. I plan on returning for a full refund and looking elsewhere for a canopy. I originally looked at this canopy because of the size, price and ease of use from the other reviews
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for SwissGear 15' x 10' Smart Shade Canopy

Excellent product

07/19/2010
By ,
Mn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
10x15 Swiss Gear Smart Shade Canaopy - This turned out to be the perfect solution for us. The 10x15 is a much better size than the 10x10. That extra 5 ft made alot of difference.
I was initially concerned because it is extremely heavy - I had a hard time lifting the box when it was delivered. But it is very light once open and it was so easy to put up and take down! I read all of the reviews and had an idea that it was not a one man job. The instructions that came with the canopy clearly say it is a four person job, so we came prepared. With four people it took 5 min to put up and 5 min to take down - very simple.
It is sturdy and very well designed. It kept the rain off and handled the wind very well using the leg stakes and tie downs.
It definitely exceeded our expectations.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for SwissGear 15' x 10' Smart Shade Canopy

Best purchase all year

12/02/2010
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We LOVE our Swiss Gear canopy!
We purchased this for our deck, so we can sit outside even when it's raining. So far, it hasn't leaked a drop, even in heavy rain, and has stood up beautifully to high winds. (We did bolt concrete "feet" to the bottom, and we put on the ties and attach them to our deck railing when the weather forecast is ugly.) Plus it looks great! Our guests have all commented on how cool it is.
My one caveat is that you really do need 4 people to set it up. Unless you pull equally from all 4 corners, it's virtually impossible to get the frame mechanism properly stretched out so you can go to the next step. (We had to beg two neighbors to come over and help us!) Once you get the corners out and clicked into place, it becomes easy to attach the canopy, raise it up, and lock the other frame joints into place.
We're very, very pleased with our purchase, and the only reason I didn't give it 5 stars for value is that, since I bought it 2 months ago at what I thought was a great price - Walmart dropped it $8!
If you want a sturdy, attractive deck cover that you can leave out all season/year, you can't do much better than this.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for SwissGear 15' x 10' Smart Shade Canopy

Difficult to put up and parts of frame missing

07/21/2011
By ,
Northern Illinois
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this canopy to use on our deck based on it's size and the fact that is was supposed to assemble easily. This was not the case at all! It requires at LEAST 4 people to assemble and as we were struggling to get ours up, we found that 5 of the bars that are supposed to be there (we think) are actually missing! It's hard to know for sure that these bars are missing because the instruction manual is vague and there are no good illustrations of what the assembled canopy frame is supposed to look like. We are pretty sure that they are missing though because the frame is definatly not going up correctly. Based on this and the fact that even if the frame was complete, it would STILL be difficult to put up and that at least 4 people are required to put it up and take it down, I plan to return it...as soon as I can get some help getting it back in the box and in my car!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for SwissGear 15' x 10' Smart Shade Canopy

one big canopy

09/23/2011
By ,
Oneonta NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this when it was marked down to $207. It fits very snugly in the bag (but there is expansion pockets on the bag itself, so getting it back in there isn't a problem. It goes up easy enough, 2 people can do it, the only con with this thing is that there is a crossbeam in the center of it (it is not totally obstruction free in the center), but it isn't a problem. Very well built and a great deal for what it is. It even comes with a GOOD set of stakes too, as well as a pocket to install on it for holding odds and ends. If there is a downside to it, it would be the weight, it is VERY heavy, so storing it might be a limitation because of that
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for SwissGear 15' x 10' Smart Shade Canopy

works great but quality questionable

07/07/2010
By ,
Cleveland, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This canopy sets up fairly easy and works great at creating a big shady area on our deck. An issue with it is the canopy quality, as after 2 weeks there is already noticeable wear on the parts of the canopy that touches downon the metal frame. If the wear continues at this rate, I imagine that by the end of the summer there will be holes in the canopy at those pressure points. This is too bad, because otherwise an excellent product from my view. But we may return it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for SwissGear 15' x 10' Smart Shade Canopy

well built canopy

08/19/2010
By ,
Pierre Part, LA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had this canopy for about a year now, used about 10 times, well built, easy to open with two or more, however the storage bag tore after the first use, think it should be made of heavier material to handle the weight of this canopy. Other than that i am pleased with this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for SwissGear 15' x 10' Smart Shade Canopy

Exactly what we needed

07/20/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sturdy, durable, easy to set up with four people. We set up a ping pong table on the backyard patio and are using this as a sun cover. Exactly what we wanted and are very satisfied.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for SwissGear 15' x 10' Smart Shade Canopy

Worked great!

08/12/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm really glad I bought this tent because it actually lived up to my expectations! I've been trying to convince my husband to let me get an outside shelter but he didn't want one. He had experienced a lot of trouble with EZ up tents at his work and didn't want something really cheap that would bend the first time we used it. He was actually impressed with this product. I read a lot of reviews before I bought and this one seemed like everyone had great things to say. I love my new tent! I have some other things made by Swiss gear and have always thought the quality was really good. They did good on their tent too. Even my in-laws thought I got a good deal, and that says a lot that I didn't get criticized!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for SwissGear 15' x 10' Smart Shade Canopy

Great canopy

05/23/2009
By ,
North Carolna mountains
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Needed something larger than a table umbrella to keep sun off. This canopy did the trick. Plan on using 4 people to open it. Once open and the cover on the frame I was very satisfied. Quality construction on a powder coated frame and velcrow tabs for securing the cover. Would recommend if you need a larger canopy than those 10x10's.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for SwissGear 15' x 10' Smart Shade Canopy

Not a quick pop up

06/02/2010
By ,
San Diego, CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I wanted a canopy larger than the regular 10X10 and something easy that my husband and I could set up quickly and put away when done. This was not the canopy! It was so hard to set up, we tried many ways and spent about 30 minutes trying and we just could not set it up. You will need at least 4 very strong people to open it but if you pull to hard it will start to bend. We gave up and took it back to the store. We got 2 of the "First Up" 10x10 for $97, these were really pop ups and we set up in 5minutes.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for SwissGear 15' x 10' Smart Shade Canopy

Great canopy for the money!!!

07/21/2011
By ,
Northern California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you're looking for a 15' X 10' canopy, this is a great deal! There are a lot of deals out there for a 10' X 10' canopy but when you increase in size, they get very spendy. We bought with confidence knowing that WalMart is great about returns. We were not disappointed. If you're going to be opening and closing it frequently, it may be a tad frustrating. We're using it for the summer to protect our boat from trees that drop a lot of sap and my husband wants to order another one to use for our car.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for SwissGear 15' x 10' Smart Shade Canopy

Great outdoor product.

07/09/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Was pleasantly suprised to see how easy this outdoor tent cover was to put up. There were four of us and it took about 10 minutes. We were just looking for something to put a couple tables and chairs under because we have little shade in our yard and we were having a family reunion. It looked good, was sturdy with low winds and generally worked out great for the price. It was going to cost more money to rent a comparable cover for a one day rental so we really made out great!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for SwissGear 15' x 10' Smart Shade Canopy

Pop up canopy - adequate

06/28/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This pop up is heavy and definitely requires the four people to both open & close it. The stakes it comes with are solid, unlike some of the flimsy easily lost ones I've seen on others. Opening & closing is not as intuitive as on other canopies because of the buttons, but you can figure it out without getting too annoyed. Once up, it's stable. We've used it several times, and the canopy material hasn't torn yet unlike some of the others.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for SwissGear 15' x 10' Smart Shade Canopy

SwissGear did not survive Houston rain storm

09/28/2009
By ,
Houston, TX
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I really liked this product until a storm completely demolished it. Once one leg gave way then almost every metal member got bent before I could get the canvas top off.
I am not blaming the product. I did have warning about the storm. I should have taken it down or really fastened the corners to something.
Anyway, it was very functional and easy to put up, so I would recommend it, especially at the Walmart price.
Cheers, Chris
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 40 total reviews
1 2 Next