Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Midland Midland Emergency Crank Radio with AM/FM and Weather Alert

Midland Midland Emergency Crank Radio with AM/FM and Weather Alert

This Midland Emergency Crank Radio with AM/FM and Weather Alert has everything you need to stay connected and informed during urgent situations. It has a dynamo crank, which can be used to recharge radio and flashlight when there is no power. This emergency radio keeps you informed with forecast developments with the NOAA 7 channel All Hazards/Weather Alerts or to the local AM/FM broadcasts. It uses LED flashlights to alert the visually impaired. This Midland crank radio has a USB port that allows you to charge various cell phones and electronic devices. It also has a clock with 12 hour display, alarm, and snooze functions. The Midland EP102 Emergency Crank Radio features a backlit LCD display, and you can easily view the numbers even in low light conditions. This Midland Emergency Crank Radio with AM/FM and Weather Alert comes with a carrying strap, an AC adapter with cord and a user manual.
Average Customer Rating:
4.129 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(62 Reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
35
4 stars
15
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation85%52 out of 61reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
18 Questions | 66 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
35
4 stars
15
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Midland Emergency Crank Radio with AM/FM and Weather Alert

Good emergency radio

08/03/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I live in a place where we have bad weather,,,hurricanes,,massive snow storms,,floods,,every year. And I'm so busy that I have no time to watch television so I like to listen to the weather while I'm getting ready for work,,it works great for receiving local weather stations,,and ocean details,,so far I am glad I have it.. No natural disasters yet since I've bought it,,but that time of year is coming,,hopefully I only need it to listen to the weather :) But,, the way the weather patterns have been,, it would probably be a good idea for everyone that lives on, or close to the Atlantic seaboard to have one.. I love the ocean,,but I don't like seagulls flying through my living room.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Midland Emergency Crank Radio with AM/FM and Weather Alert

Almost perfect...

06/27/2008
By ,
Topeka, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There is nothing bad about this radio at all. Every feature that you could ask for in an emegency radio is here on this item: AM/FM/Weather stations, dynamo crank that works incredibly, bright LED flashlight, alarm clock, good reception, thermometer, LCD display with bright orange backlighting, dynamo/battery/AC power options (haven't tried the cranking time to operation time comparision yet), etc. The only problem that I have is that there is no standby mode for the weather alerts. The radio has to be actually turned on to give you the very loud weater warnings. In other words, the entire unit is on and operating in order to receive weather updates. However, the way around that is to turn on the radio when you want to be notified, turn the volume completely down so there is no noise (fortunately there is no speaker hiss either) and there you go. The alarm will sound at the same ear splitting volume no matter what. The other minor issue is that tuning the FM radio is done digitally with a knob. The knob is incredibly sensative, so that if you look at the knob wrong, it will move by one decimal place. Other than that, you cannot go wrong with this radio. Those minor issues are completely overshadowed by the great quality and features of this radio. Buy one. Perfect for camping, power outages, outside, or the downfall of civilization as we know it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+134points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Midland Emergency Crank Radio with AM/FM and Weather Alert

Kinda awesome

09/16/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a welcome addition to my hurricane kit. The multiple functions make it an all-in-one kind of product.
The hand crank is not like that of a flashlight where you crank for 1 minute and get 10 minutes of power. It's more like Gilligan's Island. It works while you pedal the bike and stops when you get off.
Also, the hand crank WILL NOT charge or power my 3G iphone. It will only power my 3rd generation ipod, not charge it. It will however power and charge the 1st generation ipod. I was really wanting something that would hand power my phone, but this just isn't it. Other than that, it's pretty sweet.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Midland Emergency Crank Radio with AM/FM and Weather Alert

Overall good product

09/17/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The only thing I have a problem with is poor AM reception. I bought this radio specifically for no power situations, I believe it will perform well enough that I feel confident and secure in my choice. The weather channel and FM are loud and clear, seems well built, no real complaints to prevent an endorsement.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Midland Emergency Crank Radio with AM/FM and Weather Alert

A gift to a always prepared father

01/08/2008
By ,
Cave Junction, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The screen was digital and easy to read. The switches and dials are all well placed and intuitive. I gave it as a gift to my father. He loved it and uses it regularly.
I'm very pleased and so is he.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Midland Emergency Crank Radio with AM/FM and Weather Alert

Weather Band Radio

09/06/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We bought this for our school so that we would have an additional radio in the case of an emergency.
Yesterday our regular radio went off and continued until the storm was past...
The radio from Walmart didn't work at all.. we can radio stations on it but it failed to give us any emergency information.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Midland Emergency Crank Radio with AM/FM and Weather Alert

Midland Emergency Crank with AM/FM Weather Radio

09/05/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Avery good weather radio with a lot of features,good price, good make and good weather bands.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Midland Emergency Crank Radio with AM/FM and Weather Alert

not to be without

03/29/2010
By ,
NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like the features this weather radio has..it's rugged, has a built in flashlight, hand crank, and DC input along with a wake alarm and freeze warning alerts from NOAA...also has a headphone jack...the display is large and well lit.....many features for the price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 06/29/2011
RADIO IS NICE,BUT HAD QUESTION EMAILLED CUSTOMER SUPPORT 3 TIMES AND NEVER GOT ANSWER AND NO TOLL FREE NUMBER SO IF YOU HAVE A QUESTION YOU'RE OUT OF LUCK
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Midland Emergency Crank Radio with AM/FM and Weather Alert

Does a great job

05/23/2011
By ,
AL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Everything as expected. I was surprised that it is as compact as it is. One comment about battery charging procedure: the manual said that the power switch should be in the AC/DYNAMO ON position to charge the LiH battery from an AC outlet. This turns the unit on and the battery was not fully charged, even with the charging light lit, after the alloted charging time. I redid the charging process with the power switch OFF, the charging light was on, and the unit seems to be fully charged. I.m considering using this product as our everyday kitchen radio.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Midland Emergency Crank Radio with AM/FM and Weather Alert

A piece of junk right out of the box

06/12/2011
By ,
southern WV
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The AC adapter did not work so consequently the rechargeable batteries would not charge and the radio would not work on AC power. I don't know if it's the adapter or the radio. Received it on Friday--taking it back on Monday. If given the opportunity, I would have rated it even lower. I would definitely NOT recommend this to a friend.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Midland Emergency Crank Radio with AM/FM and Weather Alert

would not hold a charge and the alert did not work

06/27/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It looks like it could be a good product but I could not get it to hold a charge and then the weather alert did not work so I returned it. maybe I just got a bad one so I may try another one to see if it would work correctly.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Midland Emergency Crank Radio with AM/FM and Weather Alert

NOT MENT FOR "LONG TERM" STORAGE or EMERGENCYS

11/19/2013
By ,
Cleveland, Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
THIS UNIT WAS DEFECTIVE RIGHT OUT OF THE BOX! I SENT IT BACK THE NEXT DAY!
THIS UNIT IS NOT MENT TO BE STORED AS A BACK-UP. THE CLOCK FEATURE WILL DRAIN THE BATTERIES AND (according to the directions) THE BATTRIES SHOULD BE RE-CHARGED FOR 12 HOURS FOR THE UNIT TO WORK EFFECTIVLY. NOT POSSIBLE IN A LONG TERM POWER OUTAGE!
If left plugged in during every day use, this would be a good short term system for minimal power outages, but the direction repeatedly state that the unit needs to charge for 12 hours for optimal performance!
I never got a chance to try the crank handle as the unit was DEFECTIVE! NOTE: The directions seem to indicate that. . . to recharge the unit with the crank, you must CRANK AGRESSIVLY FOR AS LONG AS YOU (feel comfortable) CAN. This will recharge the batteries for a short period.
DEFECTIVE! When I plugged in the charger the "CHARGE INDICATOR LIGHT" did not come on. After charging for the recommended 12 hours the unit went haywire! The radio no longer worked, the thermometer read "188", and when I turned on the radio (after charging) and there was a thumping sort of static sound.
THIS IS NOT A "DOOMSDAY PREPPER" ITEM!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Midland Emergency Crank Radio with AM/FM and Weather Alert

Does not last

03/24/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased the Midland emergency radio about two years ago as a hurricane preparedness supply. Thought I would grow old with it. Nice features, decent sound, great weather band reception. Tuner is very sensitive. Now ... AC adapter does not work. Provides no power, no charge. Crank does nothing. It does work on AA battery power, but I purchased it due to the multiple power options and liked the thought of not having to continually replace AA batteries. And the ones I left in the radio previously leaked (duracells, not dollar store batteries). Looked around for a replacement of the NiMh (ala cordless phone) battery. The only ones I found that MAY work cost near twenty dollars (did not risk it). It's not a total loss as it does work with AAs, but for the price, I truly expected more. I do not recommend this radio.
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Midland Emergency Crank Radio with AM/FM and Weather Alert

Awesome

05/05/2014
By ,
VA BEACH VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It works great everyone needs this radio its perfect
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Midland Emergency Crank Radio with AM/FM and Weather Alert

Worked less than 12 hours

05/11/2011
By ,
Tennessee
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This weather radio took an initial charge and worked for about 12 hours. After that it would no longer charge. I had to return it. Cannot recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Midland Emergency Crank Radio with AM/FM and Weather Alert

Did not do what I expected.

06/30/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had a weather radio that went off for emergencies. This does not. The alarm may sound but then you have to turn the voice on.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Midland Emergency Crank Radio with AM/FM and Weather Alert

Works as advertised...good product

05/06/2011
By ,
AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This radio got a real workout on its first use. When the thunderstorms came through Arkansas in April a number of its features were used including alert automatically switching from FM band to weather band, flashlight and battery power. Works well in a concrete and steel storm shelter. Good sharp sound.
Great product at reasonable price...recommended.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Midland Emergency Crank Radio with AM/FM and Weather Alert

pleasantly surprised

01/01/2014
By ,
Amsterdam, New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Looks to be very well made and everything worked as stated. very impressed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Midland Emergency Crank Radio with AM/FM and Weather Alert

Weather Radio

05/21/2011
By ,
Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have not used the Weather radio yet. I did check it out including convenience of controls, appearance, usefulness of controls and I was very satisfied. I liked the fact that you could listen to FM/AM radio and be alerted to switch to the Weather channel should there be tornadoes or bad weather alerts. The price was around $30.00
I purchased one a couple years ago for $20.00 and it was useless. (different company).
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Midland Emergency Crank Radio with AM/FM and Weather Alert

Good Buy

11/09/2013
By ,
Wonder Lake, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my son who has a deep appreciation for weather predictions. He loves it and it's easy for him to use. He is Developmentally Disabled, so ease of use is essential. We shall see how durable it is in time.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 52 total reviews
1 2 3 Next