Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for 2001: A Space Odyssey (Blu-ray) (Widescreen)

2001: A Space Odyssey (Blu-ray) (Widescreen)

Average Customer Rating:
4.565 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation96%22 out of 23reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for 2001: A Space Odyssey (Blu-ray) (Widescreen)

2001 Space Odyssey

09/05/2009
By ,
Eastern Pennsylvania
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worse movie I've ever seen. Had never seen this movie, but bought a new Blu-ray player that I thought would look good with this movie. The movie was extremely BORING. I don't know how it ever made it to a sequel.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-57points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for 2001: A Space Odyssey (Blu-ray) (Widescreen)

Best 2001 Edition Yet

10/22/2008
By ,
Cincinnati, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have many copies of 2001, including LaserDisk, DVD and now this Blu-Ray edition.
Not all 2001's are the same. Many are made from prints that are substantially degraded or worn. I have encountered these in the past. Until now, I thought I would never again see another Digital edition made from the same heralded source as the 1993 25th Anniversary Deluxe CAV Widescreen LaserDisk. or the 2001 Deluxe Collectors DVD Box Set with Senitype.
This is quite apparent because it lacks editing marks of any kind, being re-constructed from the original film elements and camera negatives.
Likewise, this Blu-Ray edition is PRISTINE. The picture quality is unsurpassed by any previous rendering. It is noiseless, clear, strikingly colorful and faithful in every way to my recollection of the original theatrical experience.
Techincal:
CODEC:VC-1
ASPECT:2.2:1 Anamorphic
Vertical Resolution:1080P
Horizontal Resolution: Unknown - probably 1330 or more - could be 1920, it's hard to know.
Until viewing this version, I had my doubts about the VC-1 coding system. No more. It is well able to handle this material faithfully.
Bit rates are often in the 20Mbit range, but not higher that I've noticed.
My Equipment:
Epson 1080P (1920x1080) 3LCD HD Video Projector
100" Diagonal Grey High Contrast Projection Screen
Onkyo THX TX-DS939 5.1 Surround with THX Speakers
HDMI Connected Playstation3 Blu-Ray Player
Summary:
This Blu-Ray edition is a "must have" for any 2001 enthusiast. If you were not fortunate enough to see it in the theatre originally, this will make that experience possible if you have the right equipment. An excellent value at any price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for 2001: A Space Odyssey (Blu-ray) (Widescreen)

2001: A Space Odyssey...and more

12/09/2009
By ,
Milwaukee, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My single motivation for writing this is in response to Strumgirl's review (?) on 9/5/09. I do not wish to be harsh or unfairly critical in my comments, but at my very heart I am compelled to assist. I could list many of the undeniable facts about this film. Suffice it to say it will most certainly remain one of the most important films for ages to come, and it will forever remain one of only a few films significantly ahead of its time. If I can be so bold as to lend anything of value to those who can both listen and hear, I can only suggest the traditional resources. Read literature, listen to classical music, study the classical arts, etc. Always remember "the unexamined life is not worth living". If you should care to research the author of this expression, then you are, at last, on your way...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for 2001: A Space Odyssey (Blu-ray) (Widescreen)

A SIGNIFICANT STEP FORWARD

03/02/2010
By ,
Forest Park, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
OK, so the special effects aren't digital (they're "models"). OK, so this movie doesn't exactly dazzle you with "blinding" speed. You're missing the point. "2001" was significant because it helped make sci-fi a "credible" format. Up untill this movie came along (not to mention the original Star Trek TV series) sci-fi was kind of a joke (there was Flash Gordon, Buck Rodgers, and LOTS of cold war space monsters). 2001 showed us what space travel will REALLY be like - slow, dangerous progress (that's still worth pursuing). Without 2001 (AND Star Trek) there would BE no "Battlestar Galactica" (or hopes that space travel will actually lead us to a better future). Give this vision of the future from the past a shot. You'll find it gives you a strong sense of how we got "from there to here". Enjoy!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for 2001: A Space Odyssey (Blu-ray) (Widescreen)

Perfect Xmas Pressie

01/02/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this for my father for Xmas and it was great! The price was low and the picture quality/colour was brilliant! I called the store and they didn't have it on the shelf so from the comfort of my home, without having to leave the house in the nasty-cold weather, I got the item for only a couple dollars more with shipping (definitely a deal if you live in Michigan this winter).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for 2001: A Space Odyssey (Blu-ray) (Widescreen)

Killer movie, but not on blu-ray

12/22/2008
By ,
Evansville, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I think it's one of the top 10 movies of all time, but the fact is that all of these movies that are rereleased onto the blu-ray format just aren't that super.
Tommy Lee Jones comes to mind in Men In Black, when he said "Looks like I'm going to have to buy the White Album again." this is pretty much like that, but it's the same as it ever was. There's not really any new features on it that weren't on the Kubrick boxset in regular dvd format. Unless it's a new movie chock full of CGI or an animated movie, blu-ray versions of old movies just isn't mind-blowing sorry.
Other than that, read the book. It kicks the movie in the face.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for 2001: A Space Odyssey (Blu-ray) (Widescreen)

Classic Movie and HAL9000

01/30/2013
By ,
Plano, texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Blu-ray transfer is very nice in this 1968 Classic Movie. From the Dawn of Man till the Space Voyage and HAL9000 going berserk. Enjoy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for 2001: A Space Odyssey (Blu-ray) (Widescreen)

2001 Blu ray is amazing!

09/12/2008
By ,
Virginia Beach, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one of the best blu ray movies out there. The picture quality is simply amazing for a film made in the 1960's. I highly recommend you get it if you like this film. The improvements over the normal DVD are breathtaking!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for 2001: A Space Odyssey (Blu-ray) (Widescreen)

2001: on Blu-ray, incredible!

12/06/2009
By ,
Arroyo Grande, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Incredible transfer to the Blu-ray format. If you need to own one format of this movie this is it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for 2001: A Space Odyssey (Blu-ray) (Widescreen)

DVD defective

01/12/2014
By ,
Wilmington, MA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This DVD had two bad spots in the first 1/2 hr of viewing. Will return and get replacement. Otherwise the movie is fanatastic for the time it was crated 1966.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for 2001: A Space Odyssey (Blu-ray) (Widescreen)

Great

01/01/2014
By ,
Springfield, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Blu-ray up grade!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for 2001: A Space Odyssey (Blu-ray) (Widescreen)

Stands the Test of Time

09/02/2010
By ,
California, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm not a critic so I won't attempt a proper review - plenty of more qualified people have done that already - just search the net.
Having said that, I found that the movie stands the test of time very well and did not seem dated. Central issue still a good debate for us in a technological society.
On bluray the picture was excellent, but to be honest, as this is not a highly graphical or special effects-heavy movie, I'm not sure that blu ray brings that much to the party - for this movie. Generally I am a great fan of bluray. I've seen this movie on DVD and picture seemed almost as good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for 2001: A Space Odyssey (Blu-ray) (Widescreen)

Worth the upgrade from DVD

02/25/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you have never seen this movie before, I suggest renting it first as it is a unique movie to say the least. However, if you have seen the movie and liked it, it is worth it to upgrade to HDTV and blu-ray just for this movie.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for 2001: A Space Odyssey (Blu-ray) (Widescreen)

Blu-Ray does this masterpiece justice!

10/16/2009
By ,
Renton, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Over the decades I've owned versions of this spectacular EVENT on several formats. This Blu-Ray version is superb and I'm pleased to add it to my collection.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for 2001: A Space Odyssey (Blu-ray) (Widescreen)

You cannot beat the price.

01/10/2012
By ,
Fort Smith, ARK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I Saw this movie on viewtopia ondemand and thought "I've got to have this". So now that I've watched this on blue-ray. It shows an excellent pictuire.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for 2001: A Space Odyssey (Blu-ray) (Widescreen)

Great movie

10/12/2012
By ,
Connecticut
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Movie was terrific as expected. Blu-ray case and label was damaged in transit though.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for 2001: A Space Odyssey (Blu-ray) (Widescreen)

Awesome Movie

03/29/2008
By ,
Austin, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an all time classic sci-fi movie with amaizing effects long before Star Wars
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for 2001: A Space Odyssey (Blu-ray) (Widescreen)

2001 Space Odyssey

06/26/2008
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very good video, but disappointing audio.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for 2001: A Space Odyssey (Blu-ray) (Widescreen)

Looks and sounds fantastic.

01/28/2012
By ,
Alvin, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best video and audio transfer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for 2001: A Space Odyssey (Blu-ray) (Widescreen)
Based on the average of (4) ratings-only reviews
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5