Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for The First Years The First Years - Carry-Me-Near 5-in-1 Baby Bassinet

The First Years The First Years - Carry-Me-Near 5-in-1 Baby Bassinet

A good value sleeper is one that combines all the common accessories used during your baby's early days in one product, and this is where The First Years Carry-Me-Near 5-in-1 Baby Bassinet excels. Save a lot more floor space in the nursery and never have to worry about switching beds again with this on hand. This is a portable sleeper, bassinet, bedside sleeper, play seat and changing table all in one. The First Years 5-in-1 bassinet has an ergonomically designed handle that allows you to carry your sleeping baby from room to room without having to take him out of the basket. It also features battery-operated gentle vibrations, five peaceful and soothing audio selections and a nightlight. The controls are conveniently built directly into the handle. The entire system has a sturdy base that can rock back and forth or lock into place on casters.
Average Customer Rating:
4.379 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(343 Reviews) 302
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
218
4 stars
79
3 stars
20
2 stars
10
1 star
16
Customer Recommendation90%310 out of 343reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
86 Questions | 166 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
218
4 stars
79
3 stars
20
2 stars
10
1 star
16
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for The First Years - Carry-Me-Near 5-in-1 Baby Bassinet

Please listen to this review!

04/18/2012
By ,
Port Huron, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been eying this bassinet for years actually (my daughter is 2 1/2 now) I wanted to buy it for her...everyone talked me out of it....now that I'm expecting again, I knew it was something i wanted to try.
Most of the bad reviews are wrong. period. Hate to say it but the people writing the bad reviews either didn't read the description...or they refused to actually look at the product before they took it back.
here is the truth:
-The handle does come down. like some said, the buttons are covered up by the fabric.
- The Bassinet is height adjustable...6 levels!
-The changing table is hard...but honestly my baby isn't gonna nap on it... it takes 5 min max to change a diaper, It works for it purpose. (the changer is super easy to wipe off!)
-The Moses basket DOES clip into the sides of the stand
- The mattress is perfect for a newborn...especially with the firmness standards in effect now. Its cushier than i thought it would be.
-Lots of people had trouble with the electronics....Mine worked fine, however if yours don't work...call the manufacture FIRST. They are friendly and helpful
-This model has NO pockets in the ruffle...(this is why i called the manufacturer)
-The bassinet is very stable...If yours isn't, re trace your steps and look at the assembly.
-Assembly was not the funnest experience...however you only assemble it once...it was not that bad.
-The sheet is washable, the rest is not. But its easy enough to spot clean, and the Moses basket folds for storage, so that would keep it cleaner....i will probably store mine in a big trash bag to keep it clean.
- Its a little less girlie and more gender neutral than I thought. which is good, I'm having a boy.
I have a Maxi Cosi play yard and the Moses basket sets in the bassinet part of it perfectly. This made me so happy because my baby can sleep inclined if he needs it, and the canopy offers sun protection, and best of all my baby is safe from my 2 other monkeys. LOL
Overall this gets 5 stars from me, I couldn't be happier!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+54points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
duluth, mn
Posted 05/22/2014
Hi,
Do you remember what the weight limit was for this bassinet? We don't have a lot of room and I am trying to find one that has good storage and will last awhile.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for The First Years - Carry-Me-Near 5-in-1 Baby Bassinet

ALMOST, perfect!

06/18/2009
By ,
Washington State
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First impression of the bassinet was how pretty it is. After I started using it then I really loved it! When my daughter was first born and would begin to stir awake I could press the vibration and put the heartbeat sound on and she would fall back asleep for at least 30 minutes! That's a big deal in the first few weeks. Since then when I put her down in it for a nap I use the vibration and the different nature noises and she really seems to be soothed by it. I enjoy it too! When I'm falling asleep next to it and the nature sounds suddenly stop I realize how relaxed it had been making ME! The nightlight is really great too, it is not at all harsh, my baby hasn't once squinted her eyes because of it. Also this bassinet is great because you can bring it anywhere in the house with you. I take it from my bedroom into the living room easily, every single day. The only complaint about that is the carrying handle doesn't move so you have to maneuver around it to get your baby in and out, which can result in them waking up. Not a big deal to maneuver when they're tiny but now my daughter is 22inches and 10.5lbs and it's hard to place her down in there as smoothly as I'd like. The actual biggest disappointment for me at first was that even though the stand has a few height adjustments, none were low enough for my bed, so I couldn't see straight into the bassinet like I wanted to (needed to!!) when she slept beside me at night. To remedy that I place the bassinet on an autimen at the correct level next to my bed and I leave the stand it came with in my living room to use during the day for naps. That works out just fine. I don't know what I would have done with out this bassinet. Couldn't have done without it! Still can't. It's very useful and I use it several times every day. One last thing I wish now about it that was different are the soft colors. Although they are very kind to my eyes, babies love bright bold colors! I know she'd be more entertained if the bassinet were in those bright bold colors instead of neutral ones.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+213points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
walmart, walmart
regarding the carrying handle
Posted 01/12/2012
By pulling back the fabric by the base of the handle you will see an oval button on each side, push them in and the handle will be able to fold down. Too bad the instructions didn't say anything about that!
+10points
Customer Avatar
DFW TX
Posted 07/29/2011
HI, I JUST GOT THIS FOR OUR UNBORN CHILD WE DONT KNOW WHAT WE'RE HAVING YET BUT I DO KNOW THAT THE HANDLE SHOULD COME DOWN IT WAS HARD FOR ME TO FIND BUT THERE IS A BOTTON ON THE INSIDE BETWEEN THE HANDLE AND THE BASSINET JUST PUSH AND IT SHOULD GO DOWN....I HOPE THIS HELPS.......MOTHEROF6+1/2
+4points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 3 for The First Years - Carry-Me-Near 5-in-1 Baby Bassinet

Space saver and Money saver! :)

07/16/2011
By ,
Longisland, NY.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First I would like to say for those who bought this bassinet and said you can't wash it. Your wrong, I carefully removed the fitted sheet that goes on the mattress it comes with and i washed it and also washed the toys. Basically you can wash some things on here. Make sure you buy a changing pad and bassinet sheets cause that's all you need. This bassinet is a must buy, even though i haven't used it yet because im not due until a week from now i know is worth it because it has adjustable hight for when you wanna attach it near your bedside and it has so much use i just love it. What really impressed me was i ordered this bassinet on 7/14/11 and it wasn't suppose to come until the 22nd and it came 7/16/11. I was so happy i went and started building it with my husband it tools us about 40 minutes but we kept.taking brakes so maybe is less? I can't wait to lay my baby in this its a money saver Nd space saver. Plus is very sturdy. Im going to make this last until the baby is 5months. So ladies disregard those negative reviews because i almost didn't buy this cause of those reviews but i bought it and loved it! Maybe these other ladies had bad luck? (No offense ladies) i just wanna share that lol. Good day to everyone ;) btw the color is neutral, im having a baby girl and this looks great no pink wich is good im tired of pink :P
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for The First Years - Carry-Me-Near 5-in-1 Baby Bassinet

Everything you need!

04/09/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bassinet is truely everything you will need or want out of a bassinet! It is attractive and great quality! The neutral tones of this bassinet will blend nicely with any decor. The height is adjustable so that you can make it level to the height of your bed. It has the vibrate, music, nature sounds, heart beat, and night light built in! The night light is the perfect amount of light when changing or feeding in the middle of the night. We used the vibrate on this very often as well. The night I brought my daughter home from the hospital I layed her in this bassinet and she fell right to sleep within moments. She LOVES it! It is very convenient to be able to take the top bedding part right off and move the baby from room to room. We have traveled with this bassinet and she slept in it without the base as if she were at home. The changing table feature is nice now that she isn't using the bassinet as much to sleep in as she is getting too big. We have always used the large storage bin underneath for diapers, binkys, blankets, sleepers, etc. Anything you may need in the middle of the night.
I can't say enough about this bassinet! It is worth every penny!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for The First Years - Carry-Me-Near 5-in-1 Baby Bassinet

0 - 6 months baby must have!!!

01/15/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You can carry the bassinet every where. When you go to another house is not to big and my baby can feel like she is sleeping at home.
I love the versatility of folding up the wheels so it can rock like a cradle.
Its ok for baby girl or baby boy.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for The First Years - Carry-Me-Near 5-in-1 Baby Bassinet

I'm In Love

04/09/2009
By ,
Edmond, Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I researched so many bassinetts to make sure I was getting something that was safe & a decent price. It was so easy to put together which I did myself. The instructions were great and easy to follow. There is a lot of room inside (more than I thought) The sounds are great & the light fixture will be perfect to use along w/the vibration setting. It's so beautiful! I know this will be a life saver to my husband & myself. I can't wait to see my lil'man sleeping inside.I love it!!!!!!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for The First Years - Carry-Me-Near 5-in-1 Baby Bassinet

Love this Bassinet!!

01/07/2009
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son is four months old and still sleeping by my beside in this bassinet. Although I have not used the changer on this, I love the portability of the carrier part. We have taken it with us twice on overnight stays. It's just like he's sleeping in his own room and never has trouble falling asleep. The vibration mode is a lifesaver!!!! I press this button probably 5 times a night and he is right back to sleep!!! He also loves the sounds! Pretty easy to assemble! Cover to mattress pad is washable. That's where it was in this picture!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for The First Years - Carry-Me-Near 5-in-1 Baby Bassinet

Not at all what I expected...

11/15/2013
By ,
Princeton, WV
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am very disappointed in the bassinette... It is supposed to be beige, and it has a pink tint to it, the advertised picture and description is not what I recieved.. I am very disappointed, I ordered what was advertised, and the product I recieved is nothing like I excpected.... it looks cheap and it is pink, there are no bows on it like was advertised.... I contacted the Tomy Company, and it was basically deal with it or send it back..... I will never order anything online again. I am on a fixed income of less than $750 a month, and to pay $170 for something for my first grandchild and not get what I ordered is a big disappointment
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for The First Years - Carry-Me-Near 5-in-1 Baby Bassinet

Pretty good product

09/16/2010
By ,
Lancaster, Pa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this bassinet is great for a boy or a girl. u can remove the top so ur baby can follow u to whatever room of the house u r in. then it can be used as a changing changing table if u pressed for space. it comes with a built in night light, vibrations, and music, although the music part never worked for us. u can store things underneath as well. it was easy enough to assemble. i put it together by myself at 36 weeks pregnant. it is a pretty good product.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for The First Years - Carry-Me-Near 5-in-1 Baby Bassinet

Great Product

01/09/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to assemble and so many great features. Totally worth every penny!!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for The First Years - Carry-Me-Near 5-in-1 Baby Bassinet

Good Value

02/18/2011
By ,
Madison Heights, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the only bassinet I found that can be used as a Moses basket as well, PLUS it has all the other features like sounds and vibration, height adjustment, night light, and storage underneath. The "mattress" is much more comfortable than those hard ones I'm used to seeing with other bassinets, however, the surface for the changing table is too hard. So far, my baby doesn't seem to appreciate the sound and vibration features of the bassinet, but I love the fact that I can take her from room to room without waking her. I have several young children, and it's nice that I can always have baby in the same room with me and not have to worry about the other children bothering her. The bassinet is also quite attractive and very sturdy. I think the price is excellent for all the features you get. I would definitely recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for The First Years - Carry-Me-Near 5-in-1 Baby Bassinet
08/25/2011
By ,
Mansfield, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love love love this! I bought this because I breastfed my daughter and I wanted her near my bed with out co sleeping. The legs are adjustable so you can make it the same height as your bed or lower or higher how ever you want it! I also like that you can take the bed part out and carry it around that was really nice for when I didnt want to leave her in the room alone to sleep and the changing table and underneath storage are very handy! Also the inside of the bassinet where the babys head goes is vented so if they were to get their face up against it it would not restrict their breathing which is a must if you ask me! Over all very happy with this! My daughter is now 18 months old but she slept in it until about 8 months but I'm pregnant with out second which is a boy & it's great because it is so gender neutral! Don't have to shell out more money on a non gender specific bed!
Pros: easy to assemble
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for The First Years - Carry-Me-Near 5-in-1 Baby Bassinet

Great bassinet!

03/10/2008
By ,
San Jose, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this bassinet primarily for it's portability. I like to have the baby in whatever room I am in. I wasn't too concerned about the sounds or vibration. I didn't see any value in the sounds of a rainfall or water. Boy was I wrong! My newborn is surprisingly soothed by those sounds. She doesn't like the vibration so much. It's a great bassinet for our family. We will get a lot of use out of this for the next few months.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+72points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for The First Years - Carry-Me-Near 5-in-1 Baby Bassinet

Very Functional

06/15/2009
By ,
Central PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We really wanted to buy a moses basket so we could carry our daughter around in, but a moses basket just wasn't going to work with us having cats in our home. But then we found this and it was just perfect for our needs and wants! We were so pleased to have our items arrive in only 2 days from Wal-Mart after ordering online. The bassinet was fairly easy to put together, we love the music and the fact that it has volume control, and the storage underneath is a big plus. We're overall, very happy with our purchase!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for The First Years - Carry-Me-Near 5-in-1 Baby Bassinet

Skeptical at first..But fell in love..PLEASE READ!

08/15/2012
By ,
Bluffton, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After Comparing BAD reviews & the GOOD, I hesitated But took the risk & went for it!
Upon the Arrival of the bassinet.. I thought about what the bad reviewers describe were the flaws...started comparing and this is what I found...
* Easy to assemble if YOU pay attention to ALL instructions....I assembled it in 30 min...
* Its requires 4AA batteries for the vibrator, nite light, & music...all conveniently located on the left handle..and YES my NITE LIGHT, Music, & Vibrator WORKS... :)
* YEs the handles DO COme Down...with the press of both buttons hidden under the fabric on inside of both handles...
* YES Bassinet locks into place with clips on either side under the fabric SECURELY...and detaches just as easily...
* YES OUTSIDE FABRIC does not detach to wash>>ONLY the bassinets mattress & toys detach to wash...but, can BE EASILY spot cleaned or with spray & suction hose...
* NO my Bassinet did not bring neither the cute bows (AS SEEN ON PHOTO DISPLAY) nor the side POCKETS for baby items.. :( BUMMER>>>
BUT... HEY I'm OVERALL RATING THIS 5 STARS WHY??? BECAUSE --->BIG BANG FOR YOUR BUCK!!! READ ON!!
1. IT acts as a co-sleeper, in your bed or by your side..also attaches to your bed... (HAS 5 levels to lower as desired
2. #PORTABLE BASSINET) You Can Bring baby along anywhere around the house without taking him/her out..and along for road trips..the carrying bassinet folds flat for your convenience...
3. DIAPER CHANGER...fabric wipes clean AWSOME!
4. UNDER STORAGE has plenty of room for whatever you want to put down there..Extra clothing for night oopsees, diapers etc..
5. ROCK your baby to sleep...the wheels fold in @ the press of a button to allow rocking motion...
6. NITE LIGHT is just right to see what your doing...WILL NOT wake up neither baby nor daddy :)
7. VERY STURDY! HAS EVERTHING YOU NEED FOR THOSE FIRST MONTHS! NO other Bassinets have ALL the features this item offers for the LOW PRICE..believe me I searched everywhere..
**OVERALL I'M VERY IMPRESSED LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this item and will take advantage of it all the WAYYYYY**
TAKE THE CHANCE! have an AWsome Purchase <3
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Jamaica
I agree 100%%%
Posted 03/13/2014
I could not agree with you more! This is the best review i have seen so far because this is exactly my opinion too. This bassinet is definitely worth it...i'm just sorry i didn't take better care of mine, because the wheel came off after my big daughter started using the change table as a hamper lolol....and my now 16mth old daughter started climbing in and out of her moses basket to play with her toys, and now it won't fold shut anylonger...but it still serves it's purpose!!! i'm gonna buy a new one for my best friend who is due in May...just hoping the price will drop further...i got it for $85 last year!!!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for The First Years - Carry-Me-Near 5-in-1 Baby Bassinet

It's awesome!

09/05/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this bassinette to replace my 21 year old regular wicker type bassinette (it had cracked down the side while being stored). To be honest, I bought it because I just loved all the bells and whistles. Putting it together was fairly easy, took about 15-20 minutes. It does everything it claims. The music is just wonderful. I was a bit disappointed that the changing table area underneath the carrier/sleep area is not padded, however, there is room to put a small pad yourself. Also, the bassinette/carrier does have safety straps that go through the padding and the sheet. I imagine I will pull them back out for the newborn stage, but I do wonder if there are extra sheets one can buy that accomodate those straps. I haven't checked, yet. The wheels kind of stick out and are a bit wider than I had expected, too. All in all, I am very happy with this purchase. I haven't used it, yet as the baby isn't due until January 2010.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for The First Years - Carry-Me-Near 5-in-1 Baby Bassinet

Very impressed

05/18/2011
By ,
Plain City, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We ordered this about a year ago to replace a bassinet that was recalled. I just put it together today and I am very impressed. To compare it to the recalled one.....It is def. a lot easier to change into a changing table, i love the idea that you can carry it around the house without the base. You can also set the baby up in the bassinet which the other one did not have the feature. Have not used since I still have 9 weeks to go but def. excited to use it. Another reviewer said that you can not move the handle bar which I am not sure what she means. You can move it down so you can pull the baby out. I am so glad I picked this one to replace the other one which was by a Winnie the Pooh one can remember the exact name but I think it was graco.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for The First Years - Carry-Me-Near 5-in-1 Baby Bassinet

So much better than expected!!

07/03/2010
By ,
Spokane WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We just got this in and set it up last night. Was easy to put together, about 30 min of work. I haven't the faintest idea of why people call this unstable. The metal frame is very sturdy and doesn't wiggle. I do agree that the height adjustment feature is a little cumbersome but overall not bad. Our lights and music and vibrations all work wonderfully. One note about that though is that you CANNOT USE RECHARGEABLE BATTERIES. It even says in the instructions not use them. It won't work with them.
The light is perfect for in the middle of the night, I know I'll be able to change/feed my daughter without waking my husband up. The moses basket feature is wonderful although I won't be carrying the basket with the baby in it, simply because I don't have much upper body strength, it is lighter than a car seat though. The base does attach to the bassinet, there is a clip on each side and you'd have to knock the bassinet over in order to have a problem with it. And hopefully you won't do that. The clips are on the metal bars of the base and have to be threaded up through the holes in the changing table cover so they are easy to miss I guess. The vibration is nice and does have like 3 or 4 levels to it. Technically only the handle vibrates since that's where the batteries are but it adds enough to the bassinet that I think it will be soothing to the baby. It does make some sound, but it sounds kind of like a fan motor, quieter, but that is the basic noise, nothing to disrupt sleep really. I like the heartbeat noise and love that it plays Fur Elise, since baby isn't hear yet don't know how that will work for her but we like it. The handle does fold down, just have to uncover the buttons 'cause they are a little hidden by the fabric. The storage basket is very roomy and easy enough to get to. The changing table is a little hard but that's ok. And I like that you can change the mobile toys out 'cause the ones they come with are cute but they are very bland in coloring and I can see how a baby would get bored with them soon.
I would like if you could remove some of the fabric for washing but oh well nothing is perfect.
And the wheels do pop back into the base easily to allow for rocking the bassinet which is wonderful, the wheels also lock when down so the bed doesn't move much. The base is a bit wide to moving from room to room easily but I don't intend to move the base around, that's why it turns into a moses basket!! It does have an attachment for a bedside sleeper but it seems more like an extra thing to give mom more security than anything really needed.
Over all an astounding product that I and my husband are pleased with and we can't wait for baby to get here so she can enjoy it too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+73points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for The First Years - Carry-Me-Near 5-in-1 Baby Bassinet
06/01/2011
By ,
Cedar Hills, UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The bassinet was very easy to put together, but once I had it assembled I realized that the battery component wasn't working, so the sounds and vibrations didn't work. I was worried I was going to have to take it all apart and send it back. I called the manufacturer and explained the situation. Instead of requiring a return they simply sent me a new battery component and explained how to take about the old one and install the new one. I didn't have to return the damaged one and the new one came within 1 week. I was very impressed with their customer service and willingness to help. Now everything works great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for The First Years - Carry-Me-Near 5-in-1 Baby Bassinet

expensive and bulky

10/14/2012
By ,
bremerton wa
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I am a soon to be first time mom so naturally I wanted the best lf the best for my newborn. I ordered this bassinet not even considering that my son will only make use of the hundred dollar contraption for a couple months at the most. When it arrived, I put it together amd found that it was very wide. It is difficult to get through doorways without skilledmaneuvering. The worst part is it is extremely heavy. The thought of carrying around a fifteen pound portable bassinet plus the weight of the infant is no longer appealing for me. I like that it has a small night light that does not shine in the babys eyes, but it is bright on my eyes. The sounds it makes are sort of muffled and the vibrating option is worthless. It makes the top ring of the bassinet shake, not the bassinet itself so I doubt a baby is going to be soothed by something it doesnt feel. Overall my biggest complaint though is just how much it weighs. Considering the materials provided to build it with, I wouldnt have thought it would be so heavy.
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 303 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  16 Next