Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Shark Shark Steam Mop, S3101

Shark Shark Steam Mop, S3101

With millions sold, Shark Steam Mops have changed the way the world cleans hard-floor surfaces. With the Shark S3101 Steam Mop, you can say "goodbye" to the hassles of traditional mopping. Using powerful, super-heated steam, the Shark Steam Cleaning Mop cleans and sanitizes in seconds, making the chore of cleaning easier, faster, and better. With triple-layer, steam-activated micro-fiber pads, the Shark S3101 Steam Mop loosens, lifts, and locks in dirt. What's more, the super-heated steam from the Shark Steam Mop sanitizes floors, killing harmful germs and E. coli. And the Shark Steam Mop is a steam floor cleaner that does it all without the use of harmful chemicals making it an ideal choice around pets and children. Features 20' power cord with quick cord release, 2 machine washable micro-fiber pads, and ergonomic soft-grip handle.
Average Customer Rating:
4.103 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(1018 Reviews) 880
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
546
4 stars
261
3 stars
63
2 stars
66
1 star
82
Customer Recommendation82%839 out of 1,017reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
148 Questions | 644 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
546
4 stars
261
3 stars
63
2 stars
66
1 star
82
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Shark Steam Mop, S3101

Love this mop so much easier then swiffer

12/24/2012
By ,
Salem or
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome product shark is the best on the market this thing is so easy to use and all you have to do is use water to clean any hard surface....anyways so far great device for home cleaning.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shark Steam Mop, S3101

Paying MORE is NOT always better.

04/04/2013
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am very big on reviews. I always try hard to read them before buying something that I think is of value...and even before visiting places (restaurants, salons, etc). However, I did not get a chance to read the reviews on this product because it was a spur of the moment purchase while I was already in the store. Lesson learned.
Two months ago, I bought a cheaper $33 steam mop from the regular mops/swiffer/cleaning supplies section. It is the Quickie HomePro Steam Mop...which I prefer if you just need very basic cleaning. I was surprised at how easily it cleaned the floor. (I had just moved in and my kitchen tile floors were disgusting.) This mop worked wonders. HOWEVER, I went to clean under the floor cabinets and the mop hit the bottom of the cabinets and broke with ease. So of course I was upset that something could break so easily. It was almost like a cheap toy. Nevertheless...the half of the floor that I did clean was SPOTLESS.
I figured if I paid a little bit more that I would alevite the cheap aspect and still have spotless floors. I went over to the actual vacuum section this time. MISTAKE! This mop literally did nothing. I could have scrubbed the floors with my hands and it a better job. I went over the floors 3 times...and once with Pine-Sol. Still nothing. I am shocked that it is even being advertised as such. Maybe it should be labeled as a fancier version of a swiffer wet jet...but even that does more than this.
For those that appreciate these reviews as much as I do...this will definitely be going back tomorrow and I will NOT be purchasing anymore Shark products. *Oh and just for those wondering how dirty my kitchen floor was...I mean dirty as in...footprints from walking outside in the rain in sneakers and walking back in. That is NOT so dirty that this mop shouldn't work.
I hope this helps.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+173points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 01/09/2014
does anyone know what the difference is between the SK 410 steam & spray model for $119 and the S3101 steam mop for $49?
Thanks.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Shark Steam Mop, S3101

My only wish

12/27/2013
By ,
Chicago, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
is that the Spray & Steam was cheaper...But THIS PRODUCT DOES A GREAT JOB for lacking a certain feature. I work around many objects including my sons wheelchair, and it makes it SO wonderfully safe and clean whenever I use it. on my stone floors.... Thanks SHARK!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shark Steam Mop, S3101

Great machine for the price!

01/18/2014
By ,
Bealeton, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After a day of pulling out a bucket, tossing in cleaner, mopping the floors and waiting forever for them to dry, I decided to try a steam mop. Truthfully, this was the least expensive one at WM, but I have a Shark vacuum that I love, so I figured for the price, it was worth a try.
We have 30 year old vinyl tile floors and this does a great job on them! It gets up stuff that has been there for years. It dries in almost no time and because I have to pump the handle to get the steam out, I get a decent workout to go with the clean floors. But I don't have to bend hardly at all - I'm tall and the handle is long enough for me. It's low profile slips it under the stove as well, so it cleans a bit in an area that almost never gets cleaned. It takes tap water, has a long cord and the pads velcro on and off and go into the washing machine and dryer. Plus no chemicals involved at all. This is worth every penny and I'm mopping far more often than I did before.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shark Steam Mop, S3101

Great mop for the price.

02/02/2014
By ,
Griffin, Ga
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I clean homes for a living and need a mop that will hold up. Love this mop, but after 1 year use it quite steaming all but a little bit. The first thing I did was try flushing it out with CRL to get rid of the mineral build up from hard water being I wasn't using distilled water. This didn't work, so I decided to take the body apart to investigate, be careful not to lose the tiny screws when removing. When I got it opened a small piece of rubber hose fell out, it had broken off from were the steam comes through. Be careful not to lose the spring that is in the end of the hose. My husband replaced the hose that was there. There is a clamp there just use pliers to clamp it back down.
This mop works like new. Steams like a champ! Will continue to use an see how long it lasts. Other than this I love every thing about it. The water tank is small but it cleans two rooms before having to refill. I will also be using distilled water to make sure no minerals build up. For the price an if your mechanically inclined I recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shark Steam Mop, S3101

Does a great job.

11/30/2013
By ,
Chestertown, Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I liked the Shark Steam Mop as soon as I used it. I first used it in my kitchen where I have a one-piece vinyl floor. After I Swiffered the floor for excess dust, I used the steam mop and was surprised at how much unseen dirt came up. Then I used it on my bathroom floor which is ceramic tile and loved how beautifully clean it became. I used to get on my knees to clean the bathroom floor, but now I won't need to because I am satisfied with the Shark. I also like the fact that I don't have to deal with heavy buckets or having to do the floor a second time to remove the residue that floor cleaning products often leave. It is amazing how a tiny bit of water, when heated to a steaming temperature, can clean so much better than using chemicals. I also like the easy-clean terrycloth-like pad that is reusable and can be hand-washed or thrown in the washer. It fits on the bottom of the mop with Velcro and stays on well. Yes, I would recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+50points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shark Steam Mop, S3101

GLAD I TOOK THE PLUNGE AND GOT ONE!

08/01/2013
By ,
Lake Charles LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Before I purchased the shark steam mop, I read other people's comments and reviews to help me to decide if spending the thirty-nine dollars would really be a wise choice for a MOP! I went back and forth deciding yes to get one and then no -it's just a mop. The pros won out and I purchased the mop. Well, after two weeks of heavy use, I can honestly say that I am very pleased with the purchase of this mop. As odd as this sounds, it really does cut down the time I spend actually cleaning my floors. I have a large amount of tile to clean and one of the best features of using this mop is the fast drying time. I also have linoleum flooring and was very pleased at how the old floor looked when I use the Shark mop on it. The assembly is super easy. As I do have a lot of floor to mop, the next step/size up would be beneficial but the the ease of refilling the tank once really outweighs the need for the larger shark. Would I spend this much on a mop again? Yes, this product did deliver on its promise.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+91points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shark Steam Mop, S3101

Love my shark mop

11/05/2013
By ,
Wichita, ks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband purchased this for me over a year ago and I use it once a week on our wood/tile floors. I have two small children who throw sticky food all over and also two dogs that track in all sorts of messes. My husband has a job which he often comes home with dirty boots. Needless to say, I get dirty floors. It works great on both wood and tile, and makes cleaning up really sticky stuff much easier. I also like that it sanitizes without the use of chemicals since my children are young and crawl around (have been known to eat off of it when I am not looking too). I will tell you, make sure you use either distilled water or water that is not hard. We have well water (very hard) so we use water from our culligan for this mop. It can corrode the lines (my MIL learned this the hard way). I also wish I had more pads. Two are not always enough. You can buy the pads separately though.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+58points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shark Steam Mop, S3101

Save up for a better product!

09/02/2012
By ,
Orlando, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The review that denotes streaking is spot on!!! My daughter, who values every dime since she is the mother of two, purchased this for me as a gift. I have a new home completely filled with beautiful tile floors. I was excited to try the mop and tried it out on our newly epoxied garage floors that were not dirty, just a bit dusty. I swept the floor (as per directions), and used the steam mop as per directions. It does heat up very rapidly, I'll give it that. Our grandson had spilled a couple little splatters of juice in front of the refrigerator, so I was glad to see it removed those spots very quickly. The problem... the floor is STREAKY all over (and not just where I cleaned the juice. When I looked at the pad I was surprised to discover only areas of the pad were dirty. It doesn't use the entire surface of the pad. I'm NOT impressed. Even for the money, the mop does not really work very well at all. I can only imagine what it would do on a tile floor where the grout areas need more attention than this could give.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shark Steam Mop, S3101

Very frustrated!

12/14/2013
By ,
Prairieville, La.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am not pleased with this product at all. First, the design is not good. The tank is all the way down the stick and sits right on top of the pad making it impossible to reach under beds, tables, shoe racks, etc. Second, the velcro that holds the cleaning pad does NOT last and continually slips off. So, you constantly have to stop and readjust it. The last shark steam mop I bought had padded covers that slipped entirely onto the cleaning base, with velcro strips that lasted. This worked much much better....not to mention the pads themselves were better quality, better design, and scrubbed better. Third, the tank isn't big enough. I have to stop much more often to refill it. Fourth, it should have an on/off switch. It has to be unplugged to turn it on/off. Fifth, because of the type of pads that it uses, it doesn't glide easily across my wood or ceramic floors. Its a lot of resistance and its much harder on your arms and shoulders. Again, the last shark I bought glided easily, made its own steam that you didn't have to sit there and pump it, and reached far under beds and tables! I am very displeased with this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shark Steam Mop, S3101

after almost 2 years, still works like new

11/07/2013
By ,
53027
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this from my local Wal-Mart almost 2 years ago and I am so happy with it. I use it at least once a week, most times twice, with kids and pets running through the house all 4 seasons in WI. (so..mud, dirt, leaves/mud and salt/snow)I have not had one problem with it and I love that I never have to buy special cleaning solution. I still have the same 2 pads it came with and although they are stained, they are still holding up just fine. I just toss them in the wash machine and let them air dry. The floors never have the sticky grime that's left behind with my old swiffer wet jet and the floors dry quickly. It cleans really well- gets up dried up caked on food in the kitchen with a couple of passes. I love a clean house, but I don't want to spend hours cleaning or getting down on my hands and knees scrubbing the floor with a brush and this thing has become my favorite. Wish the cord was longer, but that seams to be a universal problem with many plugged in floor cleaners. I rely heavily on reviews when I am going to make a purchase so I hope this helps. I would buy another in a heart beat and would love to give this as gifts, but I'm worried the message would be " Merry Christmas, I think your floors are dirty";)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+48points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shark Steam Mop, S3101

Great little Steam Mop

11/14/2013
By ,
Clovis, NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I first saw this Steam mop I thought to myself, this won't do much of a job on my floor. Boy was I wrong. That little machine did a monster size job with ease. It did not take much effort and it surprised me on how well it did the job. When I lifted the mop up and looked at the pad I about fell over. The shark was so easy to use. I followed the quick guide adding simple water and gave the handle a couple of pumps and the results was a cleaner floor with no chemicals. If your looking for simplicity this little mop will do the job for you with just plain water. That's a big plus in itself.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shark Steam Mop, S3101

absolutely LOVE IT!!!!

12/12/2009
By ,
ringgold, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
my boyfriend just got me this mop after he heard me mention to a friend that i wanted to try it out. i did a little test with it this morning... i mopped my kitchen floor the way i have been for years (traditional mop/bucket) and then i used the steam mop after i was finished with the old way. (i have dark colored laminate flooring in my kitchen so most dirt is kind of hard to see anyway)
after i was finished with the steam mop, i looked at the pad and it had picked up so much that the mop/bucket had left behind. and i just love how it only uses regular tap water instead of chemicals that could possible hurt my kids if they ever got ahold of them!! and the fact that the pads are washable is also a big plus in my book.
i tried using those swiffer and clorox mops with the disposable pads... they get SO expensive when your entire house is hardwood and laminate floors!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+136points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shark Steam Mop, S3101
10/11/2013
By ,
New York
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works very well . Only complaint is there is no on off switch, you have to plug in or unplug.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shark Steam Mop, S3101

I LOVE IT! MERRY CHRISTMAS TO ME!

12/12/2009
By ,
Albertville, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was an early Christmas present for me. I love it. I was using that very popular brand's product you have to buy the solution, pads and batteries for. I thought my floors were very clean. The day before I bought this I used that popular product on my floors. The next day I bought the Shark Steam Mop and did my floors right after I got home. My Shark cleaning back was SO black. There as a ton of stuff my old product was cleaning. There was certain spot on my floor I had scrubbed a million times and couldn't get it up and my Shark took care of it no problem. It's simple to use and assembly is so easy too. It takes up no more room than that other thing I was using. I LOVE THIS PRODUCT! It works, it is legit! Don't doubt, go buy one!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+197points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shark Steam Mop, S3101

No more mop and bucket!

10/09/2013
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My neighbor has the Shark pocket Mop and I had tried it before deciding to purchase this one. I LOVED hers and knew I would love this one too. I decided to get this one for a few reasons, one its WAY cheaper. Walmart has them for $49 compared to the pocket mop at $120. I really like that this one can "stand" on its own, makes a difference when you need to stop for a second or when your wrapping the cord up. I am ok with the amount of water it holds. My house has 800 square feet of laminate flooring and I normally have to fill up twice and sometimes three times if I go back over some areas. I have not been using bottled water, our regular tap water has done just fine. I am a huge fan of being able to throw the cleaning pads in the washer and have a clean pad every time. So easy! I was nervous about using it on the laminate since the heat can cause the flooring to come up but I have now used it everyday for a week and a few times when I borrowed my neighbors and I have yet to see it getting hot enough to do any damage. I wouldn't leave it on sitting on the flooring but I also wouldn't leave it on even on tile. I plan to take it to my mother inlaws house this weekend to test it out on her 2000 sq feet of Tile/hardwoods, im sure I will be taking her to get one also! No more mop and bucket. Over all the Shark Steam Mop is a win for me!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shark Steam Mop, S3101

DON'T WASTE UR TIME OR $

12/17/2008
By ,
so. california
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was terribly disappointed in the "Shark." I can't believe this thing sells via infomercials for $120+ !! It is NOT WORTH $80!!! I've had much more durable floor steamers for the same price. I'm returning this product asap. It is very flimsy - not a sturdy "machine" by any stretch of the imagination. It does heat up in 30 seconds like advertised but it does not clean linolium to even low standards! the "microfiber pad" does pick up SOME of the dirt but pushes much of it into a line where your frontward stroke ends. I have to either pick the shark up to place the pad over the dirt "line" or just bend down to wipe it up with a cloth (the very thing one is avoiding when buying a steamer). It's just not a good product; I can't believe it gets any good reviews! It doesn't come close to cleaning the edges or corners in a floor. I can't stress it enough - the Shark is a VERY, VERY POOR QUALITY item that DOES NOT get the floor clean!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shark Steam Mop, S3101

Great little Mop does exactly what is says!

02/01/2013
By ,
Fort Lauderdale, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My previous H2O, $120 mop only made it a year & one loud POP and it was done! People seem to expect too much from a simple steam mop. I used my lightweight vacuum to pick up crumbs, coffee grounds, and little trash/debris first. Plugged in the Shark and it was steaming in 20 seconds. I have traverstine Tile in my kitchen & den. The Shark went over it in minutes and cleaned spill stains, a catshup stain, and even shoe heel marks. As you move it back and forth the handle moves in and out and PUMPS the steam and they don't tell you about that GREAT feature. I am honestly amazed at what this little thing did and how well it did it, as I really thought I was buying a piece of junk. It gets into corners nicely and under things easily. It is very lightweight and very easy to manuver it. Will it last, don't know that & only time will tell, but I surely hope so as I really like this little helpful JOKER! At this price if it lasts a year, I can buy another one and still be money ahead. No more expensive steam mops for me!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shark Steam Mop, S3101

Great on VINYL PLANK Flooring

02/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Over the past 2 months I have read thousands of reviews for residential steam mops for floors (Shark, Bissell, Hoover, Han, Swiffer, etc.) and it seems that all that needs to be said has been said, with 50% liking them and 50% not. However, I decided to write a review as there were a few questions I did not find answers to, one of them being how well steam mops work on VINYL PLANK FLOORING. I have glued-down type of vinyl planks, professionally installed (not the self-adhesive kind from Home Depot or Lowes in case that makes a difference).
1. The Shark lets out much less water than the traditional hand mop (sponge) that I was using, so in my opinion that is a plus as although I can get my floor wet I am not supposed to pour buckets of water onto it as if it is the tile floor in my bathroom. The floor dried much faster than when I used a traditional sponge mop and/or white towels and a bucket of water/cleaning solution.
2. I have 650 sq foot condo with limited items on the floor (1 sofa, 2 small area rugs, 1 rolling computer desk/stand, 1 bookshelf, 1 bedframe. I was able to clean the condo from wall to wall using less than 3/4 tank (1 cup) of water. I only needed to plug and unpug the 20 ft. cord once (did main room/kitchen and then did bedroom/bathroom).
3. My floors are "clean" (no heavy duty mud/dirt, grease, food stains etc.) and there is very minimal "texture" to the planks; just enough to make it look like real wood (most people think I have real hard wood flooring). I vacuum once a day and Swiffer 2 times a day or more, if needed, as I have a Newfoundland-Chow mix (BIG dog) with paws that are the same size as my 6 yr old nephew and they play/sit on the floor so I want it to be clean. However, between the 2 of them, they do track in a dirt and sand despite that we do not wear shoes inside (the dog has no shoes to take off!). Also, as anyone with a dog knows, dogs have natural body oils in their skin and fur that rub off onto walls and floors. (This was the 2nd reason for me looking into a steam mop) This worked fantastic on cleaning off the small amounts of dirt, sand, scuff marks, paw prints on my floor but I really don't know how well it would work in a home with multiple residents and heavy foot traffic where people wear shoes inside etc.
4. The tank is at the bottom, but this was no problem as the bed has a futon bed frame that has a 9 inch clearance. There was plenty of room for the shark to clean under the bed and move the handle up and down to activate steam.
5. You do not need to hold down a trigger to get steam. This was important to me as I have arthritis. Steam is activated, by default, when you move the shark back and forth as the "stick" part of the handle goes up and down to trigger steam. If you need more steam, you can just pump it a few times.
6. It is very lightweight; no heavier than my traditional sponge mop and a little bit heavier than my Swiffer. The handle "stick" is a little wider in circumference than a Swiffer. It did not feel flimsy. It felt just like using my Swiffer except that it needs to be plugged in and has steam coming out of it. It does not feel like it will break apart when I push or lean on it (I'm 5 ft 4 in, 95-100 pounds).
7. Since the pad extends beyond the "hard" part of the Shark head where the pad is attached, I could get into corners just fine even though it is rectangle and not triangle shaped. The head does not swivel, but neither does my Swiffer so I am used to that, and since it is lightweight it was not something that registered as a problem to me. It is very easy to push across the floor in a straight line or around and into corners as well as under things (such as a bed) My dog and nephew play under the bed, so it's important that the shark could clean well under the bed.
8. After cleaning the floors, I wiped them with a white towel. (the same white towels I have been cleaning my floors with for years). The white towel came away white, just as they did when I used a traditional hand mop. Whether or not my floors are truly more "sanitized" than before I do not know, but I know they are just as "clean" with regards to the removal of sand and dirt and I did not have to get down on my hands and knees to scrub them clean.
9. Based on reviews, I purchased this for $50 with the expectation that it may not last more than a year. If it last at least one year, I will consider it not a waste of money as I have to mop/scrub the floors every weekend after I bath my dog and more often if the dog and nephew track in dirt. I don't have to buy cleaners with the Shark and washing the microfiber pad is much less laundry than piles of white towels each week.
I hope this helps you if you are undecided and struggling with deciding whether or not you want to spend $50 on a steam mop.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shark Steam Mop, S3101

Exceptional product

10/05/2013
By ,
Pembroke Pines, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been wanting this Steam Mop for awhile & when I finally got it, I couldn't be happier!!! So lightweight, easy to use, & best of all, no chemicals!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 881 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  45 Next