Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for SmartyKat SmartyKat RunawayRascal

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

SmartyKat SmartyKat RunawayRascal

This remote-controlled mouse toy puts the fun of a mouse chase in your hands while boosting your cat's activity level.
Average Customer Rating:
3.273 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
11
Customer Recommendation61%20 out of 33reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
11
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for SmartyKat RunawayRascal

KITTIES WENT NUTS, HUSBAND LOVED THE REMOTE CHEESE

07/11/2010
By ,
MONTESANO, WA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WELL, THIS WAS THE REACTION I WAS HOPING FOR, FROM BOTH THE BOYZ AND MY HUSBAND! OUR BOYZ ARE 7 1/2 YEARS OLD AND ARE SLOWING DOWN A BIT. THIS TOY REALLY ENERGIZED THEM AND WORE THEM OUT IN A FEW MINUTES.
MY HUSBAND HAD A GREAT TIME USING THE CHEESE REMOTE CONTROL...I KNEW HE WOULD LOVE THAT!!! I ENJOYED WATCHING THE SHOW!!
THANKS FOR A GREAT PLAY TIME FOR US ALL.
YOGI, BOOBOO, BOB & LINDA
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Review 2 for SmartyKat RunawayRascal

Loads of fun!

01/22/2010
By ,
New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My cat loves mice and things that move on their own (such as lasers), so this was the perfect choice for her. She doesn't chase after it, but it holds her attention and she'll bat it around and pounce on it when it stops moving. For her, it's more of an engagement and mental stimulation toy than physical exercise (for that, the laser pointer comes in handy). The company has upgraded this toy, and the current model is different than the one shown. The remote looks like a white computer mouse with one simple button that can be pushed forward and backward, and the mouse is smaller with gray fur and a pink stringy tail (which my cat loves). As other reviewers have mentioned, the gears have a tendency to get clogged with dust, hair, and lint found on the floor. You can open up the back of the mouse to clean it out. It's also helpful to keep it off of rugs and dusty places underneath things. It takes a while to get the hang of controlling it, but cats will love the erratic movements anyway.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 3 for SmartyKat RunawayRascal

tiny mouse

11/18/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The unit works fine. The charge is somewhat short lived, but will do the job for 5 minutes at a time. Definitely works back, forth and circles. It has flipped over too by mistake which did not bother me. The mouse is tiny. I needed something larger for the theater, but is great as a pet toy.
The price is fair for this unit.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 4 for SmartyKat RunawayRascal
01/03/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My boyfriend seems to enjoy this remote control mouse as much as my cats. One of our cats sits by it and stares at him until he picks up the remote to play. It runs for about 5-8 minutes and then you have to recharege for 3 minutes. It's not the fastest in the world but it holds their interest. The kittens even more so. I almost bought a remote control car for them to chase and then I saw this, which was cheaper and, I think, turned out better because their claws stick in it's "fur" and they can bat it around. And the cheese remote is just so cute.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+15points
Review 5 for SmartyKat RunawayRascal

Cat toy

11/08/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My cat is playing with it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 6 for SmartyKat RunawayRascal

Don't waste your time

12/24/2010
By ,
Cordova, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Well we bought this toy as a "Christmas present" to the cats and I took it out of the package and charged it and put it on the floor of the kitchen and it worked great!...for approximately 60 seconds, then it died. It will kinda make a noise like it is going to start going but then it doesn't. Maybe it's the frequency but we have already spent more time trying to figure out what's wrong with the stupid thing than it's worth. So my advice is to buy at your own risk. Great idea though, just too bad they don't make a $20 one that actually works! :)
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+8points
Review 7 for SmartyKat RunawayRascal

SmartyKat Pro and Con

12/22/2009
By ,
Elizabethtown, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My cat absolutely adored this toy. She use to be indoor/outdoor when we lived on a farm, and she was a very proficient hunter. She missed the life, and I used my observational knowledge of how to make the toy mouse act like a real mouse would behave. She was in love with the toy.
Now for the con. Never, never bring it across any kind of carpeting, rugs, or fabrics. The mouse no longer functions because thread is so in-bedded into the axle that I cannot remove it. Now the mouse no longer functions. I WILL BUY A REPLACEMENT! I just will be more careful to avoid harmful surfaces in my home as well as sweep/vacuum prior to playing.
YOUR CAT WILL LOVE THE TOY! Keep it to the walls and near furniture as mice tend to stay to these areas and only rarely run across open spaces to get to the next safe place. They play dead when the cat first gets them and then they will try to run away. I hope this helps you with this very worth while toy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 8 for SmartyKat RunawayRascal

Not the product pictured

10/05/2013
By ,
South Windsor, CT
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered this cat toy to replace one that no longer worked. I was happy to find this replacement. When I picked it up, it was a different product with the same name. Does not work well, does not have the control the pictured product has. The "cheese" controller pictured controls forward, backward and turning. The NEW model has no control and stops working if the cat blocks the toy from the lame controller. Also, the new toy doesn' hold a charge. If you are looking for the product pictured, then don't order this!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+6points
Review 9 for SmartyKat RunawayRascal

broke after 2 minutes

12/01/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This thing is the coolest idea, but is cheaply made. It broke just as my cat began to play. It clicks when you trey to go forward and backwards. Going to take it back and see if another works any better.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+8points
Review 10 for SmartyKat RunawayRascal

Was not the same product.

07/21/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purposely ordered this product because I wanted the older model with cheese remote. I was sent the newer model (not pctiured) and was very disappointed. The mouse would only go foreword and back where the older model moved in 4 directions. I also found that the wheels got jammed after a few uses. Wouldn't buy again.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 11 for SmartyKat RunawayRascal

not what you pay for

07/16/2012
By ,
indiana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i bought this 2 times and still not as pictured i ordered online and i got a cheaper made product you dont get the cheese wheel as pictured and it dont even go half the time and it wont work if your more then 1 foot away which is horrible they could have done better making this its like they put little effort in this the one as pictured is what i wanted not the cheap thing i was sent you would better off buying a mouse that looks life like go get a little remote controlled car and cut open the mouse and glue them together and it would be so much better then this it has lil power at all i would not recommend anyone this
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 12 for SmartyKat RunawayRascal
08/14/2013
By ,
RI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product was ordered through the website. The picture on the site was the product we wanted, however when the product arrived it was a different version of the same product (I am assuming a newer version). They need to change to photo so people know what they are actually getting. My cat likes the older version of the toy so we bought several when we saw the photo. What arrived was a different version of the toy that our cat won't even look at. I did return the product to the store and was refunded, but I wish that I had not had to do that because the picture on the site was wrong.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Review 13 for SmartyKat RunawayRascal

Bought 2 times

03/17/2011
By ,
Westland, MI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very dissappointed both times, returned them...lid to battery case will not stay on..
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Usage:Never
+3points
Review 14 for SmartyKat RunawayRascal

Little Rascal

12/15/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Does Not Work Well, Would not Go backwards took it back, exchanged for second one, it would not go forward, they are junk, they only work well first minute of use out of the package. , after that they are never the same, we bought the best batteries you could buy didn't make a difference, remote signal is poor, not a good product taking this one back. We think we will buy a small remote car wrap it in fur material, would be a better product. The packaging on this Little Rascal Cost more than you get out of the product. save your $10. I also contacted the company to them their product does not work, no reply. MY CAT LOVES THE ZHU ZHU HAMSTER MUCH BETTER..AND MUCH BETTER PRODUCT
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 15 for SmartyKat RunawayRascal

My cats love it!

01/13/2013
By ,
Pendleton, Ky.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My remote is different then the one shown in this pic. My cats absolutely love this toy, even without the remote. The mouse is small, only abt 2 in long, therefore, is easily lost. We actually went and bought a 2nd one after our cat lost the first one, but have since found it so they now have two. To help with the lost and found problem, we tied a ribbon, like Christmas ribbon, on the end of the tail so that it would be easily found. That has worked great and does not interfere with the movement or play of the toy. This is their favorite toy. My remote has an on and off switch to save on battery use. I use rechargable batteries, so when the mouse quickly quits running after charging it, you know the batteries in the remote need changing.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for SmartyKat RunawayRascal

great cat and owner

04/08/2014
By ,
boise, ID
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was great fun seeing my cat's reaction to this thing. She didn't know what to make of it at first but after I'd teased her w/ it for a while, she decided that this even better than the real thing. Some hilarious moments for sure.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for SmartyKat RunawayRascal

Great for active and hunter cats.

01/29/2013
By ,
Atlanta, Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This little mouse is a life savior! I have a main coon mix, who is very active and loves to hunt. This is one of his favorite toys, he goes absolutely nuts over it. I have to hide it in a drawer or he will find it and drag it out! My 7 and 3 year old nieces love playing with this with him. I takes merely a few minutes to charge the mouse and lasts up to 15 minutes. It runs great on hard wood, tile, and even carpet floors! The only cons are that my cat keeps flipping the mouse upside down, so I have to turn it right side up. Also I did not get the cheese wedge remote, but a plain white remote. Still a great little toy for a great price! Definitely recommend it! :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for SmartyKat RunawayRascal

Great toy for the price

10/19/2012
By ,
Midcoast Maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Must be a "hit or miss" item, judging by other reviews. I didn't expect it to be that great, but it actually moves forward and backward, and turns when it goes in reverse, so it's more possible than I thought to get it to move all around the kitchen. Runs best on hard surfaces and low pile carpets, as the instructions say, but I was amazed at the runtime--the insert says 3 mins of charging will give you 8 mins of playtime, but we've been playing with it for over 20 mins! Maybe I lucked out with a good unit, but if I'm wrong, I'd highly recommend it to anyone with a curiously active kitty like mine.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 19 for SmartyKat RunawayRascal

Excellent interactive toy satisfies cat's needs!

09/06/2012
By ,
Schenectady, New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect for indoor cats. This is the best cat toy created, especially for lazy people. The mouse is charged on the remote. The remote takes two AA batteries. It's the perfect cat toy because it fulfills the cat's needs for hunting, catching, and killing. They are able to satisfy those needs with this simulation toy. Once your cat catches and kills it's "prey", you can turn the remote off and resume playing another time. My girls love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 20 for SmartyKat RunawayRascal

Cat Loves It

09/09/2010
By ,
Hermann, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't know who had more fun with this toy, my husband or the cat. They played ubtil the toy had to be recharged, then played again until it needed to be charged again. The one down side is that when it is charged, this toy needs to last longer. Outside of that, it was worth every penny and I would buy it again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
1-20 of 33 total reviews
1 2 Next