Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petmate Petmate Home Wire Training Kennel, Large

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Petmate Petmate Home Wire Training Kennel, Large

Give your pet the comfort and security of home wherever you go with the home wire training kennel! Its fold down design is great for camping trips and travel. And the heavy gauge wire wont rust or break down, ensuring your pet's safety while in the kennel.
Average Customer Rating:
4.215 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(65 Reviews) 62
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
43
4 stars
11
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation85%55 out of 65reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
43
4 stars
11
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Petmate Home Wire Training Kennel, Large

THE DOOR BROKE OFF!!!

12/16/2009
By ,
York PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this crate less than a year ago and I only use it when my maintenance men need to come into the apartment so 90% of the time it is folded up. I go to unfold it today and the DOOR FELL OFF!!! the entire panel not the inlaid door like it came off its hinges the part where the panel is welded to the rest of the kennel!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Review 2 for Petmate Home Wire Training Kennel, Large

Great Dog Kennel

05/31/2008
By ,
BELL CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great for my 4 Chihuahua's
They are so well behaved in there new Kennel .
It was so easy to put up I am a women and i put it together in less the 5 Minutes .
I bought It for the dogs so wene I get company or step out for a while they can stay in it and be well behaved thank you walmart .
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 3 for Petmate Home Wire Training Kennel, Large

Excellent

12/13/2009
By ,
Slidell, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My dog is a 105lb Chocolate Lab and he fits just fine in this kennel. He can even turn around if he wants without any problems. This kennel has held up for over 3 years with only one minor problem which is that the plastic liner cracked. I put down a padded cushion and an old comforter on the bottom so he's not laying on something hard. If after 3 years that small crack in the plastic tray is the only problem I've had, I'd say I got my money's worth out of it and it's worth every penny!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 4 for Petmate Home Wire Training Kennel, Large

Awesome product

11/21/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my daughter , granddaugher an their new puppy (10 week old boxer.) They love it .. the puppy loves it. He never cried while being in there.. He has plenty of room to grow. Made sturdy and a great price. Fast shipment also.. If your thinking of gettting this .. go for it!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 5 for Petmate Home Wire Training Kennel, Large

Definately buyable

06/05/2009
By ,
Tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this is a good, cheap, item, i bought this about a year ago and the only thing i dont like is that the bottom tray has broken, and the replacements are a bundle...enough to pay a few more bucks to buy a brand new kennel..wish they were a bit chaper.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 6 for Petmate Home Wire Training Kennel, Large

Great Save Haven For Pets

06/19/2009
By ,
Little Rock, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this Petmate Wire Home to place in my living room to secure my large dog when guests visit. It's airy and convenient so my dog does not feel caged. My dog is still part of the group but he's not jumping on children or fearful adults.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+25points
Review 7 for Petmate Home Wire Training Kennel, Large

Worth the money

03/23/2008
By ,
Oakland,Tn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been buying these crates for awhile. I have purchased to date 2 large, 1 medium, 2 extra larges. Everyone has lasted and still works like new. The pans may not last as long as I wish they would but after purchases 2 smalls from a pet warehouse store for too much I can say they are equal in quality and cheaper price. This really is the way to bring a puppy into your house and not lose total control during potty training and setting of limits.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+16points
Review 8 for Petmate Home Wire Training Kennel, Large

Great help!

02/05/2009
By ,
Clarksville, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this product when I got my puppy spayed so she would not get hurt or get her stitches dirty playing outside in her pen. At the time, the dog was not housebroken and could not be in for any period longer than 15 minutes without having an accident. It was very easy to clean up after her in the mornings while she went for her walk and in just a few short days, she was house broken! Now she just barks to go outside. :)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Review 9 for Petmate Home Wire Training Kennel, Large

great crate

08/15/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this to replace a smaller crate our Boxer had outgrown. It is very easy to set up and seems much better made than our previous, smaller and more expensive crate.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 10 for Petmate Home Wire Training Kennel, Large

great producy

12/02/2008
By ,
moss point, ms
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love these kennels. I purchased one for my 60 pound dog and it works well. easy to set up and assemble.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 11 for Petmate Home Wire Training Kennel, Large

TRAYS WAY TOO CHEAP BUILT

01/01/2011
By ,
KNOWVILLE, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I HAVE PURCHASED THREE OF THE PET MATE KENNELS IN THE PAST 2 YEARS WITH THE LAST ONE BEING PURCHASED LESS THAN ONE YEAR AGO. I AM REALLY DISAPPOINTED ON HOW QUICKLY THE TRAYS SPLIT AND CRACK. THEY ARE IN A HEATED AND AIR CONDITIONED ROOM, HOWEVER ALL THREE TRAYS ARE PRACTICALLY USELESS. IF THE PET HAS AN "ACCIDENT" THE URINE SPILLS OUT ONTO THE FLOOR MAKING AN ABSOLUTE MESS. I HAVE AN OLD WIRE CRATE THAT IS OVER 30 YEARS OLD. IT HAS A METAL TRAY AND IS STILL IN EXCELLENT CONDITION. IF YOU HAVE TO REPLACE THESE TRAYS THEY ARE OVER $30. EACH WHICH MEANS I AM OUT OVER $100. FOR THREE. SINCE THE KENNELS ARE ONLY $72. EACH, YOU ARE PAYING ALMOST HALF THE PRICE OF THE KENNEL JUST FOR THE TRAY. I HAVE WRITTEN AN EMAIL TO PET MATE ABOUT THIS SITUATION AND WILL UPDATE YOU IF THEY HAVE A LESS EXPENSVE RESOLUTION FOR MY PROBLAM.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 12 for Petmate Home Wire Training Kennel, Large

worthless

09/21/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We recently adopted a dog from a rescue shelter, and she has SEVERE separation anxiety. We bought this after she completely destroyed and ate her way out of a thick plastic crate over a 3-day period. We've had this a single day, & she's already spread the bars to their maximum width & separated entirely one from the frame. We figure one more day before she's completely destroyed this one.
A pit bull or rotweiller, you're thinking? Try a 12-lb dachsund.
The box says it's 'sturdy heavy-gauge metal,' but it's low-grade junk.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 13 for Petmate Home Wire Training Kennel, Large

great crate

01/07/2009
By ,
Charlotte,NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i have had this crate for my dog for about three years for my pitbull dog. He hasn't broke this one til this day. I bought a medium crate from the same company and i wasn't as sturdy he was able to break one of the wires on both the top and the bottom... so yep overall its good to house my pitbull
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 14 for Petmate Home Wire Training Kennel, Large

not very sturdy

05/14/2009
By ,
pittsburgh
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have a 35 lbs pitbull mix she has managed to bend and destroy the cage broke the plastic tray on the bottom i have only had this for about a month. It is not a very durable cage shes not a very big dog. It says on the cage very durable abd sturdy but its NOT!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 15 for Petmate Home Wire Training Kennel, Large

Put out the extra $$ for shipping

10/07/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I thought I would need a medium sized kennel for my beagle pup, but the large one allows room for growth. It also has a divider so you can make the space more cozy when the dog is younger/smaller. Just be sure to order it online. I was unable to have it shipped to store, so there was a shipping cost. All of the ones in the store are used. The one i got from the store smelled like a dog as I opened the box, had hair all over the wiring, and the plastic tray had a huge hole scratched through. I took it back for a refund right away, paid an extra $30 and waited for a week and a half for the delivery. I'm satisfied.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Petmate Home Wire Training Kennel, Large

very helpful

01/01/2011
By ,
Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have purchased the Petmate wire cage for large dogs and the quality of the cage is great, the wire is of heavier guage and it is holding up good. The plastic pan however is of very poor quality and has cracked and split where it sits on the wires. When I called the company the women that I talked to were very rude and the customer service of Petmate was very poor. They do not stand behind their product like I thought. I am a kennel owner and I would not buy another product from them for this reason. By the way, the plastic replacement pan would be almost as much as the carrier, not a good deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Petmate Home Wire Training Kennel, Large

Completely Worth it!

10/12/2009
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have 2 chi-chi-wahwahs (as my son calls them). One is 5 1/2 lbs and the other is 7 lbs. This is perfect for them because it is large enough to fit their food bowl, a small bed and a few toys. They aren't afraid of it and it is pretty sturdy. They tend to get extremely happy when I get home from work, and they don't make a dent in the kennel. We moved about 2 days ago, and it was so easy to transport the kennel. It collapses and is super easy to put together!! It took me less than a minute to put it back together!! I absolutely love this thing! Totally worth the money..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Petmate Home Wire Training Kennel, Large

Wonderful.

12/02/2008
By ,
Meridian, Mississippi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this for my Weimaraner about 3 months ago when she was only about 25lbs. She is much larger now and still has plenty of space. She dosent mind going "to bed" when its time for me to leave the house or just when ever she needs to be in her crate. I added the divider to house my rat terrier also when Im away so their are no messes to clean when I return home. It works wonderful, they both have more than enough space even with the divider. Neither of them mind it. Its also VERY easy to keep clean when they spill food or water. It has been wonderful.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Petmate Home Wire Training Kennel, Large

Works Very Well

07/13/2008
By ,
Sioux Falls, SD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The only thing negative i have to say about this is that the tray slides out too easy but other then that it works very well. We have a 9 month old Black Lab/ Blue Heeler mix and before we got this he would destroy our house, he was going through seperation anxiety. The first day we put him in it he was a whole new puppy. We also have a 3 month old Husky who loves it as well. They are both young enough to be in it together, but when they get too big we will definetly get another one. Very Good Choice I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Petmate Home Wire Training Kennel, Large

Good for traveling

07/30/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this for my Siberian Husky shes 6 months old and we drove from TX. to NC. and she did just fine! We had it folded in the car and it doesn't take up alot of space either and we have a Dodge Caliber. The only thing I didn't like about it is after folding it up and un-folding it so much its built a little cheap, which we have a piece broken already due to that. It was great to have when we stopped overnight to stay at a hotel, most of them require you to have a kennel. Hope this helps.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
1-20 of 63 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next