Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Shark Shark Steam Mop, S3101

Shark Shark Steam Mop, S3101

Make dirty floors a thing of the past. With triple-layer, steam-activated micro-fiber pads, the Shark Steam Mop loosens, lifts, and locks in dirt. What's more, its super-heated steam sanitizes floors, killing harmful germs and E. coli. And the Steam Mop does it all without the use of harmful chemicals - making it an ideal choice around pets and children. Think your current mop can do that?
Average Customer Rating:
4.113 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(1114 Reviews) 976
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
600
4 stars
287
3 stars
68
2 stars
71
1 star
88
Customer Recommendation83%921 out of 1,113reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
166 Questions | 740 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
600
4 stars
287
3 stars
68
2 stars
71
1 star
88
Customer Reviews
Review 81 for Shark Steam Mop, S3101

Great on VINYL PLANK Flooring

02/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Over the past 2 months I have read thousands of reviews for residential steam mops for floors (Shark, Bissell, Hoover, Han, Swiffer, etc.) and it seems that all that needs to be said has been said, with 50% liking them and 50% not. However, I decided to write a review as there were a few questions I did not find answers to, one of them being how well steam mops work on VINYL PLANK FLOORING. I have glued-down type of vinyl planks, professionally installed (not the self-adhesive kind from Home Depot or Lowes in case that makes a difference).
1. The Shark lets out much less water than the traditional hand mop (sponge) that I was using, so in my opinion that is a plus as although I can get my floor wet I am not supposed to pour buckets of water onto it as if it is the tile floor in my bathroom. The floor dried much faster than when I used a traditional sponge mop and/or white towels and a bucket of water/cleaning solution.
2. I have 650 sq foot condo with limited items on the floor (1 sofa, 2 small area rugs, 1 rolling computer desk/stand, 1 bookshelf, 1 bedframe. I was able to clean the condo from wall to wall using less than 3/4 tank (1 cup) of water. I only needed to plug and unpug the 20 ft. cord once (did main room/kitchen and then did bedroom/bathroom).
3. My floors are "clean" (no heavy duty mud/dirt, grease, food stains etc.) and there is very minimal "texture" to the planks; just enough to make it look like real wood (most people think I have real hard wood flooring). I vacuum once a day and Swiffer 2 times a day or more, if needed, as I have a Newfoundland-Chow mix (BIG dog) with paws that are the same size as my 6 yr old nephew and they play/sit on the floor so I want it to be clean. However, between the 2 of them, they do track in a dirt and sand despite that we do not wear shoes inside (the dog has no shoes to take off!). Also, as anyone with a dog knows, dogs have natural body oils in their skin and fur that rub off onto walls and floors. (This was the 2nd reason for me looking into a steam mop) This worked fantastic on cleaning off the small amounts of dirt, sand, scuff marks, paw prints on my floor but I really don't know how well it would work in a home with multiple residents and heavy foot traffic where people wear shoes inside etc.
4. The tank is at the bottom, but this was no problem as the bed has a futon bed frame that has a 9 inch clearance. There was plenty of room for the shark to clean under the bed and move the handle up and down to activate steam.
5. You do not need to hold down a trigger to get steam. This was important to me as I have arthritis. Steam is activated, by default, when you move the shark back and forth as the "stick" part of the handle goes up and down to trigger steam. If you need more steam, you can just pump it a few times.
6. It is very lightweight; no heavier than my traditional sponge mop and a little bit heavier than my Swiffer. The handle "stick" is a little wider in circumference than a Swiffer. It did not feel flimsy. It felt just like using my Swiffer except that it needs to be plugged in and has steam coming out of it. It does not feel like it will break apart when I push or lean on it (I'm 5 ft 4 in, 95-100 pounds).
7. Since the pad extends beyond the "hard" part of the Shark head where the pad is attached, I could get into corners just fine even though it is rectangle and not triangle shaped. The head does not swivel, but neither does my Swiffer so I am used to that, and since it is lightweight it was not something that registered as a problem to me. It is very easy to push across the floor in a straight line or around and into corners as well as under things (such as a bed) My dog and nephew play under the bed, so it's important that the shark could clean well under the bed.
8. After cleaning the floors, I wiped them with a white towel. (the same white towels I have been cleaning my floors with for years). The white towel came away white, just as they did when I used a traditional hand mop. Whether or not my floors are truly more "sanitized" than before I do not know, but I know they are just as "clean" with regards to the removal of sand and dirt and I did not have to get down on my hands and knees to scrub them clean.
9. Based on reviews, I purchased this for $50 with the expectation that it may not last more than a year. If it last at least one year, I will consider it not a waste of money as I have to mop/scrub the floors every weekend after I bath my dog and more often if the dog and nephew track in dirt. I don't have to buy cleaners with the Shark and washing the microfiber pad is much less laundry than piles of white towels each week.
I hope this helps you if you are undecided and struggling with deciding whether or not you want to spend $50 on a steam mop.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 82 for Shark Steam Mop, S3101

What A Disappointment

03/25/2010
By ,
Northern VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought one of these a little over a year ago. I loved it and told everyone it was the best appliance I had ever purchased. Now it doesn't heat up any more and is basically useless. I'm going to buy another steam mop, but it won't be this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 83 for Shark Steam Mop, S3101

Not as good as my previous Shark.

09/10/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I had a Shark Steam Mop for many years that was just a steamer with no additional spray cleaner and it always worked fine. My house is nearly all tile and I loved it. Then it was damaged in my move. But this cheaper version does not produce the same amount of steam and I don't want to spend more money for the version with the spray cleaner which I don't need. I'd like a model between the two versions. Thanks.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 84 for Shark Steam Mop, S3101

Trying something else next time...

06/16/2009
By ,
Ontario, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I am totally bummed. I bought this product at a store that only had this brand in steam mops. I'll cut to the chase....It worked for a little over a year and then died. Guess how long the warranty is? That's right, one year. Even if I had the warranty still I would have to ship it out to get repaired!! When I called for help, Euro-Pro (makers of Shark) tried to sell me another one!
Anyway, I think I will buy my next steam mop at Walmart. They have a few other choices in steam mops.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 85 for Shark Steam Mop, S3101

Not Impressed

12/22/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this thinking it was a good product. My handle broke because it's flimsy. I have dogs and they always track in dirt so I clean my floor alot. Now the steam it produces is just show. I believe it gets hot but by the time it hits the floor its not hot. It pretty much works like a warm cloth on your floor. Sure it will wipe up the dirt but does not even come close to sanitizing. I left the thing on the floor and pumped it repeatedly and the floor was a little warm. I went back to the Eureka enviro steamer compared the 2 and the Eureka blew the shark away. Now you use the Eureka and you will burn your floor if you leave it sit for more than a few minutes. I did forgot about because it takes longer to heat up. But needless to say the Shark you have to pump it and it can be a workout if you have stuck and dried on stuff on your floor. If you have dogs don't buy it get the Eureka envro you wont be disappointed. Much better built the handle is metal and it has lots of steam jets in the head to do an overall clean. The shark has one jet and that one jet is suppose to get your floor clean. The idea is to have a full hot pad on your floor to clean it. Not just one stinken jet that loses all it's heat when it hits the floor. Oh and with several dogs when I was using the Shark I noticed the my floor was getting an odor went back to the Enviro and the smell went away. Took several cleanings and bleach then just used the Eureka and now my floor smells clean and sanitized.
Recommends this product? No
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 86 for Shark Steam Mop, S3101

disapointed

08/01/2014
By ,
Goshen In
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this yesterday I am so disappointed, unless your floors are already clean it will not get them clean. It may sanitize but if you expect a good clean you will not be happy. returning it.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 87 for Shark Steam Mop, S3101

I love my shark steam mop!!

03/17/2014
By ,
Billings, MT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had been debating with myself for months as to whether I should get one or not. I decided to purchase one and it is fantastic it works really well on my floor just remember to read the instructions because you have to pump the handle 15 seconds to get the steam going. It got grime and stuck on food off my floor with ease
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 88 for Shark Steam Mop, S3101

You've gotta have this

05/23/2011
By ,
Maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this steamer. May take a little longer to mop your floor, but @ almost 60 I don't have to be on my knees scrubbing. The steam takes up pretty close to everything. Two dogs and one cat and a hubby that doesn't like to wipe his feet, this mop is a life saver. Just bought my second one. (First one lasted 4 years) I would recomend this to anyone. Quick spray of your favorite cleanser before hitting it with steam and anything the steam itself doesn't take up will do it. Buy it!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 89 for Shark Steam Mop, S3101

Cheap

08/23/2014
By ,
Las vegas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I returned this after trying it once. I used almost the whole tank of water, but the steam didn't seem to be enough to clean my whole kitchen floor, which is not that big. What's more, the parts I did didn't seem that clean, and I had to go over and over spots from baby formula drips to get them off. I kept pumping it to get more steam, but even so, it just didn't seem to pick up much. The pad wasn't that dirty after, and, with 6 month old twins, I haven't mopped in months, so I know that floor was DIRTY. Also my hand hurt before I was done with the floor, so I finally quit, boxed the thing up, and used my Libman and bucket.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Central Indiana
Wow!
Posted 09/06/2014
You must have gotten a lemon! Mine works beautifully, with virtually no effort. I'd try another one.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 90 for Shark Steam Mop, S3101

Cheaper model, now I understand

04/16/2014
By ,
florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall, I am very satisfied with this product, but I believe it can be improved, as it has in newer models. I cannot justify much more than $50 for a mop (yes it sanitizes).
Why I looked for a new mop: I have a 1 & 3 yr old and a house that is about 80% tile. Enough said? Every time I needed to mop, I would have to fight the kids out of the "splash park bucket" and contain them until it was dry. So, I ended up waiting until they were sleeping (I was sleepy and it didn't get done"
Pros: Very easy to use. The pad simply velcros onto the mop "head" and you fill the water receptacle to "full". Plug it in and in about 15 seconds you have steam so pump the entire handle up and down to force the steam onto the pad. So, when you push the mop away while mopping, it squirts seam through the pad and when you pull it, you are essentially wiping gunk away. It seems to clean nearly everything (of course some crumbs you have to scrub with a regular mop, too). Very dirty mop pad!! A "full" receptacle lasted about 60sq' of mopping. Oh, and it dries very quickly too. I don't feel that it cleans the grout well as the pad basically wipes the surface of the tile.
Cons: The receptacle could be larger (I have to refill it multiple times since I have so much tile) but it is lightweight even when full. Also, sometimes there doesn't seem to be enough steam coming through so some passes require multiple "pumps" of steam. I'm assuming this is why the other models are $100+ more but I can't justify that much for a "mop". I'm happy with the results and I've used it on anything a child can get on the floor from crayon marks to food, to... well, my bathrooms smell better now :)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 91 for Shark Steam Mop, S3101

Cheaply made

04/08/2012
By ,
York, Pa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am on my third mop in less than two years. I refuse to buy another. It seems I am not the only person who has had this problem and you would think Shark would make a sturdier product. You have to push to get the steam to come out but any more than a slight pressure eventually snaps either the handle or this last time the purple casing. The longer I use the product the less sturdy the handle is. I plan on purchasing another brand this time.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 92 for Shark Steam Mop, S3101

Not worth it

04/03/2011
By ,
Vancouver, WA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was so pleased when I first got it home and used it a few times. After about 12 uses, it wasn't steaming quite as well, and finally quit producing steam. The heating element must have gone out. I spent $65 on my mop to clean my floors 12 times. I would have gotten better value out just about anything.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 93 for Shark Steam Mop, S3101

This is a piece of junk!

11/15/2013
By ,
Humble, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was very disappointed in this product! I have Mexican tile in my home and wanted something that not only would clean but dry quickly. When I finished cleaning, the tile was streaked! I could not stand to look at the floor so I took my little O'Cedar fiber mop and mopped again. I was amazed at how dirty the water was! The only thing positive about this product was, the floors did dry quickly. Obviously I am returning this product. Now I"m trying to get it apart to fit back in the box and not being very successful! Smut
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 94 for Shark Steam Mop, S3101

Great PRoduct for the price

04/23/2014
By ,
Greenville, SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It needs some pumping to get it started... and needs plenty of refills... but does a good job!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 95 for Shark Steam Mop, S3101

Easy to use

09/04/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This mop really works well. I love the no chemicals and fast drying that it does. It works well for me because my dog wants to lick the floors when I mop and this allows for there to be no chemicals that can make him sick. Love it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 96 for Shark Steam Mop, S3101

Awesome

04/11/2008
By ,
Co
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best and easiest invention since sliced bread. I love it. It removed dirt that was stuck in those little pores on your tile. It did so easily and effortlessly. My kitchen is big so I did have to refill the water once and the cord does get i the way, but its easy to toss it aside and keep cleaning. The tile dried instantly and felt clean to walk on afterwards.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 97 for Shark Steam Mop, S3101

Best basic steam mop, hands down!

07/18/2013
By ,
Vista,CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This isn't my first Shark Steam Mop, but I worked my old one to death. It lasted about 5 years, but I used it almost daily, so I definitely got my money's worth. This time around, the cost is a third of what it used to be, and it's still the same great product! I have no carpeting whatsoever in my home, and after vacuuming, I do a quick cleaning on my bamboo floors with the steam mop. Perfect! The reusable/washable pads are great, just be sure to buy enough so you can get through an entire cleaning. My house is just under 2,100 sq.ft. and I usually go through about 6-8 pads. Wash in hot water with a little bleach, no fabric softener, and toss 'em in the dryer. I recommend always using distilled water... it will help your steam mop to last longer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 98 for Shark Steam Mop, S3101

For the price it's worth it.

08/17/2014
By ,
CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for a niece who has a small apartment where most of the flooring is tile. The mop does the job for cleaning. Very lightweight plastic. Easily stored in a closet, doesn't take up much room, which makes it easily accessible. Better than a handheld mop & bucket! It comes with one cleaning pad. Would have been great to include two, as I have seen extra mop pads for this Shark at 2 for $20 I believe. I recommended rinsing the pad out each time after using with dish soap.
For a small apartment I definitely would recommend this mop.
Four stars because only one mop cleaning pad,
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 99 for Shark Steam Mop, S3101

Great product !

06/23/2009
By ,
Gulf Breeze, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cleans tile and hard wood floors with minimum effort! would definitely recommend !!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 100 for Shark Steam Mop, S3101

Shark steam moo

09/05/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent steam mop. Love it !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
81-100 of 977 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  3 4 5 6 7  ...  49 Next